zoom rader wrote:Wey dis plant getting nature gas to run?
Out ah de red government arse?
Meanwhile there is natural gas shortages to existing industries?Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Wey dis plant getting nature gas to run?
It will be mostly using electricity to do electrolysis. That is why the TGU plant was built. But because the smelter was not built, and nothing was replaced by it, the TGU plant is producing surplus energy. So natural gas is not a major issue.
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Rowley talking dung as usual but jacklegs will run with it.
He didn't say in his speech the court found that the CEC for the smelter was illegal and was given under curious circumstances. Many groups at the time protested the environmental effects. Consultations was done AFTER contract was signed off, finances were arranged, surreptitious prep work began and protests ensued.
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/07/20 ... caribbean/
Sandals? lol... We all know growlers went begging to butch to build a hotel in tobago. Tobago is a nice place and have a lot of potential but if it was this great destination as he is selling, sandals would have come forward first and set up shop in Tobago long before. Also remember Afra Raymond buss the file on the contract details where T&T was at a great disadvantage. Once that happened, pnm tried to play semantics with the contract and then sandals pull out. Young and Rowley wanted to blame others than themselves. Sandals is not the only hotel and their are other types of tourism besides the traditional that tobago can compete in. You know how much ideas local persons in the Tourism sector especially in Tobago gave Growlers to run with? Nah... a man with lighter complexion who had no interest on his own ketch he.
The Pt Fortin Hway also had CEC issues, but does that mean the whole thing should stop? You just have to abide by the CEC rules.
There were protests for and against the smelter, it was not just one sided https://youtu.be/cFMGn5Z8ZBk But good, we shut it down...what was put instead? https://youtu.be/e86hPKVI5g4
There was no contract for Sandals, they were still in negotiations. So I don't know what nonsense you talking. Nearly every major petrochemical investor we have at Pt Lisas was due to us incentivising them to locate here at high costs to us because we knew that the returns will be better in the end. Why not the same for Sandals?
And this is the foolish thinking. Everybody has their opinion on why we shouldn't do X or Y but nobody has either an alternative or the wherewithal to implement an alternative.
So we will stay in analysis paralysis until the O&G done or the world moves from on O&G and then will be saying, "if we had only..."
Yes the highway had issues, mostly with the mon-desir section. The thing is that the majority of the public supported it hence why it went forward. Not so for Sandals and Smelter.
Well i expect that before you sign, finance and build a smelter, you consult with the area first. If the PNM did that back then, they would have realized that communities were adverse to the idea where they could have done something else. But no... sign, finance and just build without consultation. Then when files buss, court rejects CEC, PR and millions gone down the drain, who to blame? the people? If you believe it was a good idea, blame the then manning administration for poor communication, planning and execution of that idea. There will always be persons for the idea well guess what? The persons who were against it had the louder voice, more support and a better case, the environment and therefore they won. Manning himself admitted that if the case went to privy council, high chance environment preservation argument would have won. This crying down about smelter is now laughable.
A Memorandum of Understanding is an agreement that is not legally enforceable, hence why Sandals walked away easily. Some legal minds think it is a form of a contract while others are not. I'm not going to argue that because that is just wasting time. The point is, an agreement was made between the government and sandals, it was hidden from the public, afra raymond went to court, he got it, files buss, sandals gone, young and rowley blame everybody else but themselves.
https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/29/govt-h ... a-raymond/
There were alternatives by many toboganians such as using the same money by government to sponsor and support existing hotels plus invest in other areas such as ecotourism... but nah... rowley feelings got hurt so suck salt.
You would like to talk about analysis paralysis where the fact is governments need to consult with the people before executing on plans. When people respond positively and you get buy in, then carry forward. When you want to do things your way and it fall thru, blame yourself.
timelapse wrote:Meanwhile there is natural gas shortages to existing industries?Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Wey dis plant getting nature gas to run?
It will be mostly using electricity to do electrolysis. That is why the TGU plant was built. But because the smelter was not built, and nothing was replaced by it, the TGU plant is producing surplus energy. So natural gas is not a major issue.
Hoss take win.Whatever you smoking, I want some.
You have to be a dumb arseHabit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Wey dis plant getting nature gas to run?
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:Rowley talking dung as usual but jacklegs will run with it.
He didn't say in his speech the court found that the CEC for the smelter was illegal and was given under curious circumstances. Many groups at the time protested the environmental effects. Consultations was done AFTER contract was signed off, finances were arranged, surreptitious prep work began and protests ensued.
