Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2023, 11:49 am

Chimera wrote:Bossman you watching the time periods? You real lucky those phones last you that long....
A year and you lucky from an a series

i have a j2 going 5 years strong

Postby Dave » December 2nd, 2023, 12:21 pm

Thread derailment!

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2023, 12:50 pm

Get back to the buttahhhh

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2023, 1:50 pm

back to topic at hand

market prices this morning
tomatoes: $15 per lb
cucumber: $12 per lb
baigan: $8
nothing outa the ordinary for other stuff. Men retailing melon at $6 per lb and pineapple at 7!!that staying right deh

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2023, 1:52 pm

Isn't that normal pineapple price?

Carite and kingfish back up to 30 plus per bound.

I went orange field wholesale market 4am a morning last week and bought some carite. Didnt make much sense as it was 27 a lb and the timing wasn't worth it unless you buying hundreds or thousands of lbs of fish.

But it taste soooooo different than buying from a reseller eh. A world of difference with freshness and taste

Postby bluefete » December 2nd, 2023, 3:07 pm

Prices going back up for Christmas.

But last week I got 10 oranges for $20 and 10 grapefruit for the same.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 2nd, 2023, 4:17 pm

Chimera wrote:Isn't that normal pineapple price?

Carite and kingfish back up to 30 plus per bound.

I went orange field wholesale market 4am a morning last week and bought some carite. Didnt make much sense as it was 27 a lb and the timing wasn't worth it unless you buying hundreds or thousands of lbs of fish.

But it taste soooooo different than buying from a reseller eh. A world of difference with freshness and taste

pineapple, when in abundance retails for around $3-$4 per lb on my side

Postby pugboy » December 2nd, 2023, 4:41 pm

$15 for tomato is cheap most places is 18-20

what size are those 15

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2023, 12:18 pm

pugboy wrote:$15 for tomato is cheap most places is 18-20

what size are those 15

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby bluefete » December 3rd, 2023, 12:21 pm

So the Butterball 3lb size boneless turkey breast:

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

$120 - Southern Food Basket

WTAF?????????????????????????????????

Postby alfa » December 3rd, 2023, 12:32 pm

bluefete wrote:So the Butterball 3lb size boneless turkey breast:

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

Good looking out. Usually get one of those for Xmas Eve. Food basket to me is always a lil iffy at least the penal branch. Kinda give of a ghetto vibes too, so I won't be surprised if it's old stock they're pushing out

Postby paid_influencer » December 3rd, 2023, 12:33 pm

the inner-city groceries tend to have better prices and fresher stocks, imo. there are just more people there so the goods turn over faster which drives cheaper prices, especially on commodity groceries. you won't get the bougie stuff there but when they do get that stuff they does firesale it to get it out

Postby pugboy » December 3rd, 2023, 1:30 pm

them boneless turkey used to be $100 for many years

Postby Dave » December 3rd, 2023, 2:44 pm

I remember them to be sub 100.

snatman

Postby snatman » December 4th, 2023, 12:56 pm

Check that price. This is available at better deal for 99.99
they also have picnic hams for $69.99

For a single location supermarket, Better Deal does run some good sales though.

I don't eat turkey.

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2023, 1:48 pm

careful with them picnic hams
a pig leg is cut into bout 3 pieces
one or two have bigger portion of bone

Postby bluefete » December 4th, 2023, 2:06 pm

I passed through Better Deal yesterday and it was $160.00 for the 3 lb.

I did pay that $99.99 about 2 years ago in Better Deal.

snatman wrote:Check that price. This is available at better deal for 99.99

I don't eat turkey.

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

Postby bluefete » December 4th, 2023, 2:09 pm

alfa wrote:

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

Good looking out. Usually get one of those for Xmas Eve. Food basket to me is always a lil iffy at least the penal branch. Kinda give of a ghetto vibes too, so I won't be surprised if it's old stock they're pushing out

You know how Trinis do not check the expiry dates.

I hope they are not like Payless -selling expired Lea and Perring Worcestershire sauce last year. Imagine in 2022, you selling a product with an expiry date of July 23, 2006 and they had boxes of the stuff at the time.

