.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2015, 6:20 am

UML wrote:
Redman wrote:UML can you give good reason for the fact that the UNC govt had 30% more revenue in 2011-15 (Total Rev $254 B) than the PNM did in 2006-10..(195B).but increased spending by 47%,(Total Exp 195B to 288B)..increasing the deficits by about 800%(Total Deficit from 2005-2010 is 3.9B while its 33.6B for 2010-2015)

So while we earned more generated more revenue under the UNC we spent more.

Let me hear you non costatt UML.

Check the Government Achievements Thread :)

Makes sense....we paying 1700 a foot for box drains...400% profit for selective UNC contractors..
That alone Would buss any budget.

Let's see over priced box drains...highway at 150,000,000 per km...
We paying top dollar for everything..
Lawyers included

You right running deficits at a time of maximum revenue.

That is an achievement..worthy of Nick Leeson himself
Mugabe even

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2015, 6:26 am

UML wrote:
Redman wrote:UML can you give good reason for the fact that the UNC govt had 30% more revenue in 2011-15 (Total Rev $254 B) than the PNM did in 2006-10..(195B).but increased spending by 47%,(Total Exp 195B to 288B)..increasing the deficits by about 800%(Total Deficit from 2005-2010 is 3.9B while its 33.6B for 2010-2015)

So Redman what you trying to say is that UNC max out our credit card and call it performance, and another govt will be the one that actually will have to pay for the UNC achievements?

Postby bluefete » May 6th, 2015, 7:02 am

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2015, 7:28 am

Habit7 wrote:
UML wrote:

So Redman what you trying to say is that UNC max out our credit card and call it performance, and another govt will be the one that actually will have to pay for the UNC achievements?

You know the UNC eh pay for nutten...neither has the PNM.

It is us ...1.3M people that pay for it.
Mistakes and achievements.

That said I am not trying to say anything....the numbers state clearly that even though we earned more than any other 5 year period...we spent more than we had.....we went on a binge.

What did each point of gdp/gdp growth cost us....Im betting that it cost us more than at any other time.

What does that indicate.

What was the rationale?

Ive asked UML ...but it seems that unless his handler gives him an opinion..UML cant rationalize anything...

With countries like Norway that are equally dependent on Oil and Gas and have a AAA rating its obvious that the oil price isnt the sole reason for our downgrade-with a NEGATIVE OUTLOOK.

The responsibility lies with those that made the choices.

The consequences however are ours to bear

Postby eliteauto » May 6th, 2015, 10:09 am

Ravi pop down already, he make ah 10 days, I wonder which constituency UNC have him earmarked for?

Ravi ends hunger strike
...to begin petition

Social activist and IT technician Ravi Balgobin Maharaj intends to create a petition seeking answers from Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley on a series of allegations made against him.

Maharaj, who famously embarked on a hunger strike in support of the Point Fortin highway last year, engaged in a second hunger strike last month, attempting to force Rowley to respond to allegations made by Tobago East MP Vernella Alleyne-Toppin in Parliament on March 25.

He also sought to have Rowley address issues surrounding the Las Alturas Development, Landate and emailgate.

Maharaj ended the strike last Saturday, ten days after starting, saying his health had begun to deteriorate.

“Not only was my strength severely depleted, but I was also experiencing a multitude of health conditions,” he said.

Maharaj, who initially indicated he never expected Rowley to respond, said he will now seek the public’s participation in his continuing campaign via a collection of signatures from residents of Rowley’s constituency, Diego Martin West.

“I intend to collect signatures from 20 per cent of the registered electors in the Diego Martin West constituency which I will then present to Dr Rowley and other key officials, seeking the answers which remain hidden from the nation,” he said.

Maharaj said the 20 per cent represents the number of signatories necessary for recalling an MP “when the Constitutional Amendment Bill is ascended into law”.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/-Ra ... 86901.html

Postby rfari » May 6th, 2015, 10:15 am

Poor ravi

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2015, 10:45 am

Ravi make UML Achievement Thread look small.

That is performance.

Postby dougla_boy » May 6th, 2015, 10:59 am

UML should frame rowley....make rowley pull the trigger on a .38 pointed at he big bean and splatter everything on sharon

Postby Redman » May 6th, 2015, 3:48 pm

So the UNC brings a motion to suspend Rowley....but didnt know that the standing orders establish a procedure that is required BEFORE it reaches the parliament-disclosure and discussion etc....and then the standing orders limit the length of the first suspension to 5 days.

