zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » February 4th, 2009, 2:44 pm

Who say credit crunch lime?

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » February 4th, 2009, 4:12 pm

drunkenscorpion wrote:
soundboy101 wrote:Can someone explain, why Duprey signed a MOU with the government and now he looking for lawyers in england to challenge the same MOU, saying its not a bailout, but rather a takeover, these people just playing with poor peopel monies. Dont talk for that bag of goons in Parliment, if them minister had known CIB going down and rush to take out they money, how we could feel comfortable if them wasnt even comfortable leaving their money

The MOU signed was to ensure liquidity was injected in the company in the event that the run on CLICO kept up. This by selling CIB and CMMB.The "run" however came as a result of STATE RUN entities pulling out their investments.......why? CIB had liquidity problems stemming from the fact that alot of foriegn institutions pulled out given the state of their own affairs abroad. CLICO stepped in and was managing the cashflow crisis there, but just barely, putting CLICO at a risk themselves. Why then did NGC and others pull their investments at the same time? Where else would this directive come from other than the gov't? Essentially to pull down the company, and then step in to take over.

Alot of information still has to reach the media.....when it does....then everyone will realise the type of people we have in power. Soon there would be no such thing as the private sector.

THANK u for postin an explanation to the ignorant masses who knows nothing, but quick to call blame to a brilliant man.

Postby ronsin1 » February 4th, 2009, 5:19 pm

yuh know all these companies under CL financial were called what abt COLFIRE what is their status????

Cooper

Postby Cooper » February 4th, 2009, 5:30 pm

COLFIRE is not owned by Clico or CIB and as you know they were not named by the Central Bank on Friday. They have their own board of Directors and manage their own books. Business as usual, the company is still strong.

feel free to call and inquire for yourself.

JL

Postby JL » February 4th, 2009, 9:08 pm

this is what the majority of people are missing

the pulling out of state run institutions all at around the same time period.........

as well as government ministers closing thier investments "all coincindenlty maturing at the same time in december"

smart move by anyone looking to take advantage of the economic crisis
especially when you are already in control of the economy locally

its called corporate takeover by whatever measn necessary

once in control the govenrment agencies can now re invest under new portfolios as they already now control the entire organisation
and now funds can be moved within the organisation as it see's fit to benefit themsleves

ie money to continue funding government projects that should have either been stopped or cut back due to the budget cutbacks because of the falling price of oil

in other words

everything gonna go full steam ahead

the other interestign part is calder harts involvment with NIB what impact does that now have as his company is under "investigation" for corruption

Bullseye....... :snipersmile:

aR&D

Postby aR&D » February 5th, 2009, 8:12 am

PNM Before Country

t was a case of public spiritedness prevailing over private conviction.

Keith Rowley cast his vote with the Government in the House of Representatives yesterday, paving the way for the multi-billion-dollar CLICO bailout.

According to Rowley: "At the end of the day, it was all about the public good. What was in the public interest-the saving of the financial sector or a public beheading of UDeCOTT boss Calder Hart?" he asked.

Although Rowley remains convinced that Hart is unfit to manage public assets, the question he asked himself was this: "How far do I go to make this point? And what would have been the effect of the news that Government, which has a special majority in the Parliament, could not pass a measure to save the financial sector?

"Which is worth more? The candle or the funeral?" he asked rhetorically.

The mood in the chamber was extremely tense as the House went into committee stage of the Central Bank Amendment bill and the Insurance Amendment bill yesterday. Government MPs knew the fate of those two bills-deemed vital to save the economy-lay in Rowley's hands.

At one point, when Rowley went to the men's room, Government MPs enquired frantically about his whereabouts, causing Opposition Leader Basdeo Panday to quip: "Why don't we make an announcement that committee stage can't begin because of the absence of Dr Rowley."

But on the Government side, this tension gave way to relief, then jubilation, as the vote was taken. Thunderous desk-thumping following the announcement by House Speaker Barry Sinanan that the bills had passed 26 for-13 against.

For the Opposition, which voted against the measure, and which hoped for that perfect political storm of a Government assailed by forces within and without, there was disbelief and disappointment.

"Why did he (Rowley) back down?" Opposition MPs asked.

It took three caucuses to get the bills passed. First, Government MPs caucused with the Opposition. Then Government MPs held their own caucus. And then Rowley and Government leader Colm Imbert caucused separately.

Rowley said that at the PNM caucus, individuals expressed their points of view freely.

"The Prime Minister spoke, I spoke, several times, other members expressed their points of view, we had discourse and dialogue. We met behind closed doors and we confronted the issues," Rowley said.

"The Cabinet is fully apprised. And I got assurance that the Cabinet has taken responsibility for understanding, acknowledging and treating with my concerns. And to the extent that they could give an undertaking to act responsibly, I have taken their word.

"I am not a member of the Opposition. I am a member of the Government. I should take assurances when I have discussions with the Government in caucus seriously. I expect, therefore, that the Cabinet will act responsibly. And I didn't think that I needed to go further than that, at the risk of capsizing the financial sector."

Told that some people were saying that he "caved" in, Rowley said: "I don't see it as a sign of weakness, it is a sign of strength.

"At the end of the day, depositors, policyholders and all those who have their life savings with CLICO can sleep well. We have restored confidence in the economy, while notice has been served that it is unacceptable for the Government to be in denial of what has been done at UDeCOTT. I will wait and see how the Government and the Cabinet will conduct the people's business."

