Re: BREAKING NEWS: TTASA gets Camden for racing

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2011, 10:58 am

Mit_Dynasty wrote:
gt-foure wrote:
Mit_Dynasty wrote:Are we ever going to get a new track, cause this thing i swear going on for like forever?

however there are private tracks being built slowly but surely we[racers/fans] need to support them in anyways possible if we want to secure a better future in motorsports for t&t...

One question I am left to ask is will these private tracks have proper facililites or will they just be a private piece of land with a strip?
it depends on what the owner of the facility decides to offer obviously. Without sanctioning or affiliation a facility can be made to any standard.

In the US almost all the tracks are private facilities owned by a company. The company gets certification from the associations like NHRA and governing bodies like ACCUS (http://www.accusfia.us/) which ensure proper standards are used. Without this accreditation the facility will not be able to have certified events.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 15th, 2011, 11:06 am

they will be able to have events, the results just wouldn't be recognized if any records set etc.. also foreign racers wouldnt be able to come race without certification etc..

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 15th, 2011, 1:20 pm

Do you all know that nobody knows about this? In terms of who gave permission to use it?

Any body wanna shed some light?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 15th, 2011, 2:04 pm

^ are you asking who gave permission? I believe the letter grating permission that TTASA holds was sent from the Commissioner of State Lands.

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2011, 2:43 pm

so camden will be approved by FIA?

sorry to say TTASA will survive because of the sheep and all the young EEESSS SAAARRRR fellas who tobow down and anxious to run

hell evn some you posted in the 14 pager support them still

but then again i remember earlier in the thread sr, myself and others were called the negative ones

carry on,i personally don't care for a 1/4 mile
i rather see the real control, speed on a dex course or rally course

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 15th, 2011, 4:51 pm

Again sorry for the length - Hope you all take the time to read.

The local motorsport community needs to start acting on what they say. 14 pages and 10,000 views on a forum either complaining or rejoicing doesn't count for anything at the end of the day if people are not willing to act on what they feel. If you think that the present administration is doing a bang up job then fine, but reading the posts in this topic it is evident that there is a lot of disenchantment.

If change is desired then people need to understand what change means and what it will take. Don't sit idle waiting on someone else to deliver on something then complain bitterly when the new regime is not what you had hoped it would be.

Many of the stakeholders (racers, sponsors, and spectators alike) unfortunately do not know what is taking place at the top level and are confused when the names NSO, ASN, and FIA are mentioned by people who will try to sound important. The FIA website is very informative on structure and the way things should be, and people need to understand that at Club level we do not need to be under the complete banner of FIA. Let's be honest, we have classes of cars that are unique to Trinidad that don't match up to FIA guidelines. Not all competitor's race to the full tune of FIA standards, and there has never been an FIA certified track in this country.

People need to simplify the equation. Getting to regional and world status will eventually come however when we cannot get the ABC's of motorsport right (like simply elect a top level NSO that everybody accepts) we are leaps behind realizing the potential of the FIA. Its like sending Scotland Yard detectives to Trinidad to solve crime when Police Stations are on 1-way calling because the phone line is cut. People come on - we have to get the fundamentals down first and stop confusing small mercies with heavenly handouts.

Getting to use any facility at the moment is a real help, but don't lose sight of the important issues. Ask the hard questions of the administrators (me included), and when they (we) can't answer don't just walk away.

For the benefit of ALL:
NSO - National Sporting Organization - There are 3 of them TTASA, TTRC, TTKA and ALL are equal in the eyes of the Ministry. NSO status has absolutely nothing to do with FIA. The Ministry would like at the end of our ongoing negotiations to have 1 NSO for all of motorsport - which when you think of it is the better way once we can agree on terms.

ASN National Sporting Authority (Acronym is French) - This is the organization that the FIA recognizes as the local arm of the FIA. This is currently and only TTASA. Typically the Ministry would recognize the NSO as the local organization who is affiliated to the top International Body (FIA).

