COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby maj. tom » January 12th, 2023, 9:07 am

matix wrote:
st7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:
K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1673453250058.jpg

Prime Minister Dr. Keith Rowley will host a Media Conference with members of the COVID-19 pandemic response team on Thursday 12th January, 2023 at 10:30am at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's.

Please note that coverage will be carried live on TTT.

predicting a WOFT

I get a text telling me to get vaccinated. But I already get vaccinated.

share the screenshot. i wanna see what it says

It's just an automated message sent to everyone. They're giving out the 2023 Flu vaccine as well and that's what they're encouraging people to take.

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 9:13 am

pugboy wrote:it will ebb and flow like the tides caused by a variety of factors

diminished immunity(3-6 month waves), season foreign travel periods, mass gathering seasons(carnival),
behaviour delinquency, countries which have mass infections generating variants(china) and so on

adnj wrote:COVID didn't leave. COVID will never leave.

Yes, exactly.

Postby hover11 » January 12th, 2023, 9:17 am

If any restrictions were to occur they will be imposed AFTER carnival lol they already spend 147 million behind it can't let it go to waste.

Postby adnj » January 12th, 2023, 9:23 am

hover11 wrote:If any restrictions were to occur they will be imposed AFTER carnival lol they already spend 147 million behind it can't let it go to waste.
Those are your "indirect" dollars that you're lolling at.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 9:44 am

hover11 wrote:If any restrictions were to occur they will be imposed AFTER carnival lol they already spend 147 million behind it can't let it go to waste.
Lollll.
Is like, we are run by morons, supported by morons.

But, who live live, and who ded ded.

Postby j.o.e » January 12th, 2023, 9:46 am

aaron17 wrote:Vaccine card to enter carnival events..fines for carnival event holders

Never

Postby Les Bain » January 12th, 2023, 10:07 am

I predict they going and reintroduce the carload masking as well as the related fines "to keep carnival patrons safe in their travels to and from the season's events in light of the case increases since the PNM loves you all (who vote for PNM)."

Public transport will remain at 100% occupancy as the small man needs to make money to free up for carnival.

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2023, 10:14 am

timelapse wrote:Completely unrelated but not, watch how another war type conflict is going to start somewhere.I am seeing a pattern emerging.

times,

It is related.

Mental health is important.

COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » January 12th, 2023, 10:32 am

j.o.e wrote:Nothing going to lock down. Hospitals have capacity and who hadda dead go dead. Covid is just a flu. **Typed while resting comfortably the third day after testing positive**

j.o.e,

Glad to hear the recovery is still going fine.

I agree, the Hospitals do have the capacity and they have proven themselves. But if cases and deaths continue, the Gov’t will be put in the exact same position they were in before. Comply with the protocols, be responsible, DO NOT CONGREGATE, or else another as of midnight tonight speech is brewing.

There will no lockdown unless we see a significant increase in cases and deaths and the Govt, knowing they can handle a substantial amount of same based on experience, can hold off on lockdown measures.

Start worrying when the hospital lines reach by the highway and Trinis howl like monkeys for medical attention. Start worrying when bodies are rotting and burning on the pavement due to mass overcrowding. Start worrying if we get 100+ deaths a day because 30 per day was clearly an unconcerned figure.

Take note of my accuracy in the early stages of this pandemic and listen to Max. The citizens and the citizens alone have the power to control cases and deaths.

Responsibility is the Key.

Be safe out there.

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 10:43 am

j.o.e wrote:
aaron17 wrote:Vaccine card to enter carnival events..fines for carnival event holders

Never

doesn't make sense with omicron immune evasive strains

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 11:03 am

XBB1.5 detected in T&T since 10th December

Postby Rovin » January 12th, 2023, 11:13 am

crapnival & d economy hadda run yo - like d man said : who live, live & who dead, dead

wuk hard like ah donkey so u have $ to waste um i mean to free up yuh selves ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 12th, 2023, 11:18 am

All that SHEIT being spewed on tv right now is useless if carnival is allowed to continue

Postby bluefete » January 12th, 2023, 11:19 am

Mask mandate coming back?

