Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby adnj » August 11th, 2017, 5:52 am

Wheeled air compressor = no duty.

G-DUB

Postby G-DUB » August 11th, 2017, 6:47 am

Bought a stationary air compressor and paid no duties.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 11th, 2017, 9:04 am

NR8 wrote:Looking to purchase a 16" chainsaw for occasional tree trimming. Just light use. Where in South are the best places to check and what price range am I looking at? What are the best brands too?

Ramlagans hardware in Couva. I was impressed they have all parts and everything and their prices are always good .

Postby *KRONIK* » August 11th, 2017, 9:18 am

I have a small echo to sell

Needs a servicing tho

Postby Chimera » August 11th, 2017, 9:26 am

hong kong phooey wrote:
NR8 wrote:Looking to purchase a 16" chainsaw for occasional tree trimming. Just light use. Where in South are the best places to check and what price range am I looking at? What are the best brands too?

Ramlagans hardware in Couva. I was impressed they have all parts and everything and their prices are always good .

ramlagans is a authorized stihl dealer i think

Postby supercharged turbo » August 11th, 2017, 6:51 pm

Yeah they are

Postby *KRONIK* » August 12th, 2017, 6:50 pm

EoI: DEWALT DCS387B 20-volt MAX Compact Reciprocating Saw

I bought this new to cut up some barrels and IBCs
It did its job well.
Also cut up a coconut tree and it worked really well for that.
Saw is in excellent condition and only the shoe has any sign of wear. The body itself is flawless.

Features:
Compact and lightweight design
fits between studs and allows users to make cuts in confined spaces
4-Position Blade Clamp allows for flush cutting
1-1/8" stroke length delivers faster cutting speed
Variable Speed Trigger with 0-2,900 spm

Reason for sale: need an electric as i have some intensive cutting coming up soon i already purchased an electric saw.

Asking 600neg

PM or call 708-0101

Postby Morpheus » August 13th, 2017, 5:22 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
car wrote:
supercharged turbo wrote:Not too long start up the compressor.I swear it was going to be noisy but when I tell you it silent....it silent.You could hold a conversation right next to it without having to raise your voice

Where that selling and at what price?
Looking like a beast.
110v?

Massy Energy..$5737.50.It is so far..tank fulling to max in about 3/4 mins...it worth the money.Yeah 120v

Good stuff...

Postby Ted_v2 » August 14th, 2017, 8:07 am

Bessssssssssss compressor dan, really hoping to pick one up one day. almost 500 USD for one

Postby Ted_v2 » August 15th, 2017, 9:53 pm

m18 impacts, any users here?

wondering about the high torque vs midtorque vs 3/8 . and does the one key model makes sense?

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » August 21st, 2017, 11:34 am

Anyone know where locally I can get a 3" or 75mm hole saw to cut tile?

Similar to this
JINGLING 75mm 3" inch Diamond Coated Tool Drill Bit Hole Saw for Glass Tile Ceramic Marble Color Silver https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TCKBLSY/re ... MzbBE5DTSC

Mercenary

Postby Mercenary » August 21st, 2017, 11:46 am

Where hav a complete tool kit with tools for cars? Always on the road and i need to do running repairs often

Postby timelapse » August 21st, 2017, 1:25 pm

Fellas , I looking for one of those manual lawnmowers, a push reel i think it's called.

car

Postby car » August 21st, 2017, 1:35 pm

timelapse wrote:Fellas , I looking for one of those manual lawnmowers, a push reel i think it's called.

I have 1 for sale. Scott's 21"
Bought and used it a few times. Pm me

Postby supercharged turbo » August 21st, 2017, 6:13 pm

Mercenary wrote:Where hav a complete tool kit with tools for cars? Always on the road and i need to do running repairs often

Pricesmart suppose to have some alright sets.

Postby Ted_v2 » August 22nd, 2017, 8:02 pm

Pricemart have a decent kit, having rell thing. Just add a multimeter and some pliers and you good to go, add what you need based on ur wants.

its like 700$ tho but 1/2 3/8 1/4 sae and metric. spanners too

car

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 8:57 am

Anyone knows where I could get lathe stock material to practice on a metal lathe? Aluminum,brass. For steel I could buy a length of 1" steel rod from the hardware.
Looking for local sources before I go on Amazon or eBay.