Information Minister Neil Parsanlal said the 26 members of the PNM, from the very outset, had the interest of the people at heart.

"What we saw today, in terms of the vote, was testimony to that. History would record that it was a PNM Government that saved and supported the 172,000 policyholders and the thousands of depositors and all those generations who built CLICO," Parsanlal said.

"It is all about putting country before self, and today was a classic example of that."

The two bills go to the Senate today.

Roarley could act the role of a Statesman how much he wants, but yesterday he showed, in the end he is nothing more but a PNM in jackarse skin

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2009, 8:25 am

the man already have 1 foot in the doghouse you think he and his family want to get blacklisted for the rest of their life ?

noobie

Postby noobie » February 5th, 2009, 8:45 am

SR wrote:the other interestign part is calder harts involvment with NIB what impact does that now have as his company is under "investigation" for corruption

Calder Hart and UDeCOTT are NOT under investigation for corruption.
There is an investigation into the entire local Construction Industry.

How can you profess to know government machinations if you missed the biggest one in the recent past? :)

soundboy101

Postby soundboy101 » February 5th, 2009, 10:16 am

THANK u for postin an explanation to the ignorant masses who knows nothing, but quick to call blame to a brilliant man.

@Trnivdub, i have been hearing talk that this brilliant man and his board approved a 120 million dollar dividend pay out to shareholders the Thursday before the announcement was made, i wonder if you can guess who is the majority shareholder in the Cl financial empire, and someone has to be held accountable for this, and from all reports these problems have not only begun last month, or two months ago, this place in trouble a few years ago, and whats the brilliant man's response, he always wanted to get out of finance and stick to his rum business.

djcase00

Postby djcase00 » February 5th, 2009, 10:42 am

Opinions on NGC's response to their "run" on CIB. Seems plausible to me.

djcase00

Postby djcase00 » February 5th, 2009, 10:43 am

Oh yeh its on PG 19 Newsday

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2009, 10:52 am

padna your internet forum assurance appears to be wrong
gov williams is quoted in the guardian today as saying the RBL 55% is pledged to outside parties

Trini_D wrote:pugboy, I assure you that RBL is not carrying CLICO or CL's debt, and remains untouched by recent developments

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » February 5th, 2009, 12:02 pm

so wat de jail

my $11.99 invesment in RBL isn't going places :shock:

Trini_D

Postby Trini_D » February 5th, 2009, 1:10 pm

pugboy wrote:padna your internet forum assurance appears to be wrong
gov williams is quoted in the guardian today as saying the RBL 55% is pledged to outside parties

Trini_D wrote:pugboy, I assure you that RBL is not carrying CLICO or CL's debt, and remains untouched by recent developments

This has no impact on RBL's financial state and only means that the 55% RBL shares (currently held in the name of CIB and CLICO) will/must be sold in order to recover the monies loaned to CL by these outside parties. I believe this was also said in the article in question.

Postby pugboy » February 5th, 2009, 5:24 pm

nah, the $11.99 safe

this is just a question of what can the 55% RBL ownership can be turned into cashwise

the long and the short is if those shares are sold, whatever money they get will have to cover outside party debts or whatever they were pledged/used as collateral against. so the govt may/probably will not get full cash value for the 55% owned RBL shares.

ie when you sell a car for 100k, you dont walk around saying you have 100k in your pocket if you still have a car loan to pay off.

Postby wagonrunner » February 6th, 2009, 12:02 pm

RASC,

the email reach................

Postby Maserati » February 6th, 2009, 12:19 pm

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 6th, 2009, 12:26 pm

i now get the same dam ting.... :| :| :|

Tarantula

Postby Tarantula » February 6th, 2009, 4:49 pm

Postby UML » February 8th, 2009, 10:59 pm

With all this..........I hope all dem lil indian gyul who is clerk and bank teller.....ah hope they eh lose dey wuk for party card holders!!!!

enigma

Postby enigma » February 9th, 2009, 2:01 am

UML wrote:With all this..........I hope all dem lil indian gyul who is clerk and bank teller.....ah hope they eh lose dey wuk for party card holders!!!!

:?:

BlueIce

Postby BlueIce » February 9th, 2009, 3:24 am

I hope all dem lil indian gyul

10chook

å‹

Postby å‹ » February 9th, 2009, 5:54 am

<object width="425" height="344"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/NS7B4zXpWvo&hl=en&fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/NS7B4zXpWvo&hl=en&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="344"></embed></object>

Postby eliteauto » February 25th, 2009, 7:22 pm

now Michael Lee Chin has his eyes on Clico

Postby SUPAstarr » February 25th, 2009, 7:25 pm

after he fish out a lot of their workers 3 -4 yrs ago make sense he try to buy the shell, especially AIC still tryin to curve upwards

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » February 25th, 2009, 8:36 pm

As long as investors can get their money back that's all that matters.

0awg

Postby 0awg » March 3rd, 2009, 2:31 pm

policy holders, clico planning to sell over your stuff to other insurance companies. not too sure how true it is.

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » March 3rd, 2009, 5:49 pm

0awg wrote:policy holders, clico planning to sell over your stuff to other insurance companies. not too sure how true it is.

So why d fack post it then??

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » March 3rd, 2009, 9:58 pm

Clico will survive... just that they will not be owned by CL Financial anymore

The biggest loser in this fiasco will be CL shareholders.