The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby stev » May 11th, 2012, 4:21 pm

anti virus for android devices? steups....big waste of time IMO

correct me if i am wrong but d only way a cracker can mess up ur device if if U choose to install an unknown or 'to good to be true' CRACKED app.

even so, mobile antivirus wudnt be able to pick it up until after it is installed, then it wud already be too late.

edit: if anyone has to correct me, plz state ur source and proof.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 11th, 2012, 5:08 pm

jus came across this cool launcher...TSF Shell 3D...real descent looking...now playing up with it...here's a link to a cracked copy...

http://apkhit.com/2012/05/tsf-shell-3d- ... ndroid-os/

..and here's a link from Play Store for those who don't promote copyright...lol

https://play.google.com/store/apps/deta ... 2hlbGwiXQ..

...and here are some screenshots of some of the customizations it does to your device!

Postby maj. tom » May 11th, 2012, 5:33 pm

If you're downloading straight off the play store, I don't think you have to worry about viruses. If you've rooted your phone and you've checked that option to allow non-market apps to install on your phone, then yes you have to be cautious. You could download some rogue apk that will have access to your root. You want that?

Besides packages like Lookout and Comodo mobile is not just antivirus. They have other protection like Anti-theft phone lock and erase if stolen, and GPS/A-GPS locater with alarm and remote messages, which will be quite useful now in Trinidad with an active 3G/4g network. Like I said earlier, I use Comodo because they give you an entire quality suite for free, while other apps you have to pay for the extra services. This is a good breakdown of what's offered out there: https://m.comodo.com/comparison.php and no I'm not advertising for anybody.

Val

Postby Val » May 11th, 2012, 7:35 pm

No antivirus here, i just use common sense when using apks.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 11th, 2012, 9:12 pm

TSF Shell Theme -Tha TSF Steel v1.2

achillies

Postby achillies » May 15th, 2012, 7:00 pm

Chrome 19 desktop browser released, keeps tabs with your mobile devices

Todays release of the stable version of Google Chrome 19 brings with it a killer feature which really does beg the question -- why would you use any other browser?

When signed in to Chrome 19 on the desktop, as well as Chrome Beta on your Android 4.0 device, all currently open tabs will be synchronized between every device you're signed in on. Put simply, you could be reading Jerry's awesome review of the Sprint Galaxy Nexus on your computer, but you have to leave for work before you're done. Open up Chrome Beta on your Android phone or tablet, and there it is, ready for you to open and get right back to reading.

The tabs are displayed within the "other devices" section found within the main menu on Chrome Beta, and the new tab menu on Chrome desktop.

There are some other new features included in the release of Chrome 19 that are desktop only, but the merging of Chrome on desktop and Android can only be a good thing for the future. Hit the break for Google's promo video.

Source: Android Central

achillies

Postby achillies » May 15th, 2012, 9:10 pm

Okay

I remember a few of the HTC One X users talking about multitasking being weird with that device, and apss needing to reload when you open them, well Android Central has the explanation for this behaviour. The link to the article is below

Multitasking on the HTC One X isn't broken, it's customized

sentraman

Postby sentraman » May 16th, 2012, 9:09 am

Ok people I am looking for a 10" tablet. What are the best options. Brand does matter.

Postby ismithx » May 16th, 2012, 9:18 am

maj. tom wrote:If you're downloading straight off the play store, I don't think you have to worry about viruses. If you've rooted your phone and you've checked that option to allow non-market apps to install on your phone, then yes you have to be cautious. You could download some rogue apk that will have access to your root. You want that?

Besides packages like Lookout and Comodo mobile is not just antivirus. They have other protection like Anti-theft phone lock and erase if stolen, and GPS/A-GPS locater with alarm and remote messages, which will be quite useful now in Trinidad with an active 3G/4g network. Like I said earlier, I use Comodo because they give you an entire quality suite for free, while other apps you have to pay for the extra services. This is a good breakdown of what's offered out there: https://m.comodo.com/comparison.php and no I'm not advertising for anybody.

not true, as there have been reports of viruses in the Play Store. Check the reviews and publisher before you install

chaosking121

Postby chaosking121 » May 16th, 2012, 3:27 pm

sentraman wrote:Ok people I am looking for a 10" tablet. What are the best options. Brand does matter.

