Digicel Internet Thread

ingalook

Re: Digicel Internet Thread

Postby ingalook » January 9th, 2016, 11:27 am

I honestly signed up for both Digicel and Massy... Whoever reaches here first... I can't wait to get out from the yoke of Flow internet... Plus since I am viewed as "remote" I'm stuck using greendot TV :(

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 12:24 pm

Daran

All I know is that Digicel is running Fibre in the bush, but atleast on my side El Carmen to Las Lomas most people use internet and know how to use a PC I would say atleast 70% of people in my area is tech savy enough and would have a use for the internet so maybe Digicel probably thinks the same thing. I mean a whole set of big new million dollar houses in the bush surely if a man has money to build these kind of houses here and money to buy new vehicle, he has money for internet right?

The only thing I would say is it does NOT have a dense concentration of houses like Tunapuna etc. There is still hundreds of untouched acres of land here. But a foreign company is going to build a new mall and a housing project by me on the empty 100 acre El Carmen estate, so maybe Digicel is looking towards the future, run the lines now and get it over with? I dunno am not a business analyst or anything. But digicel certainly has a great attitude towards coverage compared to TSTT

Daran

Postby Daran » January 9th, 2016, 1:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Daran

All I know is that Digicel is running Fibre in the bush, but atleast on my side El Carmen to Las Lomas most people use internet and know how to use a PC I would say atleast 70% of people in my area is tech savy enough and would have a use for the internet so maybe Digicel probably thinks the same thing. I mean a whole set of big new million dollar houses in the bush surely if a man has money to build these kind of houses here and money to buy new vehicle, he has money for internet right?

The only thing I would say is it does NOT have a dense concentration of houses like Tunapuna etc. There is still hundreds of untouched acres of land here. But a foreign company is going to build a new mall and a housing project by me on the empty 100 acre El Carmen estate, so maybe Digicel is looking towards the future, run the lines now and get it over with? I dunno am not a business analyst or anything. But Digicel certainly has a great attitude towards coverage compared to TSTT

Well that's amazing if Digicel really is doing this. When you think about how much TSTT/Blink has let people down, it's downright aggravating. They could have implemented this at least 5 years ago with their so called 8000 km of Fiber.

It took a multinational company to provide service to rural Trinidad, when the richer and incumbent company local telecom operator could give a rats ass about people outside West Trinidad. Typical PNM attitude for you.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 9th, 2016, 1:20 pm

^ yes I too was surprised to see the Digicel contractors running these fibre lines in bushy areas here with so few houses, made me smile. They were in Centeno road last month where the government has the cocoa estate and the farm. Saw them splicing the fibre and stuff, stopped to talk with them about it just to make sure. Really feels good to have a company with such a great attitude.

TSTT by large has always been PNM, most people got wuk there cause they had nonsense like PNM party card and stuff, TSTT's refusal for many years to provide DSL in UNC strongholds until the arrival of FLOW. Too much political influence on TSTT, their ass is grass cause Digicel's aim seem to have been mapping over TSTT's DSL coverage.

They want all of TSTT's DSL Customers. You were right, TSTT is dead cause no matter what they do DSL suffers from exchange distance limitation. That 25MB for $200 deal gonna kill them dead. This here will be the single biggest blow ever made to TSTT, cause this time around TSTT has no way to respond except silly newspaper advertisement trolling.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » January 9th, 2016, 1:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ yes I too was surprised to see the Digicel contractors running these fibre lines in bushy areas here with so few houses, made me smile. They were in Centeno road last month where the government has the cocoa estate and the farm. Saw them splicing the fibre and stuff, stopped to talk with them about it just to make sure. Really feels good to have a company with such a great attitude.

TSTT by large has always been PNM, most people got wuk there cause they had nonsense like PNM party card and stuff, TSTT's refusal for many years to provide DSL in UNC strongholds until the arrival of FLOW. Too much political influence on TSTT, their ass is grass cause Digicel's aim seem to have been mapping over TSTT's DSL coverage.

