The 2020 General Election Thread (AUGUST 10TH)

Who will you be voting for on Aug 10th

Poll ended at August 9th, 2020, 11:04 pm

PNM
22%
UNC
59%
COP
2%
PEP
13%
NNV
No votes
MSJ
No votes
NDP
No votes
PDP
No votes
Independent
4%

Total votes: 127

Re: The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2020, 7:03 pm

bluefete wrote:
goalpost wrote:Is d two Tobago seats they not contesting?

Unspoken coalition with Watson Duke.

Many people actually believe that watson would win the two tobago seats and line up with PP after

Postby Rovin » June 20th, 2020, 7:25 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Many people actually believe that watson would win the two tobago seats and line up with PP after

cyar cont dem 2 eggs til they hatch cause pnm might pull a repeat calcuta ship card fear on d natives into frightening dem to vote back poo nm ... :|

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » June 20th, 2020, 7:32 pm

I already see PNM using this footage to show good relations between T&T and US going forward if Biden wins.

Postby zoom rader » June 20th, 2020, 7:35 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:I already see PNM using this footage to show good relations between T&T and US going forward if Biden wins.
Yep, two scamps sit side by side

Rowlee and Granger.

Postby zoom rader » June 20th, 2020, 7:36 pm

Rovin wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
bluefete wrote:

cyar cont dem 2 eggs til they hatch cause pnm might pull a repeat calcuta ship card fear on d natives into frightening dem to vote back poo nm ... :|
They always use the card both in Trini and bago.

It's nothing new

Postby paid_influencer » June 20th, 2020, 10:05 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Many people actually believe that watson would win the two tobago seats and line up with PP after

them people dotish :drinking:

Duke might ask to become King and wear Black Panther costume before that happen.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 21st, 2020, 10:09 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Nabila Greene? Who d fck is she.....toco/grande is now sure pnm victory

She is a nobody, but she is a kamla sycophant. Can't believe they end up picking her when they could have chosen the pharmacist Ricardo who is charismatic and massively popular in Grande. Hell even outsider Kadija would have been a better pick.

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2020, 10:16 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Nabila Greene? Who d fck is she.....toco/grande is now sure pnm victory

She is a nobody, but she is a kamla sycophant. Can't believe they end up picking her when they could have chosen the pharmacist Ricardo who is charismatic and massively popular in Grande. Hell even outsider Kadija would have been a better pick.
Well vote PNM to show your discord if any.

Public ask for Change but still wine and complain

What a stupid fvcking county we live in

Postby Gladiator » June 21st, 2020, 10:41 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

Wait nah... dem didn't put up Ricardo.... well $hit me.... like they want to loss now!!!

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 21st, 2020, 10:45 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

As much I don't like PNM I can't vote for this UNC, they do not deserve power.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 21st, 2020, 11:07 am

Gladiator wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Wait nah... dem didn't put up Ricardo.... well $hit me.... like they want to loss now!!!

Nope..From what i gather thus far, this Nabila lady is supposedly very popular in toco/grand riviere area(which is a weak point for the unc). Ricardo was only popular in Grande and have some skeletons in his closet.

Roger on the hand has nothing to lose and endless finances to fund his campaign. Interesting to see how this pans out

Postby zoom rader » June 21st, 2020, 11:42 am

Dohplaydat wrote:

As much I don't like PNM I can't vote for this UNC, they do not deserve power.
Well then don't complain.

Postby The_Honourable » June 23rd, 2020, 6:10 pm

For today's entertainment...

Hema Ramkissoon spoke with COP Political Leader Carolyn Seepersad Bachan on the Morning Brew. She says the party is continuing to grow and is gearing up for 2020 Elections.

Postby K74T » June 23rd, 2020, 6:16 pm

COrPse

Postby Rovin » June 23rd, 2020, 7:23 pm

i watch for 5 mins , it eh make sense ... like ILP their time has gone

Postby matr1x » June 23rd, 2020, 7:58 pm

COP.....loses all limbs and still saying, "tis just a flesh wound!"

Vote pnm if you like living in failure.

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2020, 8:09 pm

COP was riddled with people looking for perfection and power.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 23rd, 2020, 8:20 pm

Carolyn have no shame?!?!...them not even getting back deposits

Postby The_Honourable » June 23rd, 2020, 11:30 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Carolyn have no shame?!?!...them not even getting back deposits

What deposit? :lol:

Postby MaxPower » June 23rd, 2020, 11:56 pm

Really cannot wait to put my ‘X’ by the Red Palulu.

speedmelter

The 2020 General Election Thread!!!

