Diversification! Oil prices falling!

Re: oil prices falling

Postby Habit7 » January 7th, 2015, 2:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:80%, T&T is going to go bankrupt because 80% of GATE applicants choose to do BA Carnival Studies, a Humanities program (one of the cheapest at UWI).

There really is such a thing??

How to make money from the region's biggest cultural celebration and the country's largest tourism earner, what a waste!

subie_2NR

Postby subie_2NR » January 7th, 2015, 2:51 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1420656706.067414.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » January 7th, 2015, 2:53 pm

^ Scene!!

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 7th, 2015, 5:32 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
pioneer wrote:lolwut?

People takin GATE to do degree in steelpan and bar tending.

Get real.

This is true and I keep wondering why anyone would do a BSc in Carnival which does exist apparently.

But what about Doctors and Engineers etc? Mechanical and Electrical technicians etc? the world needs skilled people like this especially Trinidad, we need Computer Scientists etc.

For the very least GATE should be given for highly technical field to encourage people to get into. Too much people are going to school with the hope of getting a 3 in Social Studies CXC so they can join the fire, prison, customs, police etc or to gain entry into a BSc in Carnival. Many of these so called degrees are actually no more than what is taught at a trade school. But the schools who teach these things are government school.......

companies not paying so what incentive it have to get any degree and stay in trinidad? when you get such highly technical knowledge, who in trinidad can really put your knowledge and skills to good use? computer scientist what? listen... this country is is a tribal culture. what use a tribesman have in a tribe with a computer science degree when all everyone does is pick corn? trinidad is a tourist destination, to serve the white man a happy time when he come here. not for slaves to move up in life. this society is guilty of letting many im very sure.. brilliant minds slip through the cracks. we're too old fashioned, our leaders are old fogies who dont understand half of the new world that changed since they were a kid especially in the area of technology and what they studied in school.

perhaps when these old fowl minds we have running the country have finally expired and the new generation with a different mindset take over things will be different. or perhaps the same tribal culture and primitive mentality of 'the natives' will perpetuate and we will always be a backward banana republic suffering for efficiency and people not educated enough to properly communicate and articulate themselves. this is what it feels like to be a civilized man in the jungle. where it is visibly seen, that society does not have the accomodation for your mental capabilities, stifles it because it does not understand, and continually reverts to a non-challant way of life for the party.

thats why i said, trinidad should stop chasing 1st world status. just promote and market the country as a party/beach island. the only people who stay here with degrees are those too frighten or didnt make the cut in foreign.

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2015, 6:38 pm

Habit7 wrote:80%, T&T is going to go bankrupt because 80% of GATE applicants choose to do BA Carnival Studies, a Humanities program (one of the cheapest at UWI).

Let's not forgot the famous roytec "psychology" and "human resource" degree or whatever...

People just need bare passes in CXC to get in.

Go figure.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2015, 6:42 pm

Habit7 wrote:

How to make money from the region's biggest cultural celebration and the country's largest tourism earner, what a waste!

More reasons to ban this carnival nonsense

Postby pioneer » January 7th, 2015, 6:47 pm

What would a research paper be like?

Discuss the co-relation between alcohol, wining and dehydration?

Compare and contrast chippin and winin?

My mind is so full of fukk right now.

Postby zoom rader » January 7th, 2015, 6:51 pm

^^^ nah how to apply for a loan on a costume mass and make arabs more rich

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:20 pm

Expert on news advising the nation to come together and tell the government that we don't want social handouts.

I'm currently awaiting the soaring swines to swoop overhead

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 7th, 2015, 7:23 pm

Which expert? Sounds like something Dr. Hosein might say?

Postby DVSTT » January 7th, 2015, 7:30 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Which expert? Sounds like something Dr. Hosein might say?

I can't remember his name, it was on CNC3 news tonight.

Postby sMASH » January 7th, 2015, 11:15 pm

Ent the other day world bank say spend too much on social programs?