As read by Imbert out of the new standing orders...

Postby bluefete » May 6th, 2015, 9:47 pm

Redman wrote:So the UNC brings a motion to suspend Rowley....but didnt know that the standing orders establish a procedure that is required BEFORE it reaches the parliament-disclosure and discussion etc....and then the standing orders limit the length of the first suspension to 5 days.

As read by Imbert out of the new standing orders...

Their own venom come back to bite them!!!

Postby rfari » May 6th, 2015, 10:22 pm

Motion passed. Growley get shegged.

Postby Habit7 » May 6th, 2015, 10:28 pm

So the govt votes to suspend Dr. Rowley without due process.

This not even funny anymore. The PP is seriously asking for a repeat of the Local Govt election night result with them drunk on stage celebrating that they only won their base.

Postby rfari » May 6th, 2015, 10:31 pm

With tactics like that they only appealing to ppl who were gonna vote for them regardless. I say well done.

Postby rfari » May 6th, 2015, 10:48 pm

why these ppl insists on agitating this guy? in case ppl forget or dunno. growley is the one who first raised alarm about the piarco airport expansion project and was suspended as a result. not too long after, the fire ketch under ramesh who then started the probe but was fired and replaced by kamala who immediately halted the probe. only for pnm to continue it and expose everything and everybody

Rowley was suspended from the Parliament in 2001 for criticising the then Government on its handling of the Piarco airport expansion.
“When he headed the UNC government, he got Ramesh Maharaj and Rupert Griffith to move a motion to expel me from the Parliament indefinitely.”

Rowley said his offence when the suspension was ordered was criticising Maharaj for pole- vaulting on the Piarco airport issue.

http://legacy.guardian.co.tt/archives/2 ... news7.html

Rowley alleged that former Attorney General Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj had made moves to call in Canadian forensic investigator Bob Lindquist to probe the Piarco International Airport project. However, after Maharaj was sacked by former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday and Persad-Bissessar was appointed the first woman Attorney General, she stopped the Lindquist probe.

“Bas removed Ramesh and made Kamla the AG,” he said saying Persad-Bissessar then told Lindquist, “Don’t call me. I will call you.”

“And Mr Lindquist would not continue the investigation into Piarco,” Rowley said. “That project was a major scandal...Kamla’s way of dealing with that was to stop the investigation.” He said Persad-Bissessar was one of several UNC MPs who once voted in favour of a motion to have him indefinitely suspended from Parliament on May 24, 2001, after he criticised the Attorney General Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj for failing to take action on the Piarco project.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/print,0,120311.html

Postby The_Honourable » May 6th, 2015, 11:38 pm

Even though i'm not a fan of Rowley and don't trust him, the extreme things the PP is doing just to go after this man making him look good.

It's silly season so expect anything.

Postby RASC » May 7th, 2015, 7:14 am

Tick Tock

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2015, 7:22 am

The_Honourable wrote:Even though i'm not a fan of Rowley and don't trust him, the extreme things the PP is doing just to go after this man making him look good.

I appreciate the objectivity of your comment. However expect PP supporters to justify this.

Postby Redman » May 7th, 2015, 7:30 am

I really dont understand the strategy.
The political mileage they thought they will get from Toppins comment and this suspension is yet to materialize.

Is it that what Colm Imbert read out of the standing orders applies in this case?

If so how is it that the motion succeeded despite contravening the very basic requirement of due process?

You cant force a result from an illegal action-so how is this to proceed?

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » May 7th, 2015, 7:37 am

bluefete wrote:Image

^ ^ ^ This!... always THIS :!: :roll:

Postby j.o.e » May 7th, 2015, 7:37 am

PP will apparently use any means to hold on to power.... apparently no one has a level head on their side to see its making them look desperate.
As the campaign heats up...things will get vicious and nasty

Postby eliteauto » May 7th, 2015, 9:12 am

Redman wrote:I really dont understand the strategy.
The political mileage they thought they will get from Toppins comment and this suspension is yet to materialize.

Is it that what Colm Imbert read out of the standing orders applies in this case?