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/07/20 ... caribbean/
Sandals? lol... We all know growlers went begging to butch to build a hotel in tobago. Tobago is a nice place and have a lot of potential but if it was this great destination as he is selling, sandals would have come forward first and set up shop in Tobago long before. Also remember Afra Raymond buss the file on the contract details where T&T was at a great disadvantage. Once that happened, pnm tried to play semantics with the contract and then sandals pull out. Young and Rowley wanted to blame others than themselves. Sandals is not the only hotel and their are other types of tourism besides the traditional that tobago can compete in. You know how much ideas local persons in the Tourism sector especially in Tobago gave Growlers to run with? Nah... a man with lighter complexion who had no interest on his own ketch he.
The Pt Fortin Hway also had CEC issues, but does that mean the whole thing should stop? You just have to abide by the CEC rules.
There were protests for and against the smelter, it was not just one sided https://youtu.be/cFMGn5Z8ZBk But good, we shut it down...what was put instead? https://youtu.be/e86hPKVI5g4
There was no contract for Sandals, they were still in negotiations. So I don't know what nonsense you talking. Nearly every major petrochemical investor we have at Pt Lisas was due to us incentivising them to locate here at high costs to us because we knew that the returns will be better in the end. Why not the same for Sandals?
And this is the foolish thinking. Everybody has their opinion on why we shouldn't do X or Y but nobody has either an alternative or the wherewithal to implement an alternative.
So we will stay in analysis paralysis until the O&G done or the world moves from on O&G and then will be saying, "if we had only..."
Yes the highway had issues, mostly with the mon-desir section. The thing is that the majority of the public supported it hence why it went forward. Not so for Sandals and Smelter.
Well i expect that before you sign, finance and build a smelter, you consult with the area first. If the PNM did that back then, they would have realized that communities were adverse to the idea where they could have done something else. But no... sign, finance and just build without consultation. Then when files buss, court rejects CEC, PR and millions gone down the drain, who to blame? the people? If you believe it was a good idea, blame the then manning administration for poor communication, planning and execution of that idea. There will always be persons for the idea well guess what? The persons who were against it had the louder voice, more support and a better case, the environment and therefore they won. Manning himself admitted that if the case went to privy council, high chance environment preservation argument would have won. This crying down about smelter is now laughable.
A Memorandum of Understanding is an agreement that is not legally enforceable, hence why Sandals walked away easily. Some legal minds think it is a form of a contract while others are not. I'm not going to argue that because that is just wasting time. The point is, an agreement was made between the government and sandals, it was hidden from the public, afra raymond went to court, he got it, files buss, sandals gone, young and rowley blame everybody else but themselves.
https://newsday.co.tt/2018/11/29/govt-h ... a-raymond/
There were alternatives by many toboganians such as using the same money by government to sponsor and support existing hotels plus invest in other areas such as ecotourism... but nah... rowley feelings got hurt so suck salt.
You would like to talk about analysis paralysis where the fact is governments need to consult with the people before executing on plans. When people respond positively and you get buy in, then carry forward. When you want to do things your way and it fall thru, blame yourself.
The hway had problems with the Mon Desir section and politicians like Moonilal opposed it. When Moonilal was voted into power opposing it, he switched and distanced himself from those who opposed it. Then his party lost the elections and the PNM chose not to continue it for now. Likewise, those in Chattam opposed the smelter, but the ppl in La Brea supported the smelter and voted PNM in 2010. They protested the shutdown of the construction and were promised a replacement that never materialised.
An MOU is not a binding contract. Sandals would set out their advantageous terms and TT will have to negotiate to make it advantageous to them. Then there would have been a binding contract. But the misinformation like what you were pedalling that there was a "contract" that bound TT to these things Sandals was proposing were the types of things that muddied the waters.
Other Tobagonians may have alternatives but what did the majority of Tobagonians want? The majority of Tobagonians supported the central govt of PNM and what they proposed. Whether it is Pt Fortin Hway or Sandals, we cannot scuttle projects because a few ppl propose alternatives. And misinformation like calling an MOU a contract and making seem as if it is binding, are the type of stuff that doesn't add value and is just political propaganda for ppl who have no interest in T&T succeeding while they are not in power.
Dumb asreHabit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Meanwhile there is natural gas shortages to existing industries?Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Wey dis plant getting nature gas to run?
Hoss take win.Whatever you smoking, I want some.
I don't think you understand, we are already using natural gas to make electricity that is surplus. The smelter would make the natural gas use for electricity more efficient because it will use up the surplus.
That has nothing to do with the shortage. Electric production is a priority.
The_Honourable wrote: Also remember Afra Raymond buss the file on the contract details where T&T was at a great disadvantage. Once that happened, pnm tried to play semantics with the contract and then sandals pull out.
zoom rader wrote:Dumb asre
When TGU is under full load it will require more natural gas consumption. As your red government idiots already said we don't have enough to even run pt Lisas .
