Postby Habit7 » March 3rd, 2024, 8:12 pm

Chimera wrote:Sure you did buddy. Sure you did

:D

death365

Re: Sandals Thread!

Postby death365 » November 12th, 2024, 6:57 am

Thank God for the UNC :-)

other Caribbean countries chasing them away because of no payment of taxes.

Postby The_Honourable » March 15th, 2025, 7:46 pm

A major announcement by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Sandals Resorts will be back for a second attempt in Tobago.

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2025, 12:21 am

The_Honourable wrote:A major announcement by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Sandals Resorts will be back for a second attempt in Tobago.

So Butch's b!tche$ about to make a play to turn a profit without spending a cent, just like the pig-facker who created them tried before and failed.
Fack Butch, he b!tche$, and most importantly, fack that tobgonian jackass allyuh say is allyuh crime minister atm
May their bones and their seed rot, to the tenth generation.

I said what I said, if yuh eh like that
L_ck my d_ck
Pick a vowel and enact the sentence

Postby Gladiator » March 16th, 2025, 1:44 am

The_Honourable wrote:A major announcement by Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley, Sandals Resorts will be back for a second attempt in Tobago.

So Butch's b!tche$ about to make a play to turn a profit without spending a cent, just like the pig-facker who created them tried before and failed.
Fack Butch, he b!tche$, and most importantly, fack that tobgonian jackass allyuh say is allyuh crime minister atm
May their bones and their seed rot, to the tenth generation.

I said what I said, if yuh eh like that
L_ck my d_ck
Pick a vowel and enact the sentence

Butch dead boy... the family fighting for the business, Adam in charge but the others want to split it up. Sandals quality has drastically dropped and the brand is going downhill fast.

Rowley talking a pack of sheit again... anybody in the industry knows that Sandals in trouble and an investment at this time is a huge risk. I guess his speech was geared towards the mites

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 9:35 am

Sandals wanted no taxes on them for 20 years ......how that making any sense

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby Gladiator » March 16th, 2025, 9:47 am

hover11 wrote:Sandals wanted no taxes on them for 20 years ......how that making any sense

IIRC The real reason Sandals pulled out was that an injunction was filed against the use of the land since it was not the property of the government. They didn't like the drama.

Luckily for Rowley most people have 7 day memory

Postby j.o.e » March 16th, 2025, 9:48 am

hover11 wrote:Sandals wanted no taxes on them for 20 years ......how that making any sense

No taxes in itself isn’t an issue if it can be justified by increased airlift and promotion of Tobago. 20 years sounds very extreme but Tobago needs more and better hotels for sure. If you not doing a villa/beach house it’s impossible to get good accommodation. Tobago is as nice or nicer than any other Caribbean island

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2025, 9:51 am

j.o.e wrote:

No taxes in itself isn’t an issue if it can be justified by increased airlift and promotion of Tobago. 20 years sounds very extreme but Tobago needs more and better hotels for sure. If you not doing a villa/beach house it’s impossible to get good accommodation. Tobago is as nice or nicer than any other Caribbean island

Over $1 billion in TAXPAYERS money was going to be spent to build the hotel FOR Sandals.

Sandals spends its OWN money to build hotels in other islands. They buy or lease the land and then build.

Rowley come back again and talking a set of um gwalla gwalla!

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 9:55 am

bluefete wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Over $1 billion in TAXPAYERS money was going to be spent to build the hotel FOR Sandals.

Sandals spends its OWN money to build hotels in other islands. They buy or lease the land and then build.

Men like Joe is the problem in this country.....you coming in a next man country to start a business. The government done giving you a tax break plus you want the government or the ppl of the land to build your hotel too. So allya don't want to spend no kinda money towards the country you operating in just leech of the state? This looks like slavery days all over again, white man want to capitalize off the black man for his own gain, slavery was never abolished the terms and conditions just changed.

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2025, 10:09 am

the other big concession they get is electricity
I went to a sandals in st lucia and everybody room running ac 24hrs no problem
and in those islands current is very very expensive

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2025, 11:13 am

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Men like Joe is the problem in this country.....you coming in a next man country to start a business. The government done giving you a tax break plus you want the government or the ppl of the land to build your hotel too. So allya don't want to spend no kinda money towards the country you operating in just leech of the state? This looks like slavery days all over again, white man want to capitalize off the black man for his own gain, slavery was never abolished the terms and conditions just changed.

Wait till you all find out who built and maintains Hyatt and Hilton

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 11:27 am

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Wait till you all find out who built and maintains Hyatt and Hilton
Right so the answer cannot be to burden the taxpayers with another slush fund posing as development

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2025, 11:31 am

That wasn't all they wanted.

They wanted us foot the bill 100% and build it to their standard, yet they pay no taxes, they get lions share of the profits in USD, they alone to be in charge of who can work there, who can supply the hotel with goods and services (and btw, the idea was they would NOT be hiring locals or even using local suppliers for goods and services, even though the creation of the hotel would immediately devastate the hundreds of smaller players in the industry and negatively impact thousands on the island). That could NEVER work out to be a good thing for Tobago.
If they want all that, they should broker a deal wrt if they can get a tax exemption for their investment, but most importantly invest their own money and build it themselves

People see it was a ripoff and didn't want it then, and see it as a ripoff still and don't want it now, but Sandals right now desperate, so they go try anything.

