**The Tuner Christmas Thread**

Re: Ladies, what are you getting Your SO this Christmas?

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2010, 5:32 pm

rodfarva wrote:
RASC wrote:So technically speaking...the electric razor is kinda like a gift, that appeases YOU...You thought about yourself first before the needs of the man when granting that gift?

Most men are moving back to the classic, much skilled artistic way of the Straight blade, while you're sending your man back to the late 90's with an electric shaver? How suburbia of you... I thought you were a young trendy city dweller :?

Shame, well hopefully he can find himself a copy of GQ, or Esquire's "big black book" and become a gentleman of substance and character before it's too late. I wish him the best.

GQ/Esquire makes men into gentlemen of substance?
as far as I know, they sell products to susceptible men. They tell them what to buy and how to be cool.

1st question--->Hell No.

2nd Question---> Well then you don't read GQ.
Because they always tell you to ultimately be yourself...but always do it to the best of your ability. There annual "best dressed man" award is testimony to this...because almost none of the finalists look nothing like the other. No one is a carbon copy of the other or what is considered "acceptable" by the mainstream...if anything it's more anti mainstream than most magazines out there.

You know what I meant, so stop trying to bait me into some long gone conversation wrt what defines a gentleman or not. That's not the topic here, I was just drawing an example.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 16th, 2010, 5:36 pm

Thanks AP :)

I'm not trying to bait you...seriously

Yeah, I read GQ. They say ....be yourself...then they proceed to tell you how to make yourself look, smell, fcuk, eat better
Its nice, light reading, but c'mon, anyone who uses it as a bible....is really lost
Last edited by rodfarva on December 16th, 2010, 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2010, 5:37 pm

All I'm saying is this...

. The shaving apparatus -great gift idea...however go straight blade or get him a kit from "The Art Of Shaving" using the FUSION blade heads-he'll love you for it. Please no electric shaver...he's not 40+ with kids.

. I personally don't like Movado because I find they've been sketting themselves out as of late and they don't market their top of the end automatics enough...But that's just me.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 16th, 2010, 5:37 pm

RASC wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
eurogirl wrote:
RASC wrote:So technically speaking...the electric razor is kinda like a gift, that appeases YOU...You thought about yourself first before the needs of the man when granting that gift?

Most men are moving back to the classic, much skilled artistic way of the Straight blade, while you're sending your man back to the late 90's with an electric shaver? How suburbia of you... I thought you were a young trendy city dweller :?

Shame, well hopefully he can find himself a copy of GQ, Esquire or log onto http://www.BASENOTES.net and become a gentleman of substance and character before it's too late. I wish him the best.

Lawddd :| :|

yuh know de woman fishing for what yuh want for christmas and u'll shut her down so ?

You've GOT to be kidding me. I said my boo is a black man, not a high yellow Trini who is a member of 2UNER. :roll:

And Rotaryboyz, nice try, but he isn't African American. :roll:

Electric shaver...
That's like something you give a 40something year old suburban dad.

Come on man, is 2010-You love Barney's right?...Ask the Barney's attendant which one is the ultimate gift for the young professional male. Everyone going back to the straight blades.
If they're using something like a "FUSION" etc ,most are fitting it with wooden handles from "The Art of Shaving". Fusion IMHO is the best shave a man can get outside of a Straight Blade.

When you have the means to set foot in Barneys or Bergdorf Goodman then come advise me on what I can get my man.

Until then, :arrow: :arrow:

I will get him what he wants and what might be a great addition to our new bathroom. :D I still have 24 hours to decide and will seek out the advice of those close to him, NOT you.

I'm off to continue my Xmas shopping at Bloomingdales. Until next time, toodles! 8-)

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 16th, 2010, 5:39 pm

RASC wrote:. I personally don't like Movado because I find they've been sketting themselves out as of late and they don't market their top of the end automatics enough...But that's just me.

yeah..theyre everywhere. But I think its one of those things where...something really good just blew up (as opposed to hyped up sh1t)
Theyre watches really are clean and timeless.

the leather bracelet watches can work in just about any situation
Last edited by rodfarva on December 16th, 2010, 5:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2010, 5:40 pm

Ok Patrice. Get yuh man yuh grandpa electric shaver, which ultimately is to benefit you and not him. It's cool...we see how you are :lol:
Last edited by RASC on December 16th, 2010, 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2010, 5:41 pm

rodfarva wrote:Thanks AP :)

I'm not trying to bait you...seriously

Yeah, I read GQ. They say ....be yourself...then they proceed to tell you how to make yourself look, smell, fcuk, eat better
Its nice, light reading, but c'mon, anyone who uses it as a bible....is really lost

Trust there are ppl out there that take these magazines as Bibles.
A guide maybe, or just another opinion sure...but bible=lost.