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » January 7th, 2015, 11:23 pm

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
e51e8757b7390e8f37478c081b4667e9.png
e51e8757b7390e8f37478c081b4667e9.png (5.38 KiB) Viewed 3813 times

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2015, 11:25 pm

one of the issues in Trini is people do a degree just to say they have a degree.
UTT offers Fashion and Carnival bachelor degrees but this is the first time I hear that it is being offered at UWI also.
These so called degrees cost around $48,000 TT.
In terms if how likely this degree is to get you a Job, I cannot answer that at all. I have never seen a position asking for a Bachelors degree in Carnival at any company.

If not for GATE, absolutely no one is going to spend $48K on a degree in Carnival. You could use $3K out of that and go to a trade school to learn something to get you a Job and all the same skills to make a carnival costumes.
The degree is mostly about making costumes, god alone knows what the exams will be like? maybe multiple choice on who win dutty wine competition?
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on January 7th, 2015, 11:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2015, 11:33 pm

Habit7 wrote:

WOW so UWI does offer Carnival Degree. Here I taught only UTT did this.....

Look how good things get abused, over $48K for a Carnival Degree :roll: :roll:

And then we want to know why GATE takes so much toll on the budget. It would be a sad shame if things like Medicine and Engineering is cut from GATE because of dotishness like this.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 7th, 2015, 11:49 pm

bluesclues wrote:
companies not paying so what incentive it have to get any degree and stay in trinidad? when you get such highly technical knowledge, who in trinidad can really put your knowledge and skills to good use? computer scientist what? listen... this country is is a tribal culture. what use a tribesman have in a tribe with a computer science degree when all everyone does is pick corn? trinidad is a tourist destination, to serve the white man a happy time when he come here. not for slaves to move up in life. this society is guilty of letting many im very sure.. brilliant minds slip through the cracks. we're too old fashioned, our leaders are old fogies who dont understand half of the new world that changed since they were a kid especially in the area of technology and what they studied in school.

perhaps when these old fowl minds we have running the country have finally expired and the new generation with a different mindset take over things will be different. or perhaps the same tribal culture and primitive mentality of 'the natives' will perpetuate and we will always be a backward banana republic suffering for efficiency and people not educated enough to properly communicate and articulate themselves. this is what it feels like to be a civilized man in the jungle. where it is visibly seen, that society does not have the accomodation for your mental capabilities, stifles it because it does not understand, and continually reverts to a non-challant way of life for the party.

thats why i said, trinidad should stop chasing 1st world status. just promote and market the country as a party/beach island. the only people who stay here with degrees are those too frighten or didnt make the cut in foreign.

This is one of the biggest problems I have with our elected leaders. Every single one of them are backward in the technological field, Kamla is like Judge Judy, sure she knows the Law and has a lot of education and is quite smart. But only in the OLD ways, when it comes to technology all these old people are very out of date and backward they have no vision.

The Professor in UWI clearly pointed out in the last budget, the government told Usain Bolt to run 1 second faster when they decided to beef up the oil sector even more.

Demetri Medev tried to create a Russian Silicone valley in Moscow with all the massive earnings from the Oil and Gas export knowing its a resource with a limited lifespan. Putin took power and his old backward KGB thinking killed the whole pet project. There is not a single politician in Trinidad with the technological vision to do something like this despite the fact we have this much money.

Trini will always be so close yet so far away from greatness.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » January 8th, 2015, 3:50 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
bluesclues wrote:

This is one of the biggest problems I have with our elected leaders. Every single one of them are backward in the technological field, Kamla is like Judge Judy, sure she knows the Law and has a lot of education and is quite smart. But only in the OLD ways, when it comes to technology all these old people are very out of date and backward they have no vision.

The Professor in UWI clearly pointed out in the last budget, the government told Usain Bolt to run 1 second faster when they decided to beef up the oil sector even more.

Demetri Medev tried to create a Russian Silicone valley in Moscow with all the massive earnings from the Oil and Gas export knowing its a resource with a limited lifespan. Putin took power and his old backward KGB thinking killed the whole pet project. There is not a single politician in Trinidad with the technological vision to do something like this despite the fact we have this much money.

