*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 13th, 2014, 8:45 am

vasquez wrote:So I have tested my samsung smart tv ,Apple TV and my ps3 with netflix ,while Apple TV showed well had some lag , picture was nice , smart tv had no lag whatsoever but picture quality was not up to mark , and well no ps4 yet but my ps3 streamed netflix perfect picture was great no lag at all well just my experience oh I am using unblock us also and for what strange reason while on Denmark ip Apple TV showed the worst picture quality don't kno why but as I said ps3 was perfect

What internet connection are you using. Also are you using a wired connection to all?

vasquez

Postby vasquez » January 17th, 2014, 5:36 am

Yup all devices are hard wired to router !

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 8:03 am

Besides price smart and raptor. Where has the best prices and warranty on TVs ?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 17th, 2014, 10:24 am

Got a 60" bravia from standards recently with 4 years warranty which I find is pretty good.

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2014, 11:49 am

bought this yesterday at Eurodesign in sugarwarnus.

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Sauder-Milled ... 7/20895868

Very nice unit for a chip board ting. The trims are MDF. Took two hours to put together. It's darker than the pic which is good)

Fit my hefty center channel on top and amp in the miggle.

Not bad for $1200TT. As yuh could see, it's $100US in Walmart.

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 12:03 pm

They had anything smaller balhead? Where in chag they located

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2014, 12:35 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Got a 60" bravia from standards recently with 4 years warranty which I find is pretty good.
only problem is that it's a Bravia :P

just kidding... mostly

what was the price?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 17th, 2014, 12:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:They had anything smaller balhead? Where in chag they located
# 19 Penco Street, Montrose, Chaguanas
Trinidad & Tobago
Phone or Fax: (868) 671-2548
Contact Us: info@eurodesigntt.com

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2014, 1:01 pm

Dey have about five others s2nr.

Postby crazybalhead » January 17th, 2014, 1:05 pm

They had a couple smaller ones s 2nr

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 17th, 2014, 1:34 pm

iM@st@1 wrote:Got a 60" bravia from standards recently with 4 years warranty which I find is pretty good.
only problem is that it's a Bravia :P

just kidding... mostly

what was the price?

I don't rate up bravia too much either but I'm very pleased with the pic quality of this panel. 15K

It was only for the bravia that the 4yrs warranty was offered so it seemed liked a good deal otherwise I would've gotten either a samsung / lg / panasonic plasma.

Couldn't afford to build a HT with separate components so end up buying this , really powerful system & excellent sound quality

Postby S_2NR » January 17th, 2014, 2:17 pm

Bravias have great picture quality. Love them. Sony displays have a signature look to them and you really have to like it to appreciate it. Same with my xperia z tablet. Sony is my favorite brand for displays in terms of picture quality

Advent

Postby Advent » January 18th, 2014, 12:12 am

S_2NR wrote:Bravias have great picture quality. Love them. Sony displays have a signature look to them and you really have to like it to appreciate it. Same with my xperia z tablet. Sony is my favorite brand for displays in terms of picture quality

I think Samsung has a better screen quality both great brands tho

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » January 18th, 2014, 6:11 am

iM@st@1 where you get that yamaha htib, Local or amazon, and price?

Postby S_2NR » January 18th, 2014, 7:01 am

S_2NR wrote:They had anything smaller balhead? Where in chag they located
# 19 Penco Street, Montrose, Chaguanas
Trinidad & Tobago
Phone or Fax: (868) 671-2548
Contact Us: info@eurodesigntt.com

thanks

Advent wrote:I think Samsung has a better screen quality both great brands tho

Dont really like samsung as a company though.
They look cheap and plastic. they have quality control issues also. fedup hear ppl complain about samsung tvs, phones, blu ray players, etc.

watch what went on with this guy:

brb never buying samsung again.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » January 18th, 2014, 8:50 am

^you can't knock samsung on their LCD/LED/Plasma panel's when it come to quality,its the best on the market right now.

My Samsung LCD i bought back in 2009 still going strong,just the other day i swear something in it went wrong,cause it was only switching back to dynamic mode with brightness at 10.Did a quick google search to realize electricity went the other day and it was in store demo mode,and resets itself every 5-10 mins. :oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2014, 12:14 am

^ true.

I bought a Samsung plasma in 2009 and I'm hard pressed to find a panel that can compare to the black levels and colour accuracy.

Some ppl think bright, jacked up colour is good, but it isn't. It's badly calibrated or not capable of presenting accurate colour.

