COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 76 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 4:18 pm

C, d, zinc

Postby Gladiator » March 29th, 2020, 4:18 pm

THE PRIME MINISTER MUST IMMEDIATELY DECLARE A STATE OF EMERGENCY
By Israel B. Rajah-Khan S.C.

I call upon the Prime Minister of our country to stop “pussy-footing” with our lives and declare a state of emergency immediately. Every day we are watching you address the nation and tell us of all the different rules, regulations and laws your government is passing. From the prohibition of gatherings of not more than ten now to the shutdown of non-essential services.

Each time you come out with a new dressed up law to match your well-fitted suit. You can dress up the laws as much as you want, but any legal mind worth their salt knows that you cannot temporarily suspend a citizen’s constitutional rights without declaring a state of emergency.

Any law to restrict persons gathering together deprives a citizen of their constitutional right to freedom of movement and assembly. Any law that requires businesses to close infringes a person’s right to enjoyment of property as this right includes the right to carry out a legal enterprise.

All around the world, governments have taken the appropriate legal step to limit their citizens’ rights and have done so by due process. Yet you have been ‘holding your hand’ for some reason, even saying (although as a joke) you will “slap down people”.
If you want to “slap down the people” then slap the SoE on them, it does seem that the country’s waiting on that hard clout. But you keep playing the reluctant godfather.

I myself with the members and staff of my law chambers have been self-isolating because we know that is the proper thing to do, but for the others who are not listening – slap the SoE on them. It is better we get a hard slap than a fatal hit.
Mr. Prime Minister now is not the time for electioneering;it is the time to save our lives and if you do not take these harsh but necessary decisions many of us could die.

I urge you to Declare a State of Emergency for a short period of three months and if necessary further three month periods until the virus is no longer a threat to our lives in Trinidad and Tobago.

• Very importantly the dire situation with the “remand prisoners” must be examined. It is already cruel and unusual punishment to have a man who is presumed to be innocent locked up for more than 7 years in atrocious conditions with more than 10 persons in a cell. A thorough review of their bail conditions must be done; If they have no deeds, as many people don’t they must be allowed to sign their own bonds and be let out of jail immediately. The High Courts and Magistrate courts have already been indefinitely suspended which means that while this virus is still a threat these remand prisoner will be there for even longer.

• Of course, they must be examined and cleared as carriers of the virus. Those with the virus must be quarantined.
AND MAY GOD BLESS OUR NATION.

Justice for All,
Israel B. Rajah-Khan S.C.

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2020, 4:33 pm

78 Now
FB_IMG_1585513902614.jpeg

killercow

Postby killercow » March 29th, 2020, 4:46 pm

^Slowly everyday the # rises. I wonder when we'll hear the official announcement of the extension of the lockdown?
Last edited by killercow on March 29th, 2020, 4:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 4:46 pm

yup. up to 78 and Roiley for some reason want to be on TV at 7pm.

what it have left to announce now? :drinking:

Postby K74T » March 29th, 2020, 4:51 pm

7:30

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 4:53 pm

USA up to a whopping 135,000+ cases....

And they havent apex yet

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 4:57 pm

K74T wrote:7:30

TTT say 7:00pm, but it might be on island time like the rest of press conferences.

https://www.facebook.com/tttliveonline/ ... 847900610/

edit: it now says 7:30 :drinking:
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 29th, 2020, 5:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 78 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 5:03 pm

Nah bai. Now I vex.

ZeeTV just say the covid19 situation has disrupted filming of some of my favorite television serials. They want me to bear with them in this troubling time.

wda I going to watch now? rowley? is only so much of that I could stand

Postby The_Honourable » March 29th, 2020, 5:03 pm

Notice the word "imported" disappeared from those releases a few days now. They still repeating the "Cruise" line and don't want to mention community spread.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 5:09 pm

Guys what is the point of a SOE? what will that solve?

Why are people begging for a total shut down of the country? what exactly is a total shut down?

