COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID-19” - 76 cases, 3 deaths confirmed in T&T

Postby toyolink » March 29th, 2020, 12:41 pm

The present experience in T&T is leading to questions about the dynamics behind the spread of the virus.
With the distinct possibility that we are infact exposed to 'community spread, its really sad what has been happening with the panic buying this week-end.
Effectively we may now be faced with a new 2-3 week horizon for the full impact of this week-end to be felt and this is just a simplistic view with the reality being more complex than this.
Covid 19 is bringing to the table much more than an medical challenge but is putting all societies under extreme behavioral tests which bring in focus our ranking of what is important for our existence.
Covid19 is asking us all the question...…..How much are you willing to sacrifice to avoid the possibility of death of yourself, a love one or a fellow citizen?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 12:47 pm

Pharmacies are running critically low on vitamins and immune boosters newsday reports. The reason given is Trinis are hoarding everything for themselves the ones with the money buy so much and are so selfish that it is expected to expire on their hands.

A real shame pharmacies are not taking bold steps to limit 1 per customer they only care about money.

I for one will be looking at business places limiting 1 per customer and will be giving them my support after this is all over to the ones who are just willing to sell 1 person with the money so they can horde with the hope of flipping it on a black market I will not be supporting those businesses.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 1:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Pharmacies are running critically low on vitamins and immune boosters newsday reports. The reason given is Trinis are hoarding everything for themselves the ones with the money buy so much and are so selfish that it is expected to expire on their hands.

A real shame pharmacies are not taking bold steps to limit 1 per customer they only care about money.

I for one will be looking at business places limiting 1 per customer and will be giving them my support after this is all over to the ones who are just willing to sell 1 person with the money so they can horde with the hope of flipping it on a black market I will not be supporting those businesses.

I would care if those things worked, but they're mostly snake oil.

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2020, 1:05 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Pharmacies are running critically low on vitamins and immune boosters newsday reports. The reason given is Trinis are hoarding everything for themselves the ones with the money buy so much and are so selfish that it is expected to expire on their hands.

those 'immune boosters' are modern day snake oil. save your money. they are a scam to enrich a few people (not you).

The only things you need to have right now are regular multivitamins and omega-3 to supplement your diet.

Vitamin C is heavily over-rated and expensive for what it does. Vitamin D is good, and you can get it for free by going outside and taking a walk around in the sun. Walk arounds are great for relieving mucus congestion. Seabath (saline/saltwater) is excellent for breaking up mucus congestion, damn shame we can't go to the beach when we get sick.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 1:09 pm

So update on my co-worker, his coughing and breathing problems got a bit worse yesterday and he called the hotline to find out what to do.

Apparently, they refused any help what so ever as again (3rd time now) as:
1. He is still mild, he was perhaps too honest because he told them he no longer had much fever
2. He said if anything he can drive in since they said they prefer to use the ambulance for higher priority cases
3. He hasn't traveled recently

So.....wtf, are we just refusing to acknowledge cases when we probably have hundreds if not thousands.

Postby 88sins » March 29th, 2020, 1:16 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

shhh, doh say nuttn
let dem figure it out for themselves that it's the body's very strong immune response that is actually one of the main contributors when ppl get pneumonia as a result of this virus.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 29th, 2020, 1:56 pm

Im guessing that based on the diagnosis given to the doctors they think that his breathing problems are in his head as in some situations people tend to overthink their illness and panic I'm sure they asked him more questions about his breathing and realized it doesn't fit the requirements for covid 19. I think he should record the phone call next time. So he can take action later if God forbid be does have it. Keep us posted bro and make sure and tell him to stay inside and away from his parents.
Dohplaydat wrote:So update on my co-worker, his coughing and breathing problems got a bit worse yesterday and he called the hotline to find out what to do.

1. He is still mild, he was perhaps too honest because he told them he no longer had much fever
2. He said if anything he can drive in since they said they prefer to use the ambulance for higher priority cases

So.....wtf, are we just refusing to acknowledge cases when we probably have hundreds if not thousands.

Postby Gladiator » March 29th, 2020, 2:10 pm

This hasn't been happening before why you think it will happen now.... Venes coming in normal...

Gem_in_i wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Borders opening on 01 April only for a Piarco to Miami flight?

Americans only and well the families of overstayed and illegal Trinis i.e - Permanent Residents?

Trump calling for his people?

Trini might be safer than the USA right now.

Hoss planes flying all over the world collecting citizens. Only Trinidad has abandoned it's people.

It is a chartered flight to Miami at $1500US per person.
14 days quarantine when you get there.

Hmmm big number.

That price should be tripled for the disgraceful Trinis in Barbados, Margarita etc....they should also pay for the flight crew, ground staff, govt departments as they have to leave the comfort and safety of their homes to be in close proximity of these pests. I hope they stay their ass quiet when they get some attitude.

I plea to Minister Stuart Young to keep them out until this crisis is under control.

Our borders are closed.

I observe that you trying hard to make sense lately. Kudos.

