May be kams have some more beans on Rowlee treason affairRovin wrote:dat sounding like so much fictitious crap
kill kamla for what , she\unc lorsing naturally so no need to d trouble to done she
results will be about same , i dont see any side gaining\loosing what they currently have so pee nm will remain in govt ...
UNC cleaning house
Caroni East MP Dr Tim Gopeesingh’s announcement that he is stepping aside from the 2020 general elections is the latest in an extensive house cleaning exercise by the United National Congress before the event.
Numerous UNC sources confirm to Guardian Media that the party will be coming with fresh, younger faces that it hopes will put behind what some saw as a stumbling block to electability in the party.
During a virtual meeting on Thursday night, Gopeesingh finally announced his position.
“History never really says goodbye, history says see you later. So I will see you later, on the campaign trail as I lend my support, expertise, experience and skills to our distinguished political leader and her team and to all our candidates,” he said.
“And then, God willing, I will see you all again, on the other side of the elections when we take back Government and bring back hope and progress to this country.”
Apart from Gopeesingh, almost the entire old guard are going, with Dr Suruj Rambachan bowing out and Dr Bhohandranath Tewarie also expected to be out although he is being screened for the seat. Ganga Singh also did not sign nomination papers and said his decision was based on the fact he and leader Kamla Persad-Bisssessar did not agree on a united approach to tackling the ruling People’s National Movement (PNM).
In an interview yesterday, Singh said, “I made it absolutely clear that I am not contesting because from the time the leader took a position of going it alone and dismissively rejected our proposals, I recognise that I could not contest the seat. I believe that history has shown us that going it alone is the wrong approach as an appropriate pathway to power. I said don’t agree with that position.”
Asked how he felt now that Dr Fuad Khan, who supported his view, appeared to be interested in contesting the San Juan-Barataria seat, Singh said, “That is a matter for him.”
He said history is replete with examples and legacy of the opposition unable to win alone, saying the only time that happened was in 2000 when the party was in government.
UNC sources say Prakash Ramadhar is also out as the party has made it clear it will be putting up its candidate in the St Agustine safe seat. Senator Khadijah Ameen is earmarked for the seat although there is a possibility she could be sent to fight Toco-Sangre Grande. Ramadhar has not as yet been spoken to by Persad-Bissessar on the issue.
Party sources say the UNC wanted a younger more dynamic candidate over Tewarie. But Tewarie has insisted he is going to be screened.
“I am being screened and will await the outcome,” Tewarie told Guardian Media.
Asked if he had heard the party wanted a younger candidate, he said, “That’s OK but I would not like to engage the matter.”
Rodney Charles is also expected to bow out and is likely to return to the UN should the UNC be victorious in the elections.
“The leader likes him and would want him on the team but the reality is that Rodney is getting on in age and he would prefer to return to the work he started in the UN. But having said that, if she insists she wants him to stay in Naparima he will be prepared to take one for the team,” a source told GML.
Reached yesterday, Charles said he has been screened and is waiting on whatever Persad-Bissessar decides.
“Whatever happens I am 100 per cent UNC and committed to the party,” Charles said.
Also out Oropouche West MP Vidya Gayadeen-Gopeesingh, who insiders say has not made an impression on the national landscape and will not contest the safe seat.
The Couva North safe seat is also likely to have a new standard bearer, with insiders saying incumbent Ramona Ramdial will not be selected, although has signed nomination papers.
Cumuto/Manzanilla incumbent Christine Newallo-Hosein is also facing a similar fate. In an interview yesterday, she said while she was screened she was not told if she was successful.
Asked how she felt about the screening, Newallo-Hosein, “I think it went well. We had frank discussions. You know I like frank discussion. Sometimes frank discussions go well for some and not for others so we will see.”
Newallo-Hosein insisted she had done a lot of work in her constituency but agreed that does not guarantee a return. She is facing stiff competition from former Energy minister Kevin Ramnarine, Glen Ram, Mitra Ramdial and two other activists.
The UNC’s screening committee includes Persad-Bissessar, David Lee, Jearlene John, Dave Tanco and Peter Kanhai.
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/unc-clea ... e294f4cf44
U sure ur not pulling out ah uno reverse card?maj. tom wrote:Will Kamla step down? If she does, UNC has a high chance of upsetting the PNM this elections.
maj. tom wrote:Will Kamla step down? If she does, UNC has a high chance of upsetting the PNM this elections.
‘Time for Kamla to bow out’
Analyst: Another defeat for Kamla
IT is time for Kamla Persad-Bissessar to bow out of the United National Congress (UNC). If she refuses to step down as UNC political leader, she should be pushed out by the party’s membership.
This was the advice given by political analyst Derek Ramsamooj last night following news of the UNC’s defeat in the 2020 general election.
Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley claimed victory with 22 seats for the People’s National Movement (PNM) to the UNC’s 19 seats.
Speaking during a panel discussion hosted by CCN TV6’s Fazeer Mohammed at Express House, Ramsamooj said the 2020 election represented yet another defeat for Persad-Bissessar.
“It is more than 11 defeats when it comes to elections and it is now perhaps time to step away for new leadership to emerge,” he said.
“The one thing Kamla Persad-Bissessar has demonstrated to the population is that she is very good at keeping the position of leader of the opposition. It is up to the other political entities as well as the persons in the UNC who may be disaffected to not wait for Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s resignation to come, but demand it and push her out.”
