Do you support Gay Marriage in Trinidad & Tobago?

Yes
27%
No
73%

Total votes: 302

Re: Do you support Gay Marriage in Trinidad & Tobago?

Postby dougla_boy » May 25th, 2012, 11:53 am

My Contribution:

Postby rfari » May 25th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Greypatch wrote:It have more pressing issues to deal with in this 2x4 island ...

gay marriage is not high up the list..

x2734832. end ched.
phaggots need to get over themselves. more important issues than ur fairy tales to deal with. hol' dis...

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 25th, 2012, 1:36 pm

13 Pages over rights for a bunch of Fags?
I'm glad to see how many people selected no though :D

Humes

Postby Humes » May 25th, 2012, 2:20 pm

rfari wrote:phaggots need to get over themselves

I actually think plenty of yall need to get over them.

It's ironic that you would put up a dancehall tune, though. How many dancehall artistes's careers were launched on tunes dedicated exclusively to bashing gays? How much of dancehall music is nothing more than men, fuh no specific reason, just singing about gays?

Homosexuality is one of the foundation themes of dancehall music and urban Jamaican culture. These fellas more obsessed with man bullin man than men who does bull men.

And these is fellas from real downtrodden areas who could sing about, as you say, much more important issues.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 25th, 2012, 2:31 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Have a look at the documentary House of numbers.

No offense eh (really), but some of these sources yuh mentioning real scientifically shaky. When it comes to matters like this, I prefer to stick to actual medical professionals, and not conspiracy theorists.

AIDS denial seems like madness to me.

Postby rfari » May 25th, 2012, 3:49 pm

Humes wrote:
rfari wrote:phaggots need to get over themselves

I actually think plenty of yall need to get over them.

It's ironic that you would put up a dancehall tune, though. How many dancehall artistes's careers were launched on tunes dedicated exclusively to bashing gays? How much of dancehall music is nothing more than men, fuh no specific reason, just singing about gays?

Homosexuality is one of the foundation themes of dancehall music and urban Jamaican culture. These fellas more obsessed with man bullin man than men who does bull men.

And these is fellas from real downtrodden areas who could sing about, as you say, much more important issues.

it's their choice to sing what they want to. who are you to say otherwise? phaggots still gonna phag and dancehall guys gonna sing about it. don't see the issue here.
and if marriage is the most important thing to the gay community at the moment then say wha.

btw, u eh gonna collect ur phaggot points on me today humes. i dont have any issues with homos and what they do. IMO, trivial debate.

Postby Stephon. » May 25th, 2012, 3:52 pm

Lmfao! Rfari you honestly have a way with words. :lol: :lol:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 25th, 2012, 8:54 pm

My contribution:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 25th, 2012, 9:06 pm

Humes wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:Have a look at the documentary House of numbers.

No offense eh (really), but some of these sources yuh mentioning real scientifically shaky. When it comes to matters like this, I prefer to stick to actual medical professionals, and not conspiracy theorists.

AIDS denial seems like madness to me.

Actually I used to think the same way too but check out these two sites

www.hivskeptic.wordpress.com
www.virusmyth.com

The medical 'professionals' you refer to are the ones who are withholding vital information.

Humes

Postby Humes » May 25th, 2012, 9:25 pm

That is conspiracy theorists defending conspiracy theories. I remain unconvinced that there's any merit to their claims.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 28th, 2012, 1:02 pm

I would agree with you but the mainstream has not done a great job in convincing anyone of their validity.

Take for example last year the gov't said that at 3% of the population of T&T is infected. That works out to about 39,000 persons. At the same time they also said that it costs 42 million to treat the infected and they spend about 14,000 per year per person. A simple bit of maths would show that they have only treated 3,000 persons per year.

If this is the case should not many more people be dying everyday from the 'disease'? At last count only 42 deaths were attributed to AIDS. Suspicious.

Postby Habit7 » May 28th, 2012, 1:31 pm

toyota2nr wrote:If this is the case should not many more people be dying everyday from the 'disease'? At last count only 42 deaths were attributed to AIDS. Suspicious.

As far as I know, ppl don't die from AIDS. With an immunodeficiency syndrome something as mild as the common cold can kill you. For instance, a certain member of a rapso group died and the cause was reported as kidney failure or something, but some knew otherwise.

