COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2022, 9:02 pm

The last time he was there, nasdaq did crash...
Hopefully Biden heart strong....

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 9th, 2022, 1:12 am

Ben_spanna wrote:Yesterday had big football match at King George V1 PArk, hundreds in attendance, maybe 20 people wearing masks, and Everyone liming close close , covid dont exist again in Trinidad

Thank god we have no enforcement of laws here in sweet T&T.
Life is sweet.

Postby nervewrecker » June 9th, 2022, 2:31 am

So people buying vaccine card now?

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2022, 2:39 am

nervewrecker wrote:So people buying vaccine card now?

Buying?

It’s a third world banana country with a third world system.

Men printing them ting and writing it up on their own.

Postby Kenjo » June 9th, 2022, 7:03 am

What’s the purpose of vaccines cards right now though ? Is that even necessary for travel ?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 9th, 2022, 7:31 am

Buying?

It’s a third world banana country with a third world system.

Men printing them ting and writing it up on their own.

You have to also get it on the ministry database.
But loads of ministry officials, nurses and even police officers offering this service for a price.

Postby j.o.e » June 9th, 2022, 9:35 am

Kenjo wrote:

What’s the purpose of vaccines cards right now though ? Is that even necessary for travel ?

For new employment it is required in most places. So if you in the job market might need it

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2022, 1:32 pm

alfa wrote:Anyone still wearing masks though?

I still do in public.
Masks still work.
Went by family last week and they called a couple days after to say they have Covid and was feeling it coming on a couple days before. They tested positive. I kept my mask on during that visit and did not get it, but another family member that was there at the same time as me decided not a wear a mask in the house, they now have covid too.
It is what it is - you have to assess your own risks and decide how you want to operate

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 10th, 2022, 1:39 pm

I still do in public.
Masks still work.
Went by family last week and they called a couple days after to say they have Covid and was feeling it coming on a couple days before. They tested positive. I kept my mask on during that visit and did not get it, but another family member that was there at the same time as me decided not a wear a mask in the house, they now have covid too.
It is what it is - you have to assess your own risks and decide how you want to operate

N95? Don't discount prior immunity (vaccine or natural) as a reason you didn't get it.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 10th, 2022, 1:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

I still do in public.
Masks still work.

N95? Don't discount prior immunity (vaccine or natural) as a reason you didn't get it.

no not N95 but I make sure my mask is fitting properly and sealing around my face and nose.
All 3 of us are fully vaccinated - I have two sino and 1 pfizer booster and I never had covid before

Postby redmanjp » June 10th, 2022, 4:38 pm

Hundreds get murdered every year or die in accidents in a country of 1.4 million but u worried about 1 in a million.

Only the AZ or J&J have a higher than 1 in a million risk blood clots. U still have Pfizer and Sinopharm.

Postby MaxPower » June 10th, 2022, 4:45 pm

I still do in public.
Masks still work.

Same here,

Love wearing a mask actually. Its helps to protect against viruses and dust.

Postby st7 » June 10th, 2022, 9:59 pm

redmanjp wrote:Hundreds get murdered every year or die in accidents in a country of 1.4 million but u worried about 1 in a million.

Only the AZ or J&J have a higher than 1 in a million risk blood clots. U still have Pfizer and Sinopharm.

boy you hadda let them be. those against vaccines only want attention hence keeping this ched alive for so long.

Postby nervewrecker » June 10th, 2022, 11:40 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

For new employment it is required in most places. So if you in the job market might need it
Some places it mandatory straight across the board and protocols still in place.

From what I understand you can pay a fee and they pretend to jab you. you get a legit card and your name entered in the database.

I find the database should be made public.

I also understand a blood test can be done for antibodies, the only way to confirm if someone has it or not. The anthropogenic antibiotics show up different from natural as in of you had gotten covid. So there is a way to tell if you lying or not.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 11th, 2022, 12:39 am

j.o.e wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

Some places it mandatory straight across the board and protocols still in place.

From what I understand you can pay a fee and they pretend to jab you. you get a legit card and your name entered in the database.

I also understand a blood test can be done for antibodies, the only way to confirm if someone has it or not. The anthropogenic antibiotics show up different from natural as in of you had gotten covid. So there is a way to tell if you lying or not.

Vaccines can fail and therefore not induce antibodies.
So no ... You cant really tell if people are lying or not.
Vaccine cold chain may not have been maintained esp in third world countries, using expired Pfizer products, over 65 and got a Sinopharm are all possible excuses you can use for not having vaccine induced antibodies.

Postby nervewrecker » June 11th, 2022, 2:29 am

drchaos wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

Vaccines can fail and therefore not induce antibodies.
So no ... You cant really tell if people are lying or not.
Vaccine cold chain may not have been maintained esp in third world countries, using expired Pfizer products, over 65 and got a Sinopharm are all possible excuses you can use for not having vaccine induced antibodies.

well then the person not vaccinated.

and if the person had not contracted the virus as yet there will be no antibodies, so either way the person not vaccinated.

