Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Habit7 » March 22nd, 2024, 7:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:No to Property Tax! We are against Property Tax! Vote for us and we again promise to remove property tax this time!

… but Imbert, we had plans for that 3%. Why you knock it down to 2%? That is good money you left on the table.

IMG_0146.jpeg

https://guardian.co.tt/news/cttrc-chair ... 058b95553b

Corporation chair denies PM's claim he supports property tax
YVONNE WEBB 2 DAYS AGO

CONTRARY to claims by the Prime Minister that he supports the imposition of property tax, chairman of the Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation (CTTRC) Ryan Rampersad is hitting back.

He charged that Rowley “mischaracterised” statements he was quoted as making in an article published in another newspaper.

During the passage of the Property Tax (Amendment) Bill passed by the House of Representatives on March 18, without opposition support, Rowley quoted a newspaper article in which Rampersad was reported as lamenting that a drop in property tax from three to two per cent of the annual rental value would see his corporation lose $13 million in anticipated revenue.

He said this would affect landslip, watercourse and flood-reduction measures.

In his argument, Rowley said Rampersad’s position indicated division among UNC members on the contentious property tax.

He said Rampersad had hitched the CTTRC wagon to the property tax to develop its community, while his peers in Parliament were “talking hooey.”

In a statement in response on March 20, Rampersad said he wanted to address the misrepresentation that he had endorsed property tax when his party was calling for its repeal.

Contrary to insinuations made by Rowley and his associates, Rampersad said, he “vehemently opposes the implementation of the property tax as orchestrated by the present administration.”

Any suggestion otherwise is not only disingenuous but a blatant misrepresentation of his stance on the matter, the statement said.

Rampersad insisted he did not endorse the “harsh and unjust property tax scheme being enforced by the current PNM government.” His sentiments, the statement continued, echo those of the 19 members of the CTTRC who stand in solidarity with him.

Rampersad expressed support for the position outlined by Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar, that the act should be repealed the act in keeping with the party’s unwavering commitment to representing the interests and concerns of the people they serve.

“As local government councillors, Rampersad and his team are acutely attuned to the hardships faced by the community, particularly in these challenging times.

“They witness firsthand the struggles of individuals and families striving to make ends meet amidst economic uncertainties.

“It is within this context that they vehemently oppose the implementation of a draconian property tax that only exacerbates the burden on the populace.”

Rampersad reiterated, “The property tax, in its current form, is unjust, onerous, and fundamentally at odds with the well-being of the citizens.”

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/03/20/corpor ... perty-tax/

Postby bluefete » March 22nd, 2024, 7:12 pm

Rampersad talking doo-doo.

He was counting property tax money before it was hatched.

How did he arrive at that original $41 million in taxes though?

Re: Property Tax In Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » March 23rd, 2024, 6:51 am

I find out from inside island revenue the tax merely on hold and not axed. They still have everything ready for it.

Allyuh fall for that trap

Postby Habit7 » March 23rd, 2024, 8:58 am

matr1x wrote:I find out from inside island revenue the tax merely on hold and not axed. They still have everything ready for it.

Allyuh fall for that trap

I found out from a better source. Imbert said so himself at a secret meeting of 41 parliamentarians in the Red House. The video was secretly leaked live on YouTube and the press then reported it.https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/pro ... e54b.html#

Postby matr1x » March 23rd, 2024, 11:32 am

Imbert is a whore who says he loves you and swears he is clean

Postby 88sins » March 23rd, 2024, 9:13 pm

zoom rader wrote:The problem is not paying the tax,

The problem is getting value for the taxes paid.

I would not be so sure about that eh.
Because I'd like for someone to explain to me, why the ass I should accept that I DON'T own something I bought because latrine fly in a suit that thump a table say I should, and why I should have to pay a third party to allow me to keep something I supposedly bought and paid for, every year for as long as I own it, simply because I own it?

And to anyone thinking about "everybody everywhere pays property tax" as yuh answer., know this.

plenty ppl does delete themselves everywhere around the world too, but yuh eh following that for whatever reason, and to besides, more than a couple nations DON'T levy property tax, why yuh eh following them?

Postby zoom rader » June 26th, 2024, 4:24 pm

Wishy washy pnm cant decide anything
Screenshot_20240626_152249_Instagram.jpg

Postby Dave » July 4th, 2024, 10:04 am

Property tax is due by 30th September,2024.
Queries and concerns would only be entertained on the revised notices.

The Ministry of Finance said amended Property Tax Notices of Assessment are being mailed out to residents and all previous notices dated before March 6, 2024, are now null and void.

In an update Tuesday, the Ministry said residential property owners are being advised to disregard those notices dated before March 6, 2024, as the Property Tax Act was amended to change the rate of tax payable (%ATV) from 3 per cent to 2 per cent.

The Ministry said payments, objections and deferrals will only be accepted on revised notices.

The Ministry said all payments are due by September 30, 2024.

Postby zoom rader » July 4th, 2024, 10:38 am

Dave wrote:Property tax is due by 30th September,2024.