Postby dougla_boy » May 28th, 2012, 1:43 pm

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » May 28th, 2012, 3:18 pm

Ok let me rephrase. 42 deaths were counted as AIDS related for that year. According to the numbers it should be much more. I can only say that maybe the statistics collected might have been off but by that much ?

I remember when that rapso guy died, they did say it was kidney failure.

:evilbat:

Postby Stephon. » May 28th, 2012, 4:17 pm

Cousin still doesn't have aids. Aids is for uneducated people.

People that bash gay people are more likely to get aids than gay people :lol:

slickonit

Postby slickonit » May 30th, 2012, 10:28 am

i vote no. under which religious rights would the marriage ceremony be performed?

Postby rollingstock » May 30th, 2012, 10:56 am

^ There are other types of wedding beside being under religious rights.

Postby maj. tom » May 30th, 2012, 1:31 pm

slickonit wrote:i vote no. under which religious rights would the marriage ceremony be performed?

Marriage is sanctioned by the law. That is why they get marriage certificates with the country's Official Seal no matter what religious ceremony is performed. Any two people can go to the Red House and let the officer marry them in front a witness and then sign some papers. Religion has nothing to do with it. Lots of people get married that way and then just hold a reception for guests. All over the world. Especially in Las Vegas. :lol:

slickonit

Postby slickonit » May 30th, 2012, 10:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:
slickonit wrote:i vote no. under which religious rights would the marriage ceremony be performed?

Marriage is sanctioned by the law. That is why they get marriage certificates with the country's Official Seal no matter what religious ceremony is performed. Any two people can go to the Red House and let the officer marry them in front a witness and then sign some papers. Religion has nothing to do with it. Lots of people get married that way and then just hold a reception for guests. All over the world. Especially in Las Vegas. :lol:

^ agreed so with that being said religious belief is out of the question for the poll. Then why get married? why the need for the certificate?

Postby TRAE » May 31st, 2012, 12:11 pm

slickonit wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

^ agreed so with that being said religious belief is out of the question for the poll. Then why get married? why the need for the certificate?

what dat bredrin said

Postby Habit7 » May 31st, 2012, 12:18 pm

BREAKING NEWS: California Senate bans "ex-gay" therapy
SDGLN STAFF
May 30th, 2012

SACRAMENTO, Calif. -- The California State Senate today approved a bill designed to limit the ability of mental health providers in California to engage in dangerous sexual orientation change efforts (sometimes referred to as “ex-gay therapy,” “conversion therapy” or “reparative therapy”).

If approved by the Assembly and signed by the Governor, Senate Bill 1172, authored by Senator Ted Lieu and co-sponsored by Equality California, the National Center for Lesbian Rights, Mental Health America of Northern California, Gaylesta, and Lambda Legal, would make California the first state in the nation to ban licensed mental health professionals from engaging in sexual orientation change efforts of any kind for a minor patient, regardless of a parent's willingness or desire to authorize participation in such programs.

“Being lesbian or gay or bisexual is not a disease or mental disorder for the same reason that being a heterosexual is not a disease or a mental disorder,” Lieu said. “The medical community is unanimous in stating that homosexuality is not a medical condition.”

Sexual orientation change efforts pose critical health risks, including depression, shame, decreased self-esteem, social withdrawal, substance abuse, self-harm and suicide. For minors, who are often subjected to these practices at the insistence of parents who don’t know, or don’t believe, the practice is harmful, the risks of long-term mental and physical health consequences are particularly severe.

“Too many young people have taken their own lives or suffered lifelong harm after being told, falsely, by a therapist or counselor that who they are is wrong, sick or the result of personal or moral failure,” said Clarissa Filgioun, Equality California board president. “Legislative action is long overdue to end the abuse of sexual orientation change efforts and for the state to fulfill its duty to protect consumers — especially youth — from therapeutic misconduct.”

In 2007, the American Psychological Association convened a Task Force on Appropriate Therapeutic Responses to Sexual Orientation. The task force conducted an intensive review of peer-reviewed studies and concluded that efforts to change sexual orientation are unlikely to be successful and involve some risk of harm. The American Psychiatric Association published a position statement in March of 2000 in which it states that it “opposes any psychiatric treatment such as reparative or conversion therapy which is based upon the assumption that homosexuality per se is a mental disorder.”

