wing

Re: Trinidad Blackout (16 Feb 2022)

Postby wing » February 19th, 2022, 6:20 pm

sMASH wrote:
wing wrote:
hover11 wrote:TAKE BULL.....

MINISTER SAYS THAT CITIZENS WON'T BE COMPENSATED FOR THE BLACKOUT.

Minister of Public Utilities Marvin Gonzales suggested on Friday that people were not able to get any compensation for a loss of electrical supply during Wednesday’s islandwide power outage, answering an urgent opposition question in the House of Representatives.

This is in contrast to initial reports in Newsday on Friday which cited a Regulated Industries Commission (RIC) statement that suggested there could have been an entitlement to compensation.

https://newsday.co.tt/2022/02/19/gonzal ... -blackout/
According to the article, it appears that the cause of the outage happened outside of TTEC control. If so, then you won't be entitled to the $60. But your blind opposition to anything government shouldn't cloud your use of common sense.

what i had suggested is, that ttec handle the compensation, and pass the bill to the relevant supplier.
That's a pretty good Idea except in this country we will find some way to overcomplicate and line someone's pocket.

Postby Redman » February 20th, 2022, 9:47 am

We pay 5 cents usd per kWh.

Below is the ranking countries by cost.

Any one want to hazard a guess ast how our reliability of service, ranks with others in our.cohort?

Saudis being an outlier of course.

Screenshot_20220220-094844.png

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2022, 11:32 am

the thing is, we dont buy the natural gas from an external source, it comes out from our ground. the extraction companies pricing the natgas, so that ngc has to sell it inline with other countries, so it comes just the same as if we import it,,, that is one set of convoluted skull

Postby Redman » February 20th, 2022, 11:40 am

I dunno about skull,
It was a policy decision that no government ment since,has had the ballz to modify.

So we stuck with a bunch of distorted supply chains and economic indicators.

'What now? ..
is a massive question that has only hard answers.

Postby redmanjp » February 20th, 2022, 12:06 pm

anyone else have 'ice packs' in the freezer to keep things cold? prior to this blackout i had used old milk cartons and put them in the freezer next to things like meats - it lasted through the 11 hrs it went by us.

on TTEC website it said once u have a fully packed freezer it can last up to 24 hrs without power.

Postby hover11 » February 20th, 2022, 12:17 pm

Failure of the population to pay the full cost for the production, distribution and maintenance of the electricity infrastructure in Trinidad and Tobago will lead to even more blackouts , let's not forget T&TEC is riddled with debt and once again the government is the major debtor in play here as with most state agencies

Postby zoom rader » February 20th, 2022, 12:20 pm

hover11 wrote:Failure of the population to pay the full cost for the production, distribution and maintenance of the electricity infrastructure in Trinidad and Tobago will lead to even more blackouts , let's not forget T&TEC is riddled with debt and once again the government is the major debtor in play here as with most state agencies
TTEC is not a power generation company. They buy electricity from the generating companies and then sell to you .

They were not responsible for outage.

Postby hover11 » February 20th, 2022, 12:24 pm

hover11 wrote:Failure of the population to pay the full cost for the production, distribution and maintenance of the electricity infrastructure in Trinidad and Tobago will lead to even more blackouts , let's not forget T&TEC is riddled with debt and once again the government is the major debtor in play here as with most state agencies
TTEC is not a power generation company. They buy electricity from the generating companies and then sell to you .

Understandable but we don't pay the real cost of electricity it is heavily subsidized which accounts for alot of wastage, let's be real. I understand government wants to safeguard the small man but at some point they have to realize this subsidy nonsense doing more harm than good

Postby pugboy » February 20th, 2022, 12:41 pm

hinds and marvy have committee to investigate and prevent future occurrence

so doh hut yuh head

Postby matr1x » February 20th, 2022, 12:59 pm

I ways found the idea that trini power rates low in comparison to be stupid

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 20th, 2022, 1:10 pm

redmanjp wrote:anyone else have 'ice packs' in the freezer to keep things cold? prior to this blackout i had used old milk cartons and put them in the freezer next to things like meats - it lasted through the 11 hrs it went by us.

on TTEC website it said once u have a fully packed freezer it can last up to 24 hrs without power.

I was very surprised that the regular ice cubes in my freezer were still solid after the 12h. It's not overpacked or anything. Meat stayed good. Couple lollies kinda melted to mush in their packs, ice cream got super soft.
The fridge did ok, thankfully didn't have much cooked food to spoil. Good thing I didn't make the huge pot of soup that day.

Postby sMASH » February 20th, 2022, 1:12 pm

hover11 wrote:

Understandable but we don't pay the real cost of electricity it is heavily subsidized which accounts for alot of wastage, let's be real. I understand government wants to safeguard the small man but at some point they have to realize this subsidy nonsense doing more harm than good

what are teh real costs?
the distribution, the generation and the fuel source.

the distribution network already built, merely have to maintain and incrementally upgrade.
the generation is already established.
the fuel is natgas that is bought from ngc who buys from the extraction companies. their price is their labor costs and extraction equipment... i not sure if they pay the country for the gas they pull from the ground.

we comparing electricity rates to places that have to import gas, we dont import gas. so, the gas cant be the cost we 'dont pay'. the cost will have to be all the other equipment and labor.

what figures we need, is the price the other countries buy their gas at, and the price ngc buys at. if they are comparable, then we have a problem. if they are very differnt then somebody along the line taking more money than they need.

