Flow Internet Thread

bossmann

Re: Flow Internet Thread

Postby bossmann » February 19th, 2016, 12:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well I got through with another CSR and he said the same thing he said the tech configured the modem badly.

So I dunno nah because he was upset that a tech from this morning told me the modem is bad and I went behind that mam back to get this one to try and fix it.

He basically took it as an insult apparently the other Fella is he padner so I have to wait 2 weeks to a month.
he simply just told you whatever is written on the ticket. He didn't actually troubleshoot anything for you.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 19th, 2016, 12:44 pm

A tech confirmed the issue he said the modem is not showing any IP address he said it did not (latch on) and it happens but u have to be extremely unlucky for this to happen.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 19th, 2016, 12:47 pm

bossmann wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Well I got through with another CSR and he said the same thing he said the tech configured the modem badly.

So I dunno nah because he was upset that a tech from this morning told me the modem is bad and I went behind that mam back to get this one to try and fix it.

He basically took it as an insult apparently the other Fella is he padner so I have to wait 2 weeks to a month.
he simply just told you whatever is written on the ticket. He didn't actually troubleshoot anything for you.

If i ever meet you, ill give u 5$..... THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS ALL THE TIME.... mr man in green lurking the forum... i think its time u guys have a how to be a proper csr/ call support technician workshop for your valuable employees

Postby S_2NR » February 19th, 2016, 12:47 pm

:rofl: extremely unlucky

Postby Spitfir3 » February 19th, 2016, 1:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A tech confirmed the issue he said the modem is not showing any IP address he said it did not (latch on) and it happens but u have to be extremely unlucky for this to happen.

reset the modem and login if you can do a firmware update if there's any available
also disconnect anything related to flow in your house they just ain't for you and your name probably on an infamous list inside that place

try massy or digicel or worse case scenario pull smalls with a blink csr with their backwards policies they sure to give you a "Deal" you got nothing to lose at this point

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 19th, 2016, 2:51 pm

^ Yeah once Massy or Digicel come I gone

So I flash my linksys router with dd-wrt firmware and I put it in client mode and am getting WIFI borrow from someone so basically using the router as a WIFI adapter for my desktop. Owner was kind enough to share his wifi with me for the time being because I have urgent work to complete for someone.

I took 2 screen shots of the modem I blocked out what address I think I should have

Dunno if allyuh could make out anything of importance here

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 19th, 2016, 3:00 pm

Spitfir3 wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:A tech confirmed the issue he said the modem is not showing any IP address he said it did not (latch on) and it happens but u have to be extremely unlucky for this to happen.

reset the modem and login if you can do a firmware update if there's any available
also disconnect anything related to flow in your house they just ain't for you and your name probably on an infamous list inside that place

try massy or digicel or worse case scenario pull smalls with a blink csr with their backwards policies they sure to give you a "Deal" you got nothing to lose at this point

How do I update the firmware though? if i can it would be worth a shot. If not atleast I have Blink for the time so my blood pressure has gone straight down. Was very high yesterday trying to deal with flow my Physician has advised me to get rid of flow aswell.

BTW this DSL is Godly yes. 2MB and somehow faster than Flow 15MB

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 19th, 2016, 6:04 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Spitfir3 wrote:

How do I update the firmware though? if i can it would be worth a shot. If not atleast I have Blink for the time so my blood pressure has gone straight down. Was very high yesterday trying to deal with flow my Physician has advised me to get rid of flow aswell.

BTW this DSL is Godly yes. 2MB and somehow faster than Flow 15MB

I really think you should call back flow

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 19th, 2016, 7:57 pm

shaq090 wrote: I really think you should call back flow

I called and spoke with 3 technicians. They all said same thing.

Then I was called by 1 tech, this makes it 4 techs and he also said the same thing.

Basically what one guy said and this one sounded caring, I could tell by the tone of his voice the others were hoggish only one guy was nice. Well this one nice guy said they are not seeing any IP address from my modem on their end. He said something went very wrong when it was configuring itself. The odds of me getting back another caring tech is 1 in a million. And I already spend $85 in bmobile phone cards calling to speak with these techs.

So from my assumption and limited network knowledge I assume that when the tech connected my brand new modem it was auto configuring and during this short time period there was the usual disconnect and this caused it to become corrupted.

But then again I reset the modem I hold down the reset button for 30 sec and still nothing so I eh know nah I am no network technician.

