Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2012, 8:25 am

ARES0610............... remember this?
photo(6) - Copy.JPG

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 2nd, 2012, 7:31 pm

ray786 wrote:I have a fresh water crayfish... has grown to large for my tank, he has started to attack my koi's... if any one wants him he is yours.... he has changed his shell 5 times and is approx. 6" long.

Thanks.

Australian? Male, Female ?

Yodins

Postby Yodins » February 2nd, 2012, 7:52 pm

ray786 wrote:I have a fresh water crayfish... has grown to large for my tank, he has started to attack my koi's... if any one wants him he is yours.... he has changed his shell 5 times and is approx. 6" long.

Thanks.

link wrote:CALL TO ALL FRESHWATER AQUARISTS....

all who have fish that have become too large to properly house...please pm or email me ( link@tstt.net.tt ). so send those pacus, kois, tilapia, arrowana, catfish (all dem 'shark' is catfish), etc, etc.

I expect to obtain access to a large pond, already established & needing some careful rehabilitation (clearing of vegetation). This project will be accessible to the general public once established, but will be a NO FISHING, STRICTLY RECREATIONAL AREA.
Initial access will be through TTASA & it's affiliates in the motor sport fraternity, but will be extended progressively as the development proceeds.

Families will be welcomed to walk & observe...and picnic at pondside. Daytime camping will be enabled soon and overnight stays will start once the open-air veranda & gazebo with toilet/bath facilities is established hopefully BEFORE year's end.
More details soon

rgds

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 2nd, 2012, 8:21 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Thanks.

Roro, whats up bro........................ yuh organize yuh fish yet?

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » February 3rd, 2012, 6:53 am

That's some good growth there Honda. See why I like SPS? lol

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2012, 7:25 am

ARES0610 wrote:That's some good growth there Honda. See why I like SPS? lol

yeah, and if you watch the base, it has spread over the rock a great deal already. Its about 20" down so its ideal light. And actually thats the same height i want to put the clam so i should have enough light for it.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » February 3rd, 2012, 7:55 am

HondaB20B wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:

Thanks.

Roro, whats up bro........................ yuh organize yuh fish yet?

In the last phase of the clean up, Looking for some fish tomorrow.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 3rd, 2012, 8:20 am

well its day 40 out here..............pressure!!!!!!! ;-)

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 3rd, 2012, 8:57 am

AGENT RORO wrote:

Thanks.

Australian yes! as for male or female.. i not sure... how do u tell?? :oops:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 4th, 2012, 9:22 pm

check this tank
frametank61dq8.jpg
frametank6om3.jpg
framegreenleathers2fb6.jpg
framefish5ho2.jpg
framefish2ow3.jpg
frameanemone6lc7.jpg

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 4th, 2012, 10:32 pm

Guys I got a couple of counch shells today and though of using them as hiding places for my chiclids.

I was gonna drill a few holes large enough so the fish could enter and exit easily.

I was wondering however, how do I clean these out? Should I boil them in water then soak in freshwater over some time?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 5th, 2012, 1:05 pm

ok guys i am runingin to some rocky times with my fish

over the past few weeks i have beeen besy and neglecting the tank really bad.. not cleaning filter/changing it ..as well as not replacing the water .. all this has beeen due to christmas/death in family and work

now since my first chiclid died i was shicked back to reality and now i need some advice

where can i get a water kit to buy .. i am looking for an ammonia test kit as well as a DO and Ph kit
who has them selling?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 7th, 2012, 12:50 pm

This coral sold in the US couple wks ago for US800....................DAMN. :shock: :shock:
REAL SWEET
800 US.jpg

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 7th, 2012, 3:03 pm

This one went for US1500+
scolymia.jpg

Postby UML » February 10th, 2012, 1:20 pm

advice needed

2 situations

well i doing the plumbing on the saltwater tank these days.....what i want to know is...should I include a UV light in the plumbing of the tank, keep it external to the tank or keep it for the quarantine tank?

would the tank kill good bacteria as well? so i not sure if i should put it in the main tank or just leave it for the quarantine tank

next situation....my silver arowana acting real crazy bout 2 weeks now....it jumping and beating itself up on the eggcrate diffuser i have covering the tank. it bussing up its mouth in the process and it attempting this ever half hour.....is it a water quality thing?..no other fish seem affected.

i will try to take a video of it...it starts of with it swimming vertically like it trying to catch an insect in the top of the tank then you would hear it banging up the eggcrate

feeling real sorry for it because it bussing up it mouth and i doh know wat causing it to act so crazy.

