Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » December 10th, 2011, 5:07 pm

All the algae from the tank virtually gone a few weeks now, but i wanna redo it though, i think i could set it up better and more stable than it is now.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2011, 6:58 pm

i hear yuh........................ Glad d scrubber worked.
Well yuh know what yuh gotta do...................................... You need to get more live rock

Postby sharkman121 » December 10th, 2011, 9:04 pm

HondaB20B wrote:i hear yuh........................ Glad d scrubber worked.
Well yuh know what yuh gotta do...................................... You need to get more live rock

why? i think i have enough.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2011, 9:39 pm

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) .......................
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 10:07 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » December 10th, 2011, 11:27 pm

nah dan, i added alot more live rock a long time ago. Have close to 150 lbs in there, but even though through the evolution of the hobby i sure u know that that much live rock is no longer required. The rule of thumb of one lbs per gallon has gone out the door once the tank has proper filtration. Many hobbyists are getting into "Minimalist Aquascaping" nowadays.

Got the rock from toco btw.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 10th, 2011, 11:44 pm

yeah i know....................... refugiums with live rock also is a thing of the past.
i really meant more rocks for looks............. high mountains and many caves

Postby UML » December 11th, 2011, 10:43 am

how many fishes can u safely add into your tank at one time?

how often can you add fishes?

how many pounds of live rock can a tank made of 1/4 glass handle?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 12:38 pm

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) ................................
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:37 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » December 11th, 2011, 12:55 pm

HondaB20B wrote:yeah i know....................... refugiums with live rock also is a thing of the past.

true eh, sometimes i wish we had the dry rock that comes sculpted and stuff. Ofcourse we could always stack them to create it, i tried a thing to create some caves an stuff. BUt marco, fiji and pukani dry rock seems to be the best for that. Oh well ill make do with what i have in the mean time :lol:

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 1:13 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:yeah i know....................... refugiums with live rock also is a thing of the past.

true eh, sometimes i wish we had the dry rock that comes sculpted and stuff. Ofcourse we could always stack them to create it, i tried a thing to create some caves an stuff. BUt marco, fiji and pukani dry rock seems to be the best for that. Oh well ill make do with what i have in the mean time :lol:

No pal, you just need to take your time and stack your rocks.
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » December 11th, 2011, 1:19 pm

i know all about spending hours aquascaping rocks, then re doing the whole thing over again after not being satisfied. What i talking about is the whole aesthetic appeal of dry rock and easier formations over live rock.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 1:54 pm

EHHHHHHHHHHHHHH?.........

Postby UML » December 11th, 2011, 2:34 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:how many fishes can u safely add into your tank at one time?

It all depends on how big d tank is (gallons), how mature its been that ammonia, nitrates & nitrites are at the reccomended levels and what size are the fishes.

48x18x18 = about 70 gallons
tank cycled....ammonia 0 nitrites 0
small fish....one or two inches

All depends again

same size...one or two inches

The glass has nothing to do with that pal................ you can put 50lbs and it might crack............or it could hold even 2000lbs. The key factor is how you built your stand to support the weight its going to hold. (braces & crossmembers) . Remember its sand, rock & saltwater. After that you still gotta shim the stand. If its not perfectly level, you can reach half way up with water and the glass cracks. Met a good bit of people by raj wit experiences where they didnt shim the tank and the stand and it broke.

well my stand strong...but it not perfectly level...it rocks a bit....so i shim it and it stable now. wah u think?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 3:09 pm

What the heck.................. i'm ah :n00b:
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sharkman121 » December 11th, 2011, 8:30 pm

x 2 on the shimming. I saw my fresh water tank break in front my eyes about 4 years ago. It was not properly level. Made no mistakes about making sure this one was properly leveled and shimmed when installing it.

Shims cheap to, got a pack in bhagwansingh for about $20

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 8:48 pm

8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) 8-) ......................................
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:39 am, edited 2 times in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 8:52 pm

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: ,,,,,,,,,,,,,hmmmmmmm
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 11th, 2011, 10:35 pm

Postby UML » December 12th, 2011, 2:18 am

sharkman121 wrote:x 2 on the shimming. I saw my fresh water tank break in front my eyes about 4 years ago. It was not properly level. Made no mistakes about making sure this one was properly leveled and shimmed when installing it.

any pics of what they look like so i go know i buying the right ting?

i using washers to shim my stand right now :|

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:how many fishes can u safely add into your tank at one time?

