Where has the best Gyros/Burgers/ Street food in T&T?

Postby crazybalhead » October 9th, 2009, 1:08 pm

silva7 wrote:sauce doubles (curepe)

STEUPS>>>>

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » October 9th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Where is Rampanalgas? what are the prices? what to try?

Postby noshownogo » October 9th, 2009, 2:18 pm

Rampanalgas is up Toco side

d spike

Postby d spike » October 9th, 2009, 2:38 pm

Rampanalgas is after Salybia and before Cumana on the way to Toco. Anything Kay Marin cooks is worth the drive up there, the traffic nonsense in Valencia, a flat tyre and a couple of bad drives on the way...

AbuStar

Postby AbuStar » December 4th, 2009, 5:41 am

good stuff

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 1st, 2010, 8:54 pm

After looking for a buffet breakfast with full works i decided (after speaking with the mgmt) to visit Cascadia hotel this am. I was promised a large spread (potatoes, meats, fresh veggies/fruits, and omelet bar..basically the works! I get their only to be asked "you know how much the breakfast is right" didn't bother me that much, however what did bother me was how wrong their description was.

1) There was very little selection.
2) NO OMELET BAR! not even so much as scrambled eggs
3) Terrible service
4) After getting their at 8:30am I was basically left with scraps.

I spoke with the people at Hyatt and Hilton each of which offered a breakfast buffet Hyatt @ $158.50/person and Hilton @ 203/person and Kapok $107/Person. Cascadia charged me $120. Overall i'm not impressed and most likely will not return.

so my question would be where's the best breakfast buffet in trini?!

edit: i know i made this thread for best places to eat but i was so put off i thought this could help those who we're thinking of visiting.

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 17th, 2010, 2:03 pm

just had lunch at "Trini to D Bone" restaurant. I had bake chicken, macaroni salad, potato salad, which I paid $38 (as expected).

Food did NOT taste good. I got basically scraps of what was left. Would not recommend. Bad decision considering i was already in royal castle but the line was to long.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 17th, 2010, 2:15 pm

zeeshan66 wrote:FINALLY BACK,

After being out of the country for the last 3 months i'm back and hungrier than ever haha.

I recently tried Jenny's (south) and was pretty disappointed. Won tons tasted stale, and their chicken low mein, a very simple dish had little to no taste. Good drinks poor service. Won't be going back anytime soon.

WHAT'S NEXT. Anything new open up in the last while???

jenny's south food has been pretty bad for a while now... donno wat happened...

zeeshan66

Postby zeeshan66 » February 17th, 2010, 7:59 pm

yepp tried it again with nothing good to report. Their prices are also stupid high

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2010, 8:44 pm

look like you setting your hopes too high
i hear hyatt has a good sunday breakfast buffet, never been though
but a lot of the hilton crowd has switched to there

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » February 17th, 2010, 10:34 pm

Hilton had a good Breakfast buffet, especially for their Sunday Brunch.
Haven't been for a couple years.

Never been overly impressed with Hyatt's food.
Ambience/style/staff - 10
Food - 7

wendell09

Postby wendell09 » February 18th, 2010, 8:09 am

try resturante garabaldi on aripita ave bess italian
zanzabar in movie town good food god prices
that doubles fella opposite santa rosa horse racing park the one with the pepper choka

Kittles

Postby Kittles » February 18th, 2010, 8:36 am

^ i went to ristorante garibaldi last sat - there were only 2 ppl there when we arrived and no one else came in after they left. :lol:
The restaurant itself was tiny and not really fancy - but the food was really good! I had the lamb which was almost perfectly done. The chef came out to talk to the customers and find out if they like the food and stuff.

Zeeshan - the best Bfast buffet is in Flambeau ( its in Marriott ) excellent food and a lot of variety!

Haterkiller

Postby Haterkiller » February 18th, 2010, 1:57 pm

Kittles Post subject:Zeeshan-The best Bfast buffet is in Flambeau ( its in Marriott ) excellent food and a lot of variety!