Postby speedmelter » June 24th, 2020, 1:33 am

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 24th, 2020, 5:12 am

Steve Mcletchie up for la brea under pnm

Postby sMASH » June 24th, 2020, 8:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Steve Mcletchie up for la brea under pnm
thats the name of a colonizer

Postby matr1x » June 24th, 2020, 8:47 am

MaxPower wrote:Really cannot wait to put my ‘X’ by the Red Palulu.

I thought you were all about service? Putting them back is like rehiring a guntress in KFC

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » June 24th, 2020, 9:00 am

crapaud as usual, dem chupidee dey ent care, neglect since independence but like ah good battered wife PNM voters keep coming back for more

Postby MaxPower » June 24th, 2020, 9:25 am

matr1x wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Really cannot wait to put my ‘X’ by the Red Palulu.

I thought you were all about service? Putting them back is like rehiring a guntress in KFC

Pleasant good morning Slim,

Correct, I’m all about service.

Be reminded the PNM put the Venezuelans exactly where, WE, the business community want them to be thus improving the service industry in our country.

However the PNM chooses to continuously bobolize, lay some pipe and stretch the pockets of lazy AF Trinis is certainly not my concern.

And i want allyuh to feel it. Allyuh need a wake up and say enough is enough. Trinis really do not know how much power they have if they stand together.

But for now, i want Imbert to hit allyuh some good back shot that coming allyuh way.

They have my vote.

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2020, 10:19 am

The_Honourable wrote:For today's entertainment...

Hema Ramkissoon spoke with COP Political Leader Carolyn Seepersad Bachan on the Morning Brew. She says the party is continuing to grow and is gearing up for 2020 Elections.

Nope.
Nope.
Nope.

CSB and Prakash securely nailed that coffin shut.

They had it 2010-2015 but frittered it away.

Yep they had 150k votes- and if they did what they said what they were going to do.....and I mean vote in parliament as an independent party-instead of a rubber stamp....they would have been the 3rd party in 2015, but she and prakky decided to become unc small goal sweat side.....effectively dissolving the franchise they obtained in 2010.

why would any one expect them to do differently in 2020.

Failed party-

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2020, 11:01 am

Redman wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:For today's entertainment...

Nope.
Nope.
Nope.

CSB and Prakash securely nailed that coffin shut.

They had it 2010-2015 but frittered it away.

Yep they had 150k votes- and if they did what they said what they were going to do.....and I mean vote in parliament as an independent party-instead of a rubber stamp....they would have been the 3rd party in 2015, but she and prakky decided to become unc small goal sweat side.....effectively dissolving the franchise they obtained in 2010.

why would any one expect them to do differently in 2020.

Failed party-

Hasan Minaj's episode of The Patriot Act on Sunday on the US electoral system and its "winner takes all" end result has lots of applicability for Trinidad despite the differences in our governance framework. Its even more pronounced for us in T&T as citizens here do not vote for Senators so the GE winner automatically gets 51% of senate seats and by default control of the Upper House to go with the Lower House.

Our system much like the US's is tailor made for two parties only and is a legacy of the British.

We need to fix the electoral system and valid 3rd parties will follow. As it stands and 2007 has shown a party can get 23% of votes in a GE and win nothing and another party can get 46% which represents a plurality not a majority and win everything. 2007-2010 PNM was a minority government with a majority mandate.

OFC just like with the Dems and Reps its not in the UNC or PNM's interest to fix it, moreso PNM who would lose the natural advantage they have.

Postby Redman » June 24th, 2020, 11:22 am

2 party systems will always end up where we are-as the US is- 2 sides realise that Opposition eh so bad so they are confronted with not so bad Opposition and Great Govt.
No need to make any effort to innovate-since the downside is limited.

COP should have used their first term in Parliament consolidating their base- and getting their message out in prep for 2015 election.

They would have had a decent shot to show their colors in 2015.

The swing vote is an unserved demographic. It still is,

Postby Dizzy28 » June 24th, 2020, 11:29 am

Redman wrote:COP should have used their first term in Parliament consolidating their base- and getting their message out in prep for 2015 election.

They would have had a decent shot to show their colors in 2015.

The swing vote is an unserved demographic. It still is,

Not disagreeing on the swing vote however COP could have potentially been a voice of reason b/t 2010-2015 then get thrown out completely thereafter and we have 2007 back again. Its not in a 3rd party's interest to be a dissenter in winner takes all.

TBH there is no solution to our two party hegemony other than to change the system though which they derive their powers. Its really pie in the sky to think we can keep the winner takes all system and expect 3rd party coalition partners to not tow the line.