PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

xaira

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby xaira » September 7th, 2010, 10:36 am

ocz vertex 2, corshair, samsung, the new kingston v+

the *seagate* hybrids just cache the most frequently used files in the SSD, so... its kind of iffy 2 me
Last edited by xaira on September 7th, 2010, 5:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 10:59 am

Not WD, seagate Xt was in discussion

But the decision has been made and i will be going with the OCZ vertex 2

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 3:59 pm

good man
let us kno how it works out...

i am so tempted to pull mine apart... lol

jus seriously
take a look at the design..its core contact technology dey used there... who got the contract for the coolers this time? thermalright??

xaira

Postby xaira » September 7th, 2010, 5:01 pm

ofcorse its direct contact, thats a nuclear reactor right thur, but im still surprised they base it on the normal push air out the back, if it was me i wasnt taking any chances, middle mounted 92mm fan with 2 heatpipes on each side

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 6:09 pm

my thoughts exactly
but i guess dey kno wat dey doin rite

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2010, 7:26 pm

HCCA wrote:@ M_2NR

If you're into the whole clear side case thing you can get that one in the link. The case comes standard with 3 fans: 200mm blue/red led front intake (LED on/off switchable), 200mm top exhaust and a 140mm rear exhaust. Should be sufficient cooling for a nice sli setup. If it's the non clear side panel version, you can use 2 x 120mm fans on the side panel and top panel for better cooling using high cfm fans.

When i originally bought the Antec 900 is was purely from reading reviews on it being a 'gaming case'. Apparently i missed the parts where it said it was cramped inside. :?

As for the memory issue, if you ram operates at a certain speed at a higher than standard DDR2 voltage (1.8V) and timings then you must set the RAM timings/voltage according to what they're rated at. Thing abt brand name memory is that they work with certain boards which is why i using Markvision memory now which has more compatibility across different mainboards than most other brands. 8-) Had your kinda board before with a Q9300 but was using Crucial Ballistix 800/1000MHz DDR2 RAM, no problems in dual channel mode. Updated the BIOS to the latest as well.

thanks so much HCCA! i was writing a longer reply but it got lost :|

what u said about the 900 is same with me... LOL. i'll take a pic of what i did.

wrt to the ram i'll check it out. I updated up as well.

This ever happen to ulyuh?

I have a set of KVR RAM a 2x2GB set and a single 2GB.

Both are 800Mhz and same timings, just bought at different times. If i separate them... like mix them and boot.. say 1 2GB from the set and the single one.. the system NEVER posts! but individually... they normal and in their pair and separate... normal. :lol:

This was on an ASUS M3N78-EM and M3A78-VM. Basically the 780G and the other with the 8300 ob.

I literally was lol'n when this happened. I never went and investigate it tho...

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 8:27 pm

So i finally got onto an chat rep from Intel i was told i have to zer0 my ssd so right now i have it doing a low level format via ActiveKillDisk then hopefully try and reinstall if not RMA so back to being sad and the format is talking 65hrs lol cause of the drive messing up LOL

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 9:16 pm

M_2NR wrote:
HCCA wrote:@ M_2NR

If you're into the whole clear side case thing you can get that one in the link. The case comes standard with 3 fans: 200mm blue/red led front intake (LED on/off switchable), 200mm top exhaust and a 140mm rear exhaust. Should be sufficient cooling for a nice sli setup. If it's the non clear side panel version, you can use 2 x 120mm fans on the side panel and top panel for better cooling using high cfm fans.

When i originally bought the Antec 900 is was purely from reading reviews on it being a 'gaming case'. Apparently i missed the parts where it said it was cramped inside. :?

As for the memory issue, if you ram operates at a certain speed at a higher than standard DDR2 voltage (1.8V) and timings then you must set the RAM timings/voltage according to what they're rated at. Thing abt brand name memory is that they work with certain boards which is why i using Markvision memory now which has more compatibility across different mainboards than most other brands. 8-) Had your kinda board before with a Q9300 but was using Crucial Ballistix 800/1000MHz DDR2 RAM, no problems in dual channel mode. Updated the BIOS to the latest as well.

thanks so much HCCA! i was writing a longer reply but it got lost :|

what u said about the 900 is same with me... LOL. i'll take a pic of what i did.

wrt to the ram i'll check it out. I updated up as well.