The Acer A510 and Asus TF300 are great if you want a sub-$500 tablet. The Acer A700 and Asus Transformer Prime Infinity TF700 aren't released yet but will be dropping soon. Both include 1080p display and will retail for more than $500. All four have Tegra 3 processors and you'll hardly notice any difference in speed between them. If you need to use USB host mode, go with the Acer. If you want the keyboard dock, go with the Asus, but be aware it costs over $100 US more (it also includes USB host mode but only with the dock).

The Asus TF201 isn't a great value compared to the TF300 or A510 and has a ton of issues with Wi-Fi and GPS.

One last tablet you should consider is the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1. Its active stylus is great for note taking and drawing, if that's what you're into. The rest of the current generation of Galaxy Tabs are mediocre (except for the 7" ones).

Check out www.tablified.com for apps that have been optimized for tablets. I review apps for them, great site. PM me if you need any tips for dealing with an Android tablet.. I've got quite a lot..

Sent from my Iconia A500 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-6

chaosking121

Postby chaosking121 » May 16th, 2012, 3:32 pm

stev wrote:anti virus for android devices? steups....big waste of time IMO

correct me if i am wrong but d only way a cracker can mess up ur device if if U choose to install an unknown or 'to good to be true' CRACKED app.

even so, mobile antivirus wudnt be able to pick it up until after it is installed, then it wud already be too late.

I'm not going to comment on the issue of viruses for android, but those antivirus apps offer a lot of other features such as automatic backup of data as well as remote lock/alarm/wipe of data. They also offer lost device location and other security features, not just virus detection.

Also, Lookout can scan APK files before you install them. Never installed anything particularly risky, so I can't directly vouch for its detection prowess.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 16th, 2012, 4:58 pm

chaosking121 wrote:
stev wrote:anti virus for android devices? steups....big waste of time IMO

I'm not going to comment on the issue of viruses for android, but those antivirus apps offer a lot of other features such as automatic backup of data as well as remote lock/alarm/wipe of data. They also offer lost device location and other security features, not just virus detection.

Also, Lookout can scan APK files before you install them. Never installed anything particularly risky, so I can't directly vouch for its detection prowess.

Lookout scans after they are installed, impossible to scan before. Cerberus does all the things you described and is designed to do just that. Titanium Backup is the best for backing up, because it has advanced backup and restore features, too many to list here, but, it is paid and many don't seem to support devs with paid apps. But as the man said, if you have to correct him, please state source and proof, no one has done that yet, I have been using Android for close to 3 years now, and I assure you, none of those apps are going to be a replacement for good ole common sense, reading reviews, making connections between date app was launched number of downloads and ratings etc is all that's needed, if you install apps from various "unknown sources" then more care has to be taken, especially if you see just one Chinese character :lol:

achillies

Postby achillies » May 16th, 2012, 5:46 pm

Okay

There has been an update to the HTC Memory management issue, link below

HTC: Sense 4 multitasking and memory management working as designed

Val

Postby Val » May 16th, 2012, 10:09 pm

The rest of the current generation of Galaxy Tabs are mediocre (except for the 7" ones).

Phew. Just pulled the trigger on the Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 on a special from Amazon for $236.55
Seems they were monitoring me putting it and taking it out of my cart repeatedly so they offered a 5% to "just do eet".

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 16th, 2012, 10:20 pm

achillies wrote:Okay

I remember a few of the HTC One X users talking about multitasking being weird with that device, and apss needing to reload when you open them, well Android Central has the explanation for this behaviour. The link to the article is below

Multitasking on the HTC One X isn't broken, it's customized

achillies wrote:Okay

There has been an update to the HTC Memory management issue, link below

HTC: Sense 4 multitasking and memory management working as designed

The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.

They pushed out an update last night that resolved screen flicker and multitasking (somewhat) though.. Browser (chrome beta I'm using) isn't nearly as bad and I don't use sense.. And I'm seeing a lot more free ram.. About 1.5-2x the amount of ram I'd previously have. Waiting till after my exams to flash android revolution.

This makes a nice read as well --->

http://www.redmondpie.com/heres-why-and ... s-phone-7/

achillies

Postby achillies » May 17th, 2012, 7:00 am

Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.

They pushed out an update last night that resolved screen flicker and multitasking (somewhat) though.. Browser (chrome beta I'm using) isn't nearly as bad and I don't use sense.. And I'm seeing a lot more free ram.. About 1.5-2x the amount of ram I'd previously have. Waiting till after my exams to flash android revolution.

