Sound Systems Discussion, please read first post

Would you support a local P.A. System / DJ Forum???

Yes
88%
No
12%

Total votes: 167

Samo

Re: P.A. Systems, DJ Systems, Pro audio men.....

Postby Samo » January 27th, 2012, 2:07 pm

I uses the RMX at most my jobs... i dont have my own CDJ's :( or serato :(
anyway... it works grt... once all the bugs out an it is properly configured... it took me some research to get it right. Also to get better output use the ASIO settings... big difference...
VDJ reads serato crates normal..so no probs there.

Postby gt4tified » January 28th, 2012, 1:59 am

guys. I'm thinking about selling my Denon DN-S5000's and the MAudio Torq Connectiv as a package deal. how much do you think the two as a package are worth. The 5000's have been serviced just before Christmas (never any problems, just a routine thing I do every year end) and used only once for an Old Year's party since. The Connectiv was bought brand new, everything in excellent shape - the CD's have no scratches that hamper their use in any way and the control vinyl was only tested and put back in the box, so no scratches there at all.

I can even throw in a Numark DM 1190 ole skool mixer in de mix.

I am travelling soon and thinking about getting some new stuff, that's the only reason I'm thinkng of selling. Now, lemme hear how much y'all think I can get for this, realistically and a quick enuff sale. I was thinking $7k for everything.

Postby eliteauto » January 28th, 2012, 6:54 pm

Samo wrote:I uses the RMX at most my jobs... i dont have my own CDJ's :( or serato :(
anyway... it works grt... once all the bugs out an it is properly configured... it took me some research to get it right. Also to get better output use the ASIO settings... big difference...
VDJ reads serato crates normal..so no probs there.

correct, I also use VDJ with the RMX and a Macbook Pro, makes for a great portable digital dJ setup
gonna use it at a fete tonite :mrgreen:

Postby gt4tified » January 28th, 2012, 9:53 pm

^^^no invi no care. 0X

Postby eliteauto » January 29th, 2012, 8:14 pm

gt4tified wrote:^^^no invi no care. 0X

:lol: :lol: was a last minute ting

will need your guidance and advice later in the year, in purchasing a pair of powered tops and subs to make a quick portable system

g unit

Postby g unit » January 29th, 2012, 11:28 pm

I looking for a place (locally), if possible, that sells Mackie mixers at decent prices

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 30th, 2012, 9:01 am

I learnt my lesson from buying from local stores. Better to import ur own equipment, or just get some one to bring it in for you.

clone101

Postby clone101 » January 30th, 2012, 9:12 am

http://soundcloud.com/clone101/soca-2012-mixdown i did this on Virtual Dj not bad i must say.........

Samo

Postby Samo » January 30th, 2012, 9:16 am

who say chuna DJ meet :D

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 30th, 2012, 10:02 am

^I for that

Samo

Postby Samo » January 30th, 2012, 10:22 am

small sys. walk with ur players / laptops/beers/an skills/hardjives/records etc
... just a fun thing...
location?
sound sys? -(cud even be self powered monitors)
date?

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 30th, 2012, 12:54 pm

These kind of events are always nice to think up, but there many planning issues that need to be discussed that people usually shy away from.

I know that we might say to make it as simple as possible, but there are very important things to consider like:
1) The venue will have to have to be either sound proof, or far from residential areas
2) The venue will have to have readily available washrooms
3) The venue will have to have close by, clean electrical power
4) We will HAVE to get Copyright approval (this is a public thing, even tho it among us)!!!!!!
5) Close vicinity parking space is a must
6) We will have to have some kind of program order, otherwise we go have ah setta man playing on their lil systems makin ah setta jumble up noise, like in them car show, and the loudest set will prevail, NOT THE MOST TALENTED DJ!!!

These events sound simple to organise, but are actually very tedious. If u want everyone at the event to have a good time and the event to be a great success, there will have to have alot of planning.

Samo

Postby Samo » January 30th, 2012, 1:32 pm

Will if we serious abt it;lets try and put sumthing in place.
I cud get a small set from my cuz borrowed. No CDJ's,if sumone can walk with players ,fine ... i have VDJ an Rmx.
OR I have a friend who have a "sports" bar which have sound sys and COTT.
An yes... we can have a order to fallow.. cuz although is just for fun,it must have a level
of discipline..
Just throwing out sum ideas.... Idk

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 30th, 2012, 1:54 pm

talkling about COTT.. how many of you guys have your licence?