This ever happen to ulyuh?

I have a set of KVR RAM a 2x2GB set and a single 2GB.

Both are 800Mhz and same timings, just bought at different times. If i separate them... like mix them and boot.. say 1 2GB from the set and the single one.. the system NEVER posts! but individually... they normal and in their pair and separate... normal. :lol:

This was on an ASUS M3N78-EM and M3A78-VM. Basically the 780G and the other with the 8300 ob.

I literally was lol'n when this happened. I never went and investigate it tho...

WRT the memory not working
did u check to see if the voltage ratings are the same?
and tbh those asus boards u mentioned. i owned both at one point i time..memory for me was a mess.. so i bought 2 gb ddr2 markvision and settled for that..asus boards over the yrs has had bad compatibility problems.. i will read online to check this and that and blah blah blah, at the end of the day, its the board itself and u gotta settle for wat works.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 7th, 2010, 9:31 pm

Did you ready the QVL on both motherboards to compare ram it think thats your problem right there

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 10:05 pm

but shouldnt all ram work good on boards.. i dont understand why ther ehas to be a QVL !!!!!

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 7th, 2010, 10:14 pm

^^Exactly. All those QVL doh have Markvision RAM on them yet they work on virtually any board on d market.

Brand name Fail. :lol:

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2010, 10:20 pm

Chiney wrote:WRT the memory not working
did u check to see if the voltage ratings are the same?
and tbh those asus boards u mentioned. i owned both at one point i time..memory for me was a mess.. so i bought 2 gb ddr2 markvision and settled for that..asus boards over the yrs has had bad compatibility problems.. i will read online to check this and that and blah blah blah, at the end of the day, its the board itself and u gotta settle for wat works.

That's what i hadda check over. I now seeing the DIMM has 2.2V :shock: and i never realized this til now... so all this time it could be underpowered. But i doubt it was.

See this is why this thread will win most useful thread outside of TECH STUFF LOL. but i agree! asus is bitchy at times. Thanks again Chiney.

Virus wrote:So i finally got onto an chat rep from Intel i was told i have to zer0 my ssd so right now i have it doing a low level format via ActiveKillDisk then hopefully try and reinstall if not RMA so back to being sad and the format is talking 65hrs lol cause of the drive messing up LOL

Ohhh... u never zeroed it yet... but dont they come zeroed? d phoq.. a useful place for help is (not just here eh...) but pcguide.com and even nvidia forums. Very useful guys! esp. the first. back in 07 when i fell back into the search, they helped me a lot.

Virus wrote:Did you ready the QVL on both motherboards to compare ram it think thats your problem right there

Well.. it's Kingston ValueRAM... that's like the n16/b15 of RAM no? :lol:
But yeah i did but i'll double check it.

Strange thing is that the kit can't ever be separated even though they are all the same spec!
thanks Virus :)
best of luck with your SSD search. I'll keep you in mind when i see any deals on SSD's ;)

By chance what model/size u had in the intels?

those XT's looking great tho! but i'd never buy them, not now anyway

HCCA, Markvision is like the b13/me2! i kid you not. I had my doubts with it but dayummm. Pops pc that has it was sticking... i thought it was the RAM... guess what it was... Cobweb... :|

Postby M_2NR » September 7th, 2010, 10:36 pm

Ulyuh... extreme n00bness and wussiness below but i just need some verification cuz i eh wanna mashup anything,

so... i went into the bios and was checking all my stuff and saw this:
http://i605.photobucket.com/albums/tt133/corolla_2nr/9e040e2e.jpg

The voltage i assume that im changing is highlighted (DRAM) if i edit it, im seeing it going yellow when i cross 2.1V. That's getting me tizzick.

According to the site...
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_8500_reaper_hpc_4gb_edition

My voltage is 2.1V to 2.2V. On the DIMM it says 2.2V.

