Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2023, 2:36 pm

viedcht wrote:
bluefete wrote:Tunapuna market this morning:

Oranges: $20 for 13
Portugals $20 for 20
Grapefruit: $20 for 25

Ah make meh name in fruits today. Thank you Lord.
I think them is the best citrus prices I see in a very long while

I feel the produce was stolen and the vendor wanted to get it of his hands asap :lol:

Cuz them prices not normal

Postby Chimera » December 24th, 2023, 3:49 pm

No thats normal citrus price currently as everyone trees bearing heavily

Postby redmanjp » December 24th, 2023, 4:09 pm

snatman wrote:Folks, are you all paying attention to the Red Sea shipping crisis?

Freight rates are doubling and tripling. Gear up for some stress if this situation isn't brought under control!

what foods affected?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 24th, 2023, 4:41 pm

Chimera wrote:No thats normal citrus price currently as everyone trees bearing heavily

Well bredda...them mc pests cleaning out our fields

Postby maj. tom » December 26th, 2023, 6:34 am

An oversupply of produce led to an unprecedented drop in prices that reached an all-time low on Christmas Eve at the Southern Wholesale Market in Debe.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/christmas-eve-produce-prices-drop-6.2.1884687.ea39751abf

However, despite the enticing prices, there was a noticeable scarcity of shoppers at the market.

Rough skin lemons sold for $2 each, while six oranges sold for $20. Peppers dropped to an all-time low, according to vendors, with 50 peppers being retailed for $20. Sweet bell peppers, which usually sell for $20 per pound, sold for $8 per pound, while big bundles of bodi sold for $6. Forty ochroes sold for $10 while large apples went at $4 each.

“We make history in T&T this year. It’s the first time we ever had a heat wave in the rainy season. Every year, peppers cross $1000 a feedbag during Christmas but it didn’t reach that this year because crops didn’t die from floods. I am not seeing any complaints about high food prices anywhere,” he said.

The only crop that remained high was tomatoes, which sold for $20 per pound.

Postby Chimera » December 26th, 2023, 7:30 am

All over the farmer groups the wholesale citrus prices are listed. $1000 for 1500 Portugal.
$100 for 100 orange etc.

Postby bluefete » December 27th, 2023, 12:58 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
viedcht wrote:

Portugals $20 for 20

I feel the produce was stolen and the vendor wanted to get it of his hands asap :lol:

LOLZ. The prices are as real as could be. The vendor I bought them from is legit. He sold out all his portugals before I reached. I was happy to buy from him because most times he would have 5/6 oranges for $20. That is above my pay grade.

Postby bluefete » December 27th, 2023, 1:01 pm

Some weeks ago I bought black sorrel for the first time in my life because it was selling about 6lbs / $24.

That thing does real lash!!!!!!!!!!! Nice, thick consistency when boiled and relevant spices added. Tasted real bess!

Once price is good, I am definitely buying again.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 27th, 2023, 1:13 pm

bluefete wrote:Some weeks ago I bought black sorrel for the first time in my life because it was selling about 6lbs / $24.

That thing does real lash!!!!!!!!!!! Nice, thick consistency when boiled and relevant spices added. Tasted real bess!

Once price is good, I am definitely buying again.

When black sorrel first became a thing about 15 years ago, i switched to that.
But, something was off.
The sorrel flavour wasn't as strong or defined.
So I've switched back to red since the last few years and the difference is noticeable. For those who enjoy sorrel that is.

Postby maj. tom » December 27th, 2023, 1:15 pm

Yuh use Splenda to sweeten it, or 3 lbs of sugar?

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » December 27th, 2023, 2:53 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If that manzan road wasn't so bad, I was considering taking the drive to Mayaro to see if Persads really worth it.

There is a Persads in Curepe as well.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 27th, 2023, 3:58 pm

partner, yuh realise that Better deal has now literally doubled in size since last year?
I went there today, and many of the shelves needed restocking.

88sins wrote:Better deal aranguez, usually you hadda leave your cart one spot and make runs.
This year, yuh could keep a fete in d lanes

Postby bluefete » December 27th, 2023, 7:33 pm

maj. tom wrote:Yuh use Splenda to sweeten it, or 3 lbs of sugar?

:shock: :shock: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

After I counted 12 pot spoons of sugar, I emptied the whole bottle of granulated sugar plus spices - bayleaf and other things.

Postby bluefete » December 27th, 2023, 7:34 pm

dogg wrote:partner, yuh realise that Better deal has now literally doubled in size since last year?
I went there today, and many of the shelves needed restocking.