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2023, 2:47 pm

payless shoe store selling condiments now?

doh knock expired l&p
it’s already made with fermented/rotten anchovies and tamarind so it really can’t spoil much

Postby 88sins » December 4th, 2023, 7:15 pm

A word to the wise.
Pay VERY close attention to the manufacturers processing/packaging date on imported turkey and other imported meat products.

I see something rather disturbing recently. Went looking to get 2 turkeys, and saw a nice sized bird. Picked it up, and wtf i go see, thing processed in 2020 but selling in 2023. Who the hell knows how many times that thing thaw and refreeze? And for how long it was thawed? And what condition it in under the sealed plastic wrapper?

Now, understand this, and don't get it twisted, turkey is a meat that can fool the best of us. In that you will unwrap and it LOOKING and smelling normal, and you have no idea it not good until you done cook it and you slicing into it and eating it, it melting into grains and dust in your mouth.

Eyes open

snatman

Postby snatman » December 5th, 2023, 11:20 am

Yes, you're right. It was the great foods turkey that's going at that price.
I dislike turkey so I just glanced at it.

Anyone knows what's under construction next to the Aranguez Xtra foods?

bluefete wrote:I passed through Better Deal yesterday and it was $160.00 for the 3 lb.

I did pay that $99.99 about 2 years ago in Better Deal.

snatman wrote:Check that price. This is available at better deal for 99.99

I don't eat turkey.

$175 - Massy

$160 - Better Deal

$160 - Pricesmart

Postby Rovin » December 5th, 2023, 11:26 am

every year i does have to say this & ppl does argue d point, dont rush too early to buy ur ham\turkey etc cause sometimes these food stuff is from last years batch frozen from then to now, some doh have d dates on it so u dont know

wait for about 2wks b4 xmas or if u happen to be there in grocery seeing it coming out a fresh new cardboard box then buy it

for me plain turkey doh have much taste in it, i only buy d smoked kind ...

death365

Postby death365 » December 5th, 2023, 11:49 am

same thing with kfc and royal castle .... when yuh too early is last night last batch yuh getting

Postby 88sins » December 5th, 2023, 3:00 pm

Rovin wrote:every year i does have to say this & ppl does argue d point, dont rush too early to buy ur ham\turkey etc cause sometimes these food stuff is from last years batch frozen from then to now, some doh have d dates on it so u dont know

wait for about 2wks b4 xmas or if u happen to be there in grocery seeing it coming out a fresh new cardboard box then buy it

for me plain turkey doh have much taste in it, i only buy d smoked kind

I don't do the liquid smoke thing. But I will give you a little tip.
Poke holes in the thickest parts, don't have to be big gaping holes, make a seasoning brine (usual green seasoning just in plenty water, with salt and black pepper), and submerge said bird in said brine for a minimum of 24 hours prior to baking. Before baking, rub some lemon pepper under the skin, and 3/4 way through baking, baste with olive oil and put back.

Postby pugboy » December 5th, 2023, 3:32 pm

all those imported turkeys are already brined too

ready the label, they say treated with some sodium or phosphate solution

death365

Postby death365 » December 18th, 2023, 5:49 pm

Better deal .... I think its a good price
20231218_153933.jpg

Postby 88sins » December 18th, 2023, 8:11 pm

Ladies and gentlemen.
I highly recommend that, if you can, you really should learn to start raising and processing your own meat sources, as soon as possible.

See that T&TEC increase that coming? The retail price of chicken is going to take a steep climb. Remember, the importers, local processors, meat depots, supermarkets, ALL use electricity to store meat, and everybody will be paying more for it, and none of them want to absorb that cost at the expense of their profits.
We know not everyone can, (apartment dwellers, the physically incapable, etc) but if you can, you really should. Either that, or go vegan, or get used to eating less meat.

Be mindful, and aware people, and always remember, there's always an alternative.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » December 18th, 2023, 8:20 pm

^ You forget about eating insects.

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2023, 11:50 pm

can anybody tell the difference between the great foods boneless turkey breast $90 vs the butterball $150 ?

Postby pugboy » December 18th, 2023, 11:51 pm

I looking for more buttah sales
I have fast depleted my current stocks
will be heading into the new year with little reserves