Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby UML » January 22nd, 2012, 9:48 pm

great pics hondab20b

didnt know grenada had so much coral

Postby sharkman121 » January 22nd, 2012, 10:37 pm

some sweet shots there...

link

Postby link » January 26th, 2012, 11:21 am

http://www.iucnredlist.org/

it's just stressful to read how many species are critically endangered :( :x
Last edited by link on January 26th, 2012, 12:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

link

Postby link » January 26th, 2012, 12:19 pm

link

Postby link » January 26th, 2012, 12:42 pm

CALL TO ALL FRESHWATER AQUARISTS....

all who have fish that have become too large to properly house...please pm or email me ( link@tstt.net.tt ). so send those pacus, kois, tilapia, arrowana, catfish (all dem 'shark' is catfish), etc, etc.

I expect to obtain access to a large pond, already established & needing some careful rehabilitation (clearing of vegetation). This project will be accessible to the general public once established, but will be a NO FISHING, STRICTLY RECREATIONAL AREA.
Initial access will be through TTASA & it's affiliates in the motor sport fraternity, but will be extended progressively as the development proceeds.

Families will be welcomed to walk & observe...and picnic at pondside. Daytime camping will be enabled soon and overnight stays will start once the open-air veranda & gazebo with toilet/bath facilities is established hopefully BEFORE year's end.
More details soon

rgds

lancer3

Postby lancer3 » January 26th, 2012, 3:42 pm

anybody know the number for charran's fish farm

netsket

Postby netsket » January 26th, 2012, 8:59 pm

where currently have freshwater stingrays?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 27th, 2012, 10:26 am

netsket wrote:where currently have freshwater stingrays?

Chais have some.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » January 29th, 2012, 11:19 pm

Ares & ziggy whare alyuh, :lol: :lol:
wish we could get these kind of mushrooms down here, hoping raj could get them
mushroom 7.jpg
mushroom 6.jpg
mushroom 5.jpg
mushroom 4.jpg
mushroom 3.jpg
mushroom 2.jpg
mushroom 1.jpg
shroomheaven.jpg

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » January 30th, 2012, 1:13 pm

We all MIA boy....
Trying to get my leds setup on the hood by the end of the week.

Postby UML » January 30th, 2012, 3:34 pm

UML wrote:any of u have this in your system?

i added one today....amazing how clear my water got.

sharkman121 wrote:^ yup filter sock... have a couple, havent used em in a while though.

i starting to see why u "havent used em in a while"....blasted ting getting clogged real fast....with a couple days........giving me more headache and wuk to clean :evil:

eternal audio

Postby eternal audio » January 30th, 2012, 3:47 pm

Was a good brand of bio balls

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » January 30th, 2012, 4:13 pm

eternal audio wrote:Was a good brand of bio balls

The Lees brand does work good.
Also the one from by chai.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » January 30th, 2012, 10:03 pm

link wrote:CALL TO ALL FRESHWATER AQUARISTS....

all who have fish that have become too large to properly house...please pm or email me ( link@tstt.net.tt ). so send those pacus, kois, tilapia, arrowana, catfish (all dem 'shark' is catfish), etc, etc.

I expect to obtain access to a large pond, already established & needing some careful rehabilitation (clearing of vegetation). This project will be accessible to the general public once established, but will be a NO FISHING, STRICTLY RECREATIONAL AREA.
Initial access will be through TTASA & it's affiliates in the motor sport fraternity, but will be extended progressively as the development proceeds.

Families will be welcomed to walk & observe...and picnic at pondside. Daytime camping will be enabled soon and overnight stays will start once the open-air veranda & gazebo with toilet/bath facilities is established hopefully BEFORE year's end.
More details soon

rgds

this sounds like a good idea. keep me posted on this , thanks

lancer3 wrote:anybody know the number for charran's fish farm

i think my dad have it. if i find it i will tell you.

