Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

lostboys crew

Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby lostboys crew » May 7th, 2016, 6:02 am

80km is only 50mph that is slow a facking cat does do 65mph. My comfortable speed limit is 80mph and cruising speed is 60mph.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby *KRONIK* » May 7th, 2016, 6:05 am

maj. tom wrote:Yes, Governments usually buy equipment from ebay. Ebay also calibrates and services these machines, with a certificate, and give warranty and free shipping. Then the Ebay seller comes down using his own money on plane tickets and educates the police on how to use and maintain the equipment properly.

Hoss....ur daddy is a minister or something?

There is no way to justify the current proposed cost for the other 50 speed guns.
50 guns at 40mil works out 800k per gun...
U find that making any sense?

Postby maj. tom » May 7th, 2016, 6:23 am

No, I was showing that ppl comparing unfeasible costs to ebay prices. People who never used ebay before. Is that equipment even new or certified?

No, the cost seems quite unfair to taxpayers. And what are you going to do about it? Besides the kyaking on tuner I mean.

Anybody checking their MP over the issue? Anyone actually contacting an authorized seller in USA by email and checking how much a State pays over there? Anyone doing anything here besides complaining on how to break the law and then wondering why Trinidad in such a mess?

Postby Rory Phoulorie » May 7th, 2016, 7:14 am

:| One set of pseudo highway engineers here talking about what the speed limit should be without having an inkling as to what factors need to be considered in designing a road.

The Government is not going to raise the speed limit above what is the design speed for the road.

Like I said before, with our driving culture here in T&T, the way our roads are poorly maintained by successive governments, the poor inspection process of vehicles by the government agency and private inspection stations, and the design speed of our roads, a speed limit of 80km/h on the highway for vehicles with MGWs below 2500kg is just fine.

Who wants to exceed the speed limit, let them take the charge from the TTPS and shut the fock up. People conveniently want to obey certain laws that suit them and break others that don't. What a farce!

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 7:38 am

Raise the speed limit.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 7:44 am

Now, this a good case study to show that increasing penalties is not the deterrent to crime, but improving your detection and prosecution capabilities are.

Hanging a person for a crime is very final. Many times mistakes are made and later on people get exonerated. If they are dead it does not help. Bringing back the death penalty isn't the way to deter criminals, but finding them and getting evidence for them is.

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2016, 7:52 am

I know some ppl are saying for police and emergency services to obey the speed limit but they should break it when there are emergencies.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 8:14 am

When they aren't responding to an emergency they should be subject to the laws of the land ad every other citizen. I.e. not using ur sirens to evade traffic light and clear through traffic.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 7th, 2016, 8:33 am

What about all them Prados with the flashing blue lights. Them not subject to d laws of d land it seems...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 7th, 2016, 8:42 am

maj. tom wrote:No, I was showing that ppl comparing unfeasible costs to ebay prices. People who never used ebay before. Is that equipment even new or certified?

No, the cost seems quite unfair to taxpayers. And what are you going to do about it? Besides the kyaking on tuner I mean.

Anybody checking their MP over the issue? Anyone actually contacting an authorized seller in USA by email and checking how much a State pays over there? Anyone doing anything here besides complaining on how to break the law and then wondering why Trinidad in such a mess?

:rofl: is how men saying boi Dan boi that gun real cheap on eBay boi.

You right tuners full of kyakers who don't research. When you provide them with logic they turn and accuse you of something.

Postby j.o.e » May 7th, 2016, 8:57 am

Swisha wrote:What about all them Prados with the flashing blue lights. Them not subject to d laws of d land it seems...

Those are noticeably scarce of late .... Only now realized

Postby tr1ad » May 7th, 2016, 9:11 am

very scarce...

i myself am researching the speed limit of T vehicles, specifically below 2800 kg - MGW
my north run today at 75km, a lot, lot of people still way over and beyond 80km
75km wasn't so bad, but that was just a weekend day....

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 7th, 2016, 9:14 am

Those guns come with optional add ons.... Might have the full compliment seeing as they are also printing the picture that was taken at the time they are issuing the ticket

Soundstream_626

Postby Soundstream_626 » May 7th, 2016, 9:16 am

some excellent information here

I think if our highways were properly paved, Cable barriers installed the entire length and there are sufficient highway patrols, 100kmh is an acceptable limit.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 7th, 2016, 9:18 am

Actual price is around 5000 usd still 1/8 the cost of what T&T government paid for it.

But that EBAY sh!% is dumb ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 7th, 2016, 9:29 am

you all know there was an article which stated that approximately 50 guns were expected to be purchased at a cost of 14mil..Now these guns are old as fcuk and is no way costing $280,000 per gun......let's do this right?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 7th, 2016, 9:43 am

Reading a quote from Lti to another. The equipment cost is like $6500US but that doesn't include all the options/accessories...There is also the matter of training and certifying officers in its use, upgrades, extended warranties, etc..... That will up the cost a bit.
They might also have to have those units re certified/inspected every year or so, similar to how it is done for elevators or boilers

neexis

Postby neexis » May 7th, 2016, 9:46 am

On the upside.. at 80km/h it's never been easier to operate a vehicle under the influence of alcohol! Drinker/drivers rejoice!

