*OUTSIDER*

Re: El Barca es mes que un club!

Postby *OUTSIDER* » December 12th, 2012, 8:31 pm

Lionel Messi record in doubt as Zambian FA prepare appeal

Zambian FA claim Godfrey Chitalu is goal record holder ahead of Barcelona star

Lionel Messi’s record for most goals in a single year may be under threat just days after he scored his 86th goal of 2012.

The Barcelona forward made history by passing Gerd Muller’s total of 85 goals with a brace against Real Betis over the weekend.

However the Zambian Football Association now intend to put forward a case to FIFA for striker Godfrey Chitalu to be installed as the record holder, claiming that the five time Zambian player of the year hit 107 strikes in 1972 for Kabwe Warriors.

“We have this record, which has been recorded in Zambian football, but unfortunately it has not been recorded in world football," a Zambia FA spokesperson told NewsDay Zimbabwe.

"Even as the world has been looking at Lionel Messi's record, breaking Gerd Müller's, the debate and discussion back here has been why Godfrey's goals are not being recognised.

"What we are doing is, we have commissioned an independent team locally to go back into the archives and record minute-by-minute each of those goals. The team that we have put together is going to calculate all of those goals, recording whichever game or tournament they were scored in.

"We will then send that to CAF [Confederation of African Football] and Fifa so that we can show that, while Messi's record is there, while Müller's record is there, the actual record holder in terms of goals per calendar year is actually an African. It's actually Godfrey Chitalu."

Chitalu, who was selected by the Confederation of African Football as one of the best 200 African footballers of the last 50 years, went on to become Zambia’s head coach before dying in the plane crash that killed 18 members of the Zambian national team along with 12 others in 1993.

http://www.givemefootball.com/european- ... fa-prepare

:? :?

Postby X_Factor » December 12th, 2012, 8:39 pm

if he is installed as the holder of the most goals, im sure it wont be long till messi passes him anyways

Postby Morpheus » December 12th, 2012, 9:35 pm

So them now jump out??? Steups

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 13th, 2012, 9:40 am

Morpheus wrote:So them now jump out??? Steups

Da phok them was all these years?

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 13th, 2012, 9:41 am

*OUTSIDER* wrote:Lionel Messi record in doubt as Zambian FA prepare appeal

Zambian FA claim Godfrey Chitalu is goal record holder ahead of Barcelona star

Lionel Messi’s record for most goals in a single year may be under threat just days after he scored his 86th goal of 2012.

The Barcelona forward made history by passing Gerd Muller’s total of 85 goals with a brace against Real Betis over the weekend.

However the Zambian Football Association now intend to put forward a case to FIFA for striker Godfrey Chitalu to be installed as the record holder, claiming that the five time Zambian player of the year hit 107 strikes in 1972 for Kabwe Warriors.

“We have this record, which has been recorded in Zambian football, but unfortunately it has not been recorded in world football," a Zambia FA spokesperson told NewsDay Zimbabwe.

"Even as the world has been looking at Lionel Messi's record, breaking Gerd Müller's, the debate and discussion back here has been why Godfrey's goals are not being recognised.

"What we are doing is, we have commissioned an independent team locally to go back into the archives and record minute-by-minute each of those goals. The team that we have put together is going to calculate all of those goals, recording whichever game or tournament they were scored in.

"We will then send that to CAF [Confederation of African Football] and Fifa so that we can show that, while Messi's record is there, while Müller's record is there, the actual record holder in terms of goals per calendar year is actually an African. It's actually Godfrey Chitalu."

Chitalu, who was selected by the Confederation of African Football as one of the best 200 African footballers of the last 50 years, went on to become Zambia’s head coach before dying in the plane crash that killed 18 members of the Zambian national team along with 12 others in 1993.

http://www.givemefootball.com/european- ... fa-prepare

:? :?

Firstly, Zambia FA claiming their striker - Godfrey Chitalu - scored 107 goals in 1972 (evidence to be verified) and then Flamengo is stating Zico scored 89 goals in 1979 for both club and country (Flamengo have submitted no evidence to back this claim). In my opinion, if you have the evidence to confirm these claims then by all means please submit to FIFA for verification. Secondly, why only wait till now i.e. 40 years and 33 years respectively, to realize that your players scored more goals than Muller? In conclusion, these reports are just claims at the moment and FIFA has indicated they will conduct an internal review on Zambia FA's claim. If the claim is verified by FIFA and considered legit, then by all means I will accept that Godfrey Chitalu holds the record for most goals scored in a calendar year. However until then, Messi holds the record!

All in all, sour grapes FTL :?

Postby mero » December 13th, 2012, 6:28 pm

Pele probably behind this :lol:

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 13th, 2012, 9:31 pm

mero wrote:Pele probably behind this :lol:

Dont get me on this nah! :lol: :lol: Pele cyah ketch himself yet.

But looking back at the goals messi score versus goals barcelona scored, here's what I found
1) Barcelona scored 170 goals in 2011 and has notched up 168 so far this year. They going to break last year's record soon.
2)For this year, 2012, out of the 168 goals scored, Messi has approx half of them.

Over dependence you say??

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 13th, 2012, 9:59 pm

mero wrote:Pele probably behind this :lol:

won't doubt it nah :lol: :lol: Pele is probably the most anti-Messi :lol:

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 14th, 2012, 10:42 am

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 16th, 2012, 1:26 pm

Nail biting match later, the two best strikers in La Liga go up against each other. Suppose to be guaranteed goals. Hope Falcao doesnt pick this match to blaze up the Camp Nou :skurry:

Postby Morpheus » December 16th, 2012, 3:18 pm

What time does it start?

legend

Postby legend » December 16th, 2012, 3:23 pm

Flow playing up I hate to stream games it..always drops.

on a side note. I gonna bring in a barca tshirt since i cant get my size (xxl) locally.

Anyone know how much duties I looking at to bring this in..the jersey cost is about 120 us with shipping to my skybox. OR anyone know where I can get the home kit in that size locally? thanks guys

Postby X_Factor » December 16th, 2012, 3:31 pm

^if u sending it via skybox, dont let them put a reciept in the package
u may get away since i doubt customs will value the t shirt for 700TT

Postby X_Factor » December 16th, 2012, 4:07 pm

is the game up yet>
anyone have a working stream?

Postby X_Factor » December 16th, 2012, 4:07 pm

is the game up yet>
anyone have a working stream?

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Totally expected, Falcao scored.
Once again we go down a goal in a la liga match.
Forca Barca!

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 4:40 pm

Goooal by a solo effort from Adriano

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Gooooal by Busquets, real composure

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 16th, 2012, 4:51 pm

Busquets makes it 2-1 to Barcelona

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 16th, 2012, 4:55 pm

Somebody was saying Tuner group buy for direcTV?? I'm sure the Real Madrid guys and gals will fall in too :)

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 5:21 pm

Messi scores

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 16th, 2012, 5:23 pm

AMadrid took off a midfileder to bring on a striker and concedes a third goal minutes later. Messi scores the third! And now Diego Costa is subbed out for AMadrid.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 5:48 pm

90 goals for Messi now!

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 16th, 2012, 5:48 pm

Would love for D Villa to make it 5

Postby X_Factor » December 16th, 2012, 6:00 pm

^yup
and that was on target eh!!

excellent result for us!!

kevcam

Postby kevcam » December 16th, 2012, 6:11 pm

Athletico had a very good 35 mins in the first half. They could have been up by more goals. Falcao strong and fast. Falcao's goal was a really good run, Adriano's goal was even better. I was relieved to see Busquets score because I thought he should have hit it first time but when I saw the replay, he did well to take an additional touch before hitting it as a defender was sliding in to block the shot.

Tito did well to change it up a bit in the second half. He had Messi on the extreme left for the first 10 mins or so as he was really out of the game being marked heavily in the centre. All the play was then going down the left side and Athletico would have had to send players from the middle to mark him. Messi did well to score his first as the pass from Alexis was really heavy. The second was a gift though. Barca really stepped up the game after the goal. Good performance by the team and congrats to Messi on reaching 90 goals.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » December 16th, 2012, 10:34 pm

Messi once again proves how humble he is by not treating the pitch intruder harshly but he returned the hug lol

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 17th, 2012, 12:30 am

Somehow I think Barca gearing up to sell David Villa and Danny Alves to purchase _____, they gonna get some big money for them with the Sheikh Clubs around,

ado15mk3

Postby ado15mk3 » December 17th, 2012, 6:37 am

hope they get a good cb too. abidal don't look like he will make it back to football. sad really, when it was him with p & p the defence was hard.

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » December 19th, 2012, 11:41 am

I reading a "report" on football gossip sites saying that Villanova may need to step down due to a relapse of his cancer :( . Hope all is well with him for the Xmas and beyond.