What I can tell you is the caring dude allowed me to reset the modem it was I who suggested it because I didn't want him to hang up without trying. So I did as he said I remove the white cat cable and power waited 1 minute. Put back in the cat cable and power, he checked his end again and he said no IP and this means the modem not good.

He said it happens, maybe 1 in a million chance but it does happen this would put me as possibly the most unlucky man in Trinidad. I am surprised I eh dead yet.

ganeshlalchan

Postby ganeshlalchan » February 20th, 2016, 6:00 am

For those of you who don't know, you can get flow to call you instead of you calling them. Just send them a private message via Facebook and they will respond. Let them know you have spent so much money bla bla bla and you're fed up and they need to call you now. They will call in about 24hours.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 20th, 2016, 1:07 pm

WOW so Shaq was right.

I got a call from flow this morning and i made sure to take down the name of the guy who called. His name was Zack, he called to actually check out my modem. Here what the issue was the CMAC address they had there was the wrong address. Basically my Cmac was an 8 but the tech from before put it as A.

So when I read it out for him it went like 7182 so I said seventy one eighty two. And he said hold on eight as in the number eight not as in A for Apple? I said yes. So he corrected it and it came back on. So it looks like the tech who installed this when he called it out for them

Zack put in the correct thing and the modem came online perfectly.

And I now also have a real IP Address not like before with the weird fake looking one, surprisingly the disconnects have gone with this new modem and new IP so it looks like Shaq was right all along about me being in the pool of a few people with the special IP address from before.

Just imagine if not for this guy who called I would have been waiting a month for a tech to come change the modem and hope that the new modem does not have an 8 where the csr will get it confused with A. WOW just WOW Shaq was 100% right about everything and somehow this man not working for flow?

Postby mero » February 20th, 2016, 1:16 pm

Congratulations, fap time

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 20th, 2016, 1:31 pm

Can't wait for the beat up when I change it back to the wrong digit.

Postby M_2NR » February 20th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Thanks Mojo! I believe I need to check my IP assignment on router end also

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 20th, 2016, 2:06 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Can't wait for the beat up when I change it back to the wrong digit.

Nah it wont change back, first modem I got was a scratch up old modem from someone else maybe they got rid of it because of the same issue I was getting? who knows.

This one is correct.

BTW anyone here knows if the vat reduction affects the 15MB package?

I should be paying $195 instead of $200 now right?

Postby Chimera » February 20th, 2016, 3:50 pm

i was only getting about 25mb at my PC (150 feet of cat5e cable and 2 routers away from flow box)

changed the two routers

getting this now

just hadda put cat6 and i feel i shud be good

paying for 120 mb and getting 120mb at the pc thats right next to the flow box

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 20th, 2016, 4:24 pm

^ What do you even do with that speed?

I am still with the 15MB because well even with 3 devices in this house streaming video at 1080p it still dont cap out this connection.

I confirmed with Flow the 15MB has been reduced to $195 due to the vat reduction of 12.5% I could always put on the 30MB but with 0 use for that much speed it would just be $25 more for no reason.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 21st, 2016, 6:57 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:WOW so Shaq was right.

I got a call from flow this morning and i made sure to take down the name of the guy who called. His name was Zack, he called to actually check out my modem. Here what the issue was the CMAC address they had there was the wrong address. Basically my Cmac was an 8 but the tech from before put it as A.

So when I read it out for him it went like 7182 so I said seventy one eighty two. And he said hold on eight as in the number eight not as in A for Apple? I said yes. So he corrected it and it came back on. So it looks like the tech who installed this when he called it out for them

Zack put in the correct thing and the modem came online perfectly.

And I now also have a real IP Address not like before with the weird fake looking one, surprisingly the disconnects have gone with this new modem and new IP so it looks like Shaq was right all along about me being in the pool of a few people with the special IP address from before.

Just imagine if not for this guy who called I would have been waiting a month for a tech to come change the modem and hope that the new modem does not have an 8 where the csr will get it confused with A. WOW just WOW Shaq was 100% right about everything and somehow this man not working for flow?

I doh wah work for them...... they cyah pay me :lol: :lol: :lol:

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » February 21st, 2016, 7:23 pm

So i wasted 250 and time so far since pole full as per what the tech said thursday and said i would get a call when they running a new box in a day or two....so i have no calls nothing and just pissed off at no internet as of yet ....waste of time

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 21st, 2016, 10:31 pm

Awesome!! Digicel said my area will be activated April 2016.