Ummm, no

You should use Google+ (if you don't already) and follow Dianne Hackborn (Google Android framework engineer) & Jean-Baptiste Queru (Google Android Open Source Project), they are "current" employees of Google and work directly on Android, the article above was based upon information from an ex-Google Intern, it's up to you who you chose to believe, especially when the ex-Google Intern admitted to being wrong about what he wrote, he edited his post to say that after his theories were proven to be incorrect by Hackborn and a few others.

Andrew Munn admitting he was wrong

Have a read.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 17th, 2012, 3:11 pm

so i was looking at getting a Samsung Galaxy S2 and while on ebay i realised that many of them had an issue known as a bad esn,
what does a bad esn mean?
how does this affect the phone ?
and if this issue fixable?
i have been searching on many sites but not getting any use full info i searched this thread also but got nothing any or your tuners know about this and care so shed some light?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 17th, 2012, 3:27 pm

geodude wrote:so i was looking at getting a Samsung Galaxy S2 and while on ebay i realised that many of them had an issue known as a bad esn,
what does a bad esn mean?
how does this affect the phone ?
and if this issue fixable?
i have been searching on many sites but not getting any use full info i searched this thread also but got nothing any or your tuners know about this and care so shed some light?

It means that the phone has been banned by a carrier, either for outstanding balances, or the phone was reported lost or stolen, not sure it a bad ESN would have any consequences in Trinidad, but I wouldn't buy that, only other thing it may be useful for is spare parts

I have ssen people sell/trade these on XDA so it may have some advantage

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 17th, 2012, 4:25 pm

Enjoying my HTC Sensation with ExtremeSense DREAM4 rom .. must say sense4.0 is the shiz!!

Considering to sell it though, might run in the direction of the galaxy s2.. Something different thats all..

recommendations on price and new phone?

Postby ismithx » May 17th, 2012, 5:04 pm

..... selling for wha price? oh wait you want us to recommend you a price :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 17th, 2012, 5:28 pm

Yuh go get clout eh. Lol

Talked with a friend on the topic. Would be asking $2200

Val

Postby Val » May 17th, 2012, 5:34 pm

achillies wrote:
Jonathan_337 wrote:The first article was good. It's true though, HTC has too much concentration on its UI and not the background processes. Main reason I wanna root and flash around soon, to see how performance is when it's tweaked by the respective developers. I've heard about some amazing custom roms for it.

Ummm, no

You should use Google+ (if you don't already) and follow Dianne Hackborn (Google Android framework engineer) & Jean-Baptiste Queru (Google Android Open Source Project), they are "current" employees of Google and work directly on Android, the article above was based upon information from an ex-Google Intern, it's up to you who you chose to believe, especially when the ex-Google Intern admitted to being wrong about what he wrote, he edited his post to say that after his theories were proven to be incorrect by Hackborn and a few others.

Have a read.

Goddamn that was enlightening. Makes me wonder where Google was going with Android from the beginning, they had to have been targeting more powerful devices such as the new tablets and netbooks, and count on the smartphone hardware to keep up.

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » May 17th, 2012, 6:09 pm

achillies wrote:

Ummm, no

Have a read.

Yeah I know.. That article as well as another was linked at the bottom. I posted the first cuz its how I used to previously think.. Just thought it'd be good to outline what it really is from what it seems.

achillies

Postby achillies » May 17th, 2012, 6:49 pm

Jonathan_337 wrote:
achillies wrote:

Ummm, no

Have a read.

Yeah I know.. That article as well as another was linked at the bottom. I posted the first cuz its how I used to previously think.. Just thought it'd be good to outline what it really is from what it seems.

Kewl

Postby stev » May 18th, 2012, 11:15 am

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 18th, 2012, 11:24 am

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=440130

what do you guys think?

achillies

Postby achillies » May 18th, 2012, 11:36 am

Chiney wrote:http://www.trinituner.com/v3/forums/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=440130

what do you guys think?

If you are selling it, flash it back to stock (my humble opinion)

Price sounds goodish also, I think

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 18th, 2012, 11:52 am

that is neg. and includes an 8gb card.

the it does have the stock ics firmware. with the dream 4 mod

Postby stev » May 18th, 2012, 12:02 pm

looks good and good price. men will try to beat u down on price though. post pics of the phone itself other than the screens. like the exterior body.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 18th, 2012, 12:17 pm

yeah i need to get something to take pics of it..lol

im working on that

i also made a mistake on the price

its corrected now!
Last edited by Chiney on May 18th, 2012, 12:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.