Postby RASC » December 16th, 2010, 6:08 pm

I shave.
I'm giving a female member advise on the BEST shaving tools for her man
She disregards that and says NO I'm getting him the electric because I don't like seeing stubles in my sink...
No consideration for his enjoyment of the act, or the closeness of the shave.
All for her benefit.

:?

There is no way an electric shaver can get as close as a FUSION or straight blade. NONE.
In fact it's even more irritating, because you need to pass it over multiple times to get what a fusion or straight blade gets in ONE pull.

Cyar reason with allyuh people nah.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 16th, 2010, 8:52 pm

pioneer wrote:seriously my blood jus crawl lookin at a straight razor...eeeeekkk

Convince me this statement does not spew gaiety

Postby bushwakka » December 16th, 2010, 10:32 pm

RASC wrote:
pioneer wrote:I sorry them straight razors does REAL fret me...also i know i will end up cuttin myself

Of course yuh go cut yourself the first couple times.
...however according to all reports it's alot more rewarding.

Equate it to driving manual vs driving automatic...all men should know how to drive a manual :wink:

yea...but that is changing with dual clutch on mid range production cars these days..

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 17th, 2010, 1:43 am

AP, let's get serious for a second.. Is this his main gift or is this one of the smaller gifts he opens before leading up to the main gift? :?
Why not get him something he actually want, rather that what you think he needs? Ah mean, I doh like people to buy me sheit they think I'll need because in reality it just sits there forever and no one uses it. What are his hobbies? Does he golf? Go to Golf Smith and get him ah new driver or something :lol:

When it comes to Xmas I prefer boxers, socks & anything automotive related.. Got a gold Movado a few years ago for xmas and after wearing it a few times, it got firetrucked up when I tried a DIY battery change with a 5ton bearing press :lol: I have the option of getting something classy or expensive but I honestly don't need it, so why ask for it..

BTW, quite a few men don't like the transition from blades to electric shaver so you might wanna think twice before making that purchase. IMO, blades (straight razor or changeable heads) are the best. No machine could compare

BTW AP, you remind me of ah gyul on Richmond ave who living close to the Barns & Nobles :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » December 17th, 2010, 6:58 am

I shapppm my brushin cutlass and duz use dat!!! Bes shave.

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 7:39 am

crazybalhead wrote:I shapppm my brushin cutlass and duz use dat!!! Bes shave.

If done properly, it can be easily achieved.

One of my friends uses' his high end kitchen knife as a blade. Of course not to cook anymore, but it's a sharpened blade so why not. Once you feel comfortable with it.

Postby AllTrac » December 17th, 2010, 8:51 am

RoTaRyBoYz is on point, gifts i like are tools, you could never have enuff tools, watches etc, I like to pick them out myself, need to put it on before i am sure thats the one i want.

Postby SR » December 17th, 2010, 9:13 am

isnt ap the same one trying to justify why here mna needs to buy her a 100k us wedding ring

yuh really feel the man gonna give a sheit as to what she actually buys him

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 17th, 2010, 9:15 am

FUSION!!!!!!!!!!!!! *loves* :oops: :oops: this thing so sexy .. i used it last night before I went out and them girls was feeling up meh leg again :|

AP do like me , have not 1 SO but many SO's :twisted: that way u doh hadda be so confused :|

Postby crazybalhead » December 17th, 2010, 9:17 am

Eurogyul, yuh is a skettel orrr?

Postby SR » December 17th, 2010, 9:23 am

she want to go skiiing

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 17th, 2010, 9:23 am

crazybalhead wrote:Eurogyul, yuh is a skettel orrr?

If I was I wonder if I woulda win de 40K prize from limpy d1ck man :| :lol: :lol:

crazyballhead you crazy or wah ?

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » December 17th, 2010, 9:28 am

SR wrote:she want to go skiiing

:oops: :oops: :oops:

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » December 17th, 2010, 9:34 am

eurogirl wrote:FUSION!!!!!!!!!!!!! *loves* :oops: :oops: this thing so sexy .. i used it last night before I went out and them girls was feeling up meh leg again :|

AP do like me , have not 1 SO but many SO's :twisted: that way u doh hadda be so confused :|

CJ getting anything?
cause he expecting

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 11:16 am

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:
BTW, quite a few men don't like the transition from blades to electric shaver so you might wanna think twice before making that purchase. IMO, blades (straight razor or changeable heads) are the best. No machine could compare

Been trying to explain that, but it seems lost to her. As her only reasoning is the mess it leaves. As if the man so chupidy he doesn't know how to clean up after himself. :?