Want a dummy u are
In terms of gas utilisation:
Alutrint would have paid US$0.85 per mmbtu.
“The Alutrint smelter will consume 46.5 million cubic feet a day which represent 1.1 per cent of total daily natural gas consumption. This 1.1 per cent includes natural gas consumed by the power plant for Alutrint’s power requirements. “When compared to other gas based industries, the Aluminum industry presents a favorable investment (in terms of Capex) per unit quantity of gas utilised, as well as a high direct employment and industry-competitive return on investment. The aluminium industry is unique in terms of its potential for expansive downstream industries. Returns on investment normally increase notably with the incorporation of downstream industries,” the note stated.
http://spotlight.lunabyte.io/tag/smelte ... -trinidad/
timelapse wrote:Same article
^
"The Environmental Management Authority had issued a Certificate of Environmental Clearance to Alutrint for the project. But a court quashed the certificate after anti-smelter groups and individuals filed for judicial review, claiming the EMA’s decision was based on inadequate and flawed information.
EMA’s appeal of that ruling was rendered moot by the decision taken on September 8th, 2010."
You forgot this part
Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Same article
^
"The Environmental Management Authority had issued a Certificate of Environmental Clearance to Alutrint for the project. But a court quashed the certificate after anti-smelter groups and individuals filed for judicial review, claiming the EMA’s decision was based on inadequate and flawed information.
EMA’s appeal of that ruling was rendered moot by the decision taken on September 8th, 2010."
You forgot this part
Yes, that was well into the PP's term which started 25th May 2010 where there was no political will to continue the project.
The point is, ok shut down the smelter, it pollutes, it is bad, it was PNM, burn it to the ground.
But what did you put in place to replace it?
If it is one thing I cant fault the Panday admin for was that they came in and met the LNG plan in place and they respected it and pursued it. Such that 2001-2010 was some of our highest GDP growth rate. But we killed the aluminium downstream industry, whats next?
Wouldn't matter to me if was UNC, PNM, THC that wanted a smelter to make that clear.I am highly critical of KPB's version of the UNC.Dizzy28 wrote:Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Same article
^
You forgot this part
Yes, that was well into the PP's term which started 25th May 2010 where there was no political will to continue the project.
The point is, ok shut down the smelter, it pollutes, it is bad, it was PNM, burn it to the ground.
If it is one thing I cant fault the Panday admin for was that they came in and met the LNG plan in place and they respected it and pursued it. Such that 2001-2010 was some of our highest GDP growth rate. But we killed the aluminium downstream industry, whats next?
Call Centres!!
Dizzy28 wrote:Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Same article
^
You forgot this part
Call Centres!!
That's when we had gas ,Habit7 wrote:zoom rader wrote:Dumb asre
When TGU is under full load it will require more natural gas consumption. As your red government idiots already said we don't have enough to even run pt Lisas .
Want a dummy u areIn terms of gas utilisation:
Alutrint would have paid US$0.85 per mmbtu.
“The Alutrint smelter will consume 46.5 million cubic feet a day which represent 1.1 per cent of total daily natural gas consumption. This 1.1 per cent includes natural gas consumed by the power plant for Alutrint’s power requirements. “When compared to other gas based industries, the Aluminum industry presents a favorable investment (in terms of Capex) per unit quantity of gas utilised, as well as a high direct employment and industry-competitive return on investment. The aluminium industry is unique in terms of its potential for expansive downstream industries. Returns on investment normally increase notably with the incorporation of downstream industries,” the note stated.
http://spotlight.lunabyte.io/tag/smelte ... -trinidad/
You lot cah even fix flooding but you want space program.Habit7 wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Same article
^
You forgot this part
Call Centres!!
That might get a better a reception than a space program.
Meanwhile Rwanda bypassing us in the space race.
Habit7 wrote:timelapse wrote:Same article
^
You forgot this part
bluefete wrote:Habit7: The smelter was opposed because there was NO PLAN to get rid of the VERY TOXIC Spent Pot Lining which would have been the waste from smelting.
I know because I personally asked the Americans what they would do with it and they mumbled something about putting it on a boat and shipping it to the USA.
The USA takes no one's garbage especially something as toxic and poisonous as spent pot lining.
Manning said that TCL could use it in cement. TCL came out strongly and said that Manning must be mad to make such a recommendation.
sam1978 wrote:Oh gosh man bluefere , you know Havit7 only deals with the pros , not the cons.
Habit7 wrote:sam1978 wrote:Oh gosh man bluefere , you know Havit7 only deals with the pros , not the cons.
Yes because any of you propose a pro?
