El Barça es mes que un club!

Kongorealm

Re: El Barca es mes que un club!

Postby Kongorealm » October 31st, 2012, 6:19 am

Good to see Alves back out from injury. I know why rested Messi was rested but it would of been nice to see him get more chances to break the record for most goals in one calendar year!

In other news:

Messi receives Golden Boot for record haul of 50 Spanish League goals
AP

BARCELONA, Spain — Barcelona forward Lionel Messi was presented with his second Golden Boot award on Monday in recognition for scoring the most goals in Europe's domestic leagues last season.

News photo
Honored again: Lionel Messi poses with the Golden Boot, signifying the top scorer in Europe's domestic leagues last season, at a ceremony in Barcelona on Monday. AP

The 25-year-old Messi scored a Spanish-League record 50 goals for Barcelona, edging out fellow Spanish League star Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid by four goals.

Messi dedicated the award to his teammates, with Xavi Hernandez and Carles Puyol present for the ceremony in Barcelona.

"It is a prize for scoring goals, but without my teammates I couldn't have scored them," Messi said. "I share this award with them as I always do.

"I don't fight for individual awards, I fight for titles. My goals are reclaiming the league crown, winning the Copa del Rey and the winning the Champions League again. Those are my goals, team goals."

The Argentina international won his first Golden Boot in 2010 for his 34 goals that helped Barcelona win the league title.

Messi is among the favorites to win the 2012 Ballon d'Or for the world's best player.

"We won't see another player like him, and if we do, it won't be for a very long time," said Barcelona coach Tito Vilanova. "It's not just for the goals he scores, but for how he sees and understands the game, that is what makes him so great. On Saturday, he ran 50 meters to defend a corner in the 89th minute with a 5-0 lead. Not many players would have done that."

Luis Suarez Miramontes, the former Spain international and 1960 Ballon d'Or winner, presented the award.

Messi, nicknamed "The Flea" for his uncanny ability to dribble through defenders, has shattered a number of records over the past year.

He scored an unprecedented 73 goals in all competitions for Barcelona last season, breaking the previous European club record of 67 goals set by Bayern Munich's Gerd Mueller in 1972-73 and the prior world club mark of 70 established by Archie Stark of Bethlehem Steel in the American Soccer League in 1924-25.

In March, Messi passed Cesar Rodriguez's 57-year-old milestone of 232 goals to become Barcelona's all-time leading scorer. He also scored a European Cup-record-tying 14 goals in the Champions League, where he netted a record five goals in one game.

Messi has scored 17 goals in all competitions to start this season, and has his sights set on yet another milestone he is sure to reach very soon. He is just two goals away from equaling Brazil great Pele's feat of 75 goals for club and country in one calendar year, set in 1958.

"Obviously, it's an honor to be close to the numbers of a person who is so important to football," Messi said. "But, again, they are only statistics."

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 2nd, 2012, 12:52 pm

Article: http://www.crunchsports.com/category/So ... 211020001/

Santos striker Neymar, who has been linked with the likes of Barcelona, Real Madrid, and Manchester United, has admitted that playing alongside Barca star Lionel Messi would be "a dream".

Neymar has become one of the most sought-after players in world football over the past twelve months as a result of some superb performances for club and country, with the likes of Chelsea, Juventus, and Paris Saint-Germain also interested in securing the 20-year-old's services if and when he moves to Europe.

Recent reports in Spain and South America had claimed the Brazil international was set to join Barcelona next summer - something which both the Catalans and Santos insisted was not true.

But Neymar, who is valued at around £40million, has once again fuelled speculation that he will join Tito Vilanova's side at some point before his contract expires in 2014.

"To play alongside Messi would be a dream," he told Marca.

"Even just training with him would make me very happy."

Neymar also insisted the Argentine star should win this year's Ballon d'Or award.

"For me, there are three players who are better than the rest: [Andres] Iniesta, [Cristiano] Ronaldo and Messi," he added.

"But, the best is Messi. There is nobody who can do the things he does."

Messi recently praised Neymar, calling the young forward an "excellent footballer".

"Can you imagine the best in your profession giving you praise?" said Neymar.

"It made me very happy and I can only thank him for his words."

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 2nd, 2012, 4:05 pm

Thiago Messi finally born. Congrats.

Postby RASC » November 2nd, 2012, 5:26 pm

Guys I'm back... Relax Relax. Força :lol:

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 2nd, 2012, 5:29 pm

^lol

Conrats to Messi and wife (sweet babes) on newly born son

Postby X_Factor » November 2nd, 2012, 5:52 pm

i would like if this gives him even more motivation to just blaze even more!

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 2nd, 2012, 5:55 pm

Congrats to messi

Postby Morpheus » November 3rd, 2012, 1:10 pm

Wait... what Tommy Smyth now say bout "...the University Of the West Indies in Trinidad" dey? I missed the first part.

EDIT: Forget it. Recently they always talking about the Caribbean. Shaka real marketing :lol:

Boss 2nd goal though!!