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 11:22 am

SR wrote:isnt ap the same one trying to justify why here mna needs to buy her a 100k us wedding ring

yuh really feel the man gonna give a sheit as to what she actually buys him

THIS!

It's all starting to all make sense actually. If this is the same kinda man to the one her friend has (the one who demands the 100k ring from her man) Then one can only suffice that he "beh beh" and would take anything she give him. He go jus skin he teeths and tek it. :?

AP beh beh Man wrote: No hunny I don't want a finally crafted Art of Shaving kit which costs the same as the electric, gives me a closer shave, higher grade materials and generally looks better...because I am stupid and can't clean up after myself. I need the electric shaver, because getting in and out of your bathroom in the quickest manner so you can use it, is more important to me than my own satisfaction. I love you! Toddles

Thas exactly what happening here :lol:

Postby Chimera » December 17th, 2010, 12:04 pm

someone say barneys

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » December 17th, 2010, 12:40 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:AP, let's get serious for a second.. Is this his main gift or is this one of the smaller gifts he opens before leading up to the main gift? :?
Why not get him something he actually want, rather that what you think he needs? Ah mean, I doh like people to buy me sheit they think I'll need because in reality it just sits there forever and no one uses it. What are his hobbies? Does he golf? Go to Golf Smith and get him ah new driver or something :lol:

I'm not going on a whim and buying him what I think he needs. In passing he's expressed what he would like for Xmas and I took note. The watch and electric shaver were both his suggestions and in no way did I influence that. And no, its not his main gift for the day. Interpret that as you wish. :mrgreen:

He's not a golfer but he loves his basketball and football. He plays basketball regularly. He's also quite the handy man and loves to fix any and everything around the house. :oops:

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:When it comes to Xmas I prefer boxers, socks & anything automotive related.. Got a gold Movado a few years ago for xmas and after wearing it a few times, it got firetrucked up when I tried a DIY battery change with a 5ton bearing press :lol: I have the option of getting something classy or expensive but I honestly don't need it, so why ask for it..

Bummer on the Movado. Yeah, I don't do the boxers, socks etc thing for the special holidays. I can easily pick that up anytime during the year, not on special occasions like Christmas or birthdays. I don't know, I just want to surprise him with something special and see his face light up. :mrgreen:

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:BTW AP, you remind me of ah gyul on Richmond ave who living close to the Barns & Nobles :lol:

Interesting! I once lived on a Richmond Avenue/Township way back when I first came to NYC. :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Anyway, him and I are going to wrap up our Christmas shopping this weekend so I'll use the opportunity to vet him out some more before I make a final decision. 8-)

Postby Chimera » December 17th, 2010, 12:44 pm

Get him a new girlfriend, he would love that.

Postby cinco » December 17th, 2010, 12:57 pm

RASC wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:

Been trying to explain that, but it seems lost to her. As her only reasoning is the mess it leaves. As if the man so chupidy he doesn't know how to clean up after himself. :?

whut???
man?? clean???
please that is her job

brickman

Postby brickman » December 17th, 2010, 12:57 pm

[quote="AbstractPoetic"As a side note, I'm surprised more ladies haven't responded. Are you that frugal or just not interested in giving a special something to your man this Xmas (and I'm not talking sex either, as that's expected :mrgreen: )?[/quote]
Interesting point,girlfriend was telling me how some of her girlfriends yapping about how they want expensive stuff but when asked what they where getting their men,jockey shorts & aftershave was the collective cry.I know some of these guys & thats not what the wanted.Seems of course all these holiday gift ads are always geared towards giving women gifts,if it didnt have fathers day men would be out in the cold?

Postby AllTrac » December 17th, 2010, 1:25 pm

eurogirl wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:Eurogyul, yuh is a skettel orrr?

If I was I wonder if I woulda win de 40K prize from limpy d1ck man :| :lol: :lol:

why u always on Red Sleeper case so for? continue eh yuh making yuh way for ah ban.

Postby AllTrac » December 17th, 2010, 1:27 pm

RASC wrote:he doesn't know how to clean up after himself. :?

:? :? if he has to do that then he should get AP the book of GF responsibilities for christmas.