There are many reasons ppl oppose a project, especially for political reasons. I remember when Manning brought the first high-speed catamarans for the seabridge, ppl said they we too fast and ppl will vomit too much, now if your journey takes more than 3hrs you want to cuss. I remember when the govt was building the Waterfront towers, Hyatt and Govt Plaza ppl said it would wreck the skyline, now it is the most desirable place to work from in the public service and Hyatt is making profits for GoRTT. Everybody was surprised by shutting down the refinery, now the world is working from home, business travel is down, demand for gasoline is down and many countries ending ICE by 2030-2035. Plus Heritage as an E&P company is making profits.
The issue with the pot lining was not insurmountable. Countries and territories smaller than us run larger, environmentally responsible smelters with no problem. But in this instance, the naysayers won and the construction stopped.
But my question remains, what was put in its place?
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote: Also remember Afra Raymond buss the file on the contract details where T&T was at a great disadvantage. Once that happened, pnm tried to play semantics with the contract and then sandals pull out.
This is you saying that there was a contract not MOU, but a contract. You only backed down to MOU when I called you out. You might say that it a small thing but it is misinformation like this that carries the narrative that TT was contracted to a disadvantage, is what drove the bad press on the issue.
PNM did not win La Brea in 1986. There is no information that you have that says that they as a majority rejected it. They voted for the party that said they were continuing it as opposed to the party that said they will cancel it.
PNM may have taken a photo op with Kublalsingh on his hunger strike by they were never opposed to the Mon Desir leg. If you believe so bring proof. Nevertheless, they are not focusing on that leg right now other than finishing the bridges.
Yes, the majority of Tobagonians. The major opposers of Sandals were Afra Raymond, the UNC and their Tobago arm the PDP![]()
The_Honourable wrote:A Memorandum of Understanding is an agreement that is not legally enforceable, hence why Sandals walked away easily. Some legal minds think it is a form of a contract while others are not. I'm not going to argue that because that is just wasting time. The point is, an agreement was made between the government and sandals, it was hidden from the public, afra raymond went to court, he got it, files buss, sandals gone, young and rowley blame everybody else but themselves.
The_Honourable wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote: Also remember Afra Raymond buss the file on the contract details where T&T was at a great disadvantage. Once that happened, pnm tried to play semantics with the contract and then sandals pull out.
This is you saying that there was a contract not MOU, but a contract. You only backed down to MOU when I called you out. You might say that it a small thing but it is misinformation like this that carries the narrative that TT was contracted to a disadvantage, is what drove the bad press on the issue.
PNM did not win La Brea in 1986. There is no information that you have that says that they as a majority rejected it. They voted for the party that said they were continuing it as opposed to the party that said they will cancel it.
PNM may have taken a photo op with Kublalsingh on his hunger strike by they were never opposed to the Mon Desir leg. If you believe so bring proof. Nevertheless, they are not focusing on that leg right now other than finishing the bridges.
Yes, the majority of Tobagonians. The major opposers of Sandals were Afra Raymond, the UNC and their Tobago arm the PDP![]()
Refer to my earlier postThe_Honourable wrote:A Memorandum of Understanding is an agreement that is not legally enforceable, hence why Sandals walked away easily. Some legal minds think it is a form of a contract while others are not. I'm not going to argue that because that is just wasting time. The point is, an agreement was made between the government and sandals, it was hidden from the public, afra raymond went to court, he got it, files buss, sandals gone, young and rowley blame everybody else but themselves.
I intentionally stated the underlined because i know you would have deflected into what is a contract and what is not a contract and derail from there. I'm not going to argue what is a MoU, and if it is a contract or not. That is for persons in the field of law to discuss and harsh out.THE POINT IS an agreement was made between the government and sandals, it was poor, the government attempted to hide it from the public, afra raymond got it, the government didn't even bother to defend it, sandals fall thru, government blamed everybody but themselves.
"PNM may have taken a photo op..." habit7 behave yuhself nah boi![]()
So when it was cancelled, did the whole of La Brea protested? No... just 30 people drive up POS to make a lil noise in front the PM office and that was it? And i'm pretty sure out of that 30, a few was more pnm-supporters than pro-smelter. (the smelter done cancel and not coming back so i'll protest for the smelter to look good in front the pnm and hopefully get thru with something in the party).
You: "the majority of Tobagonians"
*watches video*
1 man and 1 association is the whole of Tobago?![]()
Sandals or any mega hotel coming to Tobago is not a bad idea you know. I actually like the idea, but it was poorly planned. You must have consultations first, make sure the majority of Tobagonians buy into it and do all agreements properly with full transparency.
sam1978 wrote:Great is the PNM. Roads falling apart, people begging for flood and food relief, no grants unless you have a connection, bush not being cut, businesses under pressure, but they putting the PAN in Pandemic.