*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 16th, 2014, 12:46 pm

S_2NR wrote:I taking in the matches on espn and abc in hd and the coverage is alot better and not bloated by ads.
for free?

Postby S_2NR » June 16th, 2014, 12:57 pm

I wish. Nothing good is free Duane

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 16th, 2014, 5:40 pm

Agreed I dont think the home theatre fans expect HD quality for free... Is it a secret how you streaming ESPN in hd?
I thought we're here to share info

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 16th, 2014, 5:43 pm

Agreed I dont think the home theatre fans expect HD quality for free... Is it a secret how you streaming ESPN in hd?
I thought we're here to share info

Postby S_2NR » June 16th, 2014, 6:10 pm

When did I say I was streaming. This is DirecTV. If you so unsatisfied drop flow and get this or blink. And no, blink not blocking channels either.
So flow just shafting allyu

Zim

Postby Zim » June 16th, 2014, 11:13 pm

S_2NR wrote:When did I say I was streaming. This is DirecTV. If you so unsatisfied drop flow and get this or blink. And no, blink not blocking channels either.
So flow just shafting allyu

Which has all channels in English?

Zim

Postby Zim » June 16th, 2014, 11:16 pm

Nice builds I'm seeing from many of you. Congrats! My Adcom GFA-545 had a shot right channel a few months ago. I pipe it out & looking for a replacement in a few months. Anybody have any to sell? Considering brands like: Adcom, Rotel, NAD, Pioneer, Yamaha, etc. Vintage ones considered also. Thanks in advance.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 19th, 2014, 3:17 pm

hai guys. i was searching and stumbled upon this thread.

havent been too aware of the advancements in home theatre over the last few years and went blindly and bravely and bought the 240 hz http://www.samsung.com/us/video/tvs/UN75H7150AFXZA

i was wondering what is the advantage of having the 240 hz refresh rate over the 120 hz in simple terms. the unit is currently in shipment, im hopeful to receive it before wc finals lol

Postby Morpheus » June 19th, 2014, 3:31 pm

Yuh late bai. The "finals" start and going on already.
Or did you mean the "final" as in the championship game?

In simple terms the higher the refresh rate the less flicker the naked eye can detect and the more seamless the picture. Hence 240Hz is double and better than 120Hz any day.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 19th, 2014, 4:01 pm

i mean the final game lol

i looked up the difference between the 120 and 240 and alot of mixed views about it. some people say the naked eye cant detect the difference, but yet the difference in price is considerable.

Postby Morpheus » June 19th, 2014, 4:45 pm

I'm no expert but I think for regular viewing 120hz is adequate. For high intensity like graphics intense gaming and movies I think the higher the better.........

This from my own research when I was asking the same question as you some time ago.

Goes without saying 60hz is a no-no! :lol:

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 19th, 2014, 5:38 pm

hmm ima have to get into gaming to maximise my use :D

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 20th, 2014, 10:00 am

Search the 'soap opera effect'

120Hz+ would be recommended for fast paced things like sports.
For normal tv/movies most people it off (TruMotion/AutoMotion/etc)

I not too sure about the gaming part. When I turn on that ^ I tend to get more input lag than with it off.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 20th, 2014, 10:58 am

darn... i paid almost 10 grand more to get the 240 hz.. hope its not something that turns out to be insignificant :/

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » June 20th, 2014, 12:45 pm

I wouldn't say it insignificant.
Try it out and see for yourself.

You have a link to the 120Hz TV?
I don't think that extra 120Hz would cost so much more.
Yours probably have more features as well.

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 20th, 2014, 1:23 pm

it will be here in a few weeks so ill be sure to eperiment :D

the 120 hz version i was looking at is this

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-UN75H6350 ... 75+inch+tv

Postby Morpheus » June 23rd, 2014, 4:37 am

1080p projector guys. What brand do you use?

I'm thinking of getting one for occassional movies and gaming. I'm considering replacement bulb price, noise, heat, "not completely dark room" viewing etc.

These are just some I came across....

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00E4JEDW ... mp_s_a_1_1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00E19RFF ... mp_s_a_1_1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00EU9V3V ... p_s_a_1_10

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2014, 9:29 am

speedmelter wrote:i mean the final game lol

i looked up the difference between the 120 and 240 and alot of mixed views about it. some people say the naked eye cant detect the difference, but yet the difference in price is considerable.
fouljuice wrote:Search the 'soap opera effect'

I not too sure about the gaming part. When I turn on that ^ I tend to get more input lag than with it off.
movies even on bluray, are almost always done at 24fps so if you want to see the movie the way the director intended you will have to switch off all those trumotion things and run your 120Hz or 240Hz TV at 60Hz. Videophiles do not like the "soap opera effect" and so "proper" movie watching is done at 60Hz unless it's a movie like The Hobbit that was specifically filmed at 48fps and shown in select cinemas at 48fps.