Couple points to Note:

- The name TTASA cannot change, it is the name that is recognized by the FIA, however the structure of TTASA can change and must change. Many years ago when racing in TnT was in its infancy, everything could have been done through TTASA. However with the developments in Rally, Karting, and soon to be a rejuvenated Drags, Circuit (hopefully) there needs to be proper division of responsibilities under a Federation umbrella.

- The Federation set up is essentially the dynamic of MATT, which exists today with MATT being an organization comprising 2 members of each of the groups - TTRC, TTKA, TORMATT, CARS, ASA, TTMF. We took the constitution from the recently formed BMF (Barbados Motor Federation).

- In Barbados, they faced the same problem a few years back - Essentially the Barbados Rally Club (BRC) was the FIA ASN. However in 2000 they realized with the development of all the other disciplines they had to adopt a Federation type setup in order for proper representation. They made a resolution to open the BRC to all groups and today the BMF has Rally, Karting, Circuit, OffRoad, Drifting, Drags, among others. The great thing about is each group has 1 VOTE, including the BRC who started as the biggest. The President of the BMF is NOT appointed but rather voted by the Federation members and can be removed at anytime. He is also the FIA rep to Barbados. Jamaica is on a similar path to getting it done through a Federation under the JMMC (Jamaica Millennium Motoring Club). Barbados adopted the Federation setup locally and it was fully functional despite the FIA not recognizing the BMF officially until 2007. During the 7 year approval process, the BRC remained the official ASN to the FIA (but were acting locally as part of a federation and not the top dogs).

- The idea is not to have 1 particular group govern motorsport. We have outgrown the 60's, 70's, 80's and 90's, and now have a country that has numerous sporting disciplines with hundreds of competitors. So the 1 group govern mentality has to change.

- We (MATT) will disband in the morning and bring everything under the name TTASA, however we must be assured EQUAL representation. We must do it democratically and anybody joining any group, organization, or association must feel as though they can vote and have a say in who runs the affairs, and how it is governed.

- Basically here's the situation - TTASA has individual members who vote in the executive. TTASA affiliates have no voting power, yet it is evident that the membership of the affiliates far outnumbers the individual members of TTASA so you immediately have a situation where the minority controls the majority. Hypothetically if all the Clubs joined TTASA and there was 1 NSO in the morning, it would be a situation where approx. 500 or more people would be governed without a vote by a vast minority. Surely this cannot be the way. For any group to be truly democratic they must have a fair voting system where the majority is allowed to assume control. A strongly worded constitution WILL protect against the 'absolute power' from setting in.

- Also consider that the real people to suffer or benefit are the competitors now and in the future. Its no sense padding the voting in any club with friends and family who send proxy votes. The administrators must be elected by the true stakeholders and not the folks on the sidelines. I guess this is voter padding in some sense of the word

Thank you for reading - I know its long and in depth

Robert Cadiz
Vice President TTRC
MATT
Last edited by rcadiz on July 16th, 2011, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » July 15th, 2011, 5:00 pm

boy robbie, the people that need to read that (link et al), have stop answering posts and providing any info (cryptic as it was) a few pages ago, too much sense being spoken here now by you. men must be beating up

Postby tr1ad » July 15th, 2011, 5:02 pm

bez

organize some enos for them, they won't come back in here again tho.....
too much truth being spoken in here now

nismoid

Postby nismoid » July 16th, 2011, 5:04 pm

Back in the early 80's when I was a member of TTASA there were alot of "Beau-rats". I stopped being a member after the "Beau-rats" protested my car that was a purposely built GT-2, but allowed a certain "sponsor" to import a foreign used car of very similar specs run. Now 20+ years later it seems like nothing has changed, wow progress!

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 16th, 2011, 6:14 pm

nismoid wrote:Back in the early 80's when I was a member of TTASA there were alot of "Beau-rats". I stopped being a member after the "Beau-rats" protested my car that was a purposely built GT-2, but allowed a certain "sponsor" to import a foreign used car of very similar specs run. Now 20+ years later it seems like nothing has changed, wow progress!

