NorStar2K

Re: SMALLVILLE SEASON 10 THREAD

Postby NorStar2K » May 14th, 2011, 3:15 pm

Series Finale - EPIC FAIL!!

According to ComicBookMovie.com:

Smallville Final Episode - A Review
Was the Smallville final episode SuperEpic or SuperFail?
Well, actually it was a little of both.
- JamesXMan 5/13/2011

"The SuperEpic highlights of the episode were:

1) The Poignant Reunion of the Kent Family - Who didn't have a lump in their throat or a small tear in their eye seeing the warm family embrace of Jonathan, Martha and Clark as the end of the world approached them? The humanity of this series was crystallized by the small exhortations from Jonathan and Martha to their son to remember them and what they taught him and to treasure his past as he boldly stepped into his future.

2) The Return of Lex Luthor - Michael Rosenbaum saved this episode and had us cheering. The visuals of his dramatic return, the dialogue with Clark, and the scenes with Lex and his sister were fantastic.

3) The Fight Between Oliver and Clark - In their moment as "frenemies", Clark and Oliver have a great rough and tumble fight scene, oh how much we had hoped this would have been carried on to the ultimate fight between Clark and Darkseid, but noooooo.

4) The Last Three Minutes of the Episode - Flash 7 years into the future. Chloe appears to be reading to little blonde-haired Oliver Junior (arrows in the corner), Clark at his nerdiest (except why didn't he slick his hair back like he did in the prior episode of nerdy Clark of the future?), Lois at her Lanelinest, and the return of (the voice of) Perry White and Jimmy Olsen! (or brother of Jimmy Olsen also named Jimmy??), and finally the tearing off the shirt to reveal the Super S with the John Williams music in the background!

And now, the SuperFails:

1) The Wedding - yes, it was nice to see the tender letters between Clark and Lois...but this whole set-up and set of scenes should have been cut down...it was way too long, leaving the second part feeling very rushed and non-climactic. This lack of proper pacing was characteristic of the whole final episode.

2) The Fight Between LionelDarkseid and Clark - Ok, so after blowing all their CGI budget on Blue Beetle earlier in the year, they just couldn't come up with enough money to make a spectacular fight between Clark and Darkseid, instead optimizing for the cheap effect of putting a distorted Darkseid voice on Lionel's lips so we see him possessed by the Dark one. First we get the typical, fist to the Clark knocking him half way across the room, then we get this kind of limbo scene as he is slow mo-ing through the air where we see flashback scenes from the last 10 years..... a lot of scenes.....and very ....long. Then after Clark realizes his destiny, he comes back into his reality, stops, floats and zooms through crazed Lionel, smashing him into smithereens then QUICK cut to commercial break. That was the big battle we were waiting for...no sense of tension, epic battle and release...just a quick zoom through the body and a commercial break. Wow.

3) The Reveal of Superman - In prior episodes, extended shots of Clark in his black Superman t-shirt and red leather Superman jacket took place all the time, but no, we fans couldn't get to enjoy having the camera shoot and linger on Tom Welling in a full body shot of him in his Superman suit. And then when we do see scenes of him in the suit, he is like super tiny ..up in the air or in space...I have a large screen TV and from what I could tell, Tom was so small it almost appeared it was just CGI.

So in summary, as characteristic of this whole series and seasons, Smallville ended as it always was...moments of sheer brilliance and moments of wasted opportunities to achieve greatness. We can only hope that one day the producers and/or network will understand what we really wanted and bring back these fantastic actors and their characterizations in a Metropolis/Superman TV-Film!"

Postby hydroep » May 14th, 2011, 6:40 pm

Yeah...was expecting more... :|

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » May 14th, 2011, 7:27 pm

they had some contractual sh1t so they couldnt show tom welling in full superman suit

buh it was good. The rooftop scene was right up

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » May 14th, 2011, 10:40 pm

that costume fail. the figth scenes fail, especially darkseid, the part where clark push a planet with his pinky finger -fail.,,,, but ill still watch anything about superman cause he was always the superhero i looked up to...... All star superman (cartoon) was very very good for superman fans

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 16th, 2011, 1:03 am

Reveal Of The Superman Suit In This Footage!

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 16th, 2011, 1:35 am

steups...allyuh still tlkin bout ah show than done?

