PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

speedaholic

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby speedaholic » November 28th, 2011, 1:03 am

i have a phenom x4 955 black... came stock @ 3.2 and i oc'd to 3.8 and turned off the cool n quiet.. idles temp are stable @ around 38-40c... raised multiplier to x19... @ 1.32V

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 28th, 2011, 1:13 am

speedaholic wrote:i have a phenom x4 955 black... came stock @ 3.2 and i oc'd to 3.8 and turned off the cool n quiet.. idles temp are stable @ around 38-40c... raised multiplier to x19... @ 1.32V

what mb u using??

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » November 28th, 2011, 1:26 am

MSI 890GXM-G65 gaming series... its a really gud board...

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 28th, 2011, 1:28 am

mickey17 wrote:i still needed a 1.45v to get at 3.8 stable.. multiplier set at 19x... dunno why.

Chiney wrote:u will need to change your voltage to go along with ur new higher clock... i suggest u google and see certain values for speeds

True, alot of tested speeds w/ relevant voltages. My 955 is @ 3.6 right now, idle temps 35°-38° w/ cool & quiet on. (which I think is best to leave on)
6870 @ 930Mhz & 1115Mhz idle 42°-47° fan speed 50% ....running BF3 66°-71° ...fan speed @ 70%. AMD Vision control centre real nice to work with btw. Contented with my present config.

Corsair Force GT 120gb SSD on the way 0X

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 28th, 2011, 1:40 am

i turned on cool & quiet and it is not working....

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 28th, 2011, 5:36 am

mickey17 wrote:i turned on cool & quiet and it is not working....

What not working?

Virus

Postby Virus » November 28th, 2011, 5:49 am

As far as i know cool & quiet should be turn off even in my mobo book (ASUS) says that it should be as to why many reason as to the difference in oc they may have some pros and cons but heck mines it off and no problems

But for personal experience with it on the fans are trottled to avoid loud noises but if your oc then you might want to run at lease 65 - 85 fan speed anyways but i by pass that all together and my h50 fans are on a controller and i tock it off so as not to confuse the pump by variable speeds due to the sensors adapting to the raise in temps

Hope that help tho i am subjected to correction this is my personal experience

On that note chiney or hcca i looking for a single gpu, single pci-e 6pin low profile for a partner you all have anything for sale in that lines

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 28th, 2011, 6:40 am

^^Nah, i haven't had a single 6 pin card for a while nah.

Have a friend who has a friend who has a gts 250 he wanna sell, go ask him how much he calling for it.

Virus

Postby Virus » November 28th, 2011, 6:45 am

HCCA wrote:^^Nah, i haven't had a single 6 pin card for a while nah.

Have a friend who has a friend who has a gts 250 he wanna sell, go ask him how much he calling for it.

Thanks bro let me know

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 28th, 2011, 9:08 am

same here..none like that

personal experience is never wrong

but either piece of hardware will overclock different eh, it took my a hardtime getting 5ghz stable at 67c max load

only because sandy bridge processors have this integrated video controller, that to has to be raised along with the cpu and then u got to set the values in the cpu itself higher, i kept ignoring that and concentrating on vcore and multiplier!

now i am stable at 5ghz and 1600mhz ram, no oc on ram for me..afraid of that

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 28th, 2011, 9:45 am

hey anyone know if u could buy game downloads from amazon?

Elyon

Postby Elyon » November 28th, 2011, 9:53 am

mickey17 wrote:hey anyone know if u could buy game downloads from amazon?

yeah you could, but only for specific games I think, I did it with bf3, had problems buying it from origin.

@ chiney's project, that looks awesome, excellent work, I'm to afraid of leaks to try something like that.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » November 28th, 2011, 10:33 am

^^ i dont blame you

i keep looking into the damn case ever so often

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 28th, 2011, 10:56 am

lol.. chiney why u didnt use compression fittings??

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 29th, 2011, 8:49 pm

So cool & quiet should be off as a man say. Will attempt 3.8

955 OC Guide

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 29th, 2011, 9:17 pm

i did some testing and cool and quiet affects my gaming performance alot... so i took it back of.. i go take a lil heat.. is not long till i go intel anyway

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » November 29th, 2011, 9:46 pm

Eh heh, affects it in what way?

I have no performance issues atall @ 3.6... have 8gb ddr3 1600Mhz,that helps also. I just like that the cool & quiet gives some nice idle temps, not gona stress out this cpu too much tho. As they say if it ain't broke doh fix it

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 29th, 2011, 10:50 pm

well lower framerates in games.. and jus moves laggy overall in the games.. tested mw3 bf3 nfs the run.. mw2.. bfbc2.. with cool and & quiet disabled i get almost a 20 frames drop in all games.. i tested it both at 3.6 and 3.8

besflickredo

Postby besflickredo » November 30th, 2011, 10:18 am

who have hard drives at old prices?

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » November 30th, 2011, 10:43 am

besflickredo wrote:who have hard drives at old prices?

nobody.. i bought a 500gb from fizz for $620. daz de cheapest i was gettin

desert punk

Postby desert punk » November 30th, 2011, 10:16 pm

what all you does use to clean lcd monitor screen, mine kinda dirty with dust an fingerprints.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » November 30th, 2011, 10:51 pm

desert punk wrote:what all you does use to clean lcd monitor screen, mine kinda dirty with dust an fingerprints.

I hear it have a cleaning kit by Monster which works well.

RapTor have here:

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=120215&hilit=monster&start=90

I does use the solution in the green bottle to clean my laptop screen and body plus my pc monitors.

But the monster kit is a safer bet.

desert punk

Postby desert punk » December 1st, 2011, 12:39 am

ok cool i go check it out

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » December 1st, 2011, 11:13 am

how many ppl have BF3 and plays it????

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 1st, 2011, 12:21 pm

^^ i do...

xaira

Postby xaira » December 1st, 2011, 12:47 pm

mickey17 wrote:how many ppl have BF3 and plays it????

i will play it off and on

speedaholic

Postby speedaholic » December 1st, 2011, 1:04 pm

i have it also... seems to be working fine on my pc! :)

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » December 1st, 2011, 1:44 pm

any probelms with origin?? i heard alot of complains about it..

Elyon

Postby Elyon » December 1st, 2011, 2:13 pm

Yeah I play it often also, no major problems with origin like some people are saying, but encountered a few odd glitches, nothing major though

mickey17

Postby mickey17 » December 1st, 2011, 2:57 pm

thinkin bout buyin soon na jus wanted to know ... already have mw3 which is good..