Postby UML » February 11th, 2012, 11:33 am

ah new thing I see the Arowana doing now is sitting at the bottom of the tank and not move....acting real strange :?

...lip real busted up :(

this is plumbing I have started....have to finish and then stick....decided to include the UV Clarifier in the plumbing......Vision 2020 :|

........Rome wasnt built in a day :mrgreen:
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:02 am, edited 1 time in total.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » February 11th, 2012, 9:42 pm

^^^ I see you have a valve on the suction of pump, be carefully with this as reduced flow to the suction reduces the NPSHa and can cause the pump to cavitate.

All flow control devices should ideally be installed on the discharge.

Postby UML » February 11th, 2012, 10:54 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:^^^ I see you have a valve on the suction of pump, be carefully with this as reduced flow to the suction reduces the NPSHa and can cause the pump to cavitate.

thanks for the advice

will it still cause problems even if it left open constantly?

any advice on what else I can do?
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » February 12th, 2012, 3:16 am

nice clean plumbing setup there, the verdict is not fully out yet on UV sterilizers as there have been arguments for and against it. They have been known to kill beneficial bacteria in the water column as well. Also does nothing against ICH.

Postby UML » February 12th, 2012, 3:17 pm

sharkman121 wrote:nice clean plumbing setup there, the verdict is not fully out yet on UV sterilizers as there have been arguments for and against it. They have been known to kill beneficial bacteria in the water column as well. Also does nothing against ICH.

thanks

would u recommend a uv clarifier installed?

Postby sharkman121 » February 12th, 2012, 4:15 pm

Like u really want that UV :lol:

im not sure though, the previous post i wrote is pretty much all i know about uv sterilizers. TYpe in keyword "uv sterilizers" on reefcentral.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » February 13th, 2012, 9:06 am

UML wrote:
ziggy_dappa wrote:^^^ I see you have a valve on the suction of pump, be carefully with this as reduced flow to the suction reduces the NPSHa and can cause the pump to cavitate.

thanks for the advice

i really put the valve to lock off water from flowing out the sump in the event i have to do repairs to the pump.

Nah you should'nt have a problem if it fully open.

Postby UML » February 13th, 2012, 2:49 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Like u really want that UV :lol:

im not sure though, the previous post i wrote is pretty much all i know about uv sterilizers. TYpe in keyword "uv sterilizers" on reefcentral.

:mrgreen:

nah i already have one from a prior setup and wanted to make use of it cause it just collecting dust....but if you dont recommend it i will not bother.

ziggy_dappa wrote:
UML wrote:

thanks for the advice

i really put the valve to lock off water from flowing out the sump in the event i have to do repairs to the pump.

Nah you should'nt have a problem if it fully open.

the only reason it closed in the pic is because i was testing to make sure it does not bounce the glass when closed.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:15 am

More pics from my dive on Sunday..........................
DSC07406.JPG
DSC07235 - Copy.JPG
Damsel.JPG
Damsel..JPG
Coral.JPG
Butterfly.JPG
Brain coral.JPG
Acrapora coral.JPG

Postby wagonrunner » February 14th, 2012, 12:22 am

dive where brother?
i now backtrack and see spice isle. vibes me when you're back.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:28 am

More pics again
Tang.JPG
Sponge.JPG
Grouper.JPG
French angel.JPG
Four eye butterfly.JPG
Feather duster.JPG
Encrusting gorgonia.JPG
DSC07458.JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:31 am

Here is 2 more...............
Wrasse.JPG
Wrasse..JPG

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:36 am

Waggonrunner................... thats on 2 reefs in grenada
Last edited by HondaB20B on February 14th, 2012, 12:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:39 am

Runner, google 'BIANCA C' in grenada. Did that wreck sunday but the visibility wasnt so hot so all d pics wasnt clear

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » February 14th, 2012, 12:43 am

just relaxing.........................
ME DIVING..JPG