Re: CB Governor says T&T officially in recession

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2015, 7:35 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:
oh gosh, come off that sheit. Rambarran attended Harvard University. He is more than qualified. If you want to use that same argument, what qualifications the current Minister of Energy have, what about Sarah Alisa Budhu, Avinash Singh? Oh please, it the same game PNM doing that Kamla did. Raffique Shah, LMAO.
Um...JR did not graduate from Harvard, he attended a programme there. The current governor is PhD graduate of another ivy league school Colombia University.

Sarah Budhu not in the govt and Avinash is a parliamentary secretary. The Minister of Energy qualifications I posted already viewtopic.php?f=4&t=642009&p=8868321#p8868321 which far exceeds Kevin Ramnarine which I can't under why the UNC fb posse keeps calling her OJT. Ramnarine wasn't even middle management when UNC pluck him out of BG and replace Carolyn after she threaten to investigate the Gopaul/Kamla connection.

Um, he still attended Harvard. Colombia is nowhere near the level of Harvard. I have 2 friends who got accepted into Colombia (and they weren't that sharp to begin with.)

Hoss, if you want to get chronic with it...Kevin Ramnarine graduated with a B.Sc. degree in Chemistry, a M.Sc. degree in Petroleum Engineering and an International MBA. (and is also a Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers). The PNM one has a Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree in Chemistry & Computer Science and the person on your page put Frist Class Honours, UWI. Chemistry and computer science not as hard as chemistry, msc in petroleum and an MBA. The rest of the stuff they add onto she ting there like workshops and all that kinda laughable (and pathetic.)

Anyway, the point I making is....to argue about qualification and all that is to ignore and condone what going on in the country. Open all yuh eyes nah. Look at what the current government doing. Is not really a a battle between UNC and PNM...is the corrupt rich people on top that have all yuh in a divide and conquer mentality and fighting for the corrupt sheit they doing.

Habit7 will make you believe that the University of Woodford square is a real school.

Postby rspann » December 27th, 2015, 7:40 pm

Kewell,you see that last paragraph,say it again.
Last edited by rspann on December 27th, 2015, 7:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby desifemlove » December 27th, 2015, 7:40 pm

was he a senior economist anywhere? written papers? gained post-grad qualifications? taught economics in a uni? been a prior advisor to a former PM whether PNM or UNC? is qualifications just papers?
Last edited by desifemlove on December 27th, 2015, 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 27th, 2015, 7:43 pm

desifemlove wrote:was he a senior economist anywhere? written papers? gained post-grad qualifications? taught economics in a uni? been a prior advisor to a former PM whether PNM or UNC?

who you talking about? the current minister of energy? or alvin hillaire?

Rambarran worked at the IMF Institute and the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He has a Master's Degree in Economics. Try again. All yuh does read the Express a little too much.

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2015, 7:46 pm

Kewell35 wrote:
desifemlove wrote:was he a senior economist anywhere? written papers? gained post-grad qualifications? taught economics in a uni? been a prior advisor to a former PM whether PNM or UNC?

Rambarran worked at the IMF Institute and the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He has a Master's Degree in Economics. Try again. All yuh does read the Express a little too much.

Express is where tuner gets all its news from bro.

Habit7 and Rfari are master posters of express.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 27th, 2015, 7:49 pm

Jawala only got where he is because of Dookeran.

Paper qualifications is one thing but experience and being respected in the business and financial circles is another thing.

Postby zoom rader » December 27th, 2015, 7:59 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Jawala only got where he is because of Dookeran.

Paper qualifications is one thing but experience and being respected in the business and financial circles is another thing.

Trinis idea of being respected is to be buddy buddy chummy chummy to fill other ppl pockets.

The man hold back US and trini business vex they can't hoard.

Postby shogun » December 27th, 2015, 8:31 pm

DTAC wrote:You do understand that gains by, "security companies, taxi drivers, clothing stores , food vendors , tent/ equipment renters , hotels etc etc etc" is massively outweighed by the loss in production of the entire country as a whole, right?