They want all of TSTT's DSL Customers. You were right, TSTT is dead cause no matter what they do DSL suffers from exchange distance limitation. That 25MB for $200 deal gonna kill them dead. This here will be the single biggest blow ever made to TSTT, cause this time around TSTT has no way to respond except silly newspaper advertisement trolling.

True I agree with ED here. TSTT gone tru

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 9th, 2016, 5:13 pm

Daran wrote:
PapaC wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:Don't assume Digicel will be some utopian Internet service provider.
Up to this day you still cannot get proper 3/4G service in UWI and dead zones along the SHH.
If they can't deliver proper service to an area like UWI then my expectations are very low.
Coupled with the fact that they are launching in areas like Dibe St James using armed escorts reinforces the view that Digicel is the CEPEP and Whackerman network.
Ask the FTTB customers about the quality of support.
Lipstick on a pig.

Even if you r argument had a relevant point, fatuous statements like this doesn't help in giving credence to anything you are saying.

His logic is baffling. Does he think Digicel's amazing business plan is to sell FTTH in the ghetto, thereby risking non-payment of bills and requiring significantly high-security costs to even deploy?

Someone with an ounce of intelligence would realize, hey Digicel really putting this Fiber everyway, even in poor difficult to access areas. This would mean their plan really is to cover the entire country with Fiber by end of 2016. Amazing, finally a company that doesn't stick up in the West (looking at you Bmobile/Blink).

For that matter, I remember hearing from a friend at TATT that TSTT has spent 7 times more money on Last Mile Access in North West Trinidad and any other area of T&T. Thank you TSTT, maybe one day you can reach us ghetto plebs in Tunapuna and Arima.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 13th, 2016, 1:17 pm

Sigh it giving trouble again!! customer with FLOW and Digicel having problems accessing a particular service when its routed through digicel.

for the smart men who like to defend digicel, when the IP is pinged on FLOW 100% success with digicel 0% success. Thank god for Flow backup internet.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2016, 1:35 pm

^ well to be honest I eh switch cause is $450 to switch. And my Flow working way better now for some odd reason.

My friend who is a electrical and computer engineer told me Digicel using chiney man huawei tech while flow using a better white man technology so I eh know nah the kinda problem I get with flow in the past I can't comment :lol:

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 13th, 2016, 1:50 pm

daxt0r wrote:Sigh it giving trouble again!! customer with FLOW and Digicel having problems accessing a particular service when its routed through digicel.

for the smart men who like to defend digicel, when the IP is pinged on FLOW 100% success with digicel 0% success. Thank god for Flow backup internet.

Send me the info, ill look into it

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 13th, 2016, 1:52 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well to be honest I eh switch cause is $450 to switch. And my Flow working way better now for some odd reason.

My friend who is a electrical and computer engineer told me Digicel using chiney man huawei tech while flow using a better white man technology so I eh know nah the kinda problem I get with flow in the past I can't comment :lol:

Lol the dumbest logic ur friend has...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2016, 1:55 pm

^ LOL I wonder though you know the brand of equipment that Flow uses? its some kind of European Brand right? should the brand matter?

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 13th, 2016, 2:35 pm

shaq090 wrote:
daxt0r wrote:Sigh it giving trouble again!! customer with FLOW and Digicel having problems accessing a particular service when its routed through digicel.

Send me the info, ill look into it

any suggestions? seems like the route is messed up, the last hop on the working flow connection is nowehere the last hop on the non working digicel
notworking.png
digicel - not working
working.png
flow - working isp

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 13th, 2016, 3:36 pm

working fine now
Untitled.png

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 13th, 2016, 7:08 pm

what ping results you guys getting with digicel if you ping this

ping effectic.com

I get 74ms on flow but I think it used to be lower, Its Chicago.

sk1111

Postby sk1111 » January 13th, 2016, 8:41 pm

Anyone have a connection at Digicel to get set up with Digicel internet? It was suppose to be ready in October.

Bejucal road, Cunupia

Flow internet is running like garbage and it's getting annoying at this point.