All of them except the PM wearing masks! Dey sending a message orr?

But lemme know when anything important is said.

Postby hover11 » January 12th, 2023, 11:24 am

Funeral homes in their glee after that announcement

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 11:28 am

Among hospitalized patients:

2 categories:

Primary cases (hospitalized BECAUSE of covid, came in for moderate/severe covid symptoms) approx. 50%
Incidental cases (hospitalized WITH covid for a non-covid reason e.g. diabetes, car accident, but test positive) approx. 50%

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 12th, 2023, 11:34 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All that SHEIT being spewed on tv right now is useless if carnival is allowed to continue

Can I just go a few fetes please? I done miss 1st jam

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 11:40 am

Seroprevalence study:
total samples: 961

12 discarded
50 nonreactive- no antibodies
94.73% have antibodies

Postby pugboy » January 12th, 2023, 12:01 pm

what was sample size?
any tuners know someone who was part of this study?

redmanjp wrote:Seroprevalence study:

12 discarded
94.73% have antibodies

Postby timelapse » January 12th, 2023, 12:22 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:All that SHEIT being spewed on tv right now is useless if carnival is allowed to continue

Go all.Covid didn't kill you the first time around.
Statistically you not dead as yet

Postby VexXx Dogg » January 12th, 2023, 12:27 pm

Any cliffs from the PM speech?
Missed it

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 12:40 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

masks when not eating/drinking, social distance when doing so.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 12th, 2023, 12:41 pm

timelapse wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Got covid at least twice and got a vicious flu last month that was way worse than covid (should have gotten the flu vaccine in retrospect).

But look, covid will always be here just like the flu and we need to live life. Once hospitals are handling it and all the sick Trinis with tonnes of comorbidities take precautions, why bother.

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 12:46 pm

Hines said we are experiencing an exponential increase in infections - think he said something like 50s now, low 100s next week, high 100s the week after and getting worse the week after - so while there are no regulations reimplemented now, the prime minister did say if things worsen, that could be a possibility. so if u dont want a return to that in the coming weeks, act now- and the main precaution is masking.

another can be if u find u getting a lil sniffle or something in yuh throat dont just dismiss it as allergies or sahara dust. take a home test especially if u plan on going to a fete.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 12th, 2023, 12:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 12:49 pm

redmanjp wrote:Hines said we are experiencing an exponential increase in infections - so while there are no regulations reimplemented now, the prime minister did say if things worsen, that could be a possibility. so if u dont want a return to that in the coming weeks, act now- and the main precaution is masking.
Infections SHOULD be considered different from cases, as having covid isn't a problem, compared to actually being sick because of covid.
If it isn't a problem, why make it a problem...

Postby sMASH » January 12th, 2023, 12:52 pm

12 discarded
94.73% have antibodies
Source?

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 12:56 pm

sMASH wrote:

12 discarded
94.73% have antibodies
Source?

the conference just now. i would imagine one of the newspapers should write an article about it soon enough.

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 12:58 pm

sMASH wrote:
redmanjp wrote:Hines said we are experiencing an exponential increase in infections - so while there are no regulations reimplemented now, the prime minister did say if things worsen, that could be a possibility. so if u dont want a return to that in the coming weeks, act now- and the main precaution is masking.
Infections SHOULD be considered different from cases, as having covid isn't a problem, compared to actually being sick because of covid.

it could become a problem because hospitalized cases could increase exponentially. and when that happens expect Govt intervention.

Postby hover11 » January 12th, 2023, 1:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:
sMASH wrote:

it could become a problem because hospitalized cases could increase exponentially. and when that happens expect Govt intervention.
Yup after Carnival then they will look to do what is necessary

Postby redmanjp » January 12th, 2023, 1:03 pm

imagine u have a tiny lil fire in your home just one tenth of an inch burning- not a big deal? u could say daiz nothing - or u could put it out one time- if u dont put it out right away what happens? u hadda call fire brigade and then they reach late after d house burn down- would u say that fire hoses don't work? or that they only work if the response time is quick- or better if u used a fire extinguisher?

the same with masks- it wont work if ppl wait another 2 weeks to start back wearing them in close crowded spaces