COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Postby aaron17 » August 26th, 2021, 9:49 am

So we ignoring this?

Postby adnj » August 26th, 2021, 10:23 am

aaron17 wrote:So we ignoring this?

The BMJ group dissent was noted in the records of discussion around full FDA approval for the Pfizer vaccine. The approval noted that the concerns were valid -- but outweighed by the breadth of real-world experience with the vaccine.

Was FDA Approval Of Pfizer Covid-19 Vaccines Rushed? It Underwent Priority Review

https://www.forbes.com/sites/brucelee/2 ... 865091277e

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2021, 11:27 am

Only 5 take J&J covid19 vaccine on first day of rollout

On the first day that people in Trinidad and Tobago could access the Johnson & Johnson vaccine, only five people took advantage of the opportunity.

Twenty doses had previously been given to athletes through the Ministry of Sport and Community Development.

This was even though the vaccine could be accessed at a minimum of 13 sites across the Eastern, North West and South West regional health authorities.

People could access the J&J vaccine at the Las Cuevas Health Centre under the NWRHA, and at the Point Fortin Indoor Sporting Arena, and the Indian Walk and Tabaquite Health Centres under the SWRHA.

The ERHA, through its covid19 vaccination caravan, offered the vaccine at different times of the day at: Santa Cruz Road (opposite the Matelot Outreach Centre), Fisherman Depot, St Helena Community Centre, Wendell’s Shop in Grande Riviere, Monte Video in front of Bishop Shop, San Souci in front of the Community Centre, L'Anse Noire Community Centre, Mission by the RC Church, and Stacy’s Mini Mart in Toco.

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/08/25/only-5 ... f-rollout/

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » August 26th, 2021, 12:12 pm

I dont think people will rush that nah^

Postby timelapse » August 26th, 2021, 12:33 pm

I really wish I had the Sputnik

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 12:50 pm

5 take J&J? five?

to say it's abysmal would be an understatement.

abysmal would be 50-100. it have no words for 5.

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2021, 1:30 pm

free doubles , kfc , white oak, 30g

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 2:11 pm

it hadda be that what 99% of rural ppl are antivax?

Postby hover11 » August 26th, 2021, 4:40 pm

So we promoting health and well being with rewards that are the opposite of such
pugboy wrote:free doubles , kfc , white oak, 30g

Postby pugboy » August 26th, 2021, 4:45 pm

yuh gotta feed the bait according to the fish you want to catch

hover11 wrote:So we promoting health and well being with rewards that are the opposite of such
pugboy wrote:free doubles , kfc , white oak, 30g

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 26th, 2021, 5:42 pm

pugboy wrote:yuh gotta feed the bait according to the fish you want to catch

yup

Postby paid_influencer » August 26th, 2021, 6:40 pm

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-tyne-58330796

Lisa Shaw: Presenter's death due to complications of Covid vaccine

A radio presenter died due to complications from the AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine, a coroner has found.

Lisa Shaw, who worked for BBC Radio Newcastle, died at the age of 44 in May after developing headaches a week after getting her first dose of the vaccine.

Newcastle coroner Karen Dilks heard Ms Shaw suffered blood clots in the brain which ultimately led to her death.

The inquest heard the condition linked to the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine was very rare.

The coroner said: "Lisa died due to complications of an AstraZeneca Covid vaccination."

Ms Dilks said Ms Shaw was previously fit and well but concluded that it was "clearly established" that her death was due to a very rare "vaccine-induced thrombotic thrombocytopenia", a condition which leads to swelling and bleeding of the brain.

'Severe headache'

Ms Shaw, a mother of one from Consett, received her first dose of the vaccine on 29 April.

On 13 May she was taken by ambulance to University Hospital of North Durham after having a headache for several days.

In a statement, Dr John Holmes who treated her said she complained of having a "severe headache shooting and stabbing" across her forehead and behind her eyes.

Tests were carried out and blood clots were found in her brain, prompting her to be moved to the neurology specialist unit at Newcastle's Royal Victoria Infirmary (RVI).

The clots are considered extremely rare - there have been 417 reported cases and 72 deaths - after 24.8 million first doses and 23.9 million second doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine in the UK.

Dr Christopher Johnson, a consultant in anaesthetics and intensive care at the RVI, said Ms Shaw had been conscious for several days and had been treated for the clots with drugs which seemed to be successful.

'Do the same thing'

But on the evening of 16 May Ms Shaw said the headaches were worse and she had difficulty speaking.

Scans showed she had suffered a haemorrhage in the brain and after her condition deteriorated, part of her skull was removed to try and relieve the pressure inside her head.

Her condition continued to worsen and despite more surgery and treatments, she died on 21 May.

the first 2-3 weeks after AZ is the danger zone, it seems.

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 8:09 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/08/18/nancis-i-dont-know-about-nlcb-vax-and-win-promotion/

EUSTACE Nancis, National Lottery Control Board (NLCB) chairman, said he knows nothing of a Vax and Win promotion by the NLCB which promised that 100 newly-vaccinated individuals will be chosen by draw to each win a $5,000 prize, but promised to look into it.

The promotion, in paid newspaper adverts on Wednesday and on the NLCB Facebook page, also promised a grand prize of $50,000.

It said the promotion was open to any adult permanent resident of Trinidad and Tobago who has a TT vaccination card and receives a double or single dose of a covid19 vaccine within the promotion period of August 18-September 14.

However, Nancis told Newsday he was not aware of the promotion.