I hope by "country as a whole" you mean primarily larger/mainstream businesses? as those are the ones that might suffer the greatest loss in productivity, but that can also be balanced by the fact that they tend to enjoy the greater profits all year long. The fact is that much needed income is generated by services, and industries that are largely ignored by the mainstream economy and welcome the influx of economic stimulation that Carnival brings. Our problem with Carnival is management and not balancing the "festival" and 'industry" aspect of Carnival and making it more the latter. Lots of tuners have the attitude that "i eh like it, so get rid of it" but in a democratic society, this can't be the attitude if we truly want diversification and economic balance. The fact is if Carnival is developed/nurtured to it's full potential and more emphasis placed on developing cottage industries and small and medium-sized enterprises associated with Carnival, more of the benefits can/could be felt by the country as a whole.

"For many of the countries, particularly Trinidad and Tobago, which boasts the Region’s largest Carnival celebration, Carnival or ‘Mas,’ as this festival is commonly referred to, is intertwined into the very fabric of the society and is considered one of the most important cultural exports. However, much needs to be done to recognize Carnival not just as a social event but as an important economic activity.

Industry reports indicate that within the past decades, the Trinidad and Tobago masquerade industry has become one of the flagships of the Carnival business landscape of Trinidad and Tobago. Carnival’s visitor arrivals have grown by 60 per cent since the late 1990s and continue to grow annually. Similarly, Government reports indicate that revenue from Trinidad and Tobago’s Carnival exceeds on average US$100 million. The Mas industry also generates significant economic activity in a range of sectors in the local economy such as entertainment, media, hospitality and retail sectors.
Additionally, overseas diaspora carnivals generate millions in revenue. Carnival therefore, has grown over the years into a viable and sustainable global economic industry supported by talent, expertise, skills and knowledge that are almost exclusively Caribbean.

On the socio-economic level, Carnival generates business opportunities for singers, song writers, choreographers, costume builders and designers, make up artists and musicians, to name a few. Even more importantly Carnival has driven the growth and development of micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs), many of which are skills-based services. These range from entertainment services related to cultural art forms such as dance, to the production of local crafts, cuisine, and the display of folk arts such as Lapeau Cabrit (playing of drums lined with goats skins), the orchestration of steel pans (pan playing) and portrayal of ‘traditional carnival characters’. "

http://www.acs-aec.org/index.php?q=pres ... ts-tourism

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 27th, 2015, 8:59 pm

Revenue exceeds US$100 Million.....

How much does the government spend?

What percentage of the money coming in really trickles down?
Is there a chart showing how carnival revenue is distributed?

I mean if the majority goes to the big mas bands who make and assemble the costumes in China...does mas really benefit Trinidad & Tobago?

Postby shogun » December 27th, 2015, 9:13 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^
Revenue exceeds US$100 Million.....

How much does the government spend?

The National Carnival Commission (NCC) has pumped a staggering TT$100 million (US$15.8 million) into Trinidad and Tobago’s

http://dominicanewsonline.com/news/home ... ival-2011/

Numb3r4 wrote:What percentage of the money coming in really trickles down?
Is there a chart showing how carnival revenue is distributed?

Those as well as questions surrounding importation of materials/outsourcing of expertise is a question that can be asked of MANY businesses locally. More transparency/efficiency is always welcomed.

Postby De Dragon » December 28th, 2015, 1:17 am

Habit7 wrote:‘Do so ‘ent like so’
Published on Dec 26, 2015, 6:27 pm AST
By Raffique Shah

I am surprised that so many people are surprised by the termination of services—firing, suspension, the euphemistically-couched “sent on administrative leave”—of several senior government officials, the most prominent being Governor of the Central Bank, Jwala Rambarran.

Clearing the politically-constructed State-stables of partisan appointees is a ritual that occurs every time a government changes.

The new regime moves with haste to terminate incumbents on State commissions and boards, starting with those entities and enterprises that they see as critical to the policies and programmes they wish to implement.