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 3rd, 2012, 1:30 pm

Getting updates from my mobile, Barca scored, Vigo equalised then Barca scored again in like a 5 mintues span...I missing it man

Postby Morpheus » November 3rd, 2012, 2:21 pm

Yeah real pace! 2nd half real subdued though

3rd goal just scored was a terrible off side missed call

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2012, 2:56 pm

horrible offside goal for real probably 5ft or more!!
i hope messi is ok for the CL game
tough luck not being able to score

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 3rd, 2012, 6:00 pm

Messi tried too hard to score today. He had a one on one with the keeper which is usually no trouble for him and really screw that up without getting a shot off and letting the defense come back and take the ball off him. He looked like he extended his right leg a little too much just before he got the kick on the same leg and he stayed down for a good time. I hope he's ok. Man try hard to score a goal for his son and nearly come out with a bad injury.

Glad to see Alves back. Adriano out for 3 weeks. Pique might be back for CL game on Wednesday. Like we defense can't settle with all these injuries. That was really a bad offside goal too. I mean it was not even close.

Postby X_Factor » November 3rd, 2012, 8:11 pm

the good thing is that he was able to continue and still run a bit, so hopefully its not bad and he can come and probably make a hat-trick or more in the CL game on wednesday

cincuanta

Postby cincuanta » November 3rd, 2012, 10:10 pm

I see no reason to risk him Wed, seeing that they going and play another wildman British side. But he will want to play, and we want him to break Pele record too.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 5th, 2012, 9:38 am

A bizarre coincidence involving two of the world's greatest footballers, Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and their sons, has been revealed by fans on Twitter.

While Ronaldo is 869 days older than Messi, astonishingly, Ronaldo's son, Cristiano Ronaldo Junior, is also 869 days older than 25-year-old Messi's lad, Thiago.

"Ronaldo and Lionel Messi were born 869 days apart, and their sons (CR Jr + Thiago) were also 869 days apart. How amazing is that?" The Sun quoted a Twitter user, as posting.

According to the paper, Messi's girlfriend Antonella Roccuzzo gave birth to their lad earlier this month while Ronaldo Junior arrived on June 17, 2010.

Ronaldo, 27, was born on February 5, 1985, while Messi was born on June 24, 1987, the paper said.

It would be amazing if the sons of these two great footballers end up in the same type of position (rivalry) as their fathers...it would be epic and football can only get better!!!

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 4:34 pm

1 down fellas
i hope for a better 2nd half

twice the post save celtic yes!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2012, 4:38 pm

Celtic on fire yo.

kevcam

Postby kevcam » November 7th, 2012, 4:48 pm

Barely any space inside the box. Celtic defending very well. Song looking lil shaky as he got that early card. Hope he does not get a second yellow. When Xavi or Alves gets the ball is only Messi and Alexis inside the box with 6 - 8 defenders so someone has to do some running off the ball to receive a pass inside (like what Fabregas does at times.)

They have to start taking shots on goal. All this passing outside the box and not taking shots will not get goals. Patience yes, but Celtic study Barcelona well, so Barca have to do something a lil different. Bayern killing Lille in that other game.

Postby sharkman121 » November 7th, 2012, 4:51 pm

Morpheus wrote:Wait... what Tommy Smyth now say bout "...the University Of the West Indies in Trinidad" dey? I missed the first part.

EDIT: Forget it. Recently they always talking about the Caribbean. Shaka real marketing :lol:

Boss 2nd goal though!!

this is true, he always talking about the caribbean and TNT as of recently. thought was only me who noticed.

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 5:05 pm

villa for sanchez
fabergas for xavi

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 5:15 pm

like messi cant find the net since he became a father yes!
that goal still evades him!

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2012, 5:16 pm

Song lucky to have not gotten a second booking after that tackle on miku

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 5:27 pm

huh........

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2012, 5:32 pm

Well that was unexpected

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 5:34 pm

finally!!!!!!!!!!!11
2mins to score another
lets show them!!

Postby X_Factor » November 7th, 2012, 5:41 pm

ohh well.....first loss for the season
better it happens now than later

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 7th, 2012, 5:44 pm

Did not get to see the game, I'm guessing it was like the first one only celtic put away their chances this time around. Arrggh! Nice to see messi score but a consolation man, steups..well hard luck fellas, we lost fair and square...

<=xjemler=>

Postby <=xjemler=> » November 7th, 2012, 5:45 pm

Hmmmm....... :roll:

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 7th, 2012, 5:57 pm

Kongorealm wrote:Did not get to see the game, I'm guessing it was like the first one only celtic put away their chances this time around. Arrggh! Nice to see messi score but a consolation man, steups..well hard luck fellas, we lost fair and square...

Celtic defense fraught hard and strong, you guys still 2point clear atop the group anyway.

Kongorealm

Postby Kongorealm » November 7th, 2012, 6:04 pm

Yea I know, as I said in a UCL thread we only need 1 more point to qualify for next round but as being classed as one of the best in the world you want to win all games. We need to go to the drawing board with the current defense we have as a lot of teams will be adopting this tactic that chelsea and celtic have apparently mastered. I gabe props were props are due and celtic deserved to win according to reports I'm getting. Will review highlights when I get home to make a better determination.
Last edited by Kongorealm on November 7th, 2012, 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.