This is why there must be completely separate and definitive lines between race championships (done through the associations, and clubs), and the governing body. If you are protested as a competitor and you feel you are being unfairly treated then there MUST be some way to protest the decision. You need to race under one organization and then have a governing body looking on ensuring that matters like this are handled fairly according to the rules.

Case in point - In 2009 2 members of the Rally Club were suspended for 2 years on the grounds that they brought the Club into disrepute. They went the way of legal advice which could have caused a lot more damage and cost. The TTRC and the suspended competitors agreed that we would go through MATT as a Court of Appeal and abide by any decision taken without pursuing the matter further. I am pleased to say that the TTRC lost the case and was forced to re-instate the members immediately. Today those 2 members and the Club are long passed the issue and the 2 members are very active in the running of events. This is all part of what we are trying to accomplish by moving to a Federation and having the Governing Body actually Govern and stay out of throwing events and managing championships.

AutoSport

Postby AutoSport » July 16th, 2011, 8:01 pm

rcadiz wrote:
nismoid wrote:Back in the early 80's when I was a member of TTASA there were alot of "Beau-rats". I stopped being a member after the "Beau-rats" protested my car that was a purposely built GT-2, but allowed a certain "sponsor" to import a foreign used car of very similar specs run. Now 20+ years later it seems like nothing has changed, wow progress!

Case in point - In 2009 2 members of the Rally Club were suspended for 2 years on the grounds that they brought the Club into disrepute. They went the way of legal advice which could have caused a lot more damage and cost. The TTRC and the suspended competitors agreed that we would go through MATT as a Court of Appeal and abide by any decision taken without pursuing the matter further. I am pleased to say that the TTRC lost the case and was forced to re-instate the members immediately. Today those 2 members and the Club are long passed the issue and the 2 members are very active in the running of events. This is all part of what we are trying to accomplish by moving to a Federation and having the Governing Body actually Govern and stay out of throwing events and managing championships.

So without "me" saying anything, can we be told the truth about the High Court action re TTASA vs Gary Hunt?

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 16th, 2011, 8:57 pm

How all these Fools in here Decide to make this Argument when we get a place to race , Why they didnt yap think nasty mouths when threads like these was put up viewtopic.php?f=24&t=332849&hilit=track , EVERYONE WAS QUIET THEN , IGNORING IT , NOW WATCH THE RASSWHOLEEESS,

and the thing is , theres nothing they doing to find a solution, only talking bad bout this one that one , do something nah allyuh , form a group , have protests , give ideas nah??? Thats right all you can do is nothing but talk crap in here but still find Yourselves to the Race meet TTASA might have LOL

Postby tr1ad » July 16th, 2011, 9:24 pm

so you ok ... once you getting to race?

Postby wagonrunner » July 16th, 2011, 9:48 pm

tr1ad wrote:so you ok ... once you getting to race?

yuh eh read he sig orr?

Postby tr1ad » July 16th, 2011, 9:58 pm

sorry

didn't know it was a given

:oops:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 16th, 2011, 10:36 pm

Its clear after reading some of these posts, that the bigger picture is they are trying to gain full control to do whatever they want and full pockets. Thats why i changed my mind, i dont really need to go straight, besides, dex and drifting has more adrenaline now.

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 16th, 2011, 10:45 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:How all these Fools in here Decide to make this Argument when we get a place to race , Why they didnt yap think nasty mouths when threads like these was put up viewtopic.php?f=24&t=332849&hilit=track , EVERYONE WAS QUIET THEN , IGNORING IT , NOW WATCH THE RASSWHOLEEESS,

and the thing is , theres nothing they doing to find a solution, only talking bad bout this one that one , do something nah allyuh , form a group , have protests , give ideas nah??? Thats right all you can do is nothing but talk crap in here but still find Yourselves to the Race meet TTASA might have LOL

Where do i begin?
Forgetting who the 'fools' referred to are for a minute, doesn't really matter - consider a few things:
A place to race can happen at any time (hypothetically speaking - i.e. you just need land and money). Private tracks / public tracks - it doesn't matter how a track is obtained really. This has very little to do with the motorsport administration that we are discussing. There are a handful of countries in the world that Governments actually invest in a place to race. So don't think because one group succeeds with a facility means that it is the right way to go. Since when has the provision of a 1/4mile piece of tarmac automatically mean that things are going in the right direction. Yes its a good thing but its only ONE of the many problems facing motorsport.