Postby Redman » February 21st, 2022, 7:53 am

The real costs are what the market says.

Whether it's realized directly as a subsidy..like our old model of fuel, or indirectly via lost sales at market prices
Or more useful application of the unit of gas.

What I wanted to point out is simply that our system is reliable...very much so when you look into it, but we pay about 30% of the world average, and about 12% of the highest...Germany.

Look at the cohort of price...and see where they rank in terms of reliability.

Postby redmanjp » February 21st, 2022, 12:06 pm

Just checked my usage on TTEC site for last wednesday - it almost the same as the day after and before- despite the fact that my mom uses AC throughout the day into the night, but we lost power for almost 11 hours.

What you guys seeing when u check?

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2022, 12:18 pm

how you check that?

Postby Kenjo » February 21st, 2022, 12:22 pm

pugboy wrote:how you check that?

I’m confused too , the old manual meters not around to see it spinning and I assume the newer digital resign was off since the power was off

Postby Chimera » February 21st, 2022, 12:23 pm

Online you can see your day to day usage. Been that way more than two years now

bamfo_dennis

Postby bamfo_dennis » February 21st, 2022, 12:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:Just checked my usage on TTEC site for last wednesday - it almost the same as the day after and before- despite the fact that my mom uses AC throughout the day into the night, but we lost power for almost 11 hours.

Wed 16 Feb 9.8 kWh
Thu 17 Feb 10.69 kWh

Kenjo wrote:

I’m confused too , the old manual meters not around to see it spinning and I assume the newer digital resign was off since the power was off

select which meter
check historical data on d left. everyday have the power.....is digital meter dem ting loggin everyting...... but u see dis scam dey runnin right here. how dey log dis?

so current cut off 12 hours n the usage is about d same? wdmc

Postby pugboy » February 21st, 2022, 12:29 pm

i never know ttec so high tech

Postby Dizzy28 » February 21st, 2022, 1:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:Just checked my usage on TTEC site for last wednesday - it almost the same as the day after and before- despite the fact that my mom uses AC throughout the day into the night, but we lost power for almost 11 hours.

Same ting when I checked. I was expecting a low day however the usage was not that much less than the days before and after. The Blackout day is actually bar 3 and for perspective yesterday's bar shows a lower consumption even though we had all day electricity.

Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (12.7 KiB) Viewed 3409 times

Postby Chimera » February 21st, 2022, 1:19 pm

Ttec like they reading and charging a rolling/random average lolll

Because your meters really suppose to show alot less on the blackout day

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » February 21st, 2022, 2:05 pm

Same ting when I checked. I was expecting a low day however the usage was not that much less than the days before and after. The Blackout day is actually bar 3 and for perspective yesterday's bar shows a lower consumption even though we had all day electricity.

Capture.JPG

Noticed reduced usage for that day.
Feb_16th.png
Feb_16th.png (4.25 KiB) Viewed 3372 times

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » February 21st, 2022, 2:10 pm

bamfo_dennis wrote:

Wed 16 Feb 9.8 kWh
Thu 17 Feb 10.69 kWh

Kenjo wrote:

select which meter
check historical data on d left. everyday have the power.....is digital meter dem ting loggin everyting...... but u see dis scam dey runnin right here. how dey log dis?

so current cut off 12 hours n the usage is about d same? wdmc

hahahah trinidad fuh yuh.

Postby redmanjp » February 21st, 2022, 2:42 pm

i could understand the estimated usage but that is supposed to be the gray bar, the orange one is actual usage.

so not only are we not getting a rebate- we paying for current we didn't get? ok

Postby Dizzy28 » February 21st, 2022, 4:35 pm

I think what is a contributor to the imbalance at least in my household is that two A/Cs run at night and with electricity gone till 11.30pm on the Wednesday but there all morning meant there was a solid 7 hour of use in that day (12am - 7am).

The day of the blackout with current coming back at 11.40pm the A/Cs use really would be for the next day's count.

Postby Kenjo » February 21st, 2022, 5:19 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:I think what is a contributor to the imbalance at least in my household is that two A/Cs run at night and with electricity gone till 11.30pm on the Wednesday but there all morning meant there was a solid 7 hour of use in that day (12am - 7am).

The day of the blackout with current coming back at 11.40pm the A/Cs use really would be for the next day's count.

Ah well this is the confusing part what men are probably seeing

Postby pugboy » February 22nd, 2022, 5:33 am

marvy report say wires from one circuit bust and fall on a next set of wires causing a short out
how they preventing this in future

Postby supercharged turbo » February 22nd, 2022, 11:30 am

Prevent what?You forget where we living

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 22nd, 2022, 11:58 am

pugboy wrote:marvy report say wires from one circuit bust and fall on a next set of wires causing a short out
how they preventing this in future

Could never really eliminate risk, but you can certainly assess and reduce.

If the root cause was really a tree falling and pulling down the wires, then they should look at the critical points and address any potential threats. chap dong they mc

Postby hover11 » February 22nd, 2022, 5:16 pm

“While we are convinced that the union is deserving of an increase in salary under normal circumstances, we are equally convinced that the commission is not in a position to pay anything at this point in time. Should the court make an award in favour of the union and the commission is forced to pay, the logical result will be retrenchment.”

http://newsday.co.tt/2022/02/21/court-n ... 8.facebook

Get your candles ready