"You will ask the director (Camille Forde) about that.

"I'm not aware of that (or any) approval by the board.

"You know I would be the first to comment. I may get some information and call you back."

Newsday was unable to contact Forde to ask her expectations of the promotion.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » August 26th, 2021, 9:07 pm

QUESTION : Taken 2 doses on Sinopharm about 2 months now!

Now if I want to travel to the United States what are my options?

Postby Dizzy28 » August 26th, 2021, 9:22 pm

As per CDC you only need a negative PCR test
slickrick777 wrote:QUESTION : Taken 2 doses on Sinopharm about 2 months now!

IMG_20210826_212149.jpg

Postby j.o.e » August 26th, 2021, 9:37 pm

timelapse wrote:I really wish I had the Sputnik

Why?

Postby redmanjp » August 26th, 2021, 9:54 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:As per CDC you only need a negative PCR test

IMG_20210826_212149.jpg

federally. some states might require a quarantine for unvaxxed but i think they recognize WHO approved vaccines.

https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/us-state-travel-restrictions-covid-19/index.html

Postby Gladiator » August 26th, 2021, 10:01 pm

redmanjp wrote:it hadda be that what 99% of rural ppl are antivax?

Define "rural"...

justheretoreadthecomments

Postby justheretoreadthecomments » August 27th, 2021, 9:35 am

You don't need to be vaccinated to enter the US. With regard to places with the vaccine passports, like NYC, if you go on their website you will see that any vaccine, once WHO approved is accepted.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 29th, 2021, 9:24 am

Folks, just a reminder that if you or your friends/family are high risk for Covid please get AZ, J&J or Pfizer.

Sinopharm Covid Vaccine Seen as Less Effective in Bahrain Study.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/sinopharm- ... 5?mod=e2fb

Postby adnj » August 30th, 2021, 8:16 am

Abu Dhabi Makes Booster Doses Mandatory for Sinopharm Vaccine

(Bloomberg) --

Abu Dhabi, the oil-rich capital of the United Arab Emirates, has made booster doses mandatory for people who were inoculated with the Sinopharm vaccine. 

“Vaccinated individuals who received their second dose of Sinopharm vaccine more than six months ago must receive a booster dose to enhance their immunity,” Abu Dhabi’s media office said in a tweet. Other vaccines don’t currently require booster doses. 

Abu Dhabi’s media office didn’t say if the requirements would apply to the six other emirates, including Dubai, that make up the UAE.

The UAE has approved vaccines from Moderna Inc., Pfizer Inc. and AstraZeneca Plc., but the country’s inoculation program -- one of the fastest globally -- has hinged on Sinopharm, which is also being produced locally. 

Abu Dhabi currently restricts access to some public spaces to people who have been fully vaccinated, and those who fail to get booster shots by Sept. 20 will no longer be able to enter these places. 

https://www.bnnbloomberg.ca/abu-dhabi-m ... -1.1645493

Postby adnj » August 30th, 2021, 12:32 pm

New Zealand reports first death linked to Pfizer vaccine

"This is the first case ... where a death in the days following vaccination has been linked to the Pfizer Covid-19 vaccine," the health ministry said.

https://news.google.com/articles/CBMiYW ... id=US%3Aen

Postby gastly369 » August 30th, 2021, 1:46 pm

adnj wrote:New Zealand reports first death linked to Pfizer vaccine

"This is the first case ... where a death in the days following vaccination has been linked to the Pfizer Covid-19 vaccine," the health ministry said.

In Trinidad this woulda just be counted as any other "covid death" and move on...

Postby timelapse » August 30th, 2021, 3:00 pm

gastly369 wrote:
adnj wrote:New Zealand reports first death linked to Pfizer vaccine

In Trinidad this woulda just be counted as any other "covid death" and move on...
In tuner this would count as a reason not to get vaccinated

Postby toyolink » August 30th, 2021, 3:21 pm

The public response to the need to avail themselves to the vaccines is very disappointing and makes our prospects of achieving meaningful reductions in our infection rates very unlikely in the near future.
Globally, resistance to the the vaccines seem to kick in as countries approach the 50% level and just seems to be driven by fear.
Maybe we just have to accept that there will always be citizens who just don't have the guts to get on the battlefield to beat this enemy of us all.
We need to encourage and support those around us to go get vaccinated and not engage in interactions that push them further away.

Postby hover11 » August 30th, 2021, 3:36 pm

Vaccine sites ghost towns in northwest Trinidad on Monday

http://newsday.co.tt/2021/08/30/vaccine ... Q.facebook

LOL

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 30th, 2021, 3:41 pm

hover11 wrote:Vaccine sites ghost towns in northwest Trinidad on Monday

LOL

So what is the communication plan of the ministry doing besides putting millions of dollars into the pockets of advertising agencies and media conglomerates? A new approach is needed, get rid of the catch phrases and give the people the raw information.

Postby adnj » August 30th, 2021, 3:59 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Vaccine sites ghost towns in northwest Trinidad on Monday

LOL

So what is the communication plan of the ministry doing besides putting millions of dollars into the pockets of advertising agencies and media conglomerates? A new approach is needed, get rid of the catch phrases and give the people the raw information.
Wrong thread.

Postby j.o.e » August 30th, 2021, 4:01 pm

They should just make life uncomfortable for the unvaccinated. No access to govt offices, no inter island travel, no access to restaurants when they open etc.
look at how many places worldwide back to some level of normalcy.