FREE Fibre Modem
FREE Installation ($599 Savings)

http://www.digicelgroup.com/tt/en/play/ ... ernet.html

And even better don't have to pay anything so I can grab this soon as it comes.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 21st, 2016, 11:26 pm

mero wrote:Congratulations, fap time

Plot twist: you just played yourself

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 22nd, 2016, 1:40 am

So I just went ahead and took the 30MB and be done with it according to spirfir he disconnect disappear with the 30MB
But the really weird thing is with the proper IP address and the 15MB the disconnects today was mind blowing I talking 10 times worse than before.
Now SOMEHOW when I took this 30MB package I get back the old weird private looking IP Address and its the identical IP I had from my old modem, how is this even possible?

But with the new 30MB the disconnects have stopped FOR NOW. And it seems like I have to be saying for now all the time because next day it does start back again.

So we are at a new chapter in my life here, let us see what we have learned.

1) The modem had Nothing to do with the disconnects

2) The weird IP Address had nothing to do with the disconnects.

3) The technician tested my line and the signal was strong and healthy.

So from this we can conclude the problem is at the CMTS? UNLESS this 30MB fixed the issue so far so good. Except for the unknown 11ms ping increase that is associated with this weird IP address.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » February 22nd, 2016, 2:48 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So I just went ahead and took the 30MB and be done with it according to spirfir he disconnect disappear with the 30MB
But the really weird thing is with the proper IP address and the 15MB the disconnects today was mind blowing I talking 10 times worse than before.
Now SOMEHOW when I took this 30MB package I get back the old weird private looking IP Address and its the identical IP I had from my old modem, how is this even possible?

But with the new 30MB the disconnects have stopped FOR NOW. And it seems like I have to be saying for now all the time because next day it does start back again.

So from this we can conclude the problem is at the CMTS? UNLESS this 30MB fixed the issue so far so good. Except for the unknown 11ms ping increase that is associated with this weird IP address.

Hold off till April i guess lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 22nd, 2016, 3:29 am

^ I call flow and the tech said the Public IP address is showing up totally different on his end and that its normal. If I google whats my IP it shows up like this 161.0.255.7

Now if I jack in my cable direct to the modem the 7 changes to a 8
And if I jack in the cable to my linksys router and then to my PC the the 8 changes back to a 7

I also found this

https://db-ip.com/all/161.0.255

says its all Flow IP address.

hmmmmm anyone has an idea what this means?

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 22nd, 2016, 11:21 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ I call flow and the tech said the Public IP address is showing up totally different on his end and that its normal. If I google whats my IP it shows up like this 161.0.255.7

Now if I jack in my cable direct to the modem the 7 changes to a 8
And if I jack in the cable to my linksys router and then to my PC the the 8 changes back to a 7

I also found this

https://db-ip.com/all/161.0.255

says its all Flow IP address.

hmmmmm anyone has an idea what this means?

what type of modem do u have? a wifi or wired modem?

Postby Spitfir3 » February 22nd, 2016, 11:56 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:So I just went ahead and took the 30MB and be done with it according to spirfir he disconnect disappear with the 30MB

currently im on the "plus" plan which is 45Mbps (it was 30 before the free upgrade) and after a month or so? since the switch i think i can safely say that the disconnect problem is gone for good and my speed has been more or less constant

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 22nd, 2016, 12:24 pm

^ cool well thus far I don't have any disconnect with the 30mb so lets see if this holds up.

samureye

Postby samureye » February 23rd, 2016, 3:12 pm

Whoever suggested Tardsplaya for twitch streams thanks. Works great at source quality. So I guess it's not a Flow thing or maybe there's something flow can do to adjust how they get Twitch traffic? Either way I can watch my stream so far.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » February 23rd, 2016, 9:39 pm

For the longest while I noticed that I have been put on a 1MB package.

EVen though I am paying for a 30MB. Trying to call flow to get it sorted out but to no avail, I will re apply for a 3MB package and see what happens.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 23rd, 2016, 9:42 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:For the longest while I noticed that I have been put on a 1MB package.

EVen though I am paying for a 30MB. Trying to call flow to get it sorted out but to no avail, I will re apply for a 3MB package and see what happens.

I gave you fair warning a few posts earlier.