Hope you remember that our borders are officially closed. So any pirogue loaded with venes headed in this direction need to either turn back or expect to get some nice big holes in their hulls as soon as they in our territorial waters.
Because no matter who says otherwise, right now Venezuelans illegally entering Trinidad are a real threat to the life of everyone on these islands.

killercow

Postby killercow » March 29th, 2020, 2:14 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:So update on my co-worker, his coughing and breathing problems got a bit worse yesterday and he called the hotline to find out what to do.

Let him drive to the hospital and admit himself. They cannot refuse him at the hospital.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 2:17 pm

boxy wrote:Im guessing that based on the diagnosis given to the doctors they think that his breathing problems are in his head as in some situations people tend to overthink their illness and panic I'm sure they asked him more questions about his breathing and realized it doesn't fit the requirements for covid 19. I think he should record the phone call next time. So he can take action later if God forbid be does have it. Keep us posted bro and make sure and tell him to stay inside and away from his parents.

Well I was on the phone with him just now, definitely a dry cough and he's coughing a lot.

His doctor locally said he can get him a test outside of carpha and in a few weeks he can get him the antigen test to confirm if he had it, since those local tests tend to produce lots of false positives. He said he'll test him twice tomorrow and twice on Wednesday.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 2:18 pm

killercow wrote:

Let him drive to the hospital and admit himself. They cannot refuse him at the hospital.

He was explicitly told NOT to come to the hospital unless it's serious. Plus he said it's mild and he rather not go in and take up space that someone sicker would need.

Postby teems1 » March 29th, 2020, 2:28 pm

What happens if your fridge or stove conks out?

These 2 are going to be an absolute necessity for this ordeal.

Postby rspann » March 29th, 2020, 2:30 pm

A girl in my area put up herself on instagram with ventilator on and says she is diagnosed with it and is in Mt Hope . The figure hasn't risen officially so I don't know what to make of it..

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 2:30 pm

teems1 wrote:What happens if your fridge or stove conks out?

Wait was it you who asked if Courts is essential service?

Postby rspann » March 29th, 2020, 2:32 pm

killercow wrote:

Dog ! This is Trinidad. A man die on POSGH front lawn.

Postby rspann » March 29th, 2020, 2:42 pm

carluva wrote:Wait nah... The roti factory in the lil back alley in Mohammedsville?

So your place is the place down the road on the corner?
rspann wrote:Meanwhile people going by the roti factory normal for stocks to celebrate the holiday tomorrow.

Dragoon correct . Evelyn Tr . Yeah I on the corner.

I just spoke to the ACP who in charge of COVID operations , they going to do a little more explaining later . You CAN move about as normal , it's the congregating they dealing seriously with.

Postby The_Honourable » March 29th, 2020, 2:51 pm

boxy wrote:Im guessing that based on the diagnosis given to the doctors they think that his breathing problems are in his head as in some situations people tend to overthink their illness and panic I'm sure they asked him more questions about his breathing and realized it doesn't fit the requirements for covid 19. I think he should record the phone call next time. So he can take action later if God forbid be does have it. Keep us posted bro and make sure and tell him to stay inside and away from his parents.

Agreed, record the phone calls. If tested positive and fully recovers, he can take legal action.

Document document document...

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » March 29th, 2020, 2:51 pm

maj. tom wrote:Allyuh check out the Trini meaning of "social distancing." More than half of our population is stupid and illiterate. And they are the voters. These photos are from yesterday.

JTA Supermarket in Marabella

Tunapuna Market.

Xtra Foods Endeavour

Xtra Foods Arima

This is madness!

If we get as bad as Italy, the world will see how irresponsible the tribesmen of T&T are.

No one care about T&T right now, but it we become a highlight on the globe, I will be sure to forward CNN all the pictures and videos circulating that shows our togetherness and unity.

I assuming this is the payday rush. Seems like they excited and not realizing the groceries will remain open during the entire period. North west Trinidad was very quiet.

Massy(Port of span and environs) ppl were lining up to wash their hands etc. True Value (Long Circular) the line yesterday outside had about 20 ppl max. Several supermarkets in St. James had no lines except the one on Bournes Road that had 10 persons outside.

Additionally, I saw several elderly persons (retirees) accompanied by their adult children while shopping in the grocery. I don`t know why they couldn`t leave them at home. Seems irresponsible but that`s not my business.

Postby teems1 » March 29th, 2020, 2:56 pm

Dohplaydat wrote::lol:

heh. No

At the time I rolled my eyes, but now I'm wondering exactly what would happen.

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 2:57 pm

How they can't realize that? They f*cking illiterate? They can't read all the newspapers and facebook and thousand other print on that groceries will remain open?!

Postby maj. tom » March 29th, 2020, 3:01 pm

Electricians and plumbers are essential. I assume it's the same for appliance technicians, etc. who have similar specialized skill sets. A fridge and stove are definitely essential for modern life. Call one of those appliance parts places and see if they can give you a contact for a technician.

