Budget 2016/2017

Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby desifemlove » October 4th, 2016, 4:06 pm

ingalook wrote:No one else has a problem with the plan to privatise the Couva Hospital???

it wont be privatised, just run by a foreign firm.it would still be under state control. but why not? mt.hope and sando general still have issues, we need new ideas to solve our issues.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 4th, 2016, 5:12 pm

Privatization for healthcare works when you have strong regulatory institutions in place like Europe. Otherwise you end up like the US where an ECG costs $500 us. An ECG btw is very cheap and fast to do.

In Trinidad big money interests will use their contacts in Gov to corrupt the system. These private care facilities will charge ridiculously high prices for medical care and the gov will pay no questions asked, all for cut backs of course. The T&T public will get little value for their money but at least the quality will be higher.

These institutions as is bleed people when they come for private medical care. They will do the necessary test plus x20 unnecessary ones in order to pad the bills up. They use scare mongering to get you to do the most invasive procedures when you will probably be fine doing less invasive ones, all to increase your bill.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 4th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Where was the staff of Couva supposed to come from?

The bulk of the staff was simply to be relocated from San Fernando General - the entire pediatric wing (with the exception of the neonatal unit)

This would have moved pediatric services to a centrally located, spacious, clean, and advanced facility and simultaneously freed up a lot of space at San do for expansion of other units (read: more beds) - but some people had a major problem with this

You think its a mystery why public health gets progressively worse in T&T??? HINT: $$$$

ingalook

Postby ingalook » October 4th, 2016, 5:20 pm

@drchaos

You telling me - recently my cousin went to a Nursing home with a bad belly ache, they kept him there for about 8 hrs ruing tests and scans only to decide his appendix was about to blow and he needed emergency surgery!

He almost died and took weeks to recover from what should have been a routine procedure

Contrast that with my brother a few years back having pain - the doctor looked him over - touched the painful area and immediately ordered him to surgery - saving his life without a battery of tests

Re: RE: Re: Budget 2016/2017

Postby Trini Hookah » October 5th, 2016, 1:00 am

ingalook wrote:Where was the staff of Couva supposed to come from?

The bulk of the staff was simply to be relocated from San Fernando General - the entire pediatric wing (with the exception of the neonatal unit)

This would have moved pediatric services to a centrally located, spacious, clean, and advanced facility and simultaneously freed up a lot of space at San do for expansion of other units (read: more beds) - but some people had a major problem with this

You think its a mystery why public health gets progressively worse in T&T??? HINT: $$$$

Previous government said staff would have been brought in, doctors and nurses, Cuban, DR etc. In addition to opening wards in phases.

Postby 88sins » October 5th, 2016, 6:36 am

not sure how accurate/true this is, but it seems like is more than a few ppl showin clong impsbutt how dotish he is

https://www.change.org/p/the-minister-o ... dium=email

markhall86

Postby markhall86 » October 5th, 2016, 7:59 am

Finance PhD student weighing in here. Firstly, I've created this account just to provide my 2-cents input into this debate.

If there's one thing economist can agree upon over the last 40 years of research is that you CANNOT tax your way out of recession. I don't know what playbook our local experts are pulling from, but they are making all the wrong moves.

In a recession, you want...sorry, need STIMULUS. Austerity measures, such as cutting government spending and social welfare benefits, seek to do the opposite of what you desire to pull yourself out of recession.

A lot of you talk big about 'diversification'. Let me just say a government cannot diversify an economy, it has to be done by the private sector, which has to be enabled and supported by government polices. Polices that make doing business easy.

The only way is to get private sector enterprises is to invest and stimulate. It hardly f*cking matters what industry they seek to do so. The point is, it's the only sustainable way to grow a strong, diversified and growing economy. And eating away at savings in an economy makes it impossible and extremely risky to invest.

Some of you get it. Taxes, removal of welfare benefits, negative recessionary talk and inane taxes on goods that can be productive in our economy are all BACKWARD and economically regressive steps.

Let me explain it to you. Imagine my salary was a nice $10,000 per month. But now, the cost of zero rated VAT items have risen, food vendors and doubles men raise their price to compensate.......ok.....maybe I can absorb that cost. But now fuel subsidies are removed, diesel gone up so all things relying on transport gone up, my rent gone up (because of property tax) and now a 7% tax on goods that I can't or won't but locally.....eating away at my wallet.