Postby S_2NR » January 19th, 2014, 5:08 am

Not disputing Samsungs look good you know. But that there are other things to consider when making a purchase

Postby Dave » January 19th, 2014, 9:57 am

Sammys on the whole have earned their respect over the last couple of years but ppl still have some stigma to them.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 19th, 2014, 10:47 am

S_2NR wrote:Not disputing Samsungs look good you know. But that there are other things to consider when making a purchase
well its a TV screen - so panel picture quality is everything

it's not like you going to drop it and complain that it feels flimsy and the battery cover always comes out or that it is the last manufacturer to issue their version of android updates

most people who buy a TV looking for top picture quality, accurate colour and inky blacks are going to be using the panel for picture alone and running all their audio through a reciever - the TV is just a monitor of sorts.

for more than a few years now Samsung and Panasonic panels have topped the charts for picture quality.

The Panasonic TC-PVT60 series and the Samsung UNF8000 and PNF8500 series are perhaps the best panels out there.

CNET said about the Samsung Plasma PNF8500:
The good: The Samsung PNF8500 series exhibits outstanding picture quality with a class-leading bright-room image, exceedingly deep black levels, very good shadow detail, highly accurate colors and superb off-angle and uniformity characteristics

The bad: Extremely expensive

The bottom line: Samsung's best-performing TV ever, the PNF8500 series pushes the plasma picture quality envelope, especially in bright rooms.

http://reviews.cnet.com/flat-panel-tvs/ ... 66923.html

Also LUXSAM in Chaguanas are the authorised Samsung TV dealership and they repair Samsung Tvs in and out of warranty. I don't know if there is a SONY dealer here that can do that.

Advent

Postby Advent » January 19th, 2014, 11:08 am

Yeah Sammy improved but their screens are gorgeous

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » January 19th, 2014, 12:02 pm

my samsung led tv panel malfunctioning after 2yrs time :bad-words:

Postby S_2NR » January 19th, 2014, 1:48 pm

See what I mean ^

Postby desifemlove » January 19th, 2014, 2:29 pm

Looking for ah small system that can play MP3s and CDs, jus for a bedroom or living room.

Any places in Trini selling, or is dis a Skybox ting?

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » January 20th, 2014, 8:29 am

fouljuice wrote:iM@st@1 where you get that yamaha htib, Local or amazon, and price?

Bought it on Amazon warehouse deals, used like new for $356US.

I didn't look around to get it local nah, if u come across anyone selling it wouldn't mind knowing the price it going for

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 20th, 2014, 10:43 am

S_2NR wrote:See what I mean ^

My sister-in-law's sony plasma stopped working and there was no one here that could fix it

What's your point?

Postby S_2NR » January 20th, 2014, 11:00 am

Samsung has shitty quality control. Yea you may have no problems, that doesnt mean they dont generally have their issues. I prefer sony, lg and panasonic over samsung for build quality and durability. Dont get me wrong, they are all good brands but some are built better than others.

http://www.techhive.com/article/211088/hdtvs.html

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:it's not like you going to drop it and complain that it feels flimsy and the battery cover always comes out or that it is the last manufacturer to issue their version of android updates

most people who buy a TV looking for top picture quality, accurate colour and inky blacks are going to be using the panel for picture alone and running all their audio through a reciever - the TV is just a monitor of sorts.

I disagree. Just because you're gonna set a tv down and never move it doesnt mean durability isnt an issue. Depending on the build quality of the internals and the overall design, that would determine how long it lasts with everyday use. So you dont have to drop your tv to test how durable it is. I think any tv when dropped will suffer damage.

If you love samsung, its your money. Buy it and be happy.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 20th, 2014, 11:26 am

This could be completely random or coincidental, but I know 3 people who have bought samsung HDTVs and ended up having major problems with their sets. as compared to one person having trouble with another brand (sharp, after a major power surge)

Now Samsung may have fixed their reliability (I dont know)
For me, bringing a new TV into my home is a Difficult undertaking.
Theyre Big, Usually requiring more than a regular Car to get it from the Store to home.
Usually need at least 2 people to get it up to my floor.
I wall mount, which takes some time, fiddling and effort.
Im finicky about wires, more time and effort.
I use a Harmony remote, more time and effort
I fine tune my picture quality, you get the point.

It would drive me insane to go through all of that effort and then have a problem which, in effect forces me to undo it all, at great trouble to get it replaced/repaired.

Just the knowledge that Samsung TVs have failed people I know in the past is enough to keep me from investing (time and effort) in them. I could be completely wrong about it, but I dont think that Im the only one who thinks this way.

Postby crazybalhead » January 20th, 2014, 11:38 am

Rod I know exactly how yuh feel hoss.

Postby 16 cycles » January 21st, 2014, 5:31 am

Can score the pnf 8500 2013 model for 700usd less than the 8000 2013 model