National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Re: National Strike updates/ watch/ News

Postby De Dragon » February 17th, 2012, 6:24 am

goodear wrote:So let me get this straight, because private sector industries raping you while paying you a pitance of your worth I must subject myself to your personal hell,lol, sounds like sour grapes. Keep your slave mentality to yourself. The livelyhood of my family is of utmost importance ,not lining the pockets of foreigners.No valve turners in the refinery, only operators are allowed to operate valves on a plant, so if the man hungry let him eat while the fat cats wait in the heat and smell of the 50 year old plants and equipment that we face every day . Never seen a manager on a plant in the 9 years I've been running them. And I've worked on 3 of the bigger ones.

Nobody vex with what you're earning soldier! What you and your union WANT to earn, and expect for us taxpayers to pay for is the issue.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 6:37 am

wing wrote:Aaron , the rates that were posted are actually at the higher end i.e. after merit and progression . How you claim to have a salary schedule of the monthly paid bargaining unit collective agreement seems a bit fishy since you were not employed by the company but were part and parcel of the outrageous cost overruns in the GOP project. So please let us have constructive discussion and hope for a reasonable outcome.

little do you know my friend :lol: :lol: ...just got to the unions and pay for the little booklet and you will see the rates....all contractors and employees are paid said rates set by the unions unless they have a functioning union or union agreement within their said company....

Noone is expecting you straight out of school you earn that salary or are ppl trying to say that Petrotrin is full of trainee employees?? because i'm hearing oh those are the high end of the rates from numerous ppl....but logically it doesnt make sense.....because I know most of those "labourers", millwrights, pump men there since my father days......

I could tell you, the engineer salary quoted @ $24k in the energy sector is after 5-6years experience...out of school an engineer in Pt. Lisas get anywhere from $5k-$8k per month....
Summer interns (engineers) in Petrotrin get $7k take home.... I'm talking from what i know and not he say, she say at the picket line

answer me this...if petrotrin so bad..why are ppl staying and fighting to stay?
Last edited by Aaron 2NR on February 17th, 2012, 6:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2012, 6:45 am

goodear wrote:So let me get this straight, because private sector industries raping you while paying you a pitance of your worth I must subject myself to your personal hell,lol, sounds like sour grapes. Keep your slave mentality to yourself. The livelyhood of my family is of utmost importance ,not lining the pockets of foreigners.No valve turners in the refinery, only operators are allowed to operate valves on a plant, so if the man hungry let him eat while the fat cats wait in the heat and smell of the 50 year old plants and equipment that we face every day . Never seen a manager on a plant in the 9 years I've been running them. And I've worked on 3 of the bigger ones.

Nobody vex with what you're earning soldier! What you and your union WANT to earn, and expect for us taxpayers to pay for is the issue.

That 75% increase the union talking about is NOT what the workers want.
The union starts off with a high demand and then negotiates significantly downwards. I do not agree though with asking for 75% upfront. I woulda laugh at them the first time they bring up that figure if they were negotiating with me.

Also any salary increase would come from the money generated by the company and not a handout from tax payers.

This whole thing is politics and PR. Most workers don't want a strike. They tired being lied to by both management and the union.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 6:47 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

The union starts off with a high demand and then negotiates significantly downwards. I do not agree though with asking for 75% upfront. I woulda laugh at them the first time they bring up that figure if they were negotiating with me.

Also any salary increase would come from the money generated by the company and not a handout from tax payers.

This whole thing is politics and PR. Most workers don't want a strike. They tired being lied to by both management and the union.

so why don't those who are "tired and fed up" leave and seek employment elsewhere???

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2012, 6:52 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

so why don't those who are "tired and fed up" don't leave and seek employment elsewhere???

What is your point? I just tell you most workers do NOT want a strike and you trying to stir up trouble.

I said they tired of the lies of the union and from management and that's the best you can ask me?

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 6:53 am

yes because i have been asking this question a pretty long time and yet nooone can answer...its always a beat around the bush answer.....

so i will respond when you give me a proper answer....

wing

Postby wing » February 17th, 2012, 6:56 am

Don't get me wrong , Aaron , things are bad in the company and the union's outrageous demands aren't helping. The problem seems to me , at least is the company has a disproportionate number of employees outside of their core business. I think someone said somewhere that Refining and marketing alone has about 1700 persons. So what are the other 3500 persons doing there? These are the persons who usually sit in offices , having only seen the refinery or fields from the outside .These are the persons who you guys should be aiming at not those who put their safety on the line 24hrs. per day. These person's salary usually start at the levels quoted ........ and I don't mean the labourers.....Oh one more thing Aaron , what exactly were you paid ......... or your company when you were up in the east area in the blue building on the hill?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2012, 6:58 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:yes because i have been asking this question a pretty long time and yet nooone can answer...its always a beat around the bush answer.....

Not my fault no one answers a dotish question. If you want an answer it's the same reason people who in the non energy sector does beat up and complain bout petrotrin salaries but remain in their lower paying jobs and sour with their work.