Postby sharkman121 » January 31st, 2012, 10:15 am

UML wrote:i starting to see why u "havent used em in a while"....blasted ting getting clogged real fast....with a couple days........giving me more headache and wuk to clean :evil:

I kinda lazy, couldnt handle cleaning them all the time.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 31st, 2012, 5:06 pm

noob here...

for the past couple months i've been looking at setting up a salt water aquarium at home, a biggish one
got quotes and stuff, just putting aside funds for the while till i'm ready. (almost there)

this would be my first experience with salt water and live rock

i was thinking if it would be a good idea to start off a nano aquarium, just to get an idea and have some experience with the system first, before i spend the big $$$

i was looking at this

http://www.aquariumspecialty.com/aquari ... o-4-gallon

and this
http://www.amazon.com/Oceanic-82051-Bio ... 634&sr=8-4

^ he added some upgrades

so my setup would have
a couple small live rocks, couple small fishes etc
just to get some experience with the maintenance and how the reef works
because i have no experience whatsoever

what do you guys think?

Postby sharkman121 » January 31st, 2012, 5:10 pm

my humble advice to you would be NO. Buy the biggest aquarium you can afford. smaller aquariums are considerably harder to keep when it comes to maintaining water parameters. This is simply because there is less volume of water and thus off parameters like nitrates, nitrates and ammonia may become more toxic quickly. Getting a bigger aquarium ensures you have a larger volume of danger to play with rather than concentrated volumes. Nano aquariums are for more experienced reefers.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 31st, 2012, 5:41 pm

even if i use like one or 2 fishes? and 1 rock?

remember this is just to get some practice, and they seem to be working fine for others from the reviews i read

i just wanna get a general idea of the stuff i would have to get
sand
water
chemicals
handling of fishes etc.

Postby sharkman121 » January 31st, 2012, 5:47 pm

i understand you, but u make it sound like practicing on a small one is easier than a big one but thats not how it goes. Trust me u gonna buy the bigger one anyway as u get more hooked :lol:

no probs though, u can try the nano, u just have to be extra precise with everything u do. :wink:

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 31st, 2012, 6:44 pm

I AM going with the big set up but i just thought i'd practice with the small ones first before i invest so much and screw up things, i have noooo experience so i jus wanna get a little hands on experience on how it works before

it would be easier and cheaper to screw up with this small set up first rather than learning the hard way with a big set up

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 31st, 2012, 6:46 pm

i'll wait for other opinions as well

of the above 2 aquariums, which would be the better one to start with?
i was thinkin the first one, as it may be easier to add/upgrade lighting and pump with it
the second tank seems to be more enclosed

Smeed

Postby Smeed » January 31st, 2012, 7:29 pm

doh waste time on a nano...... once u set it up u gonna want to go bigger...... den u go have issues wid de wife about how much space all your stuff taking up...... den u go tell she hymc and build up an extra room / outdoor space and u go end up with at least 5 huge tanks and dozens of fish...... den your kids will be born and u go be like "fack..... i have real crap here jed"..... den u go have to sell / give away livestock and equipment dat u saved up to buy (even skimping on gifts for de missus sometimes)...... is an emotional strain hoss. :lol:

take sharkman advice..... go wid a decent sized setup. parameters will be more stable plus you'll be more versatile wrt adding livestock / having enough hiding places etc for your critters

i'm only into freshwater for the while, but i got a lil salt experience wid my cuz's tanks. i think the same applies to both types of setup.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » January 31st, 2012, 8:12 pm

my plans for the big aquarium is 60" X 24" X 24" in wall set up

thats a pretty big tank (for a first timer) already got a quote for everything

now say i was to go ahead with this, spend all that money with fishes and invertebrate, salt water alone gonna be around 200gal and cost about $1000. and then novice me was to make a lil mistake and mess up everything, alot more to lose

i rather try my hand at it first, at least gain some experience so i'll know what to look out for
because all i've learned so far is what i read online and what i saw on youtube

Postby sharkman121 » February 1st, 2012, 1:14 am

Smeed wrote:den u go tell she hymc and build up an extra room

this is exactly what my wife told me and exactly what i did :lol:

coppershot i also have a 60 x 24 x 24 in wall.