88sins wrote:Better deal aranguez, usually you hadda leave your cart one spot and make runs.
This year, yuh could keep a fete in d lanes

Better Deal has opened up extra space in the grocery. Especially down to the back.

Postby bluefete » December 27th, 2023, 7:35 pm

rexsmith wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:If that manzan road wasn't so bad, I was considering taking the drive to Mayaro to see if Persads really worth it.

Are you sure? Bicks is the latest to open in Curepe sometime this year or late last year.

Postby Dave » December 27th, 2023, 8:00 pm

bluefete wrote:
rexsmith wrote:

Are you sure? Bicks is the latest to open in Curepe sometime this year or late last year.
Branded as Bicks initially and now as Persad's.

Postby pugboy » December 27th, 2023, 9:03 pm

is this the same persads princetown ppl?

Postby Dave » December 27th, 2023, 9:46 pm

Same thing I always wondered.
The bag is the same and the logo as far as I can see.

Postby eliteauto » December 27th, 2023, 11:28 pm

bluefete wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
viedcht wrote:

Portugals $20 for 20

LOLZ. The prices are as real as could be. The vendor I bought them from is legit. He sold out all his portugals before I reached. I was happy to buy from him because most times he would have 5/6 oranges for $20. That is above my pay grade.

Yup, I buy from the same vendor often his prices are the best, bought from him on Christmas Eve to give out to people he gave me the portugals at 25 for $20, the other prices were the same

viedcht

Postby viedcht » December 28th, 2023, 11:00 am

bluefete wrote:
maj. tom wrote:Yuh use Splenda to sweeten it, or 3 lbs of sugar?

:shock: :shock:

After I counted 12 pot spoons of sugar, I emptied the whole bottle of granulated sugar plus spices - bayleaf and other things.
Lawd I gone in ah coma reading dat, daz rell sugar

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 28th, 2023, 12:01 pm

paid_influencer wrote:412973206_795252085947492_8702025960658668487_n.jpg

is it true. is the secret of massy's success... charging mor for cheese?

Here are the Dec'23 prices for a 454g block of cheddar.

Massy/HiLo is the worst.

Nb, the TruValu price was a special.

source: https://tradeind.gov.tt/supermarket-pri ... mber-2023/

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2023, 12:49 pm

yet persads is the highest

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 28th, 2023, 1:17 pm

pugboy wrote:yet persads is the highest

Good catch. I misspoke... 4 cents away from the worst.
Consistently across the 4 Massy Stores branches surveyed, while Persad's is far south.

Also, what was your Massy dividend payout this year again? How many digits? 5?

Assuming the minimum $10k, and that folks could have bought the same cheese for $14.16 cheaper at TruValu, that's $10,000/$14.16 ~= 700+ people who bought overpriced cheese at Massy Stores that went to pay for your dividend payout (ceteris paribus).

And they lovin' it too...
Bunch of posers.

Postby adnj » December 28th, 2023, 2:13 pm

All of these are the same cheddar cheeses? They're are the same type? from the same country?

One should definitely shop for their food by price alone when the differences in taste don't matter.

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2023, 2:20 pm

no, some of them cheese have a melted plastic texture when cooked in macaroni pie

the long and short is no bigname grocery is universally cheaper across the board than others nowadays
it is pointless to say one is more expensive than the other

in fact a chinese grocery might be the closest to being cheaper across the board than a big name grocery

adnj wrote:All of these are the same cheddar cheeses? They're are the same type? from the same country?

One should definitely shop for their food by price alone when the differences in taste don't matter.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » December 28th, 2023, 3:11 pm

adnj wrote:All of these are the same cheddar cheeses? They're are the same type? from the same country?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceteris_paribus

Postby eliteauto » December 28th, 2023, 3:53 pm

454g is just about a lb, I buy my cheese (Open Country brand NZ cheddar) at Phoenix Meat Importers on George St POS, if I but a lb I'll pay $23 which is on the lower end of the scale per the table above, but I usually buy large pieces so I get 5.5lbs for $120 ($21.8/lb) or 11lbs for $230 ( $20.90/lb) the prices are even lower when I'm buying for a catering job. Bunny Imports in Macoya offers similar prices so I've stopped buying cheddar cheese in supermarkets unless I need some on short notice

Postby maj. tom » December 28th, 2023, 4:14 pm

PriceSmart sells the same NZ cheddar that they cut and wrap in various sizes. $54/kg.
I saw a massive block for about $1000.

Postby pugboy » December 28th, 2023, 4:22 pm

the pricesmart one is what a lot of ppl complain about the fake texture

Postby adnj » December 28th, 2023, 4:33 pm

Open Country and Fonterra (Pricesmart) are two different New Zealand dairy manufacturers.