0.jpg

Re: Local Ting än Ting

Postby De Dragon » March 16th, 2016, 9:42 pm

TriP wrote:Local History ~ Pelican Inn - Cascade

"Pelos"

Limed there many a Friday back in the day.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 16th, 2016, 9:49 pm

Local Inshan S Ishmael

See Tis Floating Around on the Net

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php? ... 0428760566

TriP

Postby TriP » March 16th, 2016, 9:51 pm

TriP wrote:Local History ~ Pelican Inn - Cascade

"Pelos"

Limed there many a Friday back in the day.

dat was de friday evening lime long time..rel mixup sweet girls

TriP

Postby TriP » March 16th, 2016, 10:09 pm

Local Point Lisas ~ Atlantic Plaza

So here is my first story in this group.

Today at approximatley 09:10hrs, I went to Atlantic Plaza in Pt. Lisas with a colleague to purchase some aloo pies from a vendor who cooks and sells from the back of a van parked just inside the exit gate of the mall.

While there a TTPS X-Trail (PCY 8428), with three uniformed officers inside, drove into the exit of the mall against the flow of traffic.

After parking, one of the officers alighted the vehicle and came across to the vendor to purchase a meal. I approached the young officer (probably late twenties) and greeted him with "Good Morning Sir". He responded in kind. I then proceeded to advise him that I had noted that his vehicle had entered the mall through an exit and against the flow of traffic.

I asked if he was aware of that. His terse response was "Yeah". I then asked him if he thought that action was appropriate and safe. The response that I received shocked my colleague and I.

The officer told me to mind my own business, and that he was not there to look for friends. He then went on to indicate that if I had a problem with it, I should take it up with the Police Complaints Authority. I really did not expect that type of response.

I expected that he might have admitted he was wrong, and apologise. Instead, it was what we call a"wrong and strong" attitude. His attempt was to silence me in a way most bullies try to silence their victims.

This is a classic example of why crime is out of control in our country. Those charged with the upholding of the law, are actually breaking it with impunity when it suits their needs. If these officers cannot be trusted with the small things, how are they to be trusted with the large things. Please do not get me wrong.

The TTPS has many good, in fact great officers who put their lives on the line daily to protect people like you and I.

The problem is the few borderline criminals who drag the service into disrepute. I am hoping that with the assistance of people like you and I, we are able to highlight cases of abuse of power and mischief in public office, and share them with the powers that be, in an effort to take back our country one post at a time.

Please feel free to post your thoughts, pro or con.

Like the police officer today, i want you to mind your business, while at the same time recognising that the future of Trinbago is your own business.

police come for sumpting to eat..you no whey dey was..whey dey come from..whey yuh harassing de police for..yuh want to be notice.."next time mind yuh own business" - who rong who rite..yuh look for whey u get.. :lol:

Postby De Dragon » March 16th, 2016, 10:37 pm

The hard part is that the exit and entrance to Atlantic Plaza is about 15 feet apart. I guess it was too troublesome to use the entrance and drive for 20 seconds to get around Pizza Boys to get to the doubles man :roll:

TriP

Postby TriP » March 16th, 2016, 10:48 pm

is true whey u saying dey it doh take dat long..

buh lastweek thursday i eat from them..midday hotsun..man taking he barehand and handing me it..i eat one ..pay dem an i gorn..i doh want notten from dem again..i good..lol

Postby De Dragon » March 16th, 2016, 10:56 pm

TriP wrote:is true whey u saying dey it doh take dat long..

buh lastweek thursday i eat from them..midday hotsun..man taking he barehand and handing me it..i eat one ..pay dem an i gorn..i doh want notten from dem again..i good..lol

One former purchaser said that they have a bucket in the back for a toilet. :shock: There is also no running water so I don't know where they wash hands.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 6:54 pm

oh geeddd..!!!

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 6:57 pm

Local Bat ~ Albino Geoffroy's Hairy-legged Bat

A rare and fascinating find; this is an albino Geoffroy's Hairy-legged Bat (Anoura geoffroyi).

This species provides efficient seed dispersal and pollinating services for several tree species in Trinidad, it's diet of fruit, nectar and pollen often supplemented with insects.

The Geoffroy's Hairy-legged Bat roosts in caves and tunnels.

Usually dark brown in colour, this individual's bright white colouring is easy for predators like owls to spot at night, so it is extremely rare to even see an albino bat, far less capture one.

Hopefully this little guy is still dodging predators out there
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:03 pm

Local Hindu Temple

This Hindu temple is regarded as a National Treasure to Trinidad and Tobago.

An Indian labourer, Seedas Sadhu, had constructed the first temple on the seashore in 1947.

It was demolished because it had been built on MacMillan Park, private property belonging to Tate and Lyle Limited, one of the leading sugar companies.

Sadhu was sent to prison.

He subsequently decided to build the temple in the sea.

It took him 25 years to build singlehanded with only his bicycle to transport materials.