The only reason that i have started my posts on this thread is due to the fact that so much attention is placed on 'a place to race', people are quick to forget the other very big problems like the ones we are faced with solving the right administration. Let me ask you a few things, does a place to race solve the following:
- Duty free concessions on tires, parts, cars, other accessories?
- Importing of older cars (historic - escorts, minis, Porsche etc)
- Firm agreements on public liability insurances
- Setting of annual calendar dates to avoid clashing
- Having motorsport recognized in schools (karting as part of PE for example)
- Establishing motorsport news on the back pages of daily news etc
- Proper appeals court for motorsport competition conflicts
- Road closures and other major Police assistance without extreme difficulty
- Establishing motorsport as a proper industry in the country
Should i go on

While most people are only concerned with how much boost they can get from their new turbo (respectfully), there are many discussions and meetings that have been going on for the last few years and most recently every few weeks in the presence of Ministry personnel. I am hoping to bring some of the issues to light and for everyone to realize some of the facts that seems to be overlooked.

My point is there are many other issues facing motorsport that when figured out will actually take this country somewhere with regards to motorsport. People are so focused on the next piece of tarmac and whoever obtains that seems to be king of the tribe. Are we in caveman days where the best hunter becomes chief. Folks broaden your thoughts for a minute and stop saying 'boss once i get a place to run i good'. We can make it so much better, we just need to stop being narrow minded and limited in our expectations of what a proper governing body can accomplish. People keep trying to solve long term problems of motorsport (administration) with short term solutions (i.e. a 'place to race for de hour'). Are we really that desperate that after so long we are willing to 'plainly accept' something that is barely a shadow of wallerfield and tnt's former glory days. Let's get it right first and then the sky's the limit to what can be achieved.

So you get a track tomorrow - what then? Race with complete disregard for proper administration. It will be over before it even begins....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 16th, 2011, 11:12 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:How all these Fools in here Decide to make this Argument when we get a place to race , Why they didnt yap think nasty mouths when threads like these was put up viewtopic.php?f=24&t=332849&hilit=track , EVERYONE WAS QUIET THEN , IGNORING IT , NOW WATCH THE RASSWHOLEEESS,

Most of the arguments in here are between points made by Link (who is the Vice President of TTASA), AutoSport (who is the head of AutoSport Promotions, AutoSport Racing Association and who is on the board of MATT) and rcadiz (who is the Vice President of TTRC (Rally Club) and also on the board of MATT).

Despite their differences, these people have been constantly working towards motorsport progress in T&T for years. To name a few recent things:
Link Sampath is part of the TTASA executive that have gotten back Camden after alot of lobbying and talks with govt officials.
Link was part of the executive committee of the very successful San Fernando Grand Prix which was the brainchild of Bunny Persad, a trustee of TTASA.
Rawle Mahabir (AutoSport) and Robert Cadiz were both instrumental in arranging the Ministry of Sport and the Mayor of Chaguanas support for staging Rally Trinidad year after year, allowing racing on the streets of Chaguanas, legally.
AutoSport recently held a very successful racing event at ARC last Sunday.
rcadiz is VP of the TTRC club that held the huge Tobago Rally last weekend - the only official racing event for the year on the sister isle and they did it with the full support of the THA.

ALL three of these people (Link, AutoSport and rcadiz) met together with Ministry of Sport officials just yesterday (Friday). This was one of many many similar meetings with various ministry officials between MATT and TTASA. These meetings and mediations have been taking place constantly (even under the last minister of sport, Gary Hunt) in a bid to finally set aside differences and move motorsport forward.

