Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby UML » December 19th, 2011, 6:27 pm

are we helping to preserve it or are we damaging it??

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id= ... ryMediaBox

Postby UML » December 19th, 2011, 6:33 pm

as i said before I is ah bigger kant!!!
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:29 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2011, 7:10 pm

WHY, because i tell you to buy ah cage and 2 budgies? I should of really listen to the few people who PM and also called me and told me dont give you any advise........ i told them nah, i willing to help anybody on the forum with some advise.................
GUESS I WAS REALLY AN ARSE............... SAY WHAT, THE THREAD GOING NICE SO I DONT WANT TO SPAM IT UP ALREADY.......................... YOU JUST SKUNTIN IT UP :agrue: :agrue: ........LATER

Postby UML » December 19th, 2011, 8:06 pm

good advice nevertheless
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » December 19th, 2011, 8:08 pm

so does having a reef tank help preserve coral and fish species or destroy them?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » December 20th, 2011, 6:27 pm

destroy... unless you have the expertise and TIME to regrow coral...
as for fishes im all for captive breeding programs to keep natural stock free... it have a few species of f/w fish I know that are threatened or over cultivated in wild/no longer exported from region... but abundant in fish trade...

Postby sharkman121 » December 20th, 2011, 6:44 pm

as much as id like to disagree with bigga, he right. Even the methods used to catch these fish like explosions and cyanide etc to a lot of irreversible damage to the ecosystem.

Postby UML » December 20th, 2011, 9:18 pm

i bought myself a RO/DI unit :)

FD3S

Postby FD3S » December 20th, 2011, 11:00 pm

Fellers, I have a 75 gallon tank with 9 goldfish;7 orandas and 2 black moors. Problem is ever so often 3 males get the urge to breed and literally mash up either of my 2 of my females. They are very aggressive and the females are very stressed after 1 day of courtship. They end up with thorn fins and missing scales. I have to separate them.
What should i do?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » December 21st, 2011, 2:13 am

FD3S wrote:Fellers, I have a 75 gallon tank with 9 goldfish;7 orandas and 2 black moors. Problem is ever so often 3 males get the urge to breed and literally mash up either of my 2 of my females. They are very aggressive and the females are very stressed after 1 day of courtship. They end up with thorn fins and missing scales. I have to separate them.
What should i do?

is that US gallons or British? id start by figuring out if they are cramped how big are they?
i know orandas can get up to 1ft long... maybe try setting up a breeding tank with just one pair (take away the competition safe way to lessen aggression)... need more info (any decor/ foilage substrate etc)

Postby sharkman121 » December 21st, 2011, 2:21 am

UML wrote:i bought myself a RO/DI unit :)

well done, its an investment u wont regret.

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » December 21st, 2011, 2:25 am

eh sharky i finally set up d tank dem (planted/scaped/ over grown) bout 2-3 months now...
CIMG0055.jpg
Rainbow Kribensis & her fry...
CIMG0009.jpg
8 gal breeder...
CIMG0105.jpg
1 month later...
CIMG0016.jpg
Before CO2
Last edited by bigga514 on December 21st, 2011, 2:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » December 21st, 2011, 2:27 am

bigga514 wrote:eh i finally set up d tank dem (planted/scaped)uppin some pics...

nice... lookin fwd to it

FD3S

Postby FD3S » December 21st, 2011, 1:51 pm

bigga514 wrote:
FD3S wrote:Fellers, I have a 75 gallon tank with 9 goldfish;7 orandas and 2 black moors. Problem is ever so often 3 males get the urge to breed and literally mash up either of my 2 of my females. They are very aggressive and the females are very stressed after 1 day of courtship. They end up with thorn fins and missing scales. I have to separate them.
What should i do?

is that US gallons or British? id start by figuring out if they are cramped how big are they?
i know orandas can get up to 1ft long... maybe try setting up a breeding tank with just one pair (take away the competition safe way to lessen aggression)... need more info (any decor/ foilage substrate etc)

Tank is 75 US gallons. It is set up barebottom with 2 large artificial plants.The biggest fish is about 5 inches head to tail. Water quality is prestine according to API liquid test kit. I do large water changes once a week.
On the few occasions the breeding behaviour occurred , the females never seem to drop their eggs. Their belly remains plump.
I have a small tank about 15-20 gallon which I guess i could use as a breeding tank.

Postby UML » December 22nd, 2011, 2:40 pm

i am officially making DI water :)

kl122

Postby kl122 » December 22nd, 2011, 7:19 pm

anyone who has clown loach for sale?