It all depends on how big d tank is (gallons), how mature its been that ammonia, nitrates & nitrites are at the reccomended levels and what size are the fishes.

48x18x18 = about 70 gallons
tank cycled....ammonia 0 nitrites 0
small fish....one or two inches

All depends again

same size...one or two inches

The glass has nothing to do with that pal................ you can put 50lbs and it might crack............or it could hold even 2000lbs. The key factor is how you built your stand to support the weight its going to hold. (braces & crossmembers) . Remember its sand, rock & saltwater. After that you still gotta shim the stand. If its not perfectly level, you can reach half way up with water and the glass cracks. Met a good bit of people by raj wit experiences where they didnt shim the tank and the stand and it broke.

well my stand strong...but it not perfectly level...it rocks a bit....so i shim it and it stable now. wah u think?

how long d tank tank running with the live rock WITH THE SAME WATER in it. just because your ammonia and nitrites are at 0, dosnt mean your tank cycled. Did you put in an any nitrifying bacteria to cope with the bio-load? If you didnt, then you gonna have to take your time, cause when you start to add fish its not going to be able to keep up with the fish waste and food you will be feeding and this in turn will send up your ammonia, nitrates & nitrites............................then your fish will get sick.
Other question, did you have the tank set up, and you put new saltwater in with the already cured rock?

well since the first time i sheit it up by changing all the water....it is about 4 weeks with partial changes and topping off more or less. nah i didnt use any nitrifying bacteria..tryign to keep it as natural as i can...the most i did was add pH+ which i was hesitant to do but needed to increase the pH of the water. i have 2 pieces of sponge/filter media in the tank with the hope that bacteria develops on it and i can transfer it to my new tank for it to spread/develop with the hope that the tank will cycle faster.

No i didnt set it up as yet...the live rock still in the curing tub..wanted to get information before i move it to the new tank. I intended to carry across some of the water from the curing tank to the new tank to get some of the bacteria from there.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2011, 6:57 am

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: ................................
Last edited by HondaB20B on December 12th, 2011, 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby UML » December 12th, 2011, 8:43 am

i already have 2 black mollies in the tub...as u told me to do
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 12th, 2011, 9:44 am

UML wrote:i already have 2 black mollies in the tub...as u told me to do

btw are u always an arsehole when ppl ask you for advice?...or do u feel your god's gift to man?

doh worry sharkman i said for you and i dont even know him :|

THANKS FOR THE COMPLIMENT uml................. i'LL REMEMBER THAT.

Postby sharkman121 » December 12th, 2011, 1:24 pm

UML wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:x 2 on the shimming. I saw my fresh water tank break in front my eyes about 4 years ago. It was not properly level. Made no mistakes about making sure this one was properly leveled and shimmed when installing it.

something like this

wooden shims

Postby UML » December 12th, 2011, 7:49 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
UML wrote:

something like this

wooden shims

thanks again sharkman
Last edited by UML on September 24th, 2012, 1:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 16th, 2011, 3:29 pm

Postby sharkman121 » December 19th, 2011, 3:04 am

Noobs should listen to people that have a proper running saltwater tank they would like to have one day, not to those with a high post count

so am i to draw from this quotation that persons with high post counts dont have proper running salt water tanks? :?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2011, 10:03 am

sharkman121 wrote:
Noobs should listen to people that have a proper running saltwater tank they would like to have one day, not to those ^ ........with a high post count

so am i to draw from this quotation that persons with high post counts dont have proper running salt water tanks? :?

Guess i should of added in "necessarily" somewhere in there

Postby sharkman121 » December 19th, 2011, 11:56 am

I deliberately chose not to get involved in that bachannal with you and uml, doh bring meh in that pls.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » December 19th, 2011, 12:46 pm

but what is this............ this have nothing to do with you?................... yOU HAVE NO CLUE ON WHO THIS WAS SENT FOR, it so happen this came up same time. SO WHAT BHACANAL YUH TALKING BOUT.........HERE WHAH..... FORGET IT.
LET ME JUS KEEP MEH arse QUIET BEFORE AH GET CALLED AH arse AGAIN?

GIVE AH MAN AH FISH, YOU FEED HIM FOR AH DAY................
TEACH AH MAN TUH FISH, HE KETCH ALL D FISH AN CUSS YUH UP IN DE END.
THATS LIFE.