Hence, within weeks of taking office, the new PNM administration replaced directors at oil giant Petrotrin and the National Gas Company (NGC), the two pillars of the energy sector. Shortly afterwards, a few senior NGC executives were fired as investigations into certain transactions were undertaken.

The Government also hastily installed a new board to straddle the State-owned media houses CNMG and GISL, and in the process a number of heads at the organisations rolled.

Non-executive directors and politically-appointed executive officers know well that their tenure is tied to their political benefactors’ fortunes. Even those who are not members or supporters of the governments that appoint them become collateral damage when change comes.

In the case of ex-Governor Rambarran, his appointment has been contentious from the day he was elevated to the senior-most position in the country financial superstructure—other than the Minister of Finance—back in 2012.

Many persons, among them respected economists and experts in finance, posited that Rambarran was not experienced enough to hold the critical portfolio, and that there were others, including Alvin Hilaire who was a deputy governor, who were more eminently qualified and experienced.

Rambarran’s appointment was thus dogged by politics from day one. When a foreign exchange shortage erupted early in his watch, back when oil prices were high and export earnings healthy, it was said that a crisis arose where there had been none before.

So Rambarran was a marked man, and he seems to have facilitated his demise by naming recipients of foreign exchange, possibly breaching confidentiality. Those who applauded him for exposing the biggest users of foreign exchange will undoubtedly cry foul if their bankers should reveal their banking data.

I imagine Ramnarran’s dismissal, like Jerlean John’s “administrative leave” from the HDC, would end up in court, so I say no more.

It is ironical, though, that those in the former PP Government who are screaming out loud over what they see as “PNM political victimisation” have conveniently forgotten similar actions they took shortly after coming to office in 2010.

The one that remains etched in my memory is the dismissal of Brigadier Peter Joseph as head of the Special Anti-Crime Unit (SAUTT). Then PM Kamla Persad-Bissessar made the announcement at Piarco airport, just before she jetted off somewhere.

The dismantling of SAUTT was inevitable once the PP came to power. But the way Joseph was fired was scandalous. And as if to underscore how unjust his dismissal was, the Government quietly paid him a substantial sum to pre-empt the matter going to court.

In fact, the PP Government went on a wild firing spree, dismissing hundreds of directors from all State enterprises’ boards, replacing them with their own selectees, and in most cases expanding the boards “to the max” to accommodate sundry party loyalists.

They not only dismissed the directors, but persecuted and even prosecuted some of the more prominent.

Let me jog some memories: at E-Teck, Professor Ken Julien, Dr Rene Monteil, Uric McNicol, Brian Copeland, Eugene Tiah and Sonia Noel were fired and sued for TT$30 million, state of lawsuit unknown.

At UTT, Julien (again!), Monteil (again!), Giselle Marfleet, Scott Hilton-Clarke, Ravindra “Raviji” Maharaj and Errol Pilgrim were fired and sued for TT$11.4 million. That case collapsed a few months ago.

Malcolm Jones, executive director at Petrotrin in 2010, was fired along with other directors. Jones was personally sued for TT$1.2 billion—status unknown.

Calder Hart and other directors at UDECOTT fired and sued for TT$500 million: status unknown.

These are but a sampling of the way the PP Government hounded prominent public personalities, persons who served their country, out of office.

Professor Julien, a most respected energy expert who advised governments from as far back as the establishment of the Point Lisas Industrial Estate, fled to Ghana where his services were in demand.

Jones went into internal exile until he and Julien were summoned to serve by the new Government.

I have not mentioned other professionals—academics, doctors, lawyers, engineers, contractors—who were similarly punished by the PP.

Now, they accuse the PNM of discrimination and victimisation. Check the ethnic imbalance of their State-boards.

This is a classic case of “do so ‘ent like so.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20151226 ... ike-so8217

So the perpetuation of fackery is alright by you as long as it is PNM doing said fackery?

Postby desifemlove » December 28th, 2015, 12:46 pm

UNCs would accept Kams telling them water runs uphill and dogs bark fire....cos she dey leader and dey does love she like dey mudda...