What happens to me? Let's say I was trying to save $2000 per month. But clearly, with those inflationary measures and purchasing-power eradication polices enacted by the government, only allows me to save $1000 per month now.

What else do I do? I'm now fearful of spending in this economic climate. I stop playing mas, I go out for dinner and drinks less often, I put off big purchases like a car and house.

So, now imagine many businesses small and big were depending on people like me to continue spending locally. However, due to my cut backs caused by a BACKWARD government fiscal policies, they begin reducing their overhards.

What prey tall are some of the biggest overheads or opex spent by companies: Rent, Salaries and Marketing.

What do you think goes first? Company can't just shut down or reduce rents easily (and rents would have gone up due to property tax), Marketing? Yes to an extent, but they still want to sell sheit, what about employees? Bingo, layoffs almost always come first when revenue declines.

Now not only am I spending less, but now there are less people earning money in our economy......a Downward Spiral.

PNM is trying recoup loss in revenues by taxing the population (and the burden is heavily on the middle class now), and they're doing this WHILE removing welfare measures (not saying they are good, but removing any welfare that was there before has consequences).

It is a recipe for economic disaster and a slow painful recovery (if it ever happens at all). Generally, adjustments achieved through spending cuts are less recessionary than those achieved through tax increases.

Postby maj. tom » October 5th, 2016, 8:34 am

send that to the editorials of all the local papers.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 8:39 am

We have been saying that since the last budget... in this forum self.

Postby Slartibartfast » October 5th, 2016, 8:50 am

Well said.

markhall86 wrote:What else do I do? I'm now fearful of spending in this economic climate. I stop playing mas, I go out for dinner and drinks less often, I put off big purchases like a car and house.

Yet they talk about us having "disposable income" as a bad thing.

Postby Dizzy28 » October 5th, 2016, 9:13 am

If tuners had their way we would exhaust the Heritage and Stabilization fund faster than Charlie Sheen blows through drugs and money in whore house.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 5th, 2016, 10:25 am

I didn't like the approach of the 2016/7 budget, where efforts are being made to curb deficits with taxation.
Where is the development and investment in our future? It's a lot of band-aids and less solutions.
In my opinion, the approach seems to be that there's a lack of ideas to generate revenue, so the revenue must now come from the citizenry.

Overall, the government is (and always has been) grasping on to oil and gas and the focus is that the citizens must bear the brunt of the lack of performance of the oil and gas industry. So...if the oil price drops under $30 again in 2016/7, must we be taxed further in 2017/8 to recover that lost revenue?

I don't mind paying additional taxes if it means that that money would be used for something useful...somewhat of an investment for the citizens...in the citizens.

Let's take the online tax, it is implemented to curb the amount of US currency leaving the country from personal US$ purchases, again to offset the reduced US$ income from oil & gas, and to encourage local spending. The problems with this are that people will evade the tax which defeats the purpose in the first place; local businesses import those same products, which defeats the purpose of local spending; couriers have already started promotions to circumvent the tax by reducing some of their rates; additionally, the option of flying out to do your shopping has just become 7% more feasible.

Tax the high income earners? Lolwut? How you think they got so rich, by paying their due taxes?
Why dispose of revenue generating assets? Why not make them work harder to improve your revenue? Analogy: If you owned an apartment building on a lot of land, why sell the entire building to balance your account when you can borrow some funds to build an additional apartment or two to pay for itself in the future? (..waits for property tax joke)

A few ideas:
1) Fine Woodworking and Furniture Making for export - Refine woodworking skills to above the Servol and NESC levels, open a fine woodworking and furniture making school. Setup a logistical system to measure and control supply and demand for teak and pine, woodworking and furniture making jobs. Let the government invest and take lead on the export of Teak and Pine furniture to the Caribbean to create links to other countries so that, in future, private industries can then capitalise on. Create jobs for teak plantations to make the industry sustainable. We have teak, we have pine, we have to start using them to create foreign exchange. When we have to donate furniture to homes and countries after floods, this is where they should come from.

