Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2023, 2:15 pm

Nah same prices for 12 days of xmas

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 29th, 2023, 2:20 pm

Ah hope so, but I mean from next year I expect alco prices to go up a solid 20.00 on imported. Some retailers holding the slight strain for the sales now.

Alco don't spoil, make the most outta these prices

Postby Rovin » November 29th, 2023, 3:11 pm

besides peardrax having artificial flavors that doh taste like how it did long time i find like it have too much sugar in it too ...

Postby Dizzy28 » November 29th, 2023, 4:57 pm

All of the past few days of deals at Massy are repeated tomorrow.

Postby Dave » November 29th, 2023, 9:19 pm

Rovin wrote:besides peardrax having artificial flavors that doh taste like how it did long time i find like it have too much sugar in it too ...
Peardrax was the bougie drink long time yes.

Postby maj. tom » November 29th, 2023, 10:25 pm

Peardrax probably was quite a novelty drink for Christmas time, but now the formula would have changed quite a lot with artificial flavours and different manufacturing methods, not to mention the amount of sugar in it now.

Cydrax was the original from Whiteways in Devon, England. Made from apple Cyder which is an alcoholic beverage. So they made Cydrax by distilling the alcohol out. Image

They made a pear version called Peardrax. Seems like it was very popular in the UK and the Caribbean in the 1950s and 1960s. Luxury item so I guess it got associated with Christmas as a treat, just like how apples and grapes were Christmas symbols in Trinidad before the intermodal shipping container revolution.

Originally called the Whiteways Devon Cyder Company but closed in 1985, after which the license was bought by some other company called Gaymer Cider Company and sold again several times. Peardrax and Cydrax actually need a government brewery license to make. Because it's essentially a fermented wine (cider) made for commercial distribution, but more importantly, it involved alcohol distillation which is high regulated by governments. There's a history of several local brewers getting approval by the Minister of Finance under the Brewery Act to manufacture it, including Pepsicola, Samba and currently CDCL (Carib).

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2023, 4:18 am

sm jaleel tried to jump on with their pear d soft drink also

Postby K74T » November 30th, 2023, 6:36 am

FB_IMG_1701340510038.jpg

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2023, 9:34 am

Massy was full this morning, but most people were buying the basics, the flour was sold out, one lady emptied the shelves of the pigeon peas, turkeys were gone but the alco was not moving, got a few butter which is what I went for will pass later to see if they get more butter

Postby Dizzy28 » November 30th, 2023, 9:40 am

eliteauto wrote:Massy was full this morning, but most people were buying the basics, the flour was sold out, one lady emptied the shelves of the pigeon peas, turkeys were gone but the alco was not moving, got a few butter which is what I went for will pass later to see if they get more butter

Yea I was actually shocked yesterday when I went to Massy Trincity at around 6pm the alco specials were plentiful in amounts. Normally when they have the sales at that time of day you struggle to get the alco.

Toilet paper bales to the ceiling as well. Not me and that though. Earlier this year they had a sale on TP and I bought a case but the quality/quantity is off as compared to Pricesmart. The rolls are smaller as they fit more snugly in the toilet paper holders.

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2023, 11:58 am

i said it here b4, peardrax was good & i liked cydrax just as much too long time when it was made in england but since local ppl started making it, it not anywhere near d same

solo makes a decent pear drink, bottle supposedly tastes better but too lil bit so i get d can size, like they dont get d concentrate to make it often so is like about every 4 mths u get a lil batch then takes a while to get back ...

Postby bluefete » November 30th, 2023, 12:05 pm

Rovin wrote:i said it here b4, peardrax was good & i liked cydrax just as much too long time when it was made in england but since local ppl started making it, it not anywhere near d same

solo makes a decent pear drink, bottle supposedly tastes better but too lil bit so i get d can size, like they dont get d concentrate to make it often so is like about every 4 mths u get a lil batch then takes a while to get back ...