Constant meetings, letters, forming associations, dealing with legal issues, getting approvals, making events happen, meeting again, making connections, getting sponsors, organising events.

So I find it incorrect and even ignorant to make that statement highlighted in your quote above.

Everyone commenting here are doing so because they care about the future of motorsport - everyone is entitled to their opinion. People are making sure we all remember past mistakes so we don't make them again. That is a very good strategy regardless of which side you are on.

TTASA and MATT have both gotten high up to the level of dealing one on one with the Gov't and they both have quite a bit of real racing events under their belt. It makes no sense protesting and forming new groups when the Govt is already far along in dealing with these existing groups in a positive manner. My advice is to do some research and find out what is really going on, contact these people and ask lots of questions and understand what the real situation is - make a decision and join one of these associations and help from there.

no disrespect, but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T :idea:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » July 17th, 2011, 3:44 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:no disrespect, but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T :idea:

Postby tr1ad » July 17th, 2011, 9:48 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T :idea:

END OF THREAD

southside crew

Postby southside crew » July 17th, 2011, 11:56 am

tr1ad wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote: but the same people who you say talking crap might be right to ask you what YOU have done for motorsport in T&T :idea:

END OF THREAD

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 17th, 2011, 1:47 pm

Roger that private 1st class duane :D

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 17th, 2011, 1:55 pm

Ok so im wrong and they are right, ive done nothing but they are doing something, good luck motorsports in T&T.

sparky

Postby sparky » July 17th, 2011, 2:56 pm

The directors of MATT who wrote on this forum have said through their writings that the way to go is through the NSO ASN. The only organization holding that status is TTASA. I also do not hold any grief for TTASA because of their past but I as a member of TTUNDRA am willing to put aside my prejudices in the interest of moving motor sport forward. THE MILLION QUESTION IS ARE YOU WILLING TO DO THE SAME. I do not expect you to allow TTASA to walk over you but the way forward can be negotiated. NOW THAT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS. Lets get back to basic TTASA was the one to successfully get a place for drag racers, we are not contented to race in a parking lot[no offense intended] so it is only natural to gravitate towards them but in so doing we gravitate not as individuals. We do so as a body of drag racers called TTundra.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 17th, 2011, 3:29 pm

In my opinion(this is my opinion, don't flame me) i only think TTASA just wants to get members on their ship and after the 6 months or whatever with a "TEMPORARY PLACE", to hell with whatever/whoever. Theres no talk about a permanent place, and all the private places being built, are being flamed against and EMA is just not approving from what I've heard. 6 months of making money, is enough to make some men happy.

Postby tr1ad » July 17th, 2011, 6:32 pm

THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Ok so im wrong and they are right, ive done nothing but they are doing something, good luck motorsports in T&T.

is a chest burning experience you having there?

Shopboy

Postby Shopboy » July 17th, 2011, 7:46 pm

finally............yahhhhhhh.......we deh

rcadiz

Postby rcadiz » July 17th, 2011, 9:07 pm

sparky wrote:The directors of MATT who wrote on this forum have said through their writings that the way to go is through the NSO ASN. The only organization holding that status is TTASA. I also do not hold any grief for TTASA because of their past but I as a member of TTUNDRA am willing to put aside my prejudices in the interest of moving motor sport forward. THE MILLION QUESTION IS ARE YOU WILLING TO DO THE SAME. I do not expect you to allow TTASA to walk over you but the way forward can be negotiated. NOW THAT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS. Lets get back to basic TTASA was the one to successfully get a place for drag racers, we are not contented to race in a parking lot[no offense intended] so it is only natural to gravitate towards them but in so doing we gravitate not as individuals. We do so as a body of drag racers called TTundra.