Take Kitties advice if you want bfast check Flambeau or you can also visit my choices below>>

Tiki Village in Kapok Hotel POS for breakfast or lunch!!...8/10
Bouganevilla located in Couva-American/Chinese/Curry...8/10
Tamnak-Thai located Queens Park Savannah POS-Thai/Mongolian...8/10
Sea-Wall located in Mayaro going to Guayaguyare-Ital/Curry/Creole...10/10
Last time i tried Sea-Wall was in 2006.Don't know if they still exists!!
Kay (Arthurs) located in Rampanalgas,Toco-Ital/Creole...10/10

Postby crazybalhead » February 18th, 2010, 2:05 pm

After quite a few years I tried the Lighthouse last Saturday in Crew's Inn.

Service was OK, the rum punch was good. The food was a bit boring. I had the catch of the day, and it was bleh. Wifey had veges and calamari, the veges were tastelss and the calamari salty and rubbery. The best calamari I've had in a while has to be Bootleggers in Trincity.

As we on trincity, had to go to a wake in the area recently and stopped of at the italian restaurant opposite pennywise (somebody help me with the name nah), lemme tell allyuh,

THE SEAFOOD RISOTTO WAS EXCELLENT!!!!!! THE SERVICE WAS ALSO EXCELLENT!!!!!!!

This is despite it being a busy night.

Definitely going back dey. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Postby crazybalhead » February 18th, 2010, 2:06 pm

Racers Inspired wrote:Mona's ROti shop! marabella
S & D Roti Shop sando

Boy haven't had a roti there in ages, but what I remember lasheth GREATLY!!

Postby crazybalhead » February 18th, 2010, 2:13 pm

Kittles wrote:[quote="eurogirl"]channa does have dhal in it yuh punk :roll: last time i brought it I saw dhal in it ..

Nicks is opposite the primary school ..

:shock: :shock: :shock:
first time i hearin that one!!

anyways bread and channa and cheese is not my kinda thing. I prefer bussup with my channa! :o[/quote]

Clearly eurogirl cyah cook. :?

neckto

Postby neckto » February 18th, 2010, 2:20 pm

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 00#4247900

all the hot spots for ham lovers right here

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » February 18th, 2010, 2:26 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Racers Inspired wrote:Mona's ROti shop! marabella
S & D Roti Shop sando

Boy haven't had a roti there in ages, but what I remember lasheth GREATLY!!

S&D is d best roti in south... maybe trinidad... i eh experience enough north roti to make that comment absolutely tho...

Monas fail big time now, however.

glennj

best burger in trinidad?

Postby glennj » February 26th, 2010, 9:51 am

where do u think is the best spot in trinidad to get burgers?
i tried a place in pasea road last night
OVER THE LINE Burgers.
dudes, u getting 2 large patties of pure meat,then cheese, pineapple, veggies galore.loads of sauces and a huge bun for $28.00
greedy me ordered 2, couldnt even eat one.
any more great spots?

Edge

Postby Edge » February 26th, 2010, 9:54 am

Lower El Socorro Main Road on the left hand side. Burger does lash!

Sloppy Joe FTMFW!

Postby SR » February 26th, 2010, 9:55 am

yup
the original burger man burgers

tool-band

Postby tool-band » February 26th, 2010, 9:56 am

JAFFA's burgers rock

for street stands there is a fairly new one opposite starlite in Diego that's pretty good

glennj

Postby glennj » February 26th, 2010, 9:57 am

JAFFA'S is located where?

urabus

Postby urabus » February 26th, 2010, 9:59 am

Varsha's Burger patties :lol:

When I feeling for a burger I head out side Grand Bazaar....its ok, i usually have the shrimps

but i hears about the place in el socorro too.

Mr. Cheese

Postby Mr. Cheese » February 26th, 2010, 10:01 am

Kamboulay on Sutton St in San Fernando 0X

Postby SR » February 26th, 2010, 10:02 am

i dont like a burger masked by one set of dressings and conduments

that usually means the patty is tasteless

Dragist

Postby Dragist » February 26th, 2010, 10:05 am

glennj wrote:JAFFA'S is located where?

In the Queens Park Oval

Postby Dave » February 26th, 2010, 10:05 am

SR wrote:yup
the original burger man burgers

dittoed

just last week Friday i went and ordered up some shrimp burgers

Postby tr1ad » February 26th, 2010, 10:06 am

urabus wrote:Varsha's Burger patties :lol:

When I feeling for a burger I head out side Grand Bazaar....its ok, i usually have the shrimps

but i hears about the place in el socorro too.

you dont get out much do you.......

i agree with mr cheese and as well el socorro burger man formerly known as valsayn burgers