2) Sustainable food: Farming - Utilize State- owned Caroni agricultural land under a nationwide farming programme. Enlist farmers in a national database and rotate them among fields with different roles based on their performance. They would be paid based on their crop output. The gov't would rotate machinery among farms to ensure that there is low cost overheads to the farmers. Create a logistics network to define supply chains and outlets for farming supplies and retail outlets. Apply the same process to fish farming and tilapia. Promote farming as a sustainable career. Yes, the budget included some aspects of coconuts and cocoa, but just this year, 40 tonnes of cocoa were produced and left to rot because the relevant institutions could not sell them.

3) Food Production - Create a food production facility that uses local produce to make the basic shelf items. Utilize the farmers database as a supply chain. Create an online market for these items with nationwide delivery. Setup branch facilities across the nation to utilize the output of these facilities to create meals on a daily basis. Use these facilities to supply government ministries and institutions with food and meals on a daily basis. This can trickle all the way down to retail outlets where citizens can purchase affordable meals grown, produced and cooked by locals. This creates demand, and farmers will have the impetus to supply.

4) Vehicle manufacturing - There is enough interest, raw materials and talent in the region to produce vehicles - passenger and multipassenger versions. It's a bit far fetched now, but I don't see why this can't be in the works from now for the next 5-7 years. Initially, it can be small scale and using imported parts, but there is definitely a market in the region for it.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2016, 10:37 am

A whole vehicle might not be realistic. We could partner and become a component supplier, as we have the natural gas as the upstream raw material for plastics.

Mould and supply dashboards, mouldings, even harnesses.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 5th, 2016, 10:46 am

Jamaica and Guyana can probably be better suited for aluminium panel and glass production, with assembly done in the higher GDP nations that will have a higher portion of the market.

Miktay

Postby Miktay » October 5th, 2016, 11:07 am

markhall86 wrote:Finance PhD student weighing in here. Firstly, I've created this account just to provide my 2-cents input into this debate.

If there's one thing economist can agree upon over the last 40 years of research is that you CANNOT tax your way out of recession. I don't know what playbook our local experts are pulling from, but they are making all the wrong moves.

True

In a recession, you want...sorry, need STIMULUS. Austerity measures, such as cutting government spending and social welfare benefits, seek to do the opposite of what you desire to pull yourself out of recession.

Stimulus from where? Central bank created new money? Bonds? IADB loans? Increased subsidies?

All of these have drawbacks. They generally increase the indebtedness of the State.

A lot of you talk big about 'diversification'. Let me just say a government cannot diversify an economy, it has to be done by the private sector, which has to be enabled and supported by government polices. Polices that make doing business easy.

True. Big Gubbament has rarely been successful at sustainably diversifying a national economy.

The only way is to get private sector enterprises is to invest and stimulate. It hardly f*cking matters what industry they seek to do so. The point is, it's the only sustainable way to grow a strong, diversified and growing economy. And eating away at savings in an economy makes it impossible and extremely risky to invest.

Some of you get it. Taxes, removal of welfare benefits, negative recessionary talk and inane taxes on goods that can be productive in our economy are all BACKWARD and economically regressive steps.

Let me explain it to you. Imagine my salary was a nice $10,000 per month. But now, the cost of zero rated VAT items have risen, food vendors and doubles men raise their price to compensate.......ok.....maybe I can absorb that cost. But now fuel subsidies are removed, diesel gone up so all things relying on transport gone up, my rent gone up (because of property tax) and now a 7% tax on goods that I can't or won't but locally.....eating away at my wallet.

What happens to me? Let's say I was trying to save $2000 per month. But clearly, with those inflationary measures and purchasing-power eradication polices enacted by the government, only allows me to save $1000 per month now.

Your cost of living has increased. Thats not the same as inflation.

What else do I do? I'm now fearful of spending in this economic climate. I stop playing mas, I go out for dinner and drinks less often, I put off big purchases like a car and house.

So, now imagine many businesses small and big were depending on people like me to continue spending locally. However, due to my cut backs caused by a BACKWARD government fiscal policies, they begin reducing their overhards.

What prey tall are some of the biggest overheads or opex spent by companies: Rent, Salaries and Marketing.

What do you think goes first? Company can't just shut down or reduce rents easily (and rents would have gone up due to property tax), Marketing? Yes to an extent, but they still want to sell sheit, what about employees? Bingo, layoffs almost always come first when revenue declines.