I have mine...

Samo

Postby Samo » January 30th, 2012, 1:59 pm

Paid each yr... an most times display when at gigs.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 30th, 2012, 2:21 pm

Question,

People with their COTT license, do you buy or download your music?

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 30th, 2012, 3:19 pm

i spoke to a COTt official about that.

They basically said that they KNOW that people get their music from anywhere.
personally I try to get local tracks from trinidadtunes.com

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2012, 3:45 pm

what about the "alternative" to Cott, I think they are called Trinidad & Tobago Copyright Organization

Postby SmokeyGTi » January 30th, 2012, 4:55 pm

^^ they represent a very small portion of artistes in trinidad. that's about all i know. I don't know if they are sanctioned by government or if they have any legal authority...

Postby pugboy » January 30th, 2012, 5:01 pm

reason I ask is when they first formed,
Cott put out ad's to the effect that they were the first and bonafide and
were pursuing legal options against them as though they were a fraudulent group
I don't think anything ever came of it........

Samo

Postby Samo » January 31st, 2012, 8:21 am

Morning guyz and gyalz.....
So no thoughts on the meet? :(
There is a online radio station i play for looking for Dee jays (if u have the time)
chk mih location :)
AND
http://www.sweetwater.com/publications/ ... SN_12.html
how much i can get for this... use abt 15times in shooting gallery night club a while now.
packed down home in coffin doing nothing cuz my sound eng. didnt kick off :( Advise please
or if anyone wants it;make a offer.

Kasey

Postby Kasey » January 31st, 2012, 10:35 pm

pugboy wrote:reason I ask is when they first formed,
Cott put out ad's to the effect that they were the first and bonafide and
were pursuing legal options against them as though they were a fraudulent group
I don't think anything ever came of it........

I have been a member of T&T Copyright association for the past 2 years, displayed it at gigs, and had no problems.

Their price is literally half the price of COTT, so I with them. I was with COTT, but I found the prices were becoming ridiculous.

Postby pugboy » February 1st, 2012, 12:13 am

I think they both don't have any real legal teeth and are just milking money because people don't know better.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » February 2nd, 2012, 2:23 pm

So what's the point applying for a license if :

- They know you downloading the music
- They milking us

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 2nd, 2012, 9:20 pm

DJ Q wrote:So what's the point applying for a license if :

- They know you downloading the music
- They milking us

they say that the money goes back to the artistes. Thats wat they 'say'. Dont know how the math works tho.

Postby gt4tified » February 14th, 2012, 2:52 pm

COTT like the G.O.R.T.T in so many ways it not funny. They take yuh money, tell you it's being done in ur interest, but when time to show what it's been spent on, everybody belly in dey hand and wondering whey de money gone, yet you have no choice but to deal with them.

clone101

Postby clone101 » February 14th, 2012, 4:01 pm

Any one need ah system for carnival still inbox me.........................................

BlackPrimera

Postby BlackPrimera » February 23rd, 2012, 7:01 pm

shameer

Postby shameer » February 23rd, 2012, 8:26 pm

hey guys i got an idea........doing another carshow at rienzi......april 21...100% iasca 23.....

how about all djs link up for this event and i do a competition for you all......

is like this........i will provide the sound system,my cott license, my venue everything approved....and we give each guy a 15min spotlight.......using my mk11 on serato, or my 900's usb, or bring your own consol and jack in to my pmp3000.......

i could do it like this also...........we call it a competition each competitor throw i a $100.00 as entry fee..........and we give out a 1st, 2nd and 3rd place trophy for best dj........

food for thought.............

it will be on a big system prob a 24 b52's of course......

50% crowd, 50% judge

whey alyuh say

Kasey

Postby Kasey » February 27th, 2012, 1:35 pm

Sounds like a great idea, and fits most of the elements we need. But that 15mins would be way too much (What if it have 20 competetitors? Thats 5 hours!!!). More like 5 mins, or maybe 10mins if there are not many competitors.

Some of the pre-requisites to enter, should be basic beat-matching and so on. I mean i actually know men who call themselves DJ's and cannot beat-match to save their life. And this is the most basic and required skill to start to be called a DJ.

Anyway, I for that idea.