You also skirt around the fact that the rates published are bogus even though multiple people told you after checking the same booklet you speaking about.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:01 am

check you inbox

DSM_05

Postby DSM_05 » February 17th, 2012, 7:02 am

So let me get this straight, because private sector industries raping you while paying you a pitance of your worth I must subject myself to your personal hell,lol,

Ok, so private sector "raping" local workers. Let's work on that assumption shall we......

So therefore Petrotrin is NOT doing that...correct?

And allyuh STILL want more money?

Sounds like the workers "raping" Petrotrin :lol: :lol:

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:05 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:yes because i have been asking this question a pretty long time and yet nooone can answer...its always a beat around the bush answer.....

Not my fault no one answers a dotish question. If you want an answer it's the same reason people who in the non energy sector does beat up and complain bout petrotrin salaries but remain in their lower paying jobs and sour with their work.

You also skirt around the fact that the rates published are bogus even though multiple people told you after checking the same booklet you speaking about.

arrogant much.......

I think its a very simple and good question.....everyone always want better for their own life hence why they go for training and gain education...so if you are not satisfied with you job and your salary, why not seek another that gives you what you want??

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2012, 7:11 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:

arrogant much.......

I think its a very simple and good question.....everyone always want better for their own life hence why they go for training and gain education...so if you are not satisfied with you job and your salary, why not seek another that gives you what you want??

Highlight all you want but asking philosophical questions no one can answer is not productive especially when you choose to conveniently ignore what people telling you.

People leave petrotrin all the time so I really don't know why you insist on asking the same question over and over but expecting different results. By the way you stated your father worked there. How long was he there for?

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 7:13 am

My dad worked there under the texaco/ trinitoc time..left in the 80s....

Bareback

Postby Bareback » February 17th, 2012, 7:27 am

Aaron and Bunny, allyuh takin this thing a little to personal. You both appear to be on the same philosophical side but are definitely opposed on specific issues. I hope you guys can see this before you guys continue.

For the record both my parents worked there for over 30 years each so I have had my share of experiences with management and the union.

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » February 17th, 2012, 8:01 am

Seems alot of Aaron information is wrong though. Those publish figures are definitely there to mislead the none so wiser public and gain sympathy for the company.

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 17th, 2012, 8:03 am

was d latest update? they had any meetings? strike still going ahead from tomorrow?

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » February 17th, 2012, 8:06 am

They are still in meeting..

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 17th, 2012, 8:27 am

InsanityReigns wrote:Seems alot of Aaron information is wrong though. Those publish figures are definitely there to mislead the none so wiser public and gain sympathy for the company.

well bring some facts to prove said point

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » February 17th, 2012, 8:33 am

Managers from Trinmar have already began calling contracting companies to hire Scab Labour.

Its definitely going down.

Few dozen regiment personnel were being trained this week to fuel tank wagons...

air wick

Postby air wick » February 17th, 2012, 8:45 am

my supervisor now say they settled for 9%... so strike off

many conflicting stories going on right about now

NXTREME

Postby NXTREME » February 17th, 2012, 8:51 am

Travis wrote:my supervisor now say they settled for 9%... so strike off

ohh goar...man gonna upgrade to sti now :D

allblacks

Postby allblacks » February 17th, 2012, 8:57 am

Travis wrote:my supervisor now say they settled for 9%... so strike off

Actually 9% is the current offer and both parties are still in deliberation.Talks are supposed to wrap up this am and some confirmation will known at noon.
From a personal stand point and from the information given a strike may not be in the making....

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » February 17th, 2012, 9:08 am

Those petrotrin plants are so inefficient, they really need to privatise or have a private company mentality and compensation system with appraisal. lets see how many people will have jobs after that

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 17th, 2012, 9:10 am

I also just heard they settled and strike off and Roget to make a statement "soon"...

Point noted Bareback...

Postby hydroep » February 17th, 2012, 10:00 am

Hmmm...other unions settled for 5%. It'll be interesting to hear their leaders' thoughts if the OWTU manages to secure more than that.

Postby 1UZFE » February 17th, 2012, 10:13 am

if they get 9% that means TTEC might get the same aswell.. Interesting....
OWTU not playing games....

InsanityReigns

Postby InsanityReigns » February 17th, 2012, 10:25 am

Heard is 9%

Postby wagonrunner » February 17th, 2012, 10:53 am

Duncan village is almost facking impassable due to the kants who need to see their fuel gauges above the F mark. :evil:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » February 17th, 2012, 11:16 am

wagonrunner wrote:Duncan village is almost facking impassable due to the kants who need to see their fuel gauges above the F mark. :evil:

That started at 5:30am this morning. Took the water taxi again today.

Ah told de wife "left's save on gas and I can ride you!"

She responded with, "Go get gas, and carry a good book!!" :( :(

Ain't marriage sweet?????

Postby sMASH » February 17th, 2012, 11:17 am

that not good, my gas light active