Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

ProtonPowder

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby ProtonPowder » September 12th, 2024, 4:50 pm

demented wrote:Finding out for a colleague: "I filled out the property tax form in 2021 when my land had no building on it. I never got a call or email afterwards. I started construction but not completed to date. Do I have to fill a new assessment form or how do I modify my existing one?"

"Go find out from the government office"

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 12th, 2024, 7:24 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
demented wrote:Finding out for a colleague: "I filled out the property tax form in 2021 when my land had no building on it. I never got a call or email afterwards. I started construction but not completed to date. Do I have to fill a new assessment form or how do I modify my existing one?"

This. Take a day off work, reach early and take a number and sit/stand in the sun and wait. Phone calls go unanswered and emails are a waste. Because we like it so.

wing

Postby wing » September 12th, 2024, 9:02 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:

This. Take a day off work, reach early and take a number and sit/stand in the sun and wait. Phone calls go unanswered and emails are a waste. Because we like it so.
Our public servants except hoover, deserve more than 4%. Only then they will work.

Postby pugboy » September 12th, 2024, 9:05 pm

so have to go to a place with no parking and line up like dog
impsbert really need a good riot in he tail

even licensing office does be better facilitated

Postby Dave » September 12th, 2024, 9:07 pm

Couva office today was quite easy but eventually got overwhelmed.
The government wants every dollar from this exercise. They know what they are doing to ensure this.

Postby alfa » September 12th, 2024, 9:22 pm

Paid mine in Siparia last week or so at the warden office/govt complex. No one was lining up or rushing, was just us alone. Went in for 8 and as usual public servants have to go for breakfast soon as they reach but still got through in under 10 mins.
Seems the more countryside you live the lower your rates,my aunt who has a small flats gor assessed for $150 lol. Mine was under $600

Postby alfa » September 12th, 2024, 9:24 pm

pugboy wrote:so have to go to a place with no parking and line up like dog

Faris say from next year you could pay online, meen know if it'll play off

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 13th, 2024, 6:30 am

88sins wrote:It ain't just about the location bro

Imo, it playing a part! On my side of the bush, there are properties with pool etc paying $1500 for the year, but when you watch the surroundings and area is only bush and well nearby streets are deemed "hotpots".

Postby hover11 » September 13th, 2024, 6:42 am

alfa wrote:

The same way commercial properties supposed to start from next year too, you will wait for that. Still don't understand the logic behind it , if the logic is to earn revenue, why exclude the business community

Postby bluefete » September 13th, 2024, 7:44 am

hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

The same way commercial properties supposed to start from next year too, you will wait for that. Still don't understand the logic behind it , if the logic is to earn revenue, why exclude the business community

How many people in government and opposition are business owners?

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2024, 7:46 am

just like how they promising to have serious proper taxation on casinos since manning days
guess who own the big casinos…

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 13th, 2024, 8:53 am

hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

The unc plan was to start with commercial.

Knowing imbert, who is a property developer, you really expected him to start with commercial

Word was that when he came in, ministry officials begged him to start with industrial and commercial but he refused

It just defies logic to start with residential when businesses are using the same services to actually make money

Postby hover11 » September 13th, 2024, 8:54 am

bluefete wrote:
hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

How many people in government and opposition are business owners?
Them that means 95 percent of POS and Sando not paying property tax . So basically is only the working class money who have to feel the brunt of this.

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2024, 9:07 am

pareto principle 80/20 rule
here it is 99/1

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 13th, 2024, 9:17 am

Not understanding how trinis rushing to pay a tax when Businesses who using the same facilities like road garbage disposals ect not paying a cent.

Postby hover11 » September 13th, 2024, 10:11 am

PariaMan wrote:Not understanding how trinis rushing to pay a tax when Businesses who using the same facilities like road garbage disposals ect not paying a cent.
How else do you expect the rich to get richer....

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2024, 10:43 am

PariaMan wrote:Not understanding how trinis rushing to pay a tax when Businesses who using the same facilities like road garbage disposals ect not paying a cent.

because that's the law set by the people who we collectively put in power.

Postby The_Honourable » September 13th, 2024, 12:39 pm

pnm have belly yuh know :lol:

Tunapuna MP Esmond Forde visits people in the line at the Tunapuna Administrative Complex as they pay their property tax. He also provided some of them with water, iced tea and Kiss cakes as they waited.

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 0453362045

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 13th, 2024, 12:44 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:

Slavery was once the law

wing

Postby wing » September 13th, 2024, 12:50 pm

PariaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

Knowing imbert, who is a property developer, you really expected him to start with commercial

Word was that when he came in, ministry officials begged him to start with industrial and commercial but he refused

It just defies logic to start with residential when businesses are using the same services to actually make money
The UNC plan was to axe the tax.

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2024, 1:40 pm

Imagine, despite the lines , thry don't get 50% of people paying . Thst will hadda squash .
When govt change next year , it will squash .

They had 10 years to organize online payments, leaving it cash with no registered mail notification seems suspect .

I still thinks is a cash grab .
...Jess like pandemic leave .

Postby zoom rader » September 13th, 2024, 1:53 pm

wing wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
hover11 wrote:
alfa wrote:

The UNC plan was to axe the tax.
I will vote for the Axe

Cause my Tax money is going to fuel PNM criminal gangs

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 13th, 2024, 1:59 pm

No getting away from property tax
by

On Monday, the other shoe fell on the long-discussed issue of property tax. Minister of Finance Larry Howai announced in his budget presentation that land and building taxes would return.In the first phase, set for implementation by July 1, 2014, taxes will come due on industrial lands and buildings; then taxes on commercial properties will be assessed and levied; and in Phase 3–the most delicate sector–taxes on agricultural lands and residential properties will be assessed and applied

http://www.guardian.co.tt/article-6.2.407534.4dfcd05583

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 13th, 2024, 2:01 pm

This should be the order

I can get behind this but no way to start with residential

Postby Dizzy28 » September 13th, 2024, 3:47 pm

The_Honourable wrote:pnm have belly yuh know

Tunapuna MP Esmond Forde visits people in the line at the Tunapuna Administrative Complex as they pay their property tax. He also provided some of them with water, iced tea and Kiss cakes as they waited.

Man really "let them cake" literally????

Legend!

Postby sMASH » September 13th, 2024, 8:10 pm

The_Honourable wrote:pnm have belly yuh know

Man really "let them cake" literally????

Legend!
That is Uber aristocrat level troll there ..

Postby pugboy » September 13th, 2024, 8:15 pm

is the pin number unique to the owner even if they own multiple properties?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 13th, 2024, 8:22 pm

PariaMan wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Slavery was once the law

And then it was abolished.
I don't get your point.

It's currently the law, and the last grap who coulda/woulda/shoulda abolish it didn't.
So we all have that lovely carille juice to drink, and I don't want it either - but the old adage about death and taxes holds true.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 14th, 2024, 9:56 am

pugboy wrote:is the pin number unique to the owner even if they own multiple properties?

Different property different #

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » September 14th, 2024, 11:15 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
PariaMan wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:

Slavery was once the law

And then it was abolished.
I don't get your point.

It's currently the law, and the last grap who coulda/woulda/shoulda abolish it didn't.
So we all have that lovely carille juice to drink, and I don't want it either - but the old adage about death and taxes holds true.
So if you was living in slavery times you would have said slavery is the law so let me get some slaves?

We have a right to resist unjust laws.

If no one had submitted forms there would be no property tax right now

Across the world people have demonstrated their strength and gotten laws changed

We in Trinidad are basically sheep who stand for nothing and resist nothing