Trini will always be so close yet so far away from greatness.

and technology is the secret to selling this country's oil at a higher than current market value.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 6:47 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/LOA ... 69481.html

" Oil settled at US$48.65 yes­terday, almost 60 per cent below the figure
upon which the 2015 budget is premised. Government had based the 2015 budget on an US$80 a barrel oil price. "

" Government may have to borrow money to complete the $7.5 billion Point Fortin Highway.
Finance Minister Larry How­ai told .. "

Postby DVSTT » January 8th, 2015, 6:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

one of the issues in Trini is people do a degree just to say they have a degree.
UTT offers Fashion and Carnival bachelor degrees but this is the first time I hear that it is being offered at UWI also.
In terms if how likely this degree is to get you a Job, I cannot answer that at all. I have never seen a position asking for a Bachelors degree in Carnival at any company.

If not for GATE, absolutely no one is going to spend $48K on a degree in Carnival. You could use $3K out of that and go to a trade school to learn something to get you a Job and all the same skills to make a carnival costumes.
The degree is mostly about making costumes, god alone knows what the exams will be like? maybe multiple choice on who win dutty wine competition?

See waste of time degrees that gate sponsoring should be cut.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 7:15 am

DVSTT wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

See waste of time degrees that gate sponsoring should be cut.

Hola ?

How you plan to stop a person from studying a certain subject ?

What University degree is a waste of time ?

Education and getting a job are two different issues.

Only educated tuners will Comprende or is it Comprendo ? .. :mrgreen:

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2015, 7:26 am

So what you are saying is that we as a people should pay for anyting anytime just to say that some one is educated???

Well no
There should be a means test on the institution...

There should be an analysis of what skill set WE as a country NEED...

And there should be a means test as to the real financial situation of the student..

All of the above are being abused and therefore more is spent than is neccessary...and in normal Trini fashion we dont manage something..then kill it when it becomes a problem.

State sponsored education is a great thing-we just need to improve the model to become efficient.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 7:30 am

Redman you are a communist. Or Roget.

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2015, 7:37 am

orangefox wrote:Redman you are a communist. Or Roget.

And this proves my point re wasted education....carry on.

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 7:44 am

To go back to the subject at hand.

^^ Only for the educated :) ... take a glance at Asia :) ... or mighty USA

Are they complaining about falling oil prices ?

Ask why ?

Postby UML » January 8th, 2015, 7:47 am

PNM finance ministers smirking in interviews and licking their lips at the negative news with an impending elections. We see who really cares about power or country. They giving their doom and gloom reports (from since May 24th 2010 :lol: :lol: ) to strike fear in the people for elections and state that govts change with bad economic environments.

I wonder what are their views on postponing carnival because of the falling oil price? Then u will really see who care about country.

Postby Gem_in_i » January 8th, 2015, 8:01 am

The govt would still be giving million dollar prizes for Carnival ?

orangefox

Postby orangefox » January 8th, 2015, 8:06 am

UML wrote:PNM finance ministers smirking in interviews and licking their lips at the negative news with an impending elections. We see who really cares about power or country. They giving their doom and gloom reports (from since May 24th 2010 :lol: :lol: ) to strike fear in the people for elections and state that govts change with bad economic environments.

I wonder what are their views on postponing carnival because of the falling oil price? Then u will really see who care about country.

Carnival is business.
Serious $$$ business.

Postby Redman » January 8th, 2015, 8:06 am

So for all the economist and investment advisers etc...
What is the local cost of producing oil ???

The world price of a commodity is important not in isolation...but relative to a cost.

At 55 WTI what is the outlook for the local oil industry??

Is an investment in local oil production worth it???

Consider it your contribution to the education of Tuner....
or free 'investment' advice.

Postby UML » January 8th, 2015, 8:17 am

Big business yet no govt could calculate if it is a profit of loss or the benefits from such year after year?

The govt invested $224 million in 2013 carnival. What benefits does such an investment reap?

Postby UML » January 8th, 2015, 8:19 am

Redman wrote:So for all the economist and investment advisers etc...
What is the local cost of producing oil ???

The world price of a commodity is important not in isolation...but relative to a cost.

At 55 WTI what is the outlook for the local oil industry??

Is an investment in local oil production worth it???

Consider it your contribution to the education of Tuner....
or free 'investment' advice.

Look how defensive these hand to mouth does get when u talk about carnival vs saving our country and economy!!!