Dohplaydat wrote:Just to add to this discussion.
I'm 99% sure my co-worker has it right now, however, he lives alone, no recent travel history and his symptoms are mild. He has called the hotline twice and been refused a test both times. He is being extremely responsible and has not left his apartment in over 15 days.
He was in meetings with some clients who came from the US on March 5th and 6th. On the 13th he woke up sick and we haven't seen him since the 12th March.
Yet he is still coughing, occasional fever, headaches, and sore throat. He says all of this has been mild and he could have come to work right through and feel fine.
If he has it, I guarantee hundreds of other Trinis have as that same group of US clients went out quite a bit on the 6th and 7th.
The spike is coming soon.
Yes, and...Redress10 wrote:abbow wrote:Heard from a DMO today that the reason the Gov only wants Carpha to do testing is to keep control on the real numbers who have been infected since carnival.![]()
Well no. Every "positive" test done in private would have to be retested by CARPHA anyway resulting in duplication of services and all that.
Most epidemics are tightly coordinated by the state. Any major health issue is state coordinated. Same goes for hiv etc. You get an hiv+ test then the state needs to confirm diagnosis in order to determine treatment. There is also a quality issue in terms of machines and testing protocols that need to be audited and monitored by state before allowing private labs to test. You always try to avoid false negatives in testing. So in the case of a viral infection such as HIV where a person usually don't test yearly or even 2 years betweem tests then you can understand why a false negative is dangerous.
It's different in other countries such as USA as their healthcare system is different. The results may have to be reported to gov't officials but the treatment/isolation of individuals is left to private individuals.
triniterribletim wrote:redmanjp wrote:Should a ban all international flights 2 weeks before those 20000 ppl came in.
Oh well it was a good run folks the coronapocalypse is here. 1 in 5 of our infected families will be hospitalized and a few will die.
Thanks to the CCP virus.
China must be made to suffer for this. They should bleed as the world has bled.
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I saw on the news a group of scientists developed a formula to address how many people are likely to have corona virus, the numbers are within millions. This is supposedly a good thing because it means while it is extremely contagious it isn't as deadly as we believe it to be even tho it is pretty deadly when compared to most diseases.
The fact that it is very likely that millions of people have this virus and don't even know or their symptoms are soo mild that they can't even be bothered is actually pretty promising. We may be able to live with this virus being the norm which is what we will have to do like it or not it isn't going anywhere
MaxPower wrote:Screws doh study the chinee dem na mamoo.
You do your part in society and thats all that is required.
Stay safe
Maybe still not enough testing done.Redman wrote:New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?
https://www.zerohedge.com/health/new-or ... -epicenter
boxy wrote:Or he could just have the flu. Which is why people are told to stay home if you are sick. Most likely if your coworker is young the trigger for the hotline to activate would be for him to answer if he has any underlying medical problems or have shortness of breath which is when the virus has started damaging your lungs and the dead cells left in its wake starts blocking up the layer of the lungs that absorbs air to send to the red blood cells. If the answer to those questions are no then they won't take him in and just tell him self isolate and take panadol which is basically the only thing that can be done without a vaccine in people who have mild symptoms.
Keep us posted on his progress though should be interesting ro hear how he turns outDohplaydat wrote:Just to add to this discussion.
I'm 99% sure my co-worker has it right now, however, he lives alone, no recent travel history and his symptoms are mild. He has called the hotline twice and been refused a test both times. He is being extremely responsible and has not left his apartment in over 15 days.
He was in meetings with some clients who came from the US on March 5th and 6th. On the 13th he woke up sick and we haven't seen him since the 12th March.
Yet he is still coughing, occasional fever, headaches, and sore throat. He says all of this has been mild and he could have come to work right through and feel fine.
If he has it, I guarantee hundreds of other Trinis have as that same group of US clients went out quite a bit on the 6th and 7th.
The spike is coming soon.
MaxPower wrote:Morning friends,
I noticed yesterday quite a few Trinis washing their hands for 3 seconds and then wiping dry on their pants...
Stop this.
aaron17 wrote:Maybe still not enough testing done.Redman wrote:New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?
Redman wrote:aaron17 wrote:Maybe still not enough testing done.Redman wrote:New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?
Testing or lack there of will not stop from cases presenting.
People infected during Carnival would be sick and need hospitalization by now..yes some might be outliers...but the majority would show symptoms by now.
We not seeing that yet.
I assume everyone has it already.EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Redman wrote:aaron17 wrote:Maybe still not enough testing done.Redman wrote:New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?
People infected during Carnival would be sick and need hospitalization by now..yes some might be outliers...but the majority would show symptoms by now.
We not seeing that yet.
Experts have said that a LOT of people currently have this Virus but do not know they have it because the symptoms are so mild they can't even detect something is wrong with them
So this alone shows that we could have had hundreds of cases due to Carnival but nobody never knew
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:MaxPower wrote:Morning friends,
I noticed yesterday quite a few Trinis washing their hands for 3 seconds and then wiping dry on their pants...
Stop this.
A few you say? I does be all over the country from Toco to Point Fortin and Trini Men does every one of them does wash their hands for 3 seconds only women wash it for longer
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Redman wrote:aaron17 wrote:Maybe still not enough testing done.Redman wrote:New Orleans seeing their carnival bump already.
Why aren't we?
We not seeing that yet.
Experts have said that a LOT of people currently have this Virus but do not know they have it because the symptoms are so mild they can't even detect something is wrong with them
So this alone shows that we could have had hundreds of cases due to Carnival but nobody never knew
Or every 15 days?MaxPower wrote:Guys how long again for the predicted “spike” ?
2 days ago we said a week....so we down to 5 days or we resetting to another week?