I used to wonder why Solo was cheaper than the other soft drinks. One day I got a shock when I realized that Solo does not make or sell 2L but only 1.5L as their largest bottles.

Fully agree, Cydrax and Peardrax were best when they were made in England. Pips to Solo for their pear drink.

Vitamalt original is now made by Carib and the taste is just not the same.

Postby bluefete » November 30th, 2023, 12:07 pm

eliteauto wrote:Massy was full this morning, but most people were buying the basics, the flour was sold out, one lady emptied the shelves of the pigeon peas, turkeys were gone but the alco was not moving, got a few butter which is what I went for will pass later to see if they get more butter

People finally getting smart or November money done already. or some have not been paid as yet. Don't worry, that will all change before Christmas.

Postby Rovin » November 30th, 2023, 12:36 pm

hmmm since d vitamalt bottle shape changed i really find it tasted different but i tort it was mind over matter, didnt occur to me to check d label to see carib making it now ... :o

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » November 30th, 2023, 2:11 pm

Rovin wrote:hmmm since d vitamalt bottle shape changed i really find it tasted different but i tort it was mind over matter, didnt occur to me to check d label to see carib making it now ... :o

OG vitamalt was the ish! That nice rusty iron flavor was proper.

Postby MaxPower » November 30th, 2023, 2:19 pm

Vitamalt has some other flavor, can’t remember it.

But it was nasty

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 30th, 2023, 3:57 pm

The season for getting fatter and diabetes boi...

Postby eliteauto » November 30th, 2023, 4:40 pm

MaxPower wrote:Vitamalt has some other flavor, can’t remember it.

But it was nasty

A customer gave me one that was "coconut and hibiscus" :|

Postby MaxPower » November 30th, 2023, 4:45 pm

DMan7 wrote:The season for getting fatter and diabetes boi...

Yep.

Fat all season, fatter this season.

Nobody want to hear about water and cruciferous vegetables.

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2023, 4:55 pm

nah is early carnival so ppl will moderate

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 30th, 2023, 5:54 pm

eliteauto wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Vitamalt has some other flavor, can’t remember it.

But it was nasty

A customer gave me one that was "coconut and hibiscus" :|

I think I've eaten this ice cream flavor before.

Postby Chimera » November 30th, 2023, 6:48 pm

this is the 2nd to last payday for the year, cant buy alcohol as yet.

christmas payday is for alcohol and gifts

the amount of people applying for $15,000 dollar phones from me under financing plans you would be shocked i almost reach the point where i can't sustain it

and people whose salaries are 4k-5k all the way to 20k per month

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2023, 7:25 am

Chimera wrote:this is the 2nd to last payday for the year, cant buy alcohol as yet.

the amount of people applying for $15,000 dollar phones from me under financing plans you would be shocked i almost reach the point where i can't sustain it

idk which more dotish, a carnival loan or a cellphone loan

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » December 1st, 2023, 7:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Chimera wrote:this is the 2nd to last payday for the year, cant buy alcohol as yet.

Well I'd say a phone is definitely worth it given the number of things it can do.

Carnival, well that's their choice... Banks happy, people happy, economy keeps on ticking. Fine by me.

Postby pugboy » December 1st, 2023, 7:56 am

carnival is a few weeks
at least a phone lasts longer

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 1st, 2023, 7:58 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Well I'd say a phone is definitely worth it given the number of things it can do.

Carnival, well that's their choice... Banks happy, people happy, economy keeps on ticking. Fine by me.

whatever happen to buy a phone where yuh $ could reach? send/receive calls, a few apps and a good camera...thats about it....unless people figure owning a phone worth 15k is some kinda pips :|

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2023, 8:21 am

apparently it outright is

but i watching it from their side too eh, it easier to pay 700 a month for 4 years than 15k up front

and the same pips yuh pipsing

and its people from allll walks of life doing it

kfc workers, bank workers, off shore workers, reallll plenty nurses, security guards, police, plenty military personnel but problems with them because they take months to get job letters,

plenty loans for PS5 as well