This temple is on a man-made island and is connected to the mainland by a pedestrian causeway

Images and murtis of Ganesh, Siddartha and other Hindu deities are displayed in an exquisite manner.

The temple, which was rebuilt in 1995 under a committee of which Randal Rampersad was Chairman, received assistance from the Unemployment Relief Programme (URP), as well as from overseas
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:06 pm

Local Tobago ~ No Man's Land
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:07 pm

Tobago
000.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:10 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Palmiste Park - San Fernando

Short

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:17 pm

Local Cricketer ~ Brain Charles Lara

True Legend - Queen's Park Cricket Club 2016 Calendar
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:22 pm

Local Winston “Spree” Simon

1945 -World War II ends

A young man from Port of Spain named Winston “Spree” Simon tunes a steel pan so that it can be played on an eight-note scale the “Ping Pong”.

News of Spree’s discovery spreads through the country.

This begins a cascade of experimentation with the drums across the nation.
0.jpg
0.jpg (29.99 KiB) Viewed 2232 times

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:27 pm

Local Southern Games ~ Guaracara Park - 1957-1958

1. Southern Games - 1957 - Juniors 1000m

2. Christian Storey, Colin Dale, Hugh Weatherhead, Gordon Goellnicht at Guaracara Park - 1958
0.jpg
01.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:31 pm

Local Rice

Congratulations to the Akaloo family on returning local rice to the shelves.

When Senator Avinash Singh and I first met with local rice growers last year, I had serious concerns that locally-grown rice was ending up in pet food and not in packages for human consumption.

We challenged local growers to make the change.

Apart from this brand, NFM's Good & Natural brand will soon be relaunched as 100% local rice
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:39 pm

Local Forest Fires ~ Maraval-Carenage

Aerial Drone View ~ Dry Season - Charred Hills of Carenage ~ Mellow Muzik

Maraval Hills on Fire
0.jpg
09.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 7:44 pm

Local Street Talk ~ WASA Talk

Save Water ~ Bathe Together

View Ched: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=662377

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:01 pm

Local Mushrooms

1. Orange Veiled Lady Mushroom-Phallus Multicolour - Brasso Seco

2. La Brea (2)
09.jpg
08.jpg
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:14 pm

Local Turtles Nesting Periods ~ March - September2016 - Permits

Turtle Watching Season has Begun

The public is hereby informed that permits are required to enter the prohibited areas in Matura, Fishing Pond and Grande Riviere Beaches 6:00 p.m. – 6:00 a.m. for Grande Riviere only

Permits can be obtained at the following Forestry Division Offices, Monday to Friday between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.:

Long Circular Road, St. James, Phone No. 622- 3217/5214/4521, 225-3865

Pleasantville, San Fernando, Phone No. 657- 9450, 8391/ 225-3777.

Damarie Hill, Sangre Grande, Phone No. 225-3728

District Revenue Office Rio Claro, Phone No. 644-2241.

All permit holders must be accompanied by tour guides.

These Guides have been authorized by the Forestry Division for each prohibited area as stipulated in Condition 12 of the permit.

Further information is available from the Sales Centres and the Wildlife Section’s Office at 29 Farm Road, St. Joseph (Phone No. 662-5114, 225-3832).

Important: In the interest of the protection of the endangered leatherback and other species marine turtles, persons participating in turtle-viewing activities must adhere to all conditions stated on permits and relevant directives from tour guides

No Touching
No Sitting on Back
No Standing on Back
0.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:18 pm

Local Model ~ Vanessa Hill Milyva
0.jpg
09.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:22 pm

Local Model ~ Stephanie
1.jpg
3.jpg
6.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:30 pm

Local Model ~ Carly Karlii
3.jpg
4.jpg

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:34 pm

Local Aerial Drone ~ Mount Saint Benedict

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 8:42 pm

Local Tobago ~ Manchineel Tree

"Little Apple Tree of Death" - "Sap Falls on your car,Damages your Paint"

The Manchineel tree, Hippomane mancinella, is a species of plant native to the Caribbean
Florida and Central America and is usually found along coastlines and mangrove areas.

This tree that resembles an apple is one of the deadliest trees in the world

All parts of this tree contain strong toxins.

Its milky white sap contains skin irritants, producing strong allergic dermatitis.

Standing beneath the tree during rain will cause blistering of the skin from mere contact with
This liquid (even a small drop of rain with the milky substance in it will cause the skin to blister).

The sap has also been known to damage the paint on cars.

Burning the tree may cause eye injuries.

The fruit is possibly fatal if eaten.

TriP

Postby TriP » March 19th, 2016, 9:06 pm

Local Surfing ~ Tobago Pro Surf Contest - Mt.Irvine Beach

Today's Event - Sat19thMarch2016

1. Tobago Pro Finalists: Andre Stewart, Adrian de Silva, Cheyne Jobson, Jason Apparicio

2. Ladies Before the Heat Begins

1.jpg
2.jpg
0.jpg