Labor iz the easiest cost 2 reduce.

Now not only am I spending less, but now there are less people earning money in our economy......a Downward Spiral.

Aka a recession.

PNM is trying recoup loss in revenues by taxing the population (and the burden is heavily on the middle class now), and they're doing this WHILE removing welfare measures (not saying they are good, but removing any welfare that was there before has consequences).

It is a recipe for economic disaster and a slow painful recovery (if it ever happens at all). Generally, adjustments achieved through spending cuts are less recessionary than those achieved through tax increases.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 5th, 2016, 11:45 am

Trinidad government has a track record by now of not just being poor, but also HORRIBLE investors. I never see professionals could fail at gaining greater returns than they put in so.

#horribly_poor_investing

Postby desifemlove » October 5th, 2016, 2:07 pm

markhall86 wrote:Finance PhD student weighing in here. Firstly, I've created this account just to provide my 2-cents input into this debate.

this is a standard model, i agree, but doesn't work in our situation. all economies are different and the standard economic practices don't work all the time. when Europe was in recession, they had to cut spending, since debts were too high. the textbook practices dont work and cannot work in all cases. if debts are high, one lessens debts even in a recession.

your textbook stuff also doesn't show how Keynesian thinking (stimulus in recession) has been discredited for years. the USA did this under Bush and Obama, or QE in Europe, but it's moot if that worked in the way.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » October 5th, 2016, 2:17 pm

The above response was generated by a computer bot. U do not need to respond lol

Postby desifemlove » October 5th, 2016, 2:18 pm

the above response was created by a projector...his opinions are invariably facts.

markhall86

Postby markhall86 » October 5th, 2016, 5:03 pm

desifemlove wrote:

this is a standard model, i agree, but doesn't work in our situation. all economies are different and the standard economic practices don't work all the time. when Europe was in recession, they had to cut spending, since debts were too high. the textbook practices dont work and cannot work in all cases. if debts are high, one lessens debts even in a recession.

your textbook stuff also doesn't show how Keynesian thinking (stimulus in recession) has been discredited for years. the USA did this under Bush and Obama, or QE in Europe, but it's moot if that worked in the way.

No such thing as textbook economics son. Econ has never been a scientific field with strict laws, despite having tonnes of well thought out out mathematical hypothesizes on market effects. The strategies being employed by PNM are akin to a business owner who's main source of income came from a property rental. However, suddenly due to factors out of his control, the rental rates received dropped by half. He now seeks to retain his revenue by raising his profit margins in a portion of his other businesses. However, while profits may be retained in the short term, he realizes that demand has fallen across all his businesses because now, his customers are too poor to buy goods in his other businesses. The net effect for him is that unless he finds a way to make his customers rich again, then he's sh*t out of luck.

Basically what I'm saying is that, you don't get out of a recession by making your customers (in our case, tax payers) poorer. I have no idea why PNM thinks that is a good idea, but they've got ulterior motives I'm sure.

The government does need to limit spending on capex as well as being very selective with any new initiatives, ensuring that whatever is spent creates employment.

In fact, when PNM came into power, their measure of raising the income tax bracket was very welcomed anti recessionary measure. However, that should have been coupled with an increase in VAT, not decrease. That's the economic equivalent of shooting yourself in the foot.

Aside from that, if you wanted to ensure recovery, you need to look at where your opex is being spent. Salaries are fine, despite lazy unproductive government workers, you need people to have and spend money, However, as some have pointed out in this thread, government building rentals are a HUGE waste of income, especially since most of that money is leaving the country.

Another thing to remember is that market confidence is based on perception and the last thing you want is a scared risk adverse private sector, which is exactly what's happening now.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 6th, 2016, 3:41 pm

In summary:

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 6th, 2016, 11:47 pm

This budget reminds me of the story of Robbing Hoodlum and his band of lowly highway robbers. Yes the new Sheriff in town of PNMinham is quite busy. Maybe the plan was to tax our way to prosperity.

Since the PNM increased the VAT on 7000 plus items, the doubles vendor and others have been paying their share of the tax.

Chancellor of the Exchequer of England had introduced cuts in spending, but never raised taxes. Gradually England is reducing their Debt to GDP ratio