COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2022, 12:29 pm

2 of my co workers whose young kids got vaccinated been really sick since getting the shots

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 12:45 pm

matr1x wrote:2 of my co workers whose young kids got vaccinated been really sick since getting the shots

sick how? fever? fatigue? pain?

Postby st7 » June 21st, 2022, 12:53 pm

what the vaccinated chirren have to do with the co-workers who sick?

Postby st7 » June 21st, 2022, 12:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:16 away from the 4000 milestone

the vaxxed deaths not moving up at all... this is a conspiracy!!!!

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2022, 12:55 pm

st7 wrote:what the vaccinated chirren have to do with the co-workers who sick?

No their kids have been sick. Body pains, listless. And that's been a weekend ago

Postby st7 » June 21st, 2022, 12:57 pm

matr1x wrote:
st7 wrote:what the vaccinated chirren have to do with the co-workers who sick?

No their kids have been sick. Body pains, listless. And that's been a weekend ago

ah... should have worded it better lol

how long ago were they vaccinated, and do they interact with each other by chance?

Postby matr1x » June 21st, 2022, 1:01 pm

No, no. 2 isolated families.

My wording was poor. Some got a chance to get their kids vaccinated. A few workers took up the offer

Fork that vaccine, yes

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2022, 1:51 pm

Thars why u need frequent exposure to keep the latest markers in ur system.

When ur ur system can't recognize a far mutated strain, that's when u'll be in trouble.

Get rid of masks, normalize all protocols, keep ur susceptible out of circulation.

Orr, make available to them the monoclonal antibodies.

Postby hover11 » June 21st, 2022, 5:54 pm

If I could fete and bar hop maskless, I walking in the Bank, mall and church without a mask, lock meh up. CUZ ALYUH MAKING NOOOOOO SENSE

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2022, 6:14 pm

mask is not only for protecting you tho. Your mask is for protecting people older/sicker than you that have no choice but to be in the same shared space.

I get "keep ur susceptible out of circulation," but people with disabilities and weaker immune systems still have to live in society. I not saying mask mandate is appropriate in the middle of stink and dutty, but at most public spaces yes it makes complete sense.

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 7:33 pm

sMASH wrote:Thars why u need frequent exposure to keep the latest markers in ur system.

When ur ur system can't recognize a far mutated strain, that's when u'll be in trouble.

Get rid of masks, normalize all protocols, keep ur susceptible out of circulation.

Orr, make available to them the monoclonal antibodies.

We can only do that to an extent- but even they need to go out for essentials - food/groceries, money/banking, drug store/medication, doctor, etc. and not everyone have relatives that can do that for them. so if u walk in to that grocery, bank, etc. maskless where they are present u are putting them in danger.

i'm not sure monoclonals work against omicron, or its sub variants. we need to get things like paxlovid which can keep them out of hospital.

COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2022, 7:48 pm

And we back again with the mask talk.

Listen the virus is just too mild for too much people to care.

I am guaranteeing every single person here that IF the virus were to melt your lungs on contact, you would see how quick everyone would make it their #1 priority to protect their bodies from harmful particles.

Anyways, i have said 100 times that T&T was lucky yet again for the virus not being as catastrophic as other countries. Our position now is just undeserving based on the continued irresponsibility.

Trinis better pray that the next pandemic is not the wake up call that is needed and overdue.

Continue to BRAY, continue the mask/vaccine wars…..just continue.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2022, 8:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:mask is not only for protecting you tho. Your mask is for protecting people older/sicker than you that have no choice but to be in the same shared space.

I get "keep ur susceptible out of circulation," but people with disabilities and weaker immune systems still have to live in society. I not saying mask mandate is appropriate in the middle of stink and dutty, but at most public spaces yes it makes complete sense.

Life will find offer ways of taking out the weak

Postby alfa » June 21st, 2022, 8:41 pm

People still with this dotish mask talk? After two years and counting, personal responsibility and common sense seem to have eluded some. Wear your mask if you feel the need to, double up if your think it'll help more. A co-worker of mine I haven't seen his face since COVID started cuz he mask up all the time and that's cool. But don't insist I have to wear one in order to make yours work better. That's like saying I need to wear a condom to prevent your wife from getting pregnant

COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby MaxPower » June 21st, 2022, 8:44 pm

alfa wrote:People still with this dotish mask talk? After two years and counting, personal responsibility and common sense seem to have eluded some. Wear your mask if you feel the need to, double up if your think it'll help more. A co-worker of mine I haven't seen his face since COVID started cuz he mask up all the time and that's cool. But don't insist I have to wear one in order to make yours work better. That's like saying I need to wear a condom to prevent your wife from getting pregnant

X3000.