Another vote for keeping it at 80!

Postby Habit7 » May 7th, 2016, 10:01 am

Yesterday I left Sando at 7:30am drove at 80kph, didn't encounter traffic until Aranguez, normally at least by Monroe Rd traffic begins. It was calm and all the slow traffic kept to the left while speeders had a clear right lane. The only time I saw trouble was when a 80kph was overtaking a 60kph and the 100-140kph backed up for a couple seconds before they had leeway again.

Relax trinis, it's called obeying the law.

Postby toyolink » May 7th, 2016, 10:18 am

Yes, at this time things seem to have improved.
The situation is not unlike when the ticket system was first implemented.
Unfortunately, going on past experience people will most likely revert to old habits when the short comings and ways to beat it become known.
The ticket system was put under so much pressure in the early days that police officers were more in court than on the roads and govt had to give amnesty (I think twice ).
Behavioural adjustment has always proven difficult to achieve.

Postby sMASH » May 7th, 2016, 10:34 am

The guns are a mobile demonstration of the fixed camera traffic system. The way forward should not be more guns, but cameras along the road networks. This would also be used to track vehicles of interest like if they were stolen or involved in a crime. Or even used to gather video evidence of crimes.
U can use them to remotely surveil a scene near immediately compared to when physical officers might be able to respond.

So, if we hadda spend my tax Money to give me my potential ticket, lewwe spend it in a way where it can also help me too

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 7th, 2016, 10:39 am

maj. tom wrote:Yes, Governments usually buy equipment from ebay. Ebay also calibrates and services these machines, with a certificate, and give warranty and free shipping. Then the Ebay seller comes down using his own money on plane tickets and educates the police on how to use and maintain the equipment properly.

:mrgreen:

They just vex they didnt get the contract cause you know them buying cheap used stuff from ebay (or China) and selling it with a 200% markup.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » May 7th, 2016, 10:40 am

ingalook wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

Traffic moves like a wave when people are not terrified of being charged for being 5km over the speed limit - if they are, then it moves like a fluid.

Expect the average speed to fall to 70-75 after people stop trusting their speedos

Traffic moves like a wave when people are not terrified of being charged for being 5km over the speed limit - if they are, then it moves like a fluid.

Elaborate on this please . I trying to understand the physics of it.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » May 7th, 2016, 11:36 am

aaron17 wrote:I know some ppl are saying for police and emergency services to obey the speed limit but they should break it when there are emergencies.

By how much should they be allowed to break it? If the masses want it stay at 80 because of design, engineering, and safety concerns, it should remain at 80 for all. We should not risk the lives of our protective services and politicians by even entertaining that idea.

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2016, 11:42 am

90?

Black Scorpion

Postby Black Scorpion » May 7th, 2016, 11:51 am

Last night around 10pm police were escorting 3 SIS empty flat bed trailer truckers. Cant say how fast they were going but it was fast.

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect from Monday

Postby aaron17 » May 7th, 2016, 11:54 am

Black Scorpion wrote:Last night around 10pm police were escorting 3 SIS empty flat bed trailer truckers. Cant say how fast they were going but it was fast.

Yea I saw something like an escort on the highway during the day

Postby K74T » May 7th, 2016, 11:58 am

Traffic on the south bound a short distance after Brentwood, couple police on the shoulder, not an exercise but a body in the field.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » May 7th, 2016, 2:09 pm

Don't worry folks, if they could mashup Toyota hilux sorry for guns.
giving them three months.

ingalook

Postby ingalook » May 7th, 2016, 2:20 pm

EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:
EmilioA wrote:
ingalook wrote:So the government very effectively reduced the average speed motorist drive on the highway from 110km to 80km overnight - good job there...

They also reduced the carrying capacity of the highway by over 27% overnight as well...

Why don't they barricade the 3rd Lane while they at it - since it seems like they are intent on moving backward

You cant actually say that. Traffic moves like a wave not a fluid. I recall reading studies showing that slower speeds actually increase capacity since most traffic jams are caused by fast cars having to drastically change speeds when another car moves from lane to lane.

If you moving into a lane, a car in that lane has to decrease his speed to give you a chance. leading to the car behind him having to slow down slightly more and on and on until somebody about 15 cars behind has to actually stop. And of course everybody behind him has to stop too even if only for a few seconds. But that stopping continues to ripple backwards as a wave.

Now if the right lane isnt moving fast to begin with , that allows a smoother transition with less need for braking. hence fewer traffic jams.

Expect the average speed to fall to 70-75 after people stop trusting their speedos

Elaborate on this please . I trying to understand the physics of it.

The slowing down and speeding up is reduced, hence there is a flow - if you will get a ticket @81km you won't overtake even if someone is doing 70km on the left lane because during the act of overtaking you will cross 80 and get a ticket.

Coming back to the carrying capacity of the road, if your journey would take you about 30 mins and now it takes 45 mins CERTAINLY there is a reduction in the amount of vehicles that can use the highway in any given time period.