Ramsamooj said while his advice may seem unkind, “politics is brutality”.
“And if you have lost, regardless of the reasons, it is now time to step away if you are interested in your supporters ever being able to influence directly political decision-making by 2025.”
Ramsamooj noted Rowley’s announcement last night that this may be his final term in office as he may not offer himself for elections in 2025.
He said the UNC should similarly plan a way forward without Persad-Bissessar at the head.
Ramsamooj also expressed the view that the country voted along racial lines.
“It is unfortunate that we still behave that way and it is unfortunate that we will have to learn the harsh lessons of personal suffering to realise that the policies are important and leadership in living a better quality of life in a period of Covid and austerity becomes our motivator to bring about personal responsibility.”
Ramsamooj also had some words of caution for the PNM.
“Let us be clear we may not even have the same government come 2025 because if there is any further dissatisfaction and further deterioration with the PNM to manage the affairs of the country, we stand some serious consequences for social instability.”
Also participating in a discussion with TV6’s Juhel Browne, former public utilities minister Robert Le Hunte said he hoped Persad-Bissessar moved quickly to accept the results.
Persad-Bissessar has reportedly requested a recount in several seats and has not conceded defeat.
Le Hunte said this is her democratic right but that a “wounded animal is the worst”.
https://trinidadexpress.com/elections/2 ... e1fce.html
Nah you stick to PNMMaxPower wrote:I was always a UNC,
I like my UNC.
However, the UNC leader, not the party on the whole, the UNC leader has failed me with her lack of leadership.
The PNM is my party now, and i voted for them.
Great is the PNM? Not really, The PNM is not great, there are many things i do not like, but it was the better of the two.
Give me a good leader, a better leader and the UNC has my vote.
Does not matter, focus on the abuse we about to receive from the PNMThe_Honourable wrote:Question is, who could go up for leadership? Moonilal?![]()
Jearlean probably... Michaela have to sign back up
MaxPower wrote:I was always a UNC,
I like my UNC.
However, the UNC leader, not the party on the whole, the UNC leader has failed me with her lack of leadership.
The PNM is my party now, and i voted for them.
Great is the PNM? Not really, The PNM is not great, there are many things i do not like, but it was the better of the two.
Give me a good leader, a better leader and the UNC has my vote.
Mickela looked like an alcoholic on TV6, she has dark eyes as associated with most alcoholicsshake d livin wake d dead wrote:roodal and kamla have to throw deh frame for the next internal election. The people to consider thus far: Jerlean, Anita,Vasant, even Mickela.....I'm calling names based on availability eh
Focus should be on the returning PNM MPs. Nothing has changed and it's the same old guard in the PNM campCountry_Bookie wrote:What about Gary Griffith for the leader of UNC? Moneylall , panday, vasant etc none of them will be able to grow the party from outside of its base in south and central. None of them will be able to win crucial east west corridor seats like st Joseph and tunapuna.
Griffith clearly has an agenda by his attention seeking behaviour. I think it's a political agenda.... and he doesn't want national security minister. He wants to be the one in charge.
Country_Bookie wrote:What about Gary Griffith for the leader of UNC? Moneylall , panday, vasant etc none of them will be able to grow the party from outside of its base in south and central. None of them will be able to win crucial east west corridor seats like st Joseph and tunapuna.
Griffith clearly has an agenda by his attention seeking behaviour. I think it's a political agenda.... and he doesn't want national security minister. He wants to be the one in charge.
Dohplaydat wrote:Vasant as Leader, GG and Mikela. That slate winning any election.
Country_Bookie wrote:What about Gary Griffith for the leader of UNC? Moneylall , panday, vasant etc none of them will be able to grow the party from outside of its base in south and central. None of them will be able to win crucial east west corridor seats like st Joseph and tunapuna.
Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Vasant as Leader, GG and Mikela. That slate winning any election.
They would do much better if Mikela wasn't there.
Could they possibly bring back Jack Warner?
Dohplaydat wrote:Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Vasant as Leader, GG and Mikela. That slate winning any election.
Jack is the one pushing for this. Mikela isn't there for her intelligence, she's there to secure the UNC base using the Panday name. Bhoe, Fazal, Kevin Ramnarine etc. You won't believe how many big men who were part of UNC would go along with Panday even today.
Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Vasant as Leader, GG and Mikela. That slate winning any election.
Jack is the one pushing for this. Mikela isn't there for her intelligence, she's there to secure the UNC base using the Panday name. Bhoe, Fazal, Kevin Ramnarine etc. You won't believe how many big men who were part of UNC would go along with Panday even today.
There isn't much of a UNC base for the Panday name though. Mikela will poison the entire thing and run it on greed.
Not sure why they even got rid of Bhoe, Fazal, Kevin Ramnarine, Fuad, Vasant etc.
I think they will do good if they brought back these fellas and Jack Warner.
Dohplaydat wrote:Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Kewell35 wrote:Dohplaydat wrote:Vasant as Leader, GG and Mikela. That slate winning any election.
There isn't much of a UNC base for the Panday name though. Mikela will poison the entire thing and run it on greed.
Not sure why they even got rid of Bhoe, Fazal, Kevin Ramnarine, Fuad, Vasant etc.
I think they will do good if they brought back these fellas and Jack Warner.
Nah Fuad is a liability now, but those others are very smart respectable people.
Mikela ain't a bad person, she just naive and don't have a mind of her own. But she's learning quick now and Bas is setting things up for her.