Wear your mask as you see fit. If it’s a risk, then so be it, so is alcohol and cigarettes.

People will know when it’s time to protect themselves.

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 9:03 pm

hover11 wrote:If I could fete and bar hop maskless, I walking in the Bank, mall and church without a mask, lock meh up. CUZ ALYUH MAKING NOOOOOO SENSE

afaik masks are still required there- except when eating/drinking. in couple months ago i ventured into a bar on teh Ave- they had signs saying wear a mask except when seated or eating/drinking.

the older vulnerable ppl tend to not be in bars/fetes, even before covid, far less now with covid in a place where plenty ppl not taking on the regulations. but the bank, mall, church is where u will find them so behave. my dad just got over his covid infection. not sure where he got it. good thing he has no NCDs & not immunocompromised otherwise all now he in a hospital bed.

Postby paid_influencer » June 21st, 2022, 9:44 pm

the force vaccine krew dissolve. you'd think they would be interested in defending the mask mandate to protect the vulnerable. but nope, silence from dem. nazi vibes only feeling good when it have popular support.

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 10:24 pm

so from the previous post prior infection alone still gives good protection against severe disease & death. good news for my unvaxxed dad who just recovered then.
Last edited by redmanjp on June 21st, 2022, 10:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 10:32 pm

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/privy-council-upholds-t-t-s-covid-regulations/article_73bdca6e-f0fc-11ec-bba9-874f626e9bdf.html

Privy Council upholds T&T’s Covid regulations

THE Privy Council has upheld the constitutionality of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago’s Covid-19 public health regulations in dismissing two appeals that arose from a previous ban on Hindu open-air cremations.

A release from the Office of the Attorney General yesterday stated that appeals brought by Dominic Suraj and Satyanand Maharaj against the State were dismissed and the Privy Council “has unanimously upheld the management of the Covid-19 pandemic since early 2020 by the Government of Trinidad and Tobago”.

The appellants’ case arose out of some Covid-19 public health regulations, including the ban on open-air cremations, which were in effect up to January 2022 and chiefly affected the Hindu community. The case against the State had also included objections to regulations that affected places of worship, such as a 50 per cent limit on physical attendance, which has since been lifted.

The release from the Office of the AG noted that the “appellants were challenging the constitutionality of the Public Health Regulations passed by the Government to manage the Covid-19 pandemic”.

It also stated, “Specifically, the court found that the public health regulations and guidelines issued by the Minister of Health were appropriately based on sound medical and expert scientific evidence and made in the public interest of protecting the life and health of the population of this republic.

“The Government’s approach to managing the Covid-19 pandemic has therefore been conclusively endorsed by the country’s highest court of law.”

The release added: “This ruling is an important vindication of the Government’s long-standing legislative agenda and use of legislation passed without a super majority. This issue has been the subject of running vocal complaints by members of the Opposition who have baselessly claimed that this approach was contrary to the Constitution. The Privy Council has today decisively rejected that criticism and vindicated both the position of the Government and its legislative agenda.”

The Office of the AG statement said the case was “successfully argued and won by the Attorney General in the High Court and the Court of Appeal prior to his assumption of Office as Attorney General, leading a team of committed and extremely competent attorneys and, the Attorney General takes this opportunity to thank that team and the attorneys appearing before the Privy Council”.

Religion not troubled

The Office of the AG stated, “In particular the Privy Council rejected arguments of unconstitutionality and interference with religious rights.”

The release recalled the case of death row inmate, Jay Chandler, who challenged the State on the constitutionality of the death penalty.

In May 2022, the Privy Council ruled that the mandatory sentence of death for murder in Trinidad and Tobago is constitutional and the law can only be rewritten by Parliament.

The Privy Council decision in the Maharaj/Suraj case “follows almost immediately on the other significant decision in Chandler v The State (delivered on the 16th May, 2022) in which the Privy Council also upheld the Government’s position on the proper interpretation and application of the savings law clause in the Constitution,” the release said.

“These two decisions together set ground-breaking constitutional precedent and affirm the correctness of the Government’s approach to legislative drafting since its assumption of office,” the Office of the AG said.