:(

i miss it already :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 16th, 2011, 9:06 am

^^ yeh i miss it..

but oh gorm

we didnt even get to hear them call him SUPERMAN

Postby 16 cycles » May 16th, 2011, 10:22 am

lol..............for a world about to end - it had real talking / reminiscing / emoness....

darkseid shoulda kill everybody in the first 5 mins and end viewers' 2 hour ordeal

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 16th, 2011, 10:46 am

Chiney wrote:^^ yeh i miss it..

but oh gorm

You mean the famous, "It's a Bird...It's a Plane...It's Superman" :D

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 16th, 2011, 10:50 am

yep yep

i didnt have a problem with the finale nah.. i dont get emo now waste time on TV

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 16th, 2011, 1:13 pm

sorry but i expected more epicness... like... an actual FIGHT between darkseid n superman, not jus a
'yay look i can fly....pew pew....boom....'

...the end of the greatest villan of smallville :/

when darkseid took lionel's heart, it looked kinda cool... stupid lois & clark mushy sheit just consumed all the time for other cool sheit... didnt care much for it... actually catch my ass to watch out the whole 88mins :?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 16th, 2011, 8:15 pm

I so lost track of this show.....

LikaStick

Postby LikaStick » May 16th, 2011, 8:55 pm

i still can't believe tis over....sighh... :cry:

mediahouse

Postby mediahouse » May 17th, 2011, 3:32 pm

norstar2k wrote:
Chiney wrote:^^ yeh i miss it..

but oh gorm

You mean the famous, "It's a Bird...It's a Plane...It's Superman" :D

I was expecting the people in the street to say look up in the sky
It's a Bird...It's a Plane...It's Superman"

But i think there was some legal problem that they couldnt use the word superman in the episode , yea i know it sounds like sheyt when the show is actually about superman sigh

they didnt even show him in the suit in full glory just distant CIG shots how lamee

drunkenscorpion

Postby drunkenscorpion » May 17th, 2011, 3:41 pm

Ah find Lana coulda make an appearance man.....everything was too condensed and pushed together for the final episode. All in all, I still enjoyed it.....not sure what series to be hooked on now....

Swisha

Postby Swisha » May 17th, 2011, 8:34 pm

mediahouse wrote:I was expecting the people in the street to say look up in the sky
It's a Bird...It's a Plane...It's Superman"

But i think there was some legal problem that they couldnt use the word superman in the episode , yea i know it sounds like sheyt when the show is actually about superman

Chloe did call him Superman when she was reading the comic book to her son

neals

Postby neals » May 17th, 2011, 9:29 pm

drunkenscorpion wrote:Ah find Lana coulda make an appearance man.....everything was too condensed and pushed together for the final episode. All in all, I still enjoyed it.....not sure what series to be hooked on now....

burn notice, covert affairs , all them others lol, royal pains

QG

Postby QG » May 17th, 2011, 10:22 pm

Clark vs Darkseid was crap!!

I was expecting something big like a Doomsday vs Clark power fight! Steups!!
But during the show it had a few good scenes though. I find that Superman end too quick, they should have shown more of Clark in the suit.

racy lady

Postby racy lady » May 20th, 2011, 10:03 am

Also why use the same actor that was Jimmy for his brother in the future....that's just wrong :lol: its not that he'd look exactly the same :lol:

And really to drag out that wedding scene was terrible.....and then as if it really took more than 7 years to just exchange rings :lol: cuz that's all they needed to do :lol:

Didn't they take the planet thing from All Star Superman...

Xplode

Postby Xplode » May 20th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Postby st7 » May 20th, 2011, 5:04 pm

aaron ashmore twin brother play a villian on smallville too eh... lol

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » May 23rd, 2011, 12:31 am

We could lock this thread ent? Ain't really much that can be said again is there? :)

Humes

Postby Humes » May 23rd, 2011, 5:47 am

LikaStick wrote:i still can't believe tis over....sighh... :cry:

I haven't enjoyed the show in 8 years, but I feel kinda like that...something that around for 10 years just...gone. :shock: :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 23rd, 2011, 8:28 am

^^ yep

friday night i was like a lost soul we..

hadda find something new

racy lady

Postby racy lady » May 23rd, 2011, 9:39 am

yeah nothin to watch....

Big Bang Theory finish....House ending tonight....

the only thing I have to look for is White Collar and that not starting for 2 weeks :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 23rd, 2011, 10:11 am

justified
two and half men
big bang
smallville
nikita
csi miami
chuck

and i hate reruns.