Re: UNC 2.0?!?!?!

Postby pugboy » March 31st, 2024, 11:27 am

IMG_3165.jpeg

Postby The_Honourable » March 31st, 2024, 1:17 pm

wing wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/lawyer-no-action-on-lawyer-s-plot-to-kill-me/article_b4d1c488-ef01-11ee-b60c-3fc075e4c4a8.html

A long read but an interesting story.

TTPS holding back for now. Probably an arrest will happen during election season.

wing

Postby wing » March 31st, 2024, 1:51 pm

TOP STORY
‘Give someone else a chance’
...but who will that be?

Is Kamla Persad-Bissessar strangling the United National Congress (UNC)?

Is she the reason the party seems out of breath and gasping for life?

What we know for sure is that when the next general election is called the likely candidate for Siparia for the UNC will be its leader, Persad-Bissessar.

The Opposition leader, 71, is currently under scrutiny on whether or not she is fit to lead the party and to continue representing the constituency which she has been doing since 1995.

Hansrajie Mahade
I’LL ALWAYS HAVE FAITH IN HER’: Hansrajie Mahadeo, left, speaks with Express journalist Carolyn Kissoon at Mendez Village in the Siparia constituency.

Following the controversy that erupted earlier this month when Mayaro MP Rushton Paray went public, calling for internal elections to be held by the party by June 2024, the Sunday Express went into the constituency to get residents’ views about their representative.

Roy Samaroo
‘SHE’S DOING A GOOD JOB’: Doubles vendor Roy Samaroo at Clarke Road, Penal.

The questions were—Do you think Persad-Bissessar should offer herself as the candidate for Siparia? Do you believe Persad-Bissessar is fit to lead the United National Congress to victory in the next general election? If no, who do you think should replace Persad-Bissessar as political leader of the party?

The Sunday Express interviewed dozens of people, business owners and residents, many of whom said they were loyal supporters of Persad-Bissessar and the UNC.

Then, there were some who believed it was time for someone new to take the reins—someone who would take the UNC into government.

But for those who held that view, there was an even bigger question on their minds—who would replace Persad-Bissessar?

The Sunday Express also conducted a social media poll, putting the question to Siparia constituents—Should your MP Kamla Persad-Bissessar lead the UNC into the next general election?

Of the 1,052 responses (though it could not be verified whether all the respondents were all from Siparia), 73% agreed Persad-Bissessar should step down.

The majority of those who responded thought it was time to give someone else a chance.

Slipping hold

The Sunday Express drove through the constituency last week, speaking with residents who shared their views on their long-standing Member of Parliament.

At a doubles stall along Clarke Road, Penal, the Sunday Express found 62-year-old Roy Samaroo in an area which was once an abandoned cane field. The location is now developed with businesses and homes.

Samaroo said, “I have lived in the constituency for 40-something years and I think Mrs Persad-Bissessar has been doing a good job. I will support her in the next election, I hope she offers herself again.”

Samaroo said his MP had contributed to the development in the area during her tenure as prime minister, and he believed she would continue the work when she returns to office.

At Independence Bar, Scott’s Road, a resident disagreed.

The 63-year-old man, who asked not to be named, said Persad-Bissessar’s hold in the UNC stronghold was slipping and he was worried.

“No, she reached a stage where she needs to give up and give someone else a chance. You can see where she is losing ground in the election results. She had won this seat by 16,000 votes in the past, now its 12,000,” he said.

The resident said the development around his community was not as a result of Persad-Bissessar’s representation, but private owners.

“The land owners are developing themselves, this is not her doing,” he said.

Support for party

The Sunday Express stopped at a junction in Mendez Village, where the same questions were posed to a group. This sparked a debate between two men on whether Persad-Bissessar should remain.

According to 55-year-old Ivan Seenatsingh, Persad-Bissessar should be given one more chance as there was no one to replace her at this time.

“The general election is next year, I don’t think her stepping down would help the UNC to win the election. In fact, that would hurt the party because it will cause a division. I cannot see anyone taking control of that party at this time, she is the face of the UNC,” he said.

Deonanan Ramroop did not share his views. Ramroop said he was a loyal UNC supporter but he believed Persad-Bissessar had served her time and should step back from the politics.

“She is no longer fit to do the job. She needs to step down. Of course, we support the UNC in this constituency, but she should give someone else a chance. We have a lot of educated people who can lead this party,” he said.

Seenatsingh responded, “But we should give her another chance. Maybe after the next five years she can step down. In the meantime, the party will find someone to replace her but let’s give her a chance again,” he told his friend.

Market vendor Hansrajie Mahadeo said she was a loyal supporter and had put all her faith in her representative.

“I will always have faith in her. And I believe if she leaves the party, it will fall apart. She is like a mother, when the mother dies, the home falls apart. I will give her another five years and when she thinks is the right time to leave, I will support her,” she said.

In Morne Diablo, the Sunday Express found neighbours with varying views on the subject.