Recognizing that there is no credible evidence that any type of “therapy” can change a person’s sexual orientation and that sexual orientation change efforts may cause serious and lasting harms, the American Psychological Association, the American Counseling Association, the National Association of Social Workers, the American Academy of Pediatrics, the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy, and the California Association of Marriage and Family Therapists have also issued cautionary position statements on sexual orientation change efforts.

Recently, Dr. Robert Spitzer, the author of a study often cited by proponents to validate sexual orientation change efforts as a legitimate therapeutic practice, redacted the study and issued a formal apology to the LGBT community.

Senate Bill 1172 is part of a broader effort on the part of Equality California in 2012 to protect and empower lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) youth. Another legislative initiative, Assembly Bill 1856, which was approved by California Assembly, will increase safety for and improve the emotional well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender youth in foster care by creating cultural competency standards that must be met by any foster homes housing LGBT youth.

http://sdgln.com/news/2012/05/30/breaki ... ay-therapy

Postby TRAE » May 31st, 2012, 12:28 pm

Postby Gladiator » May 31st, 2012, 12:29 pm

TRAE wrote:
slickonit wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

what dat bredrin said

You NEED that certificate to ensure that you have someone who will LEGALLY be responsible for your estate in the event that you die (children, house, loans property etc).

Marriage is not a hansy pansy arrangement, it is a legal arrangement transferring/sharing liabilities, responsibilities etc (a lawyer will add more value here)...

If the gays want to be together legally, I see no harm with it. It will ensure that they follow the rules and live in accordance with the law. it will ensure that there is someone legally responsible of any children in the mix and property and finances are properly assigned after one of them dies.

The religious mombo jumbo is another story though....

slickonit

Postby slickonit » May 31st, 2012, 1:03 pm

Gladiator wrote:
TRAE wrote:
slickonit wrote:
maj. tom wrote:

what dat bredrin said

You NEED that certificate to ensure that you have someone who will LEGALLY be responsible for your estate in the event that you die (children, house, loans property etc).

Marriage is not a hansy pansy arrangement, it is a legal arrangement transferring/sharing liabilities, responsibilities etc (a lawyer will add more value here)...

If the gays want to be together legally, I see no harm with it. It will ensure that they follow the rules and live in accordance with the law. it will ensure that there is someone legally responsible of any children in the mix and property and finances are properly assigned after one of them dies.

The religious mombo jumbo is another story though....

nah then just let ur partner be ur room mate. share liabilities, open a joint account. you can have all ur stuff in order without a marriage certificate. the right they fighting for is to have a certificate to be proud of and to be accepted in society. The law can't make society accept it.

Postby Stephon. » May 31st, 2012, 3:06 pm

There are also racist people in society. I don't think they're fighting for people to accept them, just the right to marry lol.

Postby dougla_boy » June 1st, 2012, 7:29 am

hold dat in yuh mc......

http://finance.yahoo.com/news/j-c--penn ... -dads.html

Retailer J.C. Penney has released a Father's Day print ad featuring a real-life same-sex couple. The ad features Todd Koch and Cooper Smith hugging their two young children. The copy reads, "What makes Dad so cool? He's the swim coach, tent maker, best friend, bike fixer and hug giver -- all rolled into one. Or two."
The ad is the latest example of J.C. Penney's commitment to include the gay community. Earlier this year, the retailer came under fire for its decision to employ the openly gay talk-show host Ellen DeGeneres as its spokeswoman. A conservative group, One Million Moms, criticized the retailer for abandoning "traditional values." However J.C. Penney stuck with Ellen, releasing a statement that read: "Ellen represents the values of our company."

The two dads ad has inspired a slew of comments across the Web. Most appeared to be supportive of J.C. Penney. One person wrote, "I haven't shopped there in years. I'm about to change that!" Another posted, "Kudos JCP. If I can get over my disdain for malls, I just might have to stop by your store now and then." A Gawker commenter wrote, "I'm pretty sure J.C. Penney did this on purpose to get more attention. Before the whole Ellen thing, when was the last time you heard about J.C. Penney, other than the fact that they were failing. Now they're getting all this free press. Smart move JCP!" We first spotted the ad over at ThinkProgress.org.

The mostly positive feedback is much needed by J.C. Penney. Several weeks ago, the retailer released quarterly earnings that sent its stock tumbling. CEO Ron Johnson's strategy has been to implement every-day low prices instead of frequent sales and discounts, but shoppers haven't been buying it. Total sales fell 20% and gross margins and foot traffic also dropped, according to Yahoo! Finance's Daily Ticker. Johnson came to J.C. Penney in November from Apple, where he ran the hugely successful Apple Stores, so big things were expected of him.