First let me be very clear - We have to 'use' the name TTASA, not go the way of TTASA. This is to ensure that Trinidad and Tobago does not lose FIA Affiliation. At the end of the day the only thing needed is the name to ensure continuity. The internal structure however must change to be more equally representative. The answer is MATT organizations are NOT willing to join TTASA as affiliates - we must be allowed an equal vote as to the future path of motorsport.

Consider this simple scenario:
We have the following disciplines already up and running with established infrastructure (some more than others). I have attached the names of the respective bodies as well for consideration also (no specific order of importance):
Stages Rallying - TTRC - NSO for Rallying
Karting - TTKA - NSO for Karting
Dexterity - CARS
Drifting - DWO (I believe)
Drags - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Circuit - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Motocross - TORMATT (there is also Mr. Woods)

Now let me ask you for example - can TTASA presently make decisions for the betterment of Rally and Karting and Dex, given that these organizations have established themselves as very reputable and well performing NSO's. The organizations already have well established Championships, not to mention strong links to other islands for regional competition. The TTRC (and i am not tooting our horn here, i just happen to know what has been told to us) is one of the top performing NSO's in the Ministry. The ONLY thing that we require the ASN for is FIA sanctioning for international events.

As you can see its only the Drags/Circuit situation that is the bone of contention, which ironically are also the most financially viable (food for thought). The name TTASA must be retained for the FIA affiliation status, however TTASA in its present form should not still be a member's organization with the traditional Pres, VP, Treasurer, etc. etc. TTASA needs to switch to Federation type and allow each organization a vote as to how motorsport is governed. The President of the Federation TTASA will serve to act on the decisions taken by the majority of the Federation.

Because TTASA today gets a piece of tarmac to race on temporarily should not automatically make them the governing body over all of us. The TTRC and TTKA and CARS are all managing their own affairs and have legitimately earned a voice as we move forward. Since when are Drags and Circuit more important than Rally, Kart, and Dex? TTASA is NOT supposed to be hosting events - this has been dictated to them by FIA/NACAM (i can say this having been there when it was said). With all respect to TTASA - How many executives have come in and out the door from President go back in the last 3-5yrs. My point is that although they are the ASN for FIA, it is fact that there has been a lot of internal instability at a time when the other organizations have really gotten there act together administratively.

So let's re-structure TTASA as a motorsport Federation NOW. Give each organization (including TTRC, TTKA, TTUNDRA, DWO, CARS, ASA, TORMATT etc etc) an equal vote on ALL decisions and we move forward with the Government's support. TTASA membership that exists today will fall into either one of the competitive associations and clubs. Auto-sport will decide what they intend to do (i.e. only the not-for-profit association will be permitted to sit on the Federation board). If the present TTASA executive wishes to host events then they can decide on what they would like to do.

Folks this is not a difficult scenario. IT IS THE ONLY WAY.

I am assuming that the reason for the birth of TTUNDRA was to give the drag racing drivers a voice. How come we don't see Rally / Kart / Dex drivers forming their own associations? I am just giving you food for thought but maybe there wouldn't be a need for a drag racers association if things were being done correct at top administrative level and you felt as though the club/association had your best interests at heart. Again this is simply for consideration. And so you know there are some Rally car budgets that rival and exceed the investment by the most expensive Dragsters, and the drivers have faith that the club is going to make the sport the top priority which encourages them to spend, and race, and for no financial reward at the end of it - bragging rights and a little trophy.

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » July 17th, 2011, 9:40 pm

tr1ad wrote:
THE_FUGITIVES wrote:Ok so im wrong and they are right, ive done nothing but they are doing something, good luck motorsports in T&T.

is a chest burning experience you having there?

why do you care?

Garrett Inside

Postby Garrett Inside » July 17th, 2011, 10:22 pm

rcadiz wrote:
sparky wrote:The directors of MATT who wrote on this forum have said through their writings that the way to go is through the NSO ASN. The only organization holding that status is TTASA. I also do not hold any grief for TTASA because of their past but I as a member of TTUNDRA am willing to put aside my prejudices in the interest of moving motor sport forward. THE MILLION QUESTION IS ARE YOU WILLING TO DO THE SAME. I do not expect you to allow TTASA to walk over you but the way forward can be negotiated. NOW THAT IS A WORK IN PROGRESS. Lets get back to basic TTASA was the one to successfully get a place for drag racers, we are not contented to race in a parking lot[no offense intended] so it is only natural to gravitate towards them but in so doing we gravitate not as individuals. We do so as a body of drag racers called TTundra.