The Ministry of Finance said amended Property Tax Notices of Assessment are being mailed out to residents and all previous notices dated before March 6, 2024, are now null and void.

In an update Tuesday, the Ministry said residential property owners are being advised to disregard those notices dated before March 6, 2024, as the Property Tax Act was amended to change the rate of tax payable (%ATV) from 3 per cent to 2 per cent.

The Ministry said payments, objections and deferrals will only be accepted on revised notices.

Fvck PNM property tax and Rowlee MC

solarkh

Postby solarkh » July 4th, 2024, 2:43 pm

Dave wrote:Property tax is due by 30th September,2024.

Fvck PNM property tax and Rowlee MC

Ditto

Postby bluefete » July 4th, 2024, 6:07 pm

So if I don't get a notice by 30/9 - they coming and take my house in 5 years?

Postby zoom rader » July 4th, 2024, 6:27 pm

bluefete wrote:So if I don't get a notice by 30/9 - they coming and take my house in 5 years?
A number of people have not received bills or notice.

Its poorly managed

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » July 4th, 2024, 10:13 pm

bluefete wrote:So if I don't get a notice by 30/9 - they coming and take my house in 5 years?

Yea boi, next thing you open your toilet door and you see ole Imbert taking a dump in his new house.

Postby 88sins » July 6th, 2024, 6:40 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Yea boi, next thing you open your toilet door and you see ole Imbert taking a dump in his new house.

what you really saying?the man might see a sh!t taking a sh!t?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 6th, 2024, 8:35 pm

I filled out no forms, not paying a cent until I am forced to do so

Sent from my SM-A325M using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby 88sins » July 7th, 2024, 7:14 am

PariaMan wrote:I filled out no forms, not paying a cent until I am forced to do so

That's where you gonna have a problem.
They are not going to force you to.
They will keep sending notices, and after 5 years of you not paying, eventually, you'll be escorted out of your own house and told to not return unless you in the mood to be arrested for trespassing.
Notice, I said you will be escorted out.
All your possessions on the premises, from yuh car to your old socks, become property of the state to be sold to pay your overdue taxes.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 7th, 2024, 10:59 am

Will wait and see if any government brave enough to do that

If they send a bill i will pay. Otherwise, nothing

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 7th, 2024, 10:59 am

For now I waiting to see

If everyone had done this it would be impossible for them to go forward

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2024, 11:16 am

PariaMan wrote:Will wait and see if any government brave enough to do that

They will target Injun homes first.

They will never touch pnm ppl

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2024, 11:26 am

So the $250 million being owed to HDC by delinquent clients is only made up of PNM people?

Postby bluefete » July 7th, 2024, 11:29 am

DMan7 wrote:

trust you, eh :lol: :lol: :lol:

Or maybe it might be someone the state wants to put in my house - like in Venezuela!

Postby zoom rader » July 7th, 2024, 11:34 am

bluefete wrote:

So the $250 million being owed to HDC by delinquent clients is only made up of PNM people?
Injun does get HDC homes?

Wat jackarseness u talking

Postby 88sins » July 7th, 2024, 11:49 am

PariaMan wrote:For now I waiting to see

If everyone had done this it would be impossible for them to go forward

Quite right.
But yuh kno this nation ram packed with functional idiots who live just to do whatever any jackass in a suit on a podium tell them.

Postby j.o.e » July 7th, 2024, 12:05 pm

bluefete wrote:

Jhandi like rain in plenty HDC communities. Hadda have a good bit

Postby The_Honourable » July 31st, 2024, 10:49 pm

MEDIA RELEASE: Further Extension of Time for the Board of Inland Revenue to Issue Notices of Assessment

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=900 ... 9937043693

Postby 88sins » August 1st, 2024, 3:36 pm

Do you gentlemen believe...

BIR employees, especially at the lower levels, are not enthusiastic about levying this legal robbery disguised as a property tax that was concocted by this spawn of satan/albino leprechaun with a head made of a rotten onion?

Postby zoom rader » August 1st, 2024, 5:26 pm

j.o.e wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Jhandi like rain in plenty HDC communities. Hadda have a good bit
Oh please, nothing more than window dresses to make if look fair.

1 out of 100 is not fair

Postby zoom rader » August 1st, 2024, 5:28 pm

88sins wrote:Do you gentlemen believe...

BIR employees, especially at the lower levels, are not enthusiastic about levying this legal robbery disguised as a property tax that was concocted by this spawn of satan/albino leprechaun with a head made of a rotten onion?
They purposely target injuns, believe injuns owning to much.

wing

Postby wing » August 1st, 2024, 6:20 pm

88sins wrote:Do you gentlemen believe...

Add to this, 4% and revenue authority mess. Understandable that they are very disgruntled.

Bad Dog

Postby Bad Dog » August 2nd, 2024, 12:01 pm

Recently, I received a tax bill for $1,903.00 for building lot of 9,000 sq ft with a dilapidated shed that has no utilities and or livable space so I filed an objection. Does anyone know how long the BIR takes to respond to an objection?