Harrack Jaikaran, a 69-year-old “diehard Kamla supporter” said his representative would always have his vote.

“She needs a chance to get back into government. She started several projects but that stopped when the UNC lost the election. She will always have my family’s vote,” he said.

Across the street, Kathleen Parris said although Persad-Bissessar was a “good MP” it was time for her to give someone else a chance.

“She is ageing and we should have someone younger to take over,” she said.

She’s not the one

Penal/Debe Chamber of Commerce president Rampersad Sieuraj said conversations were recently held in the constituency regarding the issue, and it was found that many UNC supporters had agreed Persad-Bissessar was not the person to take the UNC into government.

In an interview with the Sunday Express last Thursday, Sieuraj said, “From conversations with UNC supporters it was agreed that Kamla Persad-Bissessar cannot take this party back into government. She should step down and appointed a younger person as part of the party’s succession planning.”

Sieuraj said the political leader may not be aware of what was happening “on the ground” as many supporters were not pleased with what was happening in the party.

He noted there were issues within the party that needed to be addressed.

Therefore, he said, it was important that internal elections were held when constitutionally due.

“What is wrong about me, or any member of the party, calling for elections? Isn’t this what democracy is about?” he said.

wing

Postby wing » March 31st, 2024, 3:45 pm

Selwyn Cudjoe

Excerpt:
The work of Pandit and her daughter brought UNC’s “internal discord” into sharp focus. I do not believe Rushton Paray and his followers are “being used as puppets” by the PNM “to destabilise the UNC”, as Kamla Persad-Bissessar alleges (Guardian, March 27). UNC should refrain from this self-inflicting tendency of snatching defeat out of the mouth of victory. It cannot blame the PNM for this weakness.

UNC members should also guard against its relentless tendency of pulling down and defaming their leaders. Indian men should not forget the ancient Hindu practice of sati, in which widows sacrificed themselves on the funeral pyre of their husbands. It was a reflection of how Hindu men saw their women. Persad-Bissessar has served her party for 15 years as its leader. That should count for something.

It follows that male and female members of the party should be careful how they treat Persad-Bissessar in her last years as party leader. They may be ­politically correct in their demands but short-sighted electorally. They may win the battle of earnestness but lose the war of electability. Williams’ wisdom still remains pertinent: one from ten leaves naught.

Williams’ formulation may have been bad mathematics but constitutes instructive political strategy. The UNC should take this political insight into account as it wends its way to the election of 2025.

—Prof Cudjoe’s e-mail address is scudjoe@wellesley.edu. He can be reached @ProfessorCudjoe.

wing

Postby wing » March 31st, 2024, 3:47 pm

The amount of beatup in the UNC and in the chats, groups and forums... best they change from UNC to UFC.

Postby matr1x » March 31st, 2024, 4:57 pm

Kamala has proven to be useless. Hindu traditional ways kept them from turning into mindless church dummies. Afro trinis have only the culture the slave masters gave them.

Postby MaxPower » March 31st, 2024, 5:28 pm

Legal gun ownership for law abiding citizens?

Trinis law abiding?

Steups

Postby paid_influencer » March 31st, 2024, 5:37 pm

wing wrote:The amount of beatup in the UNC and in the chats, groups and forums... best they change from UNC to UFC.

pnm trolls like yourself stirring up mischief.

kamla is the leader of the UNC
anybody that have a problem with that
should join the unc and vote in the internal

until then hush yuh cyant
and talk about your own leader rowley
and the chit he put we through for the last 10 years

because i done letting he win
next year all ah we coming together
to vote out he tail

UNC 2025

Postby paid_influencer » March 31st, 2024, 5:44 pm

MaxPower wrote:Legal gun ownership for law abiding citizens?

Trinis law abiding?

Steups

this is a good point

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2024, 6:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
wing wrote:The amount of beatup in the UNC and in the chats, groups and forums... best they change from UNC to UFC.

to vote out he tail

UNC 2025

Listen and I saying it loud for those in the back. Nobody in the PNM is threatened by Kamla. There is no plot by PNM to oust Kamla. In the US, Democrats are funding some Republicans campaigns because they know that some underfunded Republicans are easier to beat that other Republicans.

In the same way, PNM knows that once Kamla is there, their victory is sure as has been proven for the last 14yrs.

The ppl calling for Kamla to go are UNC supporters like Marsha, Larry Lalla, Devant and the rest. If anything, PNM trolls having sympathy for UNC becoming a spent force. But UNC supporters too harden.

Postby paid_influencer » March 31st, 2024, 6:24 pm

^ you talking real big for a man that only won election last time because covid. and that forker needed to block outside observers to win

doh worry 2025

ALL
AAAALLLLL
ALLLL

AH WE coming TO KICK PNM OUT

Postby MaxPower » March 31st, 2024, 6:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Legal gun ownership for law abiding citizens?

Trinis law abiding?

Steups

this is a good point

Yes it is.

Now we have many responsible law abiding citizens fully well capable of proper firearm ownership and they will effectively assist in home invasions etc.