First let me be very clear - We have to 'use' the name TTASA, not go the way of TTASA. This is to ensure that Trinidad and Tobago does not lose FIA Affiliation. At the end of the day the only thing needed is the name to ensure continuity. The internal structure however must change to be more equally representative. The answer is MATT organizations are NOT willing to join TTASA as affiliates - we must be allowed an equal vote as to the future path of motorsport.

Consider this simple scenario:
We have the following disciplines already up and running with established infrastructure (some more than others). I have attached the names of the respective bodies as well for consideration also (no specific order of importance):
Stages Rallying - TTRC - NSO for Rallying
Karting - TTKA - NSO for Karting
Dexterity - CARS
Drifting - DWO (I believe)
Drags - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Circuit - ASA and TTASA - NSO/ASN
Motocross - TORMATT (there is also Mr. Woods)

Now let me ask you for example - can TTASA presently make decisions for the betterment of Rally and Karting and Dex, given that these organizations have established themselves as very reputable and well performing NSO's. The organizations already have well established Championships, not to mention strong links to other islands for regional competition. The TTRC (and i am not tooting our horn here, i just happen to know what has been told to us) is one of the top performing NSO's in the Ministry. The ONLY thing that we require the ASN for is FIA sanctioning for international events.

As you can see its only the Drags/Circuit situation that is the bone of contention, which ironically are also the most financially viable (food for thought). The name TTASA must be retained for the FIA affiliation status, however TTASA in its present form should not still be a member's organization with the traditional Pres, VP, Treasurer, etc. etc. TTASA needs to switch to Federation type and allow each organization a vote as to how motorsport is governed. The President of the Federation TTASA will serve to act on the decisions taken by the majority of the Federation.

Because TTASA today gets a piece of tarmac to race on temporarily should not automatically make them the governing body over all of us. The TTRC and TTKA and CARS are all managing their own affairs and have legitimately earned a voice as we move forward. Since when are Drags and Circuit more important than Rally, Kart, and Dex? TTASA is NOT supposed to be hosting events - this has been dictated to them by FIA/NACAM (i can say this having been there when it was said). With all respect to TTASA - How many executives have come in and out the door from President go back in the last 3-5yrs. My point is that although they are the ASN for FIA, it is fact that there has been a lot of internal instability at a time when the other organizations have really gotten there act together administratively.

So let's re-structure TTASA as a motorsport Federation NOW. Give each organization (including TTRC, TTKA, TTUNDRA, DWO, CARS, ASA, TORMATT etc etc) an equal vote on ALL decisions and we move forward with the Government's support. TTASA membership that exists today will fall into either one of the competitive associations and clubs. Auto-sport will decide what they intend to do (i.e. only the not-for-profit association will be permitted to sit on the Federation board). If the present TTASA executive wishes to host events then they can decide on what they would like to do.

Folks this is not a difficult scenario. IT IS THE ONLY WAY.

I am assuming that the reason for the birth of TTUNDRA was to give the drag racing drivers a voice. How come we don't see Rally / Kart / Dex drivers forming their own associations? I am just giving you food for thought but maybe there wouldn't be a need for a drag racers association if things were being done correct at top administrative level and you felt as though the club/association had your best interests at heart. Again this is simply for consideration. And so you know there are some Rally car budgets that rival and exceed the investment by the most expensive Dragsters, and the drivers have faith that the club is going to make the sport the top priority which encourages them to spend, and race, and for no financial reward at the end of it - bragging rights and a little trophy.

mmmmmmm. food for thought.

lets hear some opinions, sparky, link?