Lash him with 2.2V on that option right? that's safe right? or no?
thanks in advance

and sorry about the lengths and double posts :oops:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 7th, 2010, 11:10 pm

hit him it

if its fails
u wont post

GL :D

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 7th, 2010, 11:20 pm

I always trust corsair!!

Postby bushwakka » September 8th, 2010, 12:03 am

^hmmm....dont trust anyone boy, i bought 2 sticks of ram from them, had to RMA it one time cuz it wasnt working......however, the new set is workin good

oh, and don't be discouraged from carrying a full tower to a LAN party? u weak or wha? in most cases, vertical space is not limited......i wud love to carry mine to LAN parties

Virus

Postby Virus » September 8th, 2010, 6:29 am

M_2NR 40 + 80 in the SSD's and nope never zeroed it before it didnt even come zeroed cause it was all ready to be loaded so i real sours i have to do this

That's why i like AMD overdrive in terms of voltage and system control i can tweak on the fly with immediate test (ie stability, benchmark and logging)

As for RAM issues i feel is a hit an miss yes thank goodness i never had too many ram problems when in doubt i just got 800 and hit it a lil clock change or get 1066 and let it unclock for it self

And in terms of carrying your PC i catch my tail to take mines out even for a bit am Loaded at almost 45lbs in my azza solano 1000 (blue)

I do fancy the Xt but not right now i figure when more MLC is available lets say about 10gb i will be good but for now that 4gb is like my current page file LOL

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 9:01 am

this does have some weight
and after the enermax revelution85+ ( 13lbs ) go in....
then the 2 480s...

yeh..lan party here i come!!! is nah like i moving it on meh back!!

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2010, 9:58 am

man it have no way i taking a full tower to a lanparty, if its anything, build a microatx rig especially for that, i toat a fully loaded full atx tower already, it wasnt nice

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 10:07 am

all my friends does come with their full towers normal...

yall small in size or something?

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » September 8th, 2010, 2:13 pm

I sure my system weighs (50-65lb) if I can get some straps, I would strap it to my back !!

Postby M_2NR » September 8th, 2010, 5:45 pm

NO WAY i taking a Full ATX if i had one. Laptop or a MicroATX FTW.

a 460GTX is so small and cute... get one of that... and there are x58's in microATX form if i saw correctly.. I'd personally if i had the dollars and needed this... rock a nice AMD microATX setup.

yes i said it... amd :lol: :skurred:

I have a lil thing for Little microATX boxes as well :oops:

Thanks Chiney i'll try it later :)
I still to nookie to do it right now... i need my pc tonight :oops:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 5:56 pm

lol kool man

our lan parties does be baller!!!

man gettin real emo and ting..who only vex cuz dey deading fass...man bawling for food to kill

bess

Postby M_2NR » September 8th, 2010, 5:59 pm

one day lol.

Chiney u still playing COD4? long time i didnt check ESW. I usually on LaW and K4F

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 6:08 pm

law is my server
nah i down for de hr

xaira

Postby xaira » September 8th, 2010, 7:38 pm

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 9:29 pm

LOL
doh care nah

full tower FTW!!!

the oooohhhh factor never gets old..plus its part of the ole talk wen we takin breaks..compare parts..talk about why and wat..and how and WOW

Postby M_2NR » September 8th, 2010, 9:33 pm

i just loveeeee my 460GTX i still amazed how cute it is... i think it can fit anywhere. LOL.

Ok.. since ulyuh helping me soooo much... (thanks btw)

is there anyway to determine why my 9800GTX+ not posting? the light on the back is green... just not posting anymore... is there anyway to test it?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 8th, 2010, 9:37 pm

on another pc dred.. dats your best option

wat were ur last symptoms b4 she kicked out???

Postby bushwakka » September 8th, 2010, 10:03 pm

wow, cannot understand the opposition to taking a full twr to a party....once u tote it and set it down, u doh hadda move it till u rdy to go......is not like if u balancing it on ur head.....sure its convenient to have a small setup, but full tower offers advantages that mid and micro cannot....

so a beeeeeasst setup wud never fit in a mid or micro...