With regard to the appellants’ claim that some regulations infringed disproportionately on the rights of the population, with regard to religious gatherings, the Privy Council had found that the impact on the appellants’ rights were proportionate and “the rules were promulgated on the basis of expert scientific advice against a background of considerable uncertainty about how the disease was transmitted and how best to counter its spread.

The public interest in issue, the protection of the right to life and the health of the whole population, was an especially important one.

“In the Board’s view, the rules struck a fair balance between the rights of the appellants and the general interest of the community and were plainly a proportionate means of protecting the public interest in the circumstances.”

The appellants had also raised “whether the issue of the regulations by the minister is contrary to sections 1 and/or 2 of the Constitution as being inconsistent with the notions of a sovereign democracy and/or constitutional supremacy”.

The issue referred to the public health ordinances rolled out under Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh.

Common feature in democracies

The Privy Council noted provisions and balances in the Constitution and stated that, “It is entirely compatible with the notion of a sovereign democracy that powers can be conferred on a minister to make subordinate legislation; that is indeed a common feature in democracies.

“Constitutional supremacy is respected by the checks available to ensure that the Rules are consistent with the provisions of the Constitution,” the ruling stated.

The ruling noted that Maharaj is a Hindu pundit and the head of an ashram, whose August 2020 claim against the State was “partially successful at first instance”.

The High Court had decided that the guidelines were “uncertain and vague” and that, by purporting to criminalise breaches of the guidelines, the Minister of Health “had acted outside the scope of his powers”.

The High Court had dismissed other aspects of Maharaj’s claim, including his argument that the coronavirus regulations infringed rights and freedoms protected by section 4 of the Constitution, including the “right to freedom of conscience and religious belief and observance”.

The Court of Appeal later dismissed Maharaj’s appeal and allowed the Attorney General’s cross-appeal, deciding that the guidelines were “sufficiently clear, that reference to the guidelines in the coronavirus regulations reduced rather than expanded the scope of criminal liability, and that the coronavirus regulations were neither unlawful nor unconstitutional”.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 21st, 2022, 10:43 pm

^Ray Charles could've seen that coming

Postby adnj » June 21st, 2022, 11:13 pm

redmanjp wrote:so from the previous post prior infection alone still gives good protection against severe disease & death. good news for my unvaxxed dad who just recovered then.
Good for him then. Latest estimates have 1 out of 4 Trinis not being infected or vaccinated and the latest omicron variants more deadly than the last.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 22nd, 2022, 12:08 am

adnj wrote:
redmanjp wrote:so from the previous post prior infection alone still gives good protection against severe disease & death. good news for my unvaxxed dad who just recovered then.
Good for him then. Latest estimates have 1 out of 4 Trinis not being infected or vaccinated and the latest omicron variants more deadly than the last.

adnj making up seroprevalence data :lol:

Postby adnj » June 22nd, 2022, 9:51 am

Apparently anyone over 18 can now get a Pfizer second booster at the mass vaccination centers. All of Pfizer expires at the end of the month.

Postby timelapse » June 22nd, 2022, 10:33 am

paid_influencer wrote:the force vaccine krew dissolve. you'd think they would be interested in defending the mask mandate to protect the vulnerable. but nope, silence from dem. nazi vibes only feeling good when it have popular support.
Nah,we just got tired explaining the same thing to idiots

Postby st7 » June 22nd, 2022, 12:57 pm

adnj wrote:Apparently anyone over 18 can now get a Pfizer second booster at the mass vaccination centers. All of Pfizer expires at the end of the month.

damn, all?!

i'll hadda organise for next week.

Postby redmanjp » June 22nd, 2022, 1:41 pm

Covid/Monkeypox update

Postby matr1x » June 22nd, 2022, 4:11 pm

Pharma companies: you need our vaccine!
Government bodies funded by donar and lobby money from pharma companies: you need to take the vaccine or else

Also governments and pharma: we cannot be held to account if anything goes wrong

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » June 22nd, 2022, 4:40 pm

matr1x wrote:Pharma companies: you need our vaccine!
Government bodies funded by donar and lobby money from pharma companies: you need to take the vaccine or else

Also governments and pharma: we cannot be held to account if anything goes wrong
donor*

Postby hover11 » June 22nd, 2022, 4:50 pm

Please somebody, anybody, make it make sense
FB_IMG_1655928270693.jpg

Postby sMASH » June 22nd, 2022, 7:17 pm

adnj wrote:
That's y Ya need to keep getting the latest, to keep up to date.

How?
Just go about life normally.