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 1:11 pm

Wonder how UNC go fare if Rodney Charles is the new leader.

Postby desifemlove » December 28th, 2015, 4:01 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

In what capacity?

I just asking to see what "qualifications" means in this context.

Postby RASC » December 28th, 2015, 6:29 pm

Kewell is ED on steroids.
Colombia is no where near Harvard etc rhetoric.
Comparing someone taking a programme at Harvard vs completing a PhD at Colombia and saying the Harvard programme carries more weight as justification for their hiring over the Dr.

You can't make this stuff up!
Only on chuna :lol:

Postby The_Honourable » December 28th, 2015, 7:37 pm

Allyuh good yes...

If you want to compare so much, here you go:

Jwala Rambarran: http://www.central-bank.org.tt/sites/de ... barran.pdf

Alvin Hilaire: http://www.central-bank.org.tt/sites/de ... ILAIRE.pdf

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » December 28th, 2015, 7:41 pm

Charlene Ramdhanie resigned as a senior manager in the CB.

The same Charlene Ramdhanie as the one in the video below.

One really has to ask how she got that position in the first place and why she resigned after Jwala got the axe.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » December 28th, 2015, 8:21 pm

neilsingh100 wrote:Charlene Ramdhanie resigned as a senior manager in the CB.

The same Charlene Ramdhanie as the one in the video below.

One really has to ask how she got that position in the first place and why she resigned after Jwala got the axe.

From News anchor to senior manager.....Amazing success story

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 8:49 pm

wonder who she bullin

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 8:53 pm

RASC wrote:Kewell is ED on steroids.
Comparing someone taking a programme at Harvard vs completing a PhD at Colombia and saying the Harvard programme carries more weight as justification for their hiring over the Dr.

I don't know who or what ED is.

Colombia is really not anywhere near the level of Harvard.

I never said that taking a programme at Harvard is better than a PhD at Colombia. I did say that attending Harvard is better for a graduate than attending Colombia. Don't twist it around. Also, the point is that he was qualified for the job. You again are diverting from the main point.

Postby desifemlove » December 28th, 2015, 9:45 pm

So how come she resign now?

ooohh..i get it...UNCs gonna say it bullying.....and hounding out....and PNM acting on "political favours to friends and family...

#UNClogic

Postby Redman » December 28th, 2015, 9:53 pm

desifemlove wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

In what capacity?

I was told he was sent by the CBTT on a scholarship to the IMF.

By the CBTt......not like he applied and got a job arms length.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 9:55 pm

Redman wrote:
desifemlove wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

In what capacity?

I was told he was sent by the CBTT on a scholarship to the IMF.

By the CBTt......not like he applied and got a job arms length.

More definitive source needed dude

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 9:56 pm

desifemlove wrote:Image

ooohh..i get it...UNCs gonna say it bullying.....and hounding out....and PNM acting on "political favours to friends and family...

#UNClogic

Is nothing new. The amount of unqualified young thin indian girls getting high position ridiculous.

Postby De Dragon » December 28th, 2015, 10:15 pm

Yeah, 4214 kilometres is pretty far.

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 10:16 pm

You really had to search this up to make a witty reply to me right? I feel complimented.

Postby De Dragon » December 28th, 2015, 10:17 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

You really had to search this up to make a witty reply to me right? I feel complimented.

It helps when you know how to spell the word that you'd like to search...........

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 10:22 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

It helps when you know how to spell the word that you'd like to search...........

Um, I was talking about Colombia University....you know the one in the country Colombia.....

Point remains.

Postby S_2NR » December 28th, 2015, 11:08 pm

Kewell35 wrote:

#UNClogic

Is nothing new. The amount of unqualified young thin indian girls getting high position ridiculous.

hmmm..would smash all the young thin indian girls

Kewell35

Postby Kewell35 » December 28th, 2015, 11:15 pm

S_2NR wrote:
Kewell35 wrote:

#UNClogic

hmmm..would smash all the young thin indian girls

after me