Ldrambal1

Postby Ldrambal1 » January 13th, 2016, 11:36 pm

Please come Mc Bean, Couva digicel....the flow service here is utter rubbish as well :(

Kronik

Postby Kronik » January 14th, 2016, 7:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ well to be honest I eh switch cause is $450 to switch. And my Flow working way better now for some odd reason.

Do you know who is the competitor for Cisco is? And just how big that competitor is

The equipment for these two competitors run the internet backbone

Sent from my SM900 Note 3

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » January 14th, 2016, 9:21 am

That youth knows diddly squat

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 14th, 2016, 5:11 pm

ninjabilly wrote:That youth knows diddly squat

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Chiney man thing doh wuk.

Chineymanthing>#Display current-config
*Running time 5+ years

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2016, 6:56 pm

Huawei is so much shitt that arris poached their executives

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » January 14th, 2016, 7:11 pm

cinco wrote:Huawei is so much shitt that arris poached their executives

Company politics aside, ever see Cisco equipment being used for an FTTH access network?

I doubt their OLT and ONT even sell....

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2016, 7:51 pm

Well Digicel running on this china man Huawei modem etc. What do you think will happen to it when 100K people come online? surely it can't be worse than flow?

Daran

Postby Daran » January 14th, 2016, 7:56 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Well Digicel running on this china man Huawei modem etc. What do you think will happen to it when 100K people come online? surely it can't be worse than flow?

Just so you guys know Huawei is the biggest supplier of telecom network equipment and from what ice heard their service is sheit and price isn't significantly cheaper.

Therefore they must be doing something right to be so popular. That something is making boss equipment.

Fadakartel

Postby Fadakartel » January 14th, 2016, 8:03 pm

Daran wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

Just so you guys know Huawei is the biggest supplier of telecom network equipment and from what ice heard their service is sheit and price isn't significantly cheaper.

Therefore they must be doing something right to be so popular. That something is making boss equipment.

Yup they good with access networks for GPON. For my IP core however ill take Cisco or Juniper anyday

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 14th, 2016, 8:20 pm

Huawei makes the best fingerprint sensors eh...they have nuff respect in the tech space.

Postby cinco » January 14th, 2016, 10:03 pm

I was being facetious Huawei is a huge manufacturer I'm no brand snob because I can almost guarantee one of u have Huawei components in yuh cellphone/tv/computer without even knowing

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » January 14th, 2016, 10:06 pm

cinco wrote:I was being facetious Huawei is a huge manufacturer I'm no brand snob because I can almost guarantee one of u have Huawei components in yuh cellphone/tv/computer without even knowing

Shhhh doh tell them nun with dey mediatek chips

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » January 14th, 2016, 10:10 pm

cinco wrote:I was being facetious Huawei is a huge manufacturer I'm no brand snob because I can almost guarantee one of u have Huawei components in yuh cellphone/tv/computer without even knowing

yeah brah..doh study it...we know...iz the breds before tho,...Huawei big in de dance.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » January 14th, 2016, 10:49 pm

Daran wrote:

You right

I did some research and it seems that Huawei is literally the number 2 in the world now for SOCs after Apple. Their SOC even beats Qualcomm, Intel and Samsung when it comes to performance.

I didn't check up on this in a while cause my nexus 5 serving me well still and last I checked Huawei was well not exactly top of the line, seems the are now.

http://cdn.androidcommunity.com/wp-cont ... phones.jpg

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » January 15th, 2016, 11:43 am

Huawei was banned from use in the Pentagon, NSA and DoD and well as many other US military institutions. It is just cheaper than the competitors so it sells, basic economics.
For CPE's i believe Huawei still better than Zhone and Arris and dem stuff but that's if you don't mind China spying on your and sucking your bandwidth to launch DDoS attacks on state infrastructure.

If you think market share defines how good a product is look at how shitty nissan and there ugly cars rule trinidad market when world leading cars from Kia and Ford and frowned upon.

If you talking backbone in 3rd world countries like ours , yea cisco and huawei good enough, their equipment at best may be used as aggregation layer switches in the US, whereas foundry networks and juniper are the real backbone equipment provider.

That said, who cares right? Once d contract paying it could be a Cisco ISR running a country's internet for all i care.