If so how is it that the motion succeeded despite contravening the very basic requirement of due process?

They went the route of moving a motion of censure as opposed to taking Dr Rowley before the Privileges committee which would have been the normal route. To go to the PC would have been moot as Imbert said because the Parliament would have languished before it was resolved, more importantly had it gone to the PC the PM would have been summoned as a witness and have to answer questions posed there something I'm not sure they want.

Postby De Dragon » May 7th, 2015, 6:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Even though i'm not a fan of Rowley and don't trust him, the extreme things the PP is doing just to go after this man making him look good.

I appreciate the objectivity of your comment. However expect PP supporters to justify this.

It's a strategy, plain and simple. You feel that they came up with this on their own? They prolly paid handsomely to conceptualize, study, and flesh out a plan to demonize him before the GE. The sad part is that he plays into their hands quite often, which would have been a part of the pre-plan analysis I'm sure. For Habit7 and the Newsday quoters from above, you are no better than zr, UML by using allegations and one sided stories to bolster an argument.

Postby bluefete » May 7th, 2015, 6:05 pm

Redman wrote:I really dont understand the strategy.

It's called "taking in front before in front takes you". Old people saying nah!

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2015, 6:11 pm

De Dragon wrote:For Habit7 and the Newsday quoters from above, you are no better than zr, UML by using allegations and one sided stories to bolster an argument.
De Dragon wrote:It's a strategy, plain and simple. You feel that they came up with this on their own? They prolly paid handsomely to conceptualize, study, and flesh out a plan to demonize him before the GE. The sad part is that he plays into their hands quite often, which would have been a part of the pre-plan analysis I'm sure.

Sure De Dragon, we all need to be objective and neutral as you. Could you tell us when you at Kamla's house overhearing them plan Rowley's demise, did you take a selfie?

Postby eliteauto » May 7th, 2015, 10:29 pm

Casper23

Postby Casper23 » May 8th, 2015, 7:07 am

What issues are being brought up in parliament that need to be resolved? I fully support the opposition's call not to continue Parliament. I'm still waiting to hear of something relevant in relation to the economy and well being of T&T be addressed in parliament. If you are in favor of paying your tax money for people to talk about Dr Rowley and his son, their no confidence nonsense, etc rather than address the issues of crime, land grabbing, the economy, healthcare, etc then go strong. Bacchanal and ole talk is for the rum shop, parliament is for the people's business and concerns. So I'll wait to hear what has been solved by all this nonsense. The country has been downgraded and the outlook is bleak, yet the government is lying to the citizens talking about don't worry.

Postby Redman » May 8th, 2015, 7:19 am

I disagree with the the PNM Exec Counsel 'instructing' the MPs to stay away.

MP work for the people they represent....Obeying the instructions of the party when you are being paid by the people sends to wrong message to me. PARTY POLITICS over PEOPLE...

Postby Habit7 » May 8th, 2015, 7:27 am

Yes I think its a bad idea to stay away too. They should go there and show them up even more.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 8th, 2015, 7:35 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/--K ... 19291.html

"INDIFFERENCE overcame anguish in the Diego Martin West constituency of Opposition leader Dr Keith Rowley yesterday, as people reacted to his suspension from the Parliament Wednesday.

When the Express checked into Carenage, Glencoe and Diego Martin, emotions over the suspension were mixed but the majority of constituents interviewed said they “didn’t care”.

A handful were downright gleeful, saying Rowley had shown no compassion for his constituency whether in or out of government and at least two people drew their United National Congress (UNC) party cards to show their support for Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar."

Rest of article can be found from the link.

Thoughts?
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on May 8th, 2015, 8:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » May 8th, 2015, 7:45 am

That some people are PNM and some are UNC....

none of them sycophants really view the constant misuse/abuse of the parliamentary rules and orders as an erosion of the SYSTEM that is tasked with the maintenance of our democratic structure of governance.

That erosion is pushing ALL of us into a smaller and smaller space.

Both sides use the rules to their own Political Gain...but the rules were drafted with the expectation that those governed by the Parliamentary law would have some decorum and a modicum of decency.

What we have is a generation of eatahfood politicians....we slowly creeping away from the moorings that the Republic were founded on...I eh know where we heading.

But based on the above many people feel that the end justifies the means.

I disagree