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2017, 9:23 am

lotec in trincity

car

Postby car » August 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

X_Factor wrote:lotec in trincity

Thanks. They prices a little hot but still cheaper than sky boxing it in.

Postby *KRONIK* » August 24th, 2017, 10:28 am

Ted_v2 wrote:Pricemart have a decent kit, having rell thing. Just add a multimeter and some pliers and you good to go, add what you need based on ur wants.

its like 700$ tho but 1/2 3/8 1/4 sae and metric. spanners too

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 24th, 2017, 11:29 am

Every time I go Pricesmart I does have to take a stroll in the tools aisle!

Postby X_Factor » August 24th, 2017, 3:28 pm

^
ent, they sometimes have the one off item that is a good brand and price

Postby Ted_v2 » August 24th, 2017, 7:35 pm

Actually got a great deal there already, paid 400$ for a socket set, grabbed two. stanley fatmax

has all 1/4 till 13mm, till 1/2 sae
10mm -19 regular and deep 3/8
3/8 till 11/16 3/8
ratchet, plug sockets and sae allens and metric.

allied have it for a grand.

Postby pugboy » August 30th, 2017, 9:58 pm

Looking for a manual post hole auger
Have few holes to dig to put down some 3" pipe

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » August 30th, 2017, 10:03 pm

Do it the old fashion way and use the 3" pipe to dig the hole...but that may not be very effective since with 3" u will be just scratching the surface...keep the eye out until u have something longer

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 30th, 2017, 11:32 pm

pugboy wrote:Looking for a manual post hole auger
Have few holes to dig to put down some 3" pipe

guessing you want a minimum size of 6 '' or 8" auger if you putting concrete in the hole also
there is a hardware in marabella almost opposite Tecu building , i believe it s the first when you coming from PAP. they have these sizes and if memory serves me right is around 300

Postby adnj » August 31st, 2017, 9:09 am

Are we talking about a manual auger where you twist the T-bar handle and the head drills down or are we talking about a post hole digger which looks like two shovels pinned together?

I've never seen a manual auger for sale in Trinidad (maybe I just don't get out enough) but If it's a post hole digger, I've seen them at many hardware stores including Bhagwansingh. I believe I bought one there about 5 years ago. Post hole diggers normally come in 6" or 8" diameter. It's not a problem making a larger diameter hole.

I have rented a power auger before. If you plan on digging all of the holes in one day, it's an alternative worth considering.

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 31st, 2017, 9:18 am

adnj wrote:Are we talking about a manual auger where you twist the T-bar handle and the head drills down or are we talking about a post hole digger which looks like two shovels pinned together?

I've never seen a manual auger for sale in Trinidad (maybe I just don't get out enough) but If it's a post hole digger, I've seen them at many hardware stores including Bhagwansingh. I believe I bought one there about 5 years ago. Post hole diggers normally come in 6" or 8" diameter. It's not a problem making a larger diameter hole.

I have rented a power auger before. If you plan on digging all of the holes in one day, it's an alternative worth considering.

the two shovels pinned together is crap .good for loose soil but difficult is soil is clay of stony . the Auger ii'm speaking is like a drill bit . it comes without the handle you need to get a piece of pipe for it as depending on your depth u will need different length of pipe . we just use 2 pipe wrench on it

Postby pugboy » August 31st, 2017, 10:22 am

guess I will have to try the shovel type then
I have a hilti with very long 1 1/2" bits
will prob use those to loosen the soil first.

Postby adnj » August 31st, 2017, 11:08 am

hong kong phooey wrote: the two shovels pinned together is crap .good for loose soil but difficult is soil is clay of stony . the Auger ii'm speaking is like a drill bit . it comes without the handle you need to get a piece of pipe for it as depending on your depth u will need different length of pipe . we just use 2 pipe wrench on it

The augers work well for holes that are the same size as the auger. Especially if you're digging a hole that is narrow or deep. We used them to drill gate post holes where you don't want to back fill and drive the post into the ground with a post hammer. This was great for fencing cattle and horse and these holes were typically 3 or 4 feet deep.

When you dig into rocky or heavy soil using a post hole digger, just break up the soil with a digging bar, straight bar or luchette. The digging bar is like a luchette but made of steel, 5 or 6 feet long or more, weighs 15 or 20 pounds, and will break through 4 inches of concrete like a demolition hammer.

A post hole digger and a digging bar will dig a post hole faster in rocky soil than a manual auger of the same size can. But not if you have little arms. ;)