*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 26th, 2013, 9:28 am

2NR Smurf wrote:Samsung. Its an edge lit led
well then one of the lighting sections may be gone. I could be wrong.

Call Luxsam on Gaston St in Chaguanas, they are the local agents for Samsung. In 2011 my 2009 58" plasma that I bought from Best Buy developed a row of dead pixels. Turned out to be one of the boards due to heat. I called Luxsam, they came and collected the TV, repaired it in a week and dropped it back for me and mounted it back on the wall. Cost TT$1200 total, parts and labour.

Postby 16 cycles » November 26th, 2013, 9:49 am

my sony hx750 started to show some ghosting during a scene in Suits with reflections off of glass in an office type environment.....realized....that office can't have so much glass....all reflecting Rachel...

had to laugh....no fix on it....called sony ...said cost would be same as a new tv......

tv was on panamax 5400 from day 1

if only the 8000 series on samsung would drop in price a little...

warrenc_alexis

Postby warrenc_alexis » December 2nd, 2013, 10:38 am

I just put together a nice little stereo setup with a Pioneer VSX-523-K and a pair of Pioneer SP-FS52 floorstanding (Pricesmart) and i'm using it with a Chromecast to play my Google Music subscription library. My next aim is to get a sub to make it a 2.1 but I've seen that the Pioneer SW-8MK2 isn't recommended online but I like the price though.

Is there anything better in the $100 to $150 price range? That budget can't increase btw.

vasquez

Postby vasquez » December 2nd, 2013, 12:10 pm

46" Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV Samsung

UN46F5500AF
Guys bought this yesterday to put up in my bedroom was wondering should I use the netflix on it or should I just keep my Apple TV hooked up will the picture be better from the Apple TV or will the smart tv be rite I kno it is a stupid question but I was wondering about streaming and stuff thanks

vasquez

Postby vasquez » December 2nd, 2013, 12:10 pm

46" Class (45.9" Diag.) LED 5500 Series TV Samsung

UN46F5500AF
Guys bought this yesterday to put up in my bedroom was wondering should I use the netflix on it or should I just keep my Apple TV hooked up will the picture be better from the Apple TV or will the smart tv be rite I kno it is a stupid question but I was wondering about streaming and stuff thanks

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2013, 2:02 pm

^ depends on which Apple TV you have: 720p or 1080p

either way, the AppleTV may be faster (navigating through the OS and netflix) since smart TV interfaces are notoriously lacking

vasquez

Postby vasquez » December 2nd, 2013, 2:35 pm

Kool that's it the Apple TV 3

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2013, 3:40 pm

vasquez wrote:Kool that's it the Apple TV 3
the Apple TV 3 is 1080p.

since you have both devices why not try netflix on both and let us know which one works better?

I would advise to have a wired network connection to the AppleTV or SmartTV instead of relying on Wifi to stream HD content.

Postby pete » December 2nd, 2013, 3:46 pm

You can cast videos to the samsung smart tv. I've been able to do it with youtube my phone and tablet. Not sure about netflix. 2MB blink so netflix doh make sense (for me).

Anton

Postby Anton » December 7th, 2013, 8:28 pm

My pioneer vsx-820kjust passed out on me. :( Can anybody recommend a repair technician? Will try to get it repaired while I order a replacement online, god alone knows when that will land with the Christmas shipping congestion. Does anyone recall what model receiver pricesmart had in stock and if it's still available?

Postby pioneer » December 7th, 2013, 8:57 pm

They have a harmon kardon 5.1 for $2k I believe

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 8th, 2013, 7:30 am

pioneer wrote:They have a harmon kardon 5.1 for $2k I believe

It's currently $2199, may drop near christmas maybe.

http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-AVR ... B00CMNZHEC

Not bad.

Anton

Postby Anton » December 8th, 2013, 11:39 am

Thanks fellas. The HK may be a contender. Any other locally available alternatives?

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2013, 10:24 am

2MB netflix wukking very cork by me. 5.1 and HD.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Finally out of the stone age.

Postby crazybalhead » December 9th, 2013, 10:28 am

Anton wrote:Thanks fellas. The HK may be a contender. Any other locally available alternatives?

let Raptor bring what you need.

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 9th, 2013, 11:24 am

i'm closed off on ordering till January month

Anton

Postby Anton » December 9th, 2013, 12:28 pm

If I can rally the season without a receiver, I'll be purchasing via Raptor. Lol

Postby pioneer » December 9th, 2013, 1:43 pm

Yeah but what's xmas without 5.1 movies meng

I think I saw some receivers by Raptor las time I was diggin lookin for hotwheels

Postby X_Factor » December 9th, 2013, 3:50 pm

the HK seems pretty decent you know and for the price locally, it will be hard to beat

i saw a few yamaha by sound and security in valpark
but the prices...lawd!

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 9th, 2013, 3:56 pm

pioneer wrote:Yeah but what's xmas without 5.1 movies meng

I think I saw some receivers by Raptor las time I was diggin lookin for hotwheels

all my HT stock sold out

all i got here now is Logitech Z906 and a Klipsch HD500

phreak

Postby phreak » December 9th, 2013, 9:58 pm

What's the cost on the klipsch 500 dude?

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 9th, 2013, 10:00 pm

phreak wrote:What's the cost on the klipsch 500 dude?

$3500

Can give you for $3000 as its the last one

Anton

Postby Anton » December 10th, 2013, 6:31 am

The HK is pretty decent, especially considering the online retail price. I was hoping to get a receiver with upconversion and a tad more power though if I was going to upgrade, but for the price locally, the HK would be the best bang for buck.

Pios, I already had a list of movies I missed out on this year I was planning on watching over the Christmas. :(

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » December 11th, 2013, 11:06 am

Anton

Postby Anton » December 11th, 2013, 1:58 pm

^^Yup, in negotiations with the wife right now. Lol

Postby X_Factor » December 11th, 2013, 2:40 pm

thats a nice deal
i was thinkin bout selling my 1022k and getting that

should be around 4500 landed

mojosodope

Postby mojosodope » December 11th, 2013, 3:47 pm

Whats the duty on HT, 20%?, I hear customs shelling everyone hard these days, plus its 26lbs.

Postby X_Factor » December 11th, 2013, 4:24 pm

ship via amerijet small package service....about 75$ shipping and whatever taxes customs charge
trick is jus go without a receipt and let them value it...

vasquez

Postby vasquez » December 20th, 2013, 1:10 pm

So I have tested my samsung smart tv ,Apple TV and my ps3 with netflix ,while Apple TV showed well had some lag , picture was nice , smart tv had no lag whatsoever but picture quality was not up to mark , and well no ps4 yet but my ps3 streamed netflix perfect picture was great no lag at all well just my experience oh I am using unblock us also and for what strange reason while on Denmark ip Apple TV showed the worst picture quality don't kno why but as I said ps3 was perfect

Postby 16 cycles » January 13th, 2014, 8:15 am

amazon giving 2% back to customers for tv's bought from them over the past holiday season...

jus a heads up...look out for the credit in your account..