Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2024, 8:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Habit7 wrote:At 2% my annual payment went from $1022 to $681.

But this makes them look flaky and weak. They have bowed to pressure. They can now face calls for total removal of PT. But it also a land mine for if they lose in 2025. The next government will either have to reduce it even further or remove it. They still return to the same problem of local govt being underfunded.

The first good thing you have written in a while. LOL.

Thanks bluefete, coming from you that compliment means nothing.

You balisier drinkers are so drunk with the juice that you cannot even recognize a good thing when you see it.

You sound so disappointed that your property tax went from $1022 to $681. Why don't you contribute the difference to your balisier house fund?

Postby Habit7 » March 14th, 2024, 8:52 pm

bluefete wrote:
You balisier drinkers are so drunk with the juice that you cannot even recognize a good thing when you see it.

You sound so disappointed that your property tax went from $1022 to $681. Why don't you contribute the difference to your balisier house fund?

You are right. In 2015 I should have voted UNC. I would have had the joy of paying property tax since 2016! PNM sticking.

Postby paid_influencer » March 14th, 2024, 9:06 pm

But this makes them look flaky and weak. They have bowed to pressure. They can now face calls for total removal of PT. But it also a land mine for if they lose in 2025. The next government will either have to reduce it even further or remove it. They still return to the same problem of local govt being underfunded.

yup. for somebody like philip this is blood in the water

Postby alfa » March 14th, 2024, 9:32 pm

You seem disappointed. I guess if you had your way you would have raised it to ten percent. But coming from someone who stated a few years ago that flooding was both nescessary and beneficial I don't expect better of you.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2024, 9:38 pm

You really figure your ARV would remain the same? If they start a fresh process, that ARV going up for sure. You are going to end up paying either the same or more in taxes.

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2024, 10:11 pm

PNM playing up in dey rass with this property tax.

So they going and re-do the whole process to stress out people again?

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2024, 10:37 pm

Something to understand is that nothing in valuation division changed. Nothing about the Property Tax act has anything to do with them. The tax amount and the payment details have changed, but not the valuations.

Postby The_Honourable » March 14th, 2024, 11:11 pm

Subject to correction but from what i gather, the valuation rolls remain the same. Is the assessment that is changing.

The deadline for assessment notices to be sent out to residential owners is the end of March. It is to be extended to June 30th.

I suspect the extension is to redo the assessment from 3% to 2% and again, mail out the amended assessment notices to residential owners. I also suspect it gives time to correct duplicate property assessments.

The deadline date 30th September 2024 to pay the property tax remains unchanged.

So we still have to pay the tax by the end of September unless there is another amendment.

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2024, 5:26 am

The_Honourable wrote:Subject to correction but from what i gather, the valuation rolls remain the same. Is the assessment that is changing.

The deadline for assessment notices to be sent out to residential owners is the end of March. It is to be extended to June 30th.

I suspect the extension is to redo the assessment from 3% to 2% and again, mail out the amended assessment notices to residential owners. I also suspect it gives time to correct duplicate property assessments.

The deadline date 30th September 2024 to pay the property tax remains unchanged.

So we still have to pay the tax by the end of September unless there is another amendment.

Maybe, maybe not.
Like I said, I suspect that they figuring it out, slowly but surely, that the implementation of this property tax, when looked at along with all the other increasing expenses and problems being foisted upon the people, is probably going to the straw that breaks the camel's back and ultimately cost them the next GE, and they aint willing to take the chance.
But let's see.

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2024, 10:29 am

bluefete wrote:PNM playing up in dey rass with this property tax.

So they going and re-do the whole process to stress out people again?
Yes

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 15th, 2024, 10:33 am

Another flip flop from Rowley

death365

Postby death365 » March 15th, 2024, 11:22 am

I am ok if they did this, any lil ease up helps. 3% to 2 % is a 33.33% drop aka instead ah 100 in tax yuh go hav 2 pay 66.66.

Postby j.o.e » March 15th, 2024, 12:02 pm

That’s right people pay your share ….. stop bickering

viedcht

Postby viedcht » March 15th, 2024, 12:21 pm

Lower proptax and raise vat.

Postby The_Honourable » March 15th, 2024, 12:26 pm

Heh... imbert finding the sweet spot for the public to buy into the tax...

Allyuh doh forget T&TEC coming too eh...

Postby Chimera » March 15th, 2024, 12:43 pm

idk why them eh legalize weed completely and tax it if dey need money

that solving all we problems

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2024, 1:32 pm

Waiting till 2025 to see the outcome...
A lil late fee ain't gonna hurt.