This isn't the first time a big mass brand has released a same-sex advertisement. Two years ago, McDonald's released a commercial in France that featured a teen boy flirting on the phone with his boyfriend. The tagline reads, "Come as you are" in French. "We wanted to show society the way it is today, without judging. There's obviously no problem with homosexuality in France today," Nathalie Legarlantezec, a McDonald's spokesperson, told French media.

Oddly, there was also at least one case of a gay-rights group being upset. Shortly after the ad aired, the National Gay & Lesbian Chamber of Commerce severed its ties to McDonald's. CBS News reported that "the letter calls the French ad 'blatant geographic pandering to the LGBT community ... while McDonald's has continued to distance itself from the LGBT segment in the United States.'"

Postby TRAE » June 1st, 2012, 9:00 am

thats gay

Postby Habit7 » June 1st, 2012, 9:21 am

Postby Stephon. » June 1st, 2012, 9:40 am

dougla_boy wrote:hold dat in yuh fc......

Fixed

brickman

Postby brickman » June 1st, 2012, 11:46 am

Green lantern now,i can just see all the homophobes & bible beaters protesting outside the comic book stores now...

(Rolling Stone) -- When DC Comics relaunched its fictional world from scratch last fall, some aspects of the DC mythos temporarily fell by the wayside, such as the notion of parallel worlds featuring different versions of the company's iconic heroes.
"Earth Two," a new series by writer James Robinson and artist Nicola Scott, reintroduces the concept by putting a new spin on the original versions of characters like the Green Lantern, the Flash and Superman that diverges notably from the past several decades of DC lore. In the second issue of the comic, in stores June 6, Robinson and Scott prove just how different this world is by revealing that their version of Alan Scott, the first Green Lantern introduced back in 1940, is an openly gay man.
Up until recently, a middle aged version of Alan Scott was one of the stars of "Justice Society of America," a comic series featuring the 1940s versions of DC's heroes set in the present day. The new versions of these characters in Earth Two have all been aged down considerably, to the point that Scott's gay superhero son Obsidian had to be sacrificed. Robinson says he was inspired to write Scott himself as a gay character to make up for that loss. "The logical leap that I made was, oh, why don't we make Alan Scott gay?," he says. "To DC's credit, there wasn't any hesitation. [Co-publisher] Dan DiDio was like 'Oh, that's a great idea, let's do it!'"
Robinson's version of Green Lantern differs from his counterpart in the regular DC Universe in ways other than his sexual orientation. "He has a ring which he uses to help manifest his powers, but he doesn't have a lantern," he says, noting that the mainstream Green Lanterns are members of a corp of space police who draw their energy directly from their own willpower. "He is the receptacle, the conduit for the energy of the Earth, which is this green energy." Unlike previous versions of Scott dating back to the Forties, wood will not be a weakness for the new Green Lantern. "He is the earthly powerhouse, and when you see him in terms of his power level, he's up there close to Superman."
Though Marvel Comics' gay hero Northstar is set to face some intolerance from his peers following his marriage to his long term boyfriend in the pages of "Astonishing X-Men," Robinson and Scott are planning on portraying an idealized world in which Alan Scott is judged only by the quality of his character.
"He doesn't come out in issue two; he is already a gay man," Robinson says. "Alan Scott is super-heroic, he's super gallant, he'll die for the earth, he'll die for its people, he's everything you want in a hero. I imagine he's such a Type A character that when he realized he was gay, he was like, 'Okay, I'm gay, now I'm just gonna go on with my life.' He's so accepting of it himself and he's such a compelling person that the world knows Alan Scott's gay. He's such a leader, he's such a good man, that the Justice League don't care. And that's a healthy depiction of a team and how it should be."
Scott says her instructions from Robinson were to make this version of the Green Lantern as heroic as possible.
"With Alan, the brief was very clear," she says. "He needed to be a big, strapping, handsome man that everyone would instinctively follow and love. Alan strikes me as an incredibly open, honest and warm man, a natural leader and absolutely the right choice to be Guardian of the Earth. His sexuality is incidental."
You can click through to check out a preview of "Earth Two" issue two, in which Alan Scott's sexuality is revealed to the reader in a decidedly matter-of-fact sort of way.
See the full story at RollingStone.com