Re: :: The official TOOLS thread ::

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » July 12th, 2017, 2:52 pm

^^^ good stuff ...

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 12th, 2017, 3:01 pm

I hadda get me a new step but too yes. Cheap Neiko last long.

Postby Rovin » July 13th, 2017, 12:01 pm

bought a 3 piece pack of d neiko step bits was less than us$10 iirc , of course there is better & wider bits but it works good for d money ...

Postby X_Factor » July 13th, 2017, 3:54 pm

those were conical stone and rasp for impact driver or drill first time I saw them

Postby pugboy » July 13th, 2017, 4:10 pm

Neiko is same as Harbor frieght I think
they work well for the price, shaft on a couple I had broke with bad use.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 14th, 2017, 1:39 pm

X_Factor wrote:Image

some new hand tools to the mix

How much you paid for the 1/4" set?

Postby X_Factor » July 15th, 2017, 8:34 am

like 13 usd

Postby supercharged turbo » July 15th, 2017, 11:36 pm

Not bad...I see allied have it for $250.Where can I get a come along to buy?Something reasonable

Postby adnj » July 16th, 2017, 3:39 am

supercharged turbo wrote:Not bad...I see allied have it for $250.Where can I get a come along to buy?Something reasonable

I've seen them in FT Farfan, Bhags and Peakes. I don't remember the prices though.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 16th, 2017, 9:43 am

I"ll check them out

Postby X_Factor » July 16th, 2017, 12:09 pm

also hav that fella as well in deep socket 1/4
but the price I paid for dat I could hav gotten better and that didnt come with a 1/4 drive ratchet

Postby Ted_v2 » July 16th, 2017, 11:34 pm

L&G having a killer gearwrench set.
all sae shallow and deep.
all metric shallow and deep from 4 till 15
ratchet extension.
https://www.amazon.com/GearWrench-80300 ... B000NIAIE2

about 700 i think it was. maybe mid 600, saw it about last week thursday, was gonna grab it immediately but i already have those sockets. Even have 14mm shallow and deep.

but if anyone looking for a decent 1/4 drive flexhead ratchet

.https://www.amazon.com/Drive-11-Long-Fl ... F4+ratchet
1/4 drive by 11" long.. bought this locally, but thats the link for it.

i did some pretty wild stuff with this, Which includes a changing starters on my laurel, huge tq no problems.
Might chop it down to around 7"

Postby Ted_v2 » July 16th, 2017, 11:37 pm

Oh and if anyone wants a cheap vice, allied has some good irwin stuff, 4" for under 500$ or a bit above. Mechanics vice.
was going to grab one but prefer to get something like a record.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 17th, 2017, 10:36 am

Irwin owns the Record brand.

You will only get ole English Record if you find one used.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 19th, 2017, 5:28 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Irwin owns the Record brand.

You will only get ole English Record if you find one used.

Yup noticed this after I bought one of the blue record vice.Where can I get a good small air compressor?Like a 3 gallon or 6 gallon for the biggest.Not too keen on those Pricesmart compressors unless they have good reviews

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 19th, 2017, 7:12 pm

I would say bhagwansingh or allied but they are at least $1k more than pricesmart for the same size. Brands are debatable.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2017, 8:07 am

^^I would check them out today..thanks man

Postby X_Factor » July 20th, 2017, 9:05 am

anyone ever did aluminium brazing?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 20th, 2017, 9:09 am

Pmart had a Briggs and Stratton pressure washer for 3k. Bhagwansingh has the same for 3.8k. Makes you wonder how organisations arrive at their pricing.

SSL has a Karcher gas washer at 2k yet the official dealer has no gas powered washer under 3.5k. I understand different supply chains etc but still, how can there be such a vast difference? With the dealer no less?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » July 20th, 2017, 9:35 am

Yea boi, bought the electric powerwasher from Pricesmart for $1,500. Then saw Bhagwansingh have it for $1,700.

Postby adnj » July 20th, 2017, 10:20 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:Pmart had a Briggs and Stratton pressure washer for 3k. Bhagwansingh has the same for 3.8k. Makes you wonder how organisations arrive at their pricing.

Pricesmart, Sam's Club and Costco sell at their cost. Membership warehouses make their money on selling the membership to you. And like any other wholesaler, they also don't try to keep items in stock. Some companies even refuse to sell to the membership warehouses.

Not a lot of variety, not available all the time but maybe worth the price of the membership.

Postby Rovin » July 20th, 2017, 11:32 am

u have to check stuff to see if is d exact same model cause it cud be a last yr or different model with just a digit or letter different even though it looking d same ....

Postby Ted_v2 » July 20th, 2017, 8:34 pm

Yep. I was looking around for a electrical pressure washer, l&g had the black and decker 1300psi for 730,no warranty at all.

Allied had the same price 1 year warranty.

Ended up with a k2 karcher for a bit over 1k, 6 months warranty from allied. Got a foam cannon for 160$ extra.

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2017, 9:12 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone ever did aluminium brazing?
What you wanna braze?

I brazed aluminium but car parts seem to be of a different composition. The material dont stick to it.

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2017, 9:14 pm

the karcher electric drag about model is working pretty good for me
the cheapish standup ones might all be made in the same place
they get bad reviews from the wacker repair places

Postby X_Factor » July 20th, 2017, 9:42 pm

small amp rack
got those

u used mapp or propane?

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2017, 9:49 pm

I used raw rods and flux with mapp, propane and oxy acetylene.
It sticks to aluminium angle iron and coke cans.
Does not work on auto parts it seems. Tried it on a radiator and my tgv's. Just fell right off the tgv's.

Postby nervewrecker » July 20th, 2017, 9:51 pm

Got em by edoos in sandoImageImage

viedcht

Postby viedcht » July 26th, 2017, 2:17 pm

Anybody have hands-on experience with this portable welder? See Ghany Ent. selling for 850...Image

Postby X_Factor » July 26th, 2017, 3:36 pm

its 110v
honestly dont bother....
u can get a 220 180 amp same chinese inverter welder for a little more