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 3:04 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Borders opening on 01 April only for a Piarco to Miami flight?

Americans only and well the families of overstayed and illegal Trinis i.e - Permanent Residents?

Trump calling for his people?

Trini might be safer than the USA right now.

Hoss planes flying all over the world collecting citizens. Only Trinidad has abandoned it's people.

It is a chartered flight to Miami at $1500US per person.
14 days quarantine when you get there.

Hmmm big number.

That price should be tripled for the disgraceful Trinis in Barbados, Margarita etc....they should also pay for the flight crew, ground staff, govt departments as they have to leave the comfort and safety of their homes to be in close proximity of these pests. I hope they stay their ass quiet when they get some attitude.

I plea to Minister Stuart Young to keep them out until this crisis is under control.

Our borders are closed.

I observe that you trying hard to make sense lately. Kudos.

Hope you remember that our borders are officially closed. So any pirogue loaded with venes headed in this direction need to either turn back or expect to get some nice big holes in their hulls as soon as they in our territorial waters.
Because no matter who says otherwise, right now Venezuelans illegally entering Trinidad are a real threat to the life of everyone on these islands.

Hello 88sins,

Thank you for following my postings. Everything i say always makes sense, but many find it hard to understand as reality is hard to accept.

Yes, our borders are closed and that means to Venezuelans as well, for the obvious reason of infection and also illegal entry for this period.

In this pandemic crisis, we have to be more violent with our approaches, and as you suggested...”big holes in their hulls/skulls”...not just for Venes on pirogues but for Trinidadians as well.

Venezuelans are entering as we speak and that is a border control issue that is out of our control which is a threat to our lives as you stated.

As you mentioned Venezuelans, have you noticed clusters of them in the groceries? Where are the Chinese?

Maybe we shouldnt worry about the Venes too much as they practice social distancing well? I dunno, what are your thoughts?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2020, 3:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

those 'immune boosters' are modern day snake oil. save your money. they are a scam to enrich a few people (not you).

The only things you need to have right now are regular multivitamins and omega-3 to supplement your diet.

Vitamin C is heavily over-rated and expensive for what it does. Vitamin D is good, and you can get it for free by going outside and taking a walk around in the sun. Walk arounds are great for relieving mucus congestion. Seabath (saline/saltwater) is excellent for breaking up mucus congestion, damn shame we can't go to the beach when we get sick.

I do my research and there are a few worth taking.

1. Fish Oils
2. Tumeric
3. Ashwaganda
4. Creatine
5. Vitamin D
6. Garlic
7. Zinc
maybe a few others, but

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 3:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

I do my research and there are a few worth taking.

1. Fish Oils
2. Tumeric
3. Ashwaganda
4. Creatine
5. Vitamin D
6. Garlic
7. Zinc
maybe a few others, but

Good stuff, could throw in ArginMax as well. Good for the boy.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 29th, 2020, 3:25 pm

almost everything in this day and age is essential, this so called lock down doesn't actually make any big difference at all. You can't have a real lock down because of something like COVID it isn't a zombie virus or anything like that, dunno why Trinis keep doing this stupid panic buying crap.

BTW I does eat 2 clove of raw garlic every night before sleep and drink tumeric and ginger tea. This evening going to do some skipping

Anybody ever realized what a big scam the 1000mg Vitamin C actually is? the body must use like 100mg a day and you p!ss out the rest.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 29th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Civil unrest starting in southern Italy...

Postby MaxPower » March 29th, 2020, 3:59 pm

From the time the borders were closed and even before that we were supposed to lock down completely.

Covid19 is in T&T and as of now it cannot enter or leave. It was the duty of the people to control the spread, but as we all can see....total disorder.

So all this congregating for the past weeks just made it worse and is defeating the whole purpose of these stay at home orders bullsheit. The virus done spread.

It doesnt make sense stressing and stretching the citizens for what could be months.

One solid lock down for 14 days...just 14 days would’ve flatten that curve. Social distancing is proven to work just as Bill Gates said.

We have already failed and ALL blame is on the Trinidadian mentality.

Postby Gladiator » March 29th, 2020, 4:13 pm

maj. tom wrote:How they can't realize that? They f*cking illiterate? They can't read all the newspapers and facebook and thousand other print on that groceries will remain open?!

Take a chill pill nah Tom... you seem very wound up...

People will panic buy and hoard, its the natural behavior in times of crisis. If you look at how the lockdown has been phased in so far the next step could very well be a total 100% lockdown and those that have nothing stored will have nothing to eat. A lot of people live paycheck to paycheck and have to wait to get paid to buy food... not everybody as lucky as you.

In Italy now people are running out of food and they are starting to loot... that could be us in 6-8 weeks time.

Postby adnj » March 29th, 2020, 4:14 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Because the one thing that has been clinically proven to boost your immune system is vitamin D. Put some bare skin in the sun and get it for free.

So take your shirt off. Let your rum belly and your man-boobs be seen.

Postby adnj » March 29th, 2020, 4:18 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Pricesmart is open. You can buy a new one from there.