We can't live with a total shut down, you talking about shutting down pharmacy, grocery, T&TEC, TSTT, FLOW, WASA. We cannot shut down all these services the only time something like that happens is if there is some sort of major War that break out in a country and everybody killing eachother.

I do agree we are being invaded by a invisible enemy that wants us dead at any cost but a complete shut down cannot happen under these circumstances. People on social media keep calling for a total shut down this cannot happen, there is no civil war in this country we aren't being invaded by Russia or something.

OR maybe it can happen and it will solve our problem? I somehow doubt it tho, can the government really call a total shut down? everything except the military? is that even possible the Prime Minister even has that kind of power?

Postby hydroep » March 29th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Place eerily quiet, even for a Sunday...:|

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Miktay wrote:Civil unrest starting in southern Italy...

wow this is extremely disturbing and this is just the start.

Something needs to be done about COVID very soon, Trinis are heading down the same path as Italians we are aiming to have the same amount of infections because we have 0 regards for calls to social distancing and the full works.

If that Bar isn't shut down from tomorrow by me here I am calling the hotline and reporting them. Even today they still feting and drinking like crazy the local police here is a joke they see it and do nothing, if I see this happen from tomorrow I reporting them to 555.

People have yet to understand how serious this situation actually is.

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 5:20 pm

people in Trinidad already familiar with a SoE and some of them like the security it provided. The idea of a SoE is welcomed by many people.

The kind of half-steps that Stuart Young is implementing is confusing for many people. The exact boundaries of what's acceptable today and what is prohibited today, changes week by week. Not everybody is 'plugged in' to the news enough to know, so the default is to go back to what is familiar: a shut down or a SoE.

Personally, I would prefer a SoE be kept for when they need the army to break skulls and enforce the law harshly. If we play our strongest measure (a SoE) too early, we have nothing left is reserve for when the s-- hits the fan and chaos is in the streets.
Last edited by paid_influencer on March 29th, 2020, 5:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blitz83

Postby blitz83 » March 29th, 2020, 5:20 pm

What is the name of the bar? Or is one of those nancy stories?

killercow

Postby killercow » March 29th, 2020, 5:23 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Nah bai. Now I vex.

ZeeTV just say the covid19 situation has disrupted filming of some of my favorite television serials. They want me to bear with them in this troubling time.

wda I going to watch now? rowley? is only so much of that I could stand

Call Amplia. Ask for Kerron :D

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2020, 5:26 pm

It's a Nancy story. Like he figure the threat they pose to the community at large different today vs tomorrow. Nah the man who flaunting the safety of others is a Good man ent. If, IF FOR ONCE its actually not a Nancy story ED is equally as bad as anyone else who not socially distancing themselves but kettle like to call pot..
blitz83 wrote:What is the name of the bar? Or is one of those nancy stories?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 5:44 pm

It is not a bar not legally it is a liquor store that doubles as a mini mart and a meat mart within a rental property with multiple apartments and casino machines. So yes it is a bar but it isn't a bar at the same time, it is likely police cannot do anything because it is a private property with renters in an apartment building. So what you expect the police to do? tell people they can't lime in their own place? if 20 of them want to lime they can't do anything, how police going to know who renting there and who visiting there? you think any of them going to tell the truth? WTF is nancy story about this jed? steups.....

But I want to see what happens tomorrow if I still see that happening I go try and report it. But my guess is it wouldn't continue because of how serious the situation is. Police will have a legal right to stop you on the road so those who liming won't take the chance.

Right now they can get away with that crap but not from tomorrow. The new rule goes into effect from tonight so that is a good thing the government did.

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 5:48 pm

hydroep wrote:Place eerily quiet, even for a Sunday...:|
Calm b4 the storm.