If plenty people do that... Then it would be deemed a failure

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 15th, 2024, 2:16 pm

That's exactly my stand . They hoping to raise 500 million . Which now is 333 million

All this work for that?

A Lil cut from here and there will raise this money without all this disruption and stupid talk

The inmates running the asylum

For once I agree with Kamla just increase the old tax and let people come into pay like before and talk done

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2024, 2:47 pm

j.o.e wrote:That’s right people pay your share ….. stop bickering

Funny
So who decides what's "your share"? cuz right now the ones deciding what your share is that you should pay, not paying theirs, and they have zero idea what you can afford in order to apportion what your share should be.

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2024, 7:05 pm

Funny
So who decides what's "your share"? cuz right now the ones deciding what your share is that you should pay, not paying theirs, and they have zero idea what you can afford in order to apportion what your share should be.
Joe has always been a PNM jack arse not to mention a racist

Postby zoom rader » March 15th, 2024, 7:08 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Heh... imbert finding the sweet spot for the public to buy into the tax...

Allyuh doh forget T&TEC coming too eh...
Sweet spot is "dey ant riot yet"

This man pipes more taxes on people but yet still he's on Tax breaks for himself cars & properties

Postby paid_influencer » March 15th, 2024, 9:52 pm

432398688_7487480384605827_8553757389392605780_n.jpg

uncle need to stop bickering and pay his share

Postby matr1x » March 16th, 2024, 2:13 am

You being sarcastic, right?

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2024, 6:28 am

matr1x wrote:

You being sarcastic, right?

I doubt.
It have PLENTY ppl who actually that amount and type of chupid.

Postby Habit7 » March 16th, 2024, 7:47 am

paid_influencer wrote:432398688_7487480384605827_8553757389392605780_n.jpg

The ppl valuating the properties are not politically appointed. They are under the commission of evaluation and they are public servants. The same public servants that made the sign and spelt “payements” and “futher”. So don’t expect perfection from them. The evaluation notice that everyone is getting is for you to agree or query your evaluation in 30days or now 6mths. In papi’s case he was overvalued however in many ppl’s case they will be undervalued. Nevertheless, if you disagree, query it.

The reason why Land and Building Tax was cancelled was mostly because the valuations were very old
and ppl were paying taxes from 1960’s evaluations. Even in Kamla’s new plan to for everyone to pay revised L&B tax, the evaluation division will still have to evaluate your home and you will still get overvaluations like papi.

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2024, 11:15 am

Habit7 wrote:

The ppl valuating the properties are not politically appointed. They are under the commission of evaluation and they are public servants. The same public servants that made the sign and spelt “payements” and “futher”. So don’t expect perfection from them. The evaluation notice that everyone is getting is for you to agree or query your evaluation in 30days or now 6mths. In papi’s case he was overvalued however in many ppl’s case they will be undervalued. Nevertheless, if you disagree, query it.

The reason why Land and Building Tax was cancelled was mostly because the valuations were very old
and ppl were paying taxes from 1960’s evaluations. Even in Kamla’s new plan to for everyone to pay revised L&B tax, the evaluation division will still have to evaluate your home and you will still get overvaluations like papi.

Correct.

My question is…
If you provide an independent valuation from a registered surveyor firm when doing the query, would it help?

Postby *KRONIK* » March 16th, 2024, 11:19 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

Correct.

My question is…
If you provide an independent valuation from a registered surveyor firm when doing the query, would it help?
I would like to know this also

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 16th, 2024, 11:56 am

Alyuh go ahead and spend 2-3k+ on an independent valuation, and end up higher than the government rental valuation.

And on top of that the government not going to care or use it. They just going to scan the documents and leave it there on file like if it was a wasa bill.

Postby Chimera » March 16th, 2024, 12:11 pm

Habit is right about most people being undervalued.

Does locatjon of property play a part in rental value?

Like if you have a old board house somewhere in town near ariapita n thing

Dey gonna value it based on the location or the house itself

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 16th, 2024, 12:20 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:Alyuh go ahead and spend 2-3k+ on an independent valuation, and end up higher than the government rental valuation.

And on top of that the government not going to care or use it. They just going to scan the documents and leave it there on file like if it was a wasa bill.

That’s why we need some transparency on the process.

Publish the calculations/formula so that if there are anomalies or outliers you can know how to proceed.