Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby bluesteel29 » April 3rd, 2012, 5:14 pm

the plant shop on the highway coming into POS.... lil way b4 aranguez turn off/flyover.

rfari wrote:how many pounds per bag at that price?

Agri-Flora Garden Centre.
Aranguez Main Rd Aranguez
868-674-7531

idk...prob a lb....its the bags that ppl sell ice in full for $20...its fine perlite,cant seem to find the bigger size newhere.
they also sell huge bags for $75 i think....didnt have that size when i bought so cant say.

Coppershot

Postby Coppershot » April 3rd, 2012, 5:50 pm

Ok, the agri-flora place has also sold out.
Ill pass in the morning by the other place and see.

Postby bluesteel29 » April 3rd, 2012, 8:35 pm

dont know about the first shop but you will get the miracle grow perlite @ the second plant shop on the highway.(shops are next to each other)
be sure to rinse it out with warm water...MG tends to put lil nutes in all their mediums.

mattu

Postby mattu » April 15th, 2012, 5:56 pm

i cant believe i missed this topic....... i will post my pics in a bit

mattu

Postby mattu » April 15th, 2012, 6:14 pm

this was done on a very strict budget without many important pieces...
these plants are 2 weeks old... (note, a lot of experimenting as well as mistakes were made so i got a stunt in growth... plants are catching back themselves tho)

Postby nervewrecker » April 15th, 2012, 6:18 pm

saw something on todays express.

page 6, EXTRA section of the papers. some nice pics.

mattu

Postby mattu » April 15th, 2012, 6:31 pm

i guess they dont put the EXTRA section online

Postby bluesteel29 » April 15th, 2012, 9:42 pm

mattu , where you bought the humidity dome?

Postby rfari » April 15th, 2012, 9:45 pm

Eh heh. I like what I see here. What you growing there, meh friend?

mattu

Postby mattu » April 15th, 2012, 11:42 pm

i picked it up in a small car parts store in north york, i have no idea what it was doing there or even if it was for sale but the guy at the counter didnt know what it was so i offered him a $10 and he sold it to me WITH the starter plugs lol.. im in Canada by the way
currently in the "deep water" set up i have chive, lettuce, spinach and one bell pepper plant.
i have some more lettuce and chive in the dome.

Postby rfari » April 15th, 2012, 11:50 pm

nervewrecker wrote:saw something on todays express.

page 6, EXTRA section of the papers. some nice pics.

Thanks. I'll look for this and post the scan

Postby rfari » April 15th, 2012, 11:54 pm

mattu wrote:i picked it up in a small car parts store in north york, i have no idea what it was doing there or even if it was for sale but the guy at the counter didnt know what it was so i offered him a $10 and he sold it to me WITH the starter plugs lol.. im in Canada by the way
currently in the "deep water" set up i have chive, lettuce, spinach and one bell pepper plant.
i have some more lettuce and chive in the dome.

Not bad at all. I may be wrong but the dome looks like its a propagation tray to sow seeds. Its the equipment with the translucent cover?

mattu

Postby mattu » April 16th, 2012, 1:10 am

^ correct is right. it works very well too.. its like its little own biosphere

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2012, 5:04 pm

Postby Chimera » April 18th, 2012, 5:06 pm

http://hydroponics.com.au/free-articles ... nd-culture

"The Advantages The sand culture system has many advantages over traditional hydroponic techniques. The fact that it is an ‘open’ (‘run-to-waste’) system, whereby the nutrient solution is not recycled, greatly reduces the likelihood of diseases such as Fusarium and Verticillium spreading in the medium. It also means there is no nutrient imbalance since plants are fed with fresh nutrient solution at each irrigation cycle."

Postby rfari » April 18th, 2012, 8:25 pm

good read there ABA. i dont really agree with the 'run-to-waste' system as a viable hydro option tho. from different aspects like financial to environmental, it can lead to a sticky situation. but i would definitely recommend to someone who is new to it. was thinking of setting up a simple grobox for my grandmom; no sumps, no meters. just a blue barrel with some nutes and a small bed setup

Postby rfari » April 26th, 2012, 8:37 am

Most of the systems have been put on hold until the hydroton gets here.

taken between the 14th /15th april
last two pics show the dead roots of the pepper plant. the size of the container wasn't ideal for this plant.

taken on the 26th (today)

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 8:44 am

Saw a what looks like pretty good sized system at the back of a bar near the end of boodoo trace penal yesterday. About 30feet long and spans across the entire width of the building, I think multiple layers too.
I didnt want to take pics, I fraid I get labled as a bandit and be shot.

Postby rfari » April 26th, 2012, 9:33 am

nervewrecker wrote:Saw a what looks like pretty good sized system at the back of a bar near the end of boodoo trace penal yesterday. About 30feet long and spans across the entire width of the building, I think multiple layers too.
I didnt want to take pics, I fraid I get labled as a bandit and be shot.

link some spy shots meng

Postby nervewrecker » April 26th, 2012, 9:34 am

next time.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 26th, 2012, 12:17 pm

fari,why u like so much fig trees hoss,lmao

Postby rfari » April 26th, 2012, 9:43 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:fari,why u like so much fig trees hoss,lmao

:oops: i dunno hoss. that and palm plants i'm really fond of.

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2012, 10:12 pm

small system, placing this right ontop of the nutrient container (sterilite container)

not much space or hoses needed

placing the top half of 2 liter bottles upside down in each T so plenty space for roots

(really could have made this using 1 inch pipe but I have plenty 1 1/2 inch on hand so used that instead.)

Postby rfari » May 1st, 2012, 10:23 pm

any pics ABA?

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2012, 10:31 pm

pic added

Postby rfari » May 1st, 2012, 10:36 pm

pretty good idea, what size sump ur using for the system?

Postby Chimera » May 1st, 2012, 10:39 pm

took it from here

http://www.legalbudreview.com/homemade- ... ic-system/

what size should i use?

Postby rfari » May 1st, 2012, 11:15 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:took it from here

http://www.legalbudreview.com/homemade- ... ic-system/

what size should i use?

if you're going to adapt the 1 1/2" to 1/2" like what shown in the DIY, any sump over 200gph would do. should cost less than 150TT for this.

mattu

Postby mattu » May 2nd, 2012, 2:41 am

aye rfari, the chive u have growing there... are they from seeds or cuttings? The reason i ask is because the ones i have from seeds are pale short and skinny, and they are there since the 28th March... however i took to random cuttings that were supposed to be dumped, tried a lil sumthing and now they are about 7 inches and solid looking after a week...
also i find some of my lettuce looking a bit discoloured...
any thoughts as to the reason?
i will post pics in a bit

mattu

Postby mattu » May 2nd, 2012, 2:54 am