Postby sharkman121 » February 1st, 2012, 1:15 am

do a lot of reading on reefcentral.com also, got a lottttttt of help from there when i started.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 1st, 2012, 9:56 am

^ yup been reading there a while now... too much too read and no experience

youtube videos aint cutting it no more.. i wanna start trying now

what do you guys think i should start with it in the tank?

and where to go buy it

just a general idea
i should start with the water and sand and let it cycle for a couple weeks

then introduce a live rock - let the tank cycle with the rock for a couple weeks, making sure all the water parameters are good

and then maybeeee after sometime an anemone (very small one) and a clown fish

?

Postby UML » February 1st, 2012, 1:21 pm

sharkman121 wrote:my humble advice to you would be NO. Buy the biggest aquarium you can afford. smaller aquariums are considerably harder to keep when it comes to maintaining water parameters. This is simply because there is less volume of water and thus off parameters like nitrates, nitrates and ammonia may become more toxic quickly. Getting a bigger aquarium ensures you have a larger volume of danger to play with rather than concentrated volumes. Nano aquariums are for more experienced reefers.

not to mention a waste of money.....after you fed up of the nano....you going bigger.....so u going to buy ah BIGGER light....ah BIGGER aquarium....ah BIGGER Protein Skimmer....etc.

im a noob and i doing a 4ft....doesnt make sense spending money twice :?

Postby sharkman121 » February 1st, 2012, 1:53 pm

copper_shot wrote:^ yup been reading there a while now... too much too read and no experience

yeh i know, initially its a bit overwhelming with all the information there, im on that site everyday. But there are dedicated stickied thread for newcomers and even a separate section for beginner. wish i had known about it when i began, would have avoided a lot of newbie mistakes. just take a bit of time to sift it all out. ill help when u need.

youtube videos aint cutting it no more.. i wanna start trying now

there are alot of youtube vids out there, however i swear by "Newyorksteelo's" youtube channel. He speaks in laymans terms and was very helpful when i started, ive watched all his vids, check out his channel on youtube.

what do you guys think i should start with it in the tank?

and where to go buy it

start with a couple damselfish or chromis to cycle the tank if u like, u can get these by Raj and they are very cheap and hardy fish.

just a general idea
i should start with the water and sand and let it cycle for a couple weeks

then introduce a live rock - let the tank cycle with the rock for a couple weeks, making sure all the water parameters are good

and then maybeeee after sometime an anemone (very small one) and a clown fish

your tank will cycle for a few weeks, u need a test kit to monitor your parameters and keep checking till your nitrate and ammonia levels reach 0. i would not recommend any beginner to start with an anemone really, theyre a bit difficult to keep and they usually die unless theyre in an Established aquarium. I pretty much see youve been doing yr reading and have a general idea of how to start.

Matter of fact im reading a book right now named "The reef Aquarium" ive wanted it for a while now but it was expensive, ended up buying a 2nd hand version from amazon for $65 US. it explains EVERYTHING in detail.

?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 1st, 2012, 2:17 pm

UML wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:my humble advice to you would be NO. Buy the biggest aquarium you can afford. smaller aquariums are considerably harder to keep when it comes to maintaining water parameters. This is simply because there is less volume of water and thus off parameters like nitrates, nitrates and ammonia may become more toxic quickly. Getting a bigger aquarium ensures you have a larger volume of danger to play with rather than concentrated volumes. Nano aquariums are for more experienced reefers.

not to mention a waste of money.....after you fed up of the nano....you going bigger.....so u going to buy ah BIGGER light....ah BIGGER aquarium....ah BIGGER Protein Skimmer....etc.

im a noob and i doing a 4ft....doesnt make sense spending money twice :?

i was thinking it would be a good size tank to have in the future too, for quarantine etc.

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » February 1st, 2012, 3:20 pm

I have a fresh water crayfish... has grown to large for my tank, he has started to attack my koi's... if any one wants him he is yours.... he has changed his shell 5 times and is approx. 6" long.

Thanks.