SHARIFF

Postby SHARIFF » December 23rd, 2011, 6:29 pm

kl122 wrote:anyone who has clown loach for sale?

W&S FISH FARM

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 23rd, 2011, 6:37 pm

SHARIFF wrote:
kl122 wrote:anyone who has clown loach for sale?

W&S FISH FARM

wazir right? from sah wah?

Postby sharkman121 » December 23rd, 2011, 7:17 pm

UML wrote:i am officially making DI water :)

nice, how yr water pressure looking?

Do you have a TDS meter?

Postby UML » December 23rd, 2011, 8:30 pm

i have a house water pump and i got a booster pump with the rodi unit.

yea got a dual in-line TDS monitor

didnt know the water i was drinking was sooo dirty :shock:

one question about the TDS monitor though....it started out giving me 0ppm and this morning i see it saying 2ppm...will check it again tomorrow and see if it goes back to 0ppm :|

Yodins

Postby Yodins » December 24th, 2011, 12:14 am

guys, I need help. for the past few days one of my goldfish turnin upside down an doin like if he go dead. my uncle says its because of overfeeding. plus, right about when the upside down thing started, he got stuck (upside down) in a piece of driftwood that was in the tank. what allyuh think is the cause of this and do you think he'll make it?

bigga514

Postby bigga514 » December 24th, 2011, 1:37 am

Yuh do a water change yet? Start dey 50% of the water volume... If the drift wood new take it out soak it in a bucket and change that water every few days fuh a month....

You never mention if/what filter yuh using.... Size of tank amt of fish all that could be part d equation of what happening...

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 26th, 2011, 4:00 am

went by hondab20, this weekend, EPIC... i see why how the man jump out the car game... i had to go home a bring the kids...
i want to start off in this... some thing simple to start with... what some if you guys started with.?

EPIC i tell you, whole wall gone and thing...

Postby Redman » December 26th, 2011, 7:12 am

kes_vtec wrote:went by hondab20, this weekend, EPIC... i see why how the man jump out the car game... i had to go home a bring the kids...
i want to start off in this... some thing simple to start with... what some if you guys started with.?

The man dedicated and took his time,and worked through many setbacks

The tank IS EPIC

Props to him.

Later

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 26th, 2011, 12:00 pm

Redman wrote:
kes_vtec wrote:went by hondab20, this weekend, EPIC... i see why how the man jump out the car game... i had to go home a bring the kids...

The man dedicated and took his time,and worked through many setbacks

The tank IS EPIC

Props to him.

Later

So where d pics :|
Let us be the judge.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 26th, 2011, 12:05 pm

redman, i know, he moving like when he built the frank, i can safely, that motor still, still runs, to the point that i even buy back the motor, and everyone who was set foot in the car, does be like sheit...

i tell you ep fr(*^ing ic...

waiting on views on starter tanks

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 26th, 2011, 12:17 pm

kes_vtec wrote:redman, i know, he moving like when he built the frank, i can safely, that motor still, still runs, to the point that i even buy back the motor, and everyone who was set foot in the car, does be like sheit...

i tell you ep fr(*^ing ic...

waiting on views on starter tanks

the question still stands, where the pics that so epic-------------------- STueps

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » December 26th, 2011, 1:29 pm

rama, before you start, let's see wah you have before "call the man out" hit me some idea's nah, i am a total newbie...

but on a next note, i know hondab20 is a muffler bearing when he ready, but i understand y,

the tank HARD i tell you... sorry... but really

ramafingers1

Postby ramafingers1 » December 26th, 2011, 1:43 pm

I am a newbie to this also, i only in this saltwater hobby thing about 3-4 mths. All i have is a small tank with 3 nemo fish and some small green fish (cant remember the name of them) Bought them by Raj in st agustine. Had some more of the green fish, but they got sucked up in the power filter. Wife already saying i wasting money and i can spend it on things that easy to keep like plants.....lol.

deadfish13

Postby deadfish13 » December 26th, 2011, 3:39 pm

come on kes ....really ?

if the man tank so "epic" shouldn't you be seeking HIS advice. or are you just here to be a fan boy and make him feel good .

you want advice, tank + salt + water + rock now get started if you really setting up a tank

kes all you doing is sticking the pole higher up b20b's ass !!!

surprise men like uml and sharkman ...not all over this "epic" tank.

pics or it didn't happen .....steupsss