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 6:13 pm

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2020, 6:27 pm

Enjoy the Corona with ice. Just know that doing nothing as you are is the same as helping the spread. Talk about all the folish people you work with but its probably a work place of like minded individuals.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:It is not a bar not legally it is a liquor store that doubles as a mini mart and a meat mart within a rental property with multiple apartments and casino machines. So yes it is a bar but it isn't a bar at the same time, it is likely police cannot do anything because it is a private property with renters in an apartment building. So what you expect the police to do? tell people they can't lime in their own place? if 20 of them want to lime they can't do anything, how police going to know who renting there and who visiting there? you think any of them going to tell the truth? WTF is nancy story about this jed? steups.....

But I want to see what happens tomorrow if I still see that happening I go try and report it. But my guess is it wouldn't continue because of how serious the situation is. Police will have a legal right to stop you on the road so those who liming won't take the chance.

Right now they can get away with that crap but not from tomorrow. The new rule goes into effect from tonight so that is a good thing the government did.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 6:52 pm

You can't go in people private property and tell them not to socialize eh just so you know. You also can't tell a mini mart to shut down just because they also licensed to sell alcohol. There are no laws stopping people from socializing in their private property. Yes we know it is basically a bar and liming spot but legally it can never be classified as that.

This new order however will prevent outsiders from going there and liming but beyond that police can't do anything. So don't blame me for doing nothing when nothing can be done, you yourself would tell anybody to fck off if they told you to stop socializing with friends in your own property. You ain't going to let nobody tell you how to live in your own place eh
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 29th, 2020, 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2020, 6:56 pm

K74T wrote:78 Now

2 new cases - 1 trace to contact with known case. 1 pending investigation- possible community spread?

Postby aaron17 » March 29th, 2020, 7:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:
K74T wrote:78 Now

2 new cases - 1 trace to contact with known case. 1 pending investigation- possible community spread?
Maybe they did not investigate it yet.

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 7:10 pm

TV6 showing "I am Legend" at 7:30pm. Them is some jokers yes. :drinking:

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 7:10 pm

paid_influencer wrote:yup. up to 78 and Roiley for some reason want to be on TV at 7pm.

what it have left to announce now? :drinking:

Hello P_i,

Tomorrow is a holiday,

Maybe Roiley want to give his regards for the whatever unimportant celebration it is.

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2020, 7:17 pm

I for one in these times would not have friends over to begin with on my property, so I would never have the need to tell anyone to fck off. You however instead of doing anything come on tuner to bump your chest about your usual material someone you know or see doing some sheit and nothing you can do about it... Ever thought that by calling the hotline in advance when you noticed the mass gatherings that the powers that be would have added the location to a watch list. In stead or driving around heedlessly hoping to catch persons they could probably drive around with purpose?

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:You can't go in people private property and tell them not to socialize eh just so you know. You also can't tell a mini mart to shut down just because they also licensed to sell alcohol. There are no laws stopping people from socializing in their private property. Yes we know it is basically a bar and liming spot but legally it can never be classified as that.

This new order however will prevent outsiders from going there and liming but beyond that police can't do anything. So don't blame me for doing nothing when nothing can be done, you yourself would tell anybody to fck off if they told you to stop socializing with friends in your own property. You ain't going to let nobody tell you how to live in your own place eh

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2020, 7:22 pm

ED you like all those persons on social media who looking for e points. You sound identical to a person on Facebook who know someone who recently travelled to New York, came in just before borders closed and hasn't self quarantined. You have the information but decide for yourself without doing anything nothing could have been done.

Postby rspann » March 29th, 2020, 7:25 pm

A tenant call around 7 this morning to say today is her birthday and she wants to have some relatives over to celebrate ,if it's ok . I told her call Penal police and ask them . If she get permission , I have no problems. That was the end of that.

Postby nemisis » March 29th, 2020, 7:27 pm

Ent but EDA WOULD ah say nothing could be done about that its her place and she could do what she want until tomorrow....
rspann wrote:A tenant call around 7 this morning to say today is her birthday and she wants to have some relatives over to celebrate ,if it's ok . I told her call Penal police and ask them . If she get permission , I have no problems. That was the end of that.