Postby adnj » June 11th, 2022, 4:59 am

T&T COVID projections through 1 October:

- No significant change in daily COVID deaths.
- 400 additional COVID deaths.
- T&T daily death rate will be 20× to 30× higher than USA or UK.
- T&T cumulative death rate will surpass both the USA and UK.

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2022, 9:41 pm

We almost at 4000 dead. Tens of thousands more had to be hospitalized and won't recover for at least a year after being discharged.

Postby adnj » June 12th, 2022, 10:03 pm

sMASH wrote:
drchaos wrote:
sMASH wrote:
K74T wrote:Yeh them PEPpers them kixsy. Brainwash FTW.
Don't forget alive, Sans jab...

You and more than half of the population that un-vaxxed.

i tawt who didnt take the vax was gonna ded? it was a death sentence??? damn, guess we screwed up that narrative

No, you didn't. You got that part right.

Postby paid_influencer » June 13th, 2022, 4:54 pm

over.

Postby sMASH » June 17th, 2022, 6:27 pm

Should we expect a spike after rh jam naked lack of masks wearing, or do accept real world performance of the masks are lacking?

Postby hover11 » June 17th, 2022, 7:18 pm

Explain to me why we still wearing masks when a whole fete with hundreds of ppl happened yday with no masks

Postby redmanjp » June 17th, 2022, 7:42 pm

hover11 wrote:Explain to me why we still wearing masks when a whole fete with hundreds of ppl happened yday with no masks

outdoor masks in socially distanced settings should go- plenty ventilation and breeze will dilute any virus droplets. even WHO only recommends them for close contact settings.

indoor masking should remain a while till at least we get antivirals like Paxlovid which can treat at risk ppl out of hospital, freeing up more beds.

as for fetes- ideally ppl should still be masked in crowded settings indoors or outdoors when not drinking/eating.

we will soon hit 4000 dead, perhaps by next weekend

Postby alfa » June 17th, 2022, 8:48 pm

hover11 wrote:Explain to me why we still wearing masks when a whole fete with hundreds of ppl happened yday with no masks

Good question that nobody can properly explain. Personally I wear masks where they are mandated like the large supermarkets. I don't wear in work or in the park or by the doubles man. Even in the neighbourhood parlour I don't bother to wear when I go for my morning papers. Sometimes I try to push the boundries of not wearing in slightly bigger establishments to gauge their reaction because if no one starts the trend we might be wearing masks until the second coming of the lord

Postby redmanjp » June 17th, 2022, 9:02 pm

alfa wrote:

Good question that nobody can properly explain. Personally I wear masks where they are mandated like the large supermarkets. I don't wear in work or in the park or by the doubles man. Even in the neighbourhood parlour I don't bother to wear when I go for my morning papers. Sometimes I try to push the boundries of not wearing in slightly bigger establishments to gauge their reaction because if no one starts the trend we might be wearing masks until the second coming of the lord

:lol: hold tight. they said they will review masks after the current regulations expire. the thing is u more likely to get it at work when u could be exposed to someone who has it even though he is like 15 feet away- why? aerosols linger in indoor spaces, and if the infected person himself is present for hours there is a build up of viral particles assuming no ventilation. duration of exposure matters a lot.

the law is kinda wrong side- making u wear it outdoors even when u by yourself when the risk is very low and then exempts u in your workplace in places where customers are not allowed (still mandatory in areas where customers are allowed) but where coworkers can most likely infect each other.

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2022, 4:13 am

U don't they make mask wearimg personal responsibility?

If u tho k it works, u wear it, and if u don't u pay the fine. And if u dj t think it works, u don't wear it, and thats ur choice.
InShot_20220617_175656784.jpg

Postby sMASH » June 18th, 2022, 4:49 am

redmanjp wrote:

outdoor masks in socially distanced settings should go- plenty ventilation and breeze will dilute any virus droplets. even WHO only recommends them for close contact settings.

indoor masking should remain a while till at least we get antivirals like Paxlovid which can treat at risk ppl out of hospital, freeing up more beds.

as for fetes- ideally ppl should still be masked in crowded settings indoors or outdoors when not drinking/eating.

we will soon hit 4000 dead, perhaps by next weekend

sooo, our laws for covid prevention isnt really based on science... just fear... and the opportunity to weild power

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 19th, 2022, 3:51 pm

When somebody international tell them to remove masks, then they will stop

Postby pugboy » June 21st, 2022, 12:15 pm

peter sagan, a top international racing cyclist got infected for the 3rd time in around 2 years or less
the second time he got long covid

Postby redmanjp » June 21st, 2022, 12:18 pm

16 away from the 4000 milestone