Postby j.o.e » March 16th, 2025, 11:40 am

They wanted us foot the bill 100% and build it to their standard, yet they pay no taxes, they get lions share of the profits in USD, they alone to be in charge of who can work there, who can supply the hotel with goods and services (and btw, the idea was they would NOT be hiring locals or even using local suppliers for goods and services, even though the creation of the hotel would immediately devastate the hundreds of smaller players in the industry and negatively impact thousands on the island). That could NEVER work out to be a good thing for Tobago.
If they want all that, they should broker a deal wrt if they can get a tax exemption for their investment, but most importantly invest their own money and build it themselves

People see it was a ripoff and didn't want it then, and see it as a ripoff still and don't want it now, but Sandals right now desperate, so they go try anything.

That’s where a negotiation starts and you work your way to the middle. It’s a bad idea on those terms but you don’t have to sign on those terms

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 11:50 am

j.o.e wrote:

That’s where a negotiation starts and you work your way to the middle. It’s a bad idea on those terms but you don’t have to sign on those terms
Get real we have no negotiation skills, do you know how much money those oil giants that have themselves comfortable here are owing us in royalties but have yet to pay. Trinidad always getting the shitttttie end of the stick. That's a fact

Postby j.o.e » March 16th, 2025, 12:08 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Get real we have no negotiation skills, do you know how much money those oil giants that have themselves comfortable here are owing us in royalties but have yet to pay. Trinidad always getting the shitttttie end of the stick. That's a fact

Do you agree with a global hotel chain setting up in Tobago once we don’t give them too many concessions and don’t put out our money ?

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 12:15 pm

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Do you agree with a global hotel chain setting up in Tobago once we don’t give them too many concessions and don’t put out our money ?
Once sandals put their money where their mouth is no problem but not my tax dollars to build your hotel plus tax breaks. No, it’s the generational effect of slavery, indentured servitude and colonialism. It’s been beaten into us to comply and obey massa so I don't see this negotiation going well

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2025, 12:23 pm

People: Why govt don't diversify

Govnt tries to diversify
People: not like that!!!!!!

Postby hover11 » March 16th, 2025, 12:34 pm

Don't cut off our nose to spoil our face government. Think government think. We don't want to be taken advantage of by international bodies. Make mutually beneficial deals that will help both parties in the short and long term

Postby Dizzy28 » March 16th, 2025, 12:38 pm

hover11 wrote:Don't cut off our nose to spoil our face government. Think government think. We don't want to be taken advantage of by international bodies. Make mutually beneficial deals that will help both parties in the short and long term

You living in a country of 1.4m ppl with low levels of business efficiency, high crime and limited economic sophistication.

You think we have great negotiating power?

Postby 88sins » March 16th, 2025, 12:51 pm

j.o.e wrote:That’s where a negotiation starts and you work your way to the middle. It’s a bad idea on those terms but you don’t have to sign on those terms

And yet that Tobagonian kakahole & his anus-sucking minions was enthusiastic to agree to and sign a deal with those terms, and blue vex when he realized people not accepting the bs.

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2025, 1:23 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:People: Why govt don't diversify

Govnt tries to diversify
People: not like that!!!!!!

Come on Dizzy28, you are much better than that.

In these hard times, why must I pay for the gov't to fund Sandals and give them a tax holiday for the next 40 years as well - amon dozens of other incentives.

Let Sandals pay their own way as they wanted to do in the first place by getting a US$500 million loan to build their own hotel.

But Rowley saw an opportunity for CORRUPTION - remember Landate - and told Sandals that we will build it for you.

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2025, 1:24 pm

j.o.e wrote:Do you agree with a global hotel chain setting up in Tobago once we don’t give them too many concessions and don’t put out our money ?

YES!

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2025, 1:25 pm

Thumbs up to Hover. Well said.

Postby The_Honourable » March 16th, 2025, 1:53 pm

Sandals is an excellent idea for Tobago, the problem was that the MoU had T&T at a disadvantage. Since it was a secret, more than likely the final deal would not have differed much from the MoU. Rowley needed Butch, Butch didn't need Rowley. The pnm simpletons choose not to understand this but would have fully understood if the UNC wanted to push this deal instead.

In addition to 88sins points, Rowley was going to take out a multi-billion dollar loan for this project while telling T&T that we have economic challenges and learn to peel cassava. GORTT was telling people that the deal would be transparent but when Afra Raymond asked for a copy, they bawl non-disclosure clause. Afra went to Court, GORTT realize they were about to loose, released it to the public, Butch immediately pulled out saying "T&T too political" where in fact, 2020 elections was close and felt the UNC would have exposed him if they won.

This time around, Butch is deceased with Adam at the helm of Sandals. Stuart Young is seen as friendly to the business class so they will want him elected as PM. The private sector led by Arthur Lok Jack signaled their intention to have Sandals in Tobago and willing to put their investments into it, but this was after sandals pulled out and just before the pandemic. If the private sector is still willing to invest in Sandals, GORTT would probably have minor investment capital and more concerned with land, taxes and other miscellaneous incentives.

Farley is chief secretary of the THA and will have some oversight, but THA elections is 2025-2026 so we're not sure if he would still be in the picture. A PNM THA will surly corporate with Young. Dealing with environmentalists is another issue.

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2025, 2:22 pm

if the MoU was a bad one
the blame must fall on the ppl who agreed to it
plain and simple
unless somebody was getting a kickback under the table

Postby Gladiator » March 16th, 2025, 3:43 pm

pugboy wrote:if the MoU was a bad one
plain and simple

They were getting free stays... not even a monetary kickback LOL

Postby pugboy » March 16th, 2025, 3:44 pm

level 1 crumbs
like them city corp ppl who approve fetes for free tix

Gladiator wrote:
plain and simple

They were getting free stays... not even a monetary kickback LOL

Postby bluefete » March 16th, 2025, 5:56 pm

plain and simple

Shamfa Cudjoe signed it on behalf of the government.

https://www.opm.gov.tt/wp-content/uploa ... U-SCAN.pdf