What worries me is the irresponsible and reckless majority of the population that can pass as “law abiding” on paper but will make a total mess of everything.

More guns in the hands of criminals, more killing.

Postby mero » March 31st, 2024, 7:00 pm

Just passing through and giving this ched a free bump.

Hope you lads having a good Sunday evening.

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2024, 7:12 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ you talking real big for a man that only won election last time because covid. and that forker needed to block outside observers to win

doh worry 2025

ALL
AAAALLLLL
ALLLL

Since 2011, Kamla hasn’t won a national campaign against Rowley. It ain’t just one election.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 31st, 2024, 7:12 pm

Habit7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

to vote out he tail

UNC 2025

Listen and I saying it loud for those in the back. Nobody in the PNM is threatened by Kamla. There is no plot by PNM to oust Kamla. In the US, Democrats are funding some Republicans campaigns because they know that some underfunded Republicans are easier to beat that other Republicans.

In the same way, PNM knows that once Kamla is there, their victory is sure as has been proven for the last 14yrs.

The ppl calling for Kamla to go are UNC supporters like Marsha, Larry Lalla, Devant and the rest. If anything, PNM trolls having sympathy for UNC becoming a spent force. But UNC supporters too harden.

You don't listen to pnm talk radio

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 31st, 2024, 7:21 pm

paid_influencer wrote:^ you talking real big for a man that only won election last time because covid. and that forker needed to block outside observers to win

doh worry 2025

ALL
AAAALLLLL
ALLLL

If PEA and KPB fall out before the election, who you rolling with?

wing

Postby wing » March 31st, 2024, 7:49 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

to vote out he tail

UNC 2025
I have been a member of the UNC since 2008. And I have voted in internal elections in 2010 and 2020. Unfortunately I am not a sheep nor some social media diva looking to hitch a ride to get into government. Your sudden rantings reek of desperation of being labelled as irrelevant just like your fix it man.

Postby paid_influencer » March 31st, 2024, 8:59 pm

me? I willing to take a bet with either wing or habit7 or even vexx dog. Loser has to ban themselves for a 3 months.

UNC 2025

it happening.
put allyuh balls whey allyuh mouth is
take the bet

Postby Habit7 » March 31st, 2024, 9:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:me? I willing to take a bet with either wing or habit7 or even vexx dog. Loser has to ban themselves for a 3 months.

UNC 2025

it happening.
take the bet

I ban myself from here for 3yrs already. You can’t gamble with me something I am already going to do.

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:20 am

In dis chead its only u beating up.

Leave unc to die or sort out their mess.

Why keep posting for a supposedly dead party that has a very limited chance of good governance.

It's more likely that people like u are very concerned that UNC will get back in to power .

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:21 am

matr1x wrote:Kamala has proven to be useless. Hindu traditional ways kept them from turning into mindless church dummies. Afro trinis have only the culture the slave masters gave them.
Then we need a Muslim party since both Christian and Hindus have failed

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:22 am

Habit7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

to vote out he tail

UNC 2025

Another troll and paid blogger

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:22 am

mero wrote:Just passing through and giving this ched a free bump.

Hope you lads having a good Sunday evening.
Stick to herbs

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:23 am

Habit7 wrote:

doh worry 2025

ALL
AAAALLLLL
ALLLL

Since 2011, Kamla hasn’t won a national campaign against Rowley. It ain’t just one election.
Then PNM don't have a problem

Why keep posting in here?

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:24 am

wing wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

to vote out he tail

UNC 2025
I have been a member of the UNC since 2008. And I have voted in internal elections in 2010 and 2020. Unfortunately I am not a sheep nor some social media diva looking to hitch a ride to get into government. Your sudden rantings reek of desperation of being labelled as irrelevant just like your fix it man.
Yea sure,

Continue

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 5:25 am

Habit7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:me? I willing to take a bet with either wing or habit7 or even vexx dog. Loser has to ban themselves for a 3 months.

UNC 2025

it happening.
take the bet

I ban myself from here for 3yrs already. You can’t gamble with me something I am already going to do.
No, you were caught on a porn site while proclaiming to be a Christian

Postby matr1x » April 1st, 2024, 7:29 am

matr1x wrote:Kamala has proven to be useless. Hindu traditional ways kept them from turning into mindless church dummies. Afro trinis have only the culture the slave masters gave them.

God no.

Where islam is, freedom and happiness dies. Normally with explosive effect. Firetruck them

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 8:03 am

matr1x wrote:

God no.

Where islam is, freedom and happiness dies. Normally with explosive effect. Firetruck them
Well stick to the good Anglican PNM Party that pretends they multi religious

Postby matr1x » April 1st, 2024, 12:06 pm

matr1x wrote:

God no.

They are not perfect, but they would not restrict alcohol and pork

Postby zoom rader » April 1st, 2024, 2:25 pm

matr1x wrote:

God no.

They are not perfect, but they would not restrict alcohol and pork
You are just anti-Muslim and no better than a PNM voter