What the 120Hz and 240Hz LCD/LED TV's do is they take two frames and add in frames inbetween to make motion look more fluid. Plasmas run at 600Hz! But this is different. plasmas dont have the problem of slow refresh rates of LCD/LEDs.

Is it worth it? Buying a 240Hz TV means that it is probably the top end model with all the bells and whistles, networking, wifi, smart TV with a good quality panel. Does it necessarily show better? Maybe. You should be watching those HD bluray movies at 60Hz anyway.

take a read here:
http://www.cnet.com/news/240hz-lcd-tvs- ... d-to-know/

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » June 23rd, 2014, 10:29 am

Makes sense. I actually never really noticed much wrong watching movies on my old 60Hz tv. Only time I really notice stuff is when the camera pans across the teams at the start of a match on ps3. My next tv will be 120Hz. Don't see the need for 240

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » June 23rd, 2014, 11:02 am

Watching movies @ 120/240hz as duane said is pretty appalling,cause they are filmed in 24fps,so its basically watching a sped up version of the movie,which makes it look like a documentary imo.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2014, 1:00 pm

ru$$ell wrote:Watching movies @ 120/240hz as duane said is pretty appalling,cause they are filmed in 24fps,so its basically watching a sped up version of the movie,which makes it look like a documentary imo.
more like it was shot with a camcorder.

Also if you have a TV that uses frame interpolation (i.e. 120hz, 240hz etc.) then it can cause a video/audio sync problem. The audio can seem out of sync at times since it just was not filmed at that frame rate. This happens especially if your audio is routed through a receiver (the way your home theater should be set up)

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 23rd, 2014, 1:35 pm

speedmelter wrote:i mean the final game lol

fouljuice wrote:Search the 'soap opera effect'

movies even on bluray, are almost always done at 24fps so if you want to see the movie the way the director intended you will have to switch off all those trumotion things and run your 120Hz or 240Hz TV at 60Hz. Videophiles do not like the "soap opera effect" and so "proper" movie watching is done at 60Hz unless it's a movie like The Hobbit that was specifically filmed at 48fps and shown in select cinemas at 48fps.

What the 120Hz and 240Hz LCD/LED TV's do is they take two frames and add in frames inbetween to make motion look more fluid. Plasmas run at 600Hz! But this is different. plasmas dont have the problem of slow refresh rates of LCD/LEDs.

Is it worth it? Buying a 240Hz TV means that it is probably the top end model with all the bells and whistles, networking, wifi, smart TV with a good quality panel. Does it necessarily show better? Maybe. You should be watching those HD bluray movies at 60Hz anyway.

take a read here:
http://www.cnet.com/news/240hz-lcd-tvs- ... d-to-know/

if i came here and asked first i wouldve bought the 120 hz and gotten my surround sound system with the savings which im now saving over for.

anyhow its already gone.

whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?

it does not have to include a blueray player. i like wireless connectivity to connect phones etc.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2014, 1:55 pm

speedmelter wrote:
whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?

it does not have to include a blueray player. i like wireless connectivity to connect phones etc.
don't buy an all-in-one or what they call a HTIAB (home theater in a box).

instead look for a good receiver, a good powered subwoofer and then find good speakers and a center channel that match well with each other and the sub or vice versa.

it does not have to be expensive as users here have gotten great seults from the pricesmart HK receiver and Dayton Speakers from Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/Dayton-Audio-B652 ... B002RMPHMU

a system like that will sound better, last longer and be easily upgradeable compared to an all-in-one system that you buy everything in one box.

Also 5.1 is fine. there is no need for 7.1 unless you really want it. So far the vast majority of bluray movies are shot and recorded in 5.1 anyway. Though most of the great new titles are being mastered in 7.1.

Here are a list of movies mastered in 7.1 and 6.1 (not necessarily filmed and recorded in 7.1 and 6.1)
http://forum.blu-ray.com/showthread.php?t=159814

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » June 23rd, 2014, 2:02 pm

thanks Duane, i will start looking at my options in terms of piecing the system together.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 23rd, 2014, 3:33 pm

speedmelter wrote:whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?
it does not have to include a blueray player.
I'm a novice in Home Theatre 'surround sound'. My focus is more in ol' school 'hi-end stereo' but here's my $0.02¢ anyway...
whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?... How about a good NEW 7.1 network ready system for US $1,049 plus free shipping to your freight forwarder in USA?
(Avoid the "No international sales" headache by registering their address with eBay & PayPal as your "ship to" address.)

Link--> Onkyo HT-S9400THX 7.1 Channel Home Theater System (HTS9400THX).

I bought an Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1 system with the HT-R 590 AV Receiver about a year ago. I'll add a decent Blueray Player in a few months.
This way I have decent reproduction now through a balanced speaker system that gives me headroom to expand over the next few years while I get my feet wet in "Home Theatre."

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on June 23rd, 2014, 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2014, 4:05 pm

Sanctifier wrote:
speedmelter wrote:whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?
it does not have to include a blueray player.
I'm a novice in Home Theatre 'surround sound'. My focus is more in ol' school 'hi-end stereo' but here's my $0.02¢ anyway...
whats a really good 5.1 surround system for no more than 1000 uds?... How about a good NEW 7.1 network ready system for US $1,049 plus free shipping to your freight forwarder in USA? (One way to avoid the "No international sales" headache.)

Link--> Onkyo HT-S9400THX 7.1 Channel Home Theater System (HTS9400THX).

I bought an Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1 system with the HT-R 590 AV Receiver about 6 months ago. I'll add a decent Blueray Player in a few months.
This way I'll get decent reproduction now through a balanced speaker system that gives me headroom to expand over the next few years while I get my feet wet in "Home Theatre."

My $0.02¢
also a good way to go however I think you can get better sound and more customizable setup from doing it on your own, not to mention learning alot more.

Onkyo makes REALLY good receivers, but not so good speakers IMO.

How's this option (all prices from Amazon.com)
Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair x2 - @$50 ea = $100
Micca MB42X-C Center Channel Speaker carbon Fiber center $69
BIC America F12 12-Inch 475-Watt Front Firing Powered Subwoofer $204.13
Pioneer VSX-1123 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver $350
Sony PS3 Super Slim (game console, media player, media streamer and bluray player) $279

Total: $1,002.13 (and this includes a PS3!)

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 23rd, 2014, 4:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:...Onkyo makes REALLY good receivers, but not so good speakers IMO.

How's this option (all prices from Amazon.com)
Dayton Audio B652 6-1/2-Inch 2-Way Bookshelf Speaker Pair x2 - @$50 ea = $100
Micca MB42X-C Center Channel Speaker carbon Fiber center $69
BIC America F12 12-Inch 475-Watt Front Firing Powered Subwoofer $204.13
Pioneer VSX-1123 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver $350
Sony PS3 Super Slim (game console, media player, media streamer and bluray player) $279

Total: $1,002.13 (and this includes a PS3!)
Yup Duane, I agree with you... BUT...
Sanctifier wrote:I bought an Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1 system with the HT-R 590 AV Receiver about a year ago...
Link--> Onkyo HT-S5400 7.1-Channel Home Theater Package.

They made me an offer that I couldn't refuse (factory reconditioned & warrantied)... US $269... SHIPPED! 8-) :lol:

... and I preferred to buy really GOOD speakers for my future Hi-Fi stereo system instead...
Klipsch Epic CF-3 Floorstanding Loudspeakers.

Works for me! :lol:
Last edited by Sanctifier on August 30th, 2015, 11:44 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Morpheus » June 23rd, 2014, 4:46 pm

*feels left out/ignored :sad:

:grin:

Morpheus wrote:1080p projector guys. What brand do you use?

I'm thinking of getting one for occassional movies and gaming. I'm considering replacement bulb price, noise, heat, "not completely dark room" viewing etc.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » June 23rd, 2014, 5:27 pm

^ ^ ^ Hi Morpheus Maybe Duane and the others can give you a better review... I don't know enough about them to give an opinion.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 23rd, 2014, 5:51 pm

Morpheus wrote:*feels left out/ignored :sad:

:grin:

Morpheus wrote:1080p projector guys. What brand do you use?

there is some projector discussion earlier in the thread if you search. My take on it is that you are better off with a TV unless this is a dedicated movie-only room with controlled lighting. Yes a projector gives you huge screen size but at the expense of practicality. If you just want to watch news or watch football with friends over, are you really going to sit in a dark room? Turn on the lights and the picture quality goes to sh!t.

If you are